224206 User submitted reviews online!!
My Old Kentucky Home State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (502) 348-3502
CGID1171

My Old Kentucky Home State Park

Camp Information
Sites
39
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   9   8   7   10   7   5   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
Excellent location to explore the area. One hour from Mammoth National Park, 1/2 hour from Lexington and Louisville. Quiet campground with lots of shade (I didn't have satellite then, so I don't know if you could get signal, but I did see people have theirs set up). Got all the local channels on antenna. Right next to the golf course. The golfers didn't disturb you at all. You'd hear the ting of the ball being hit. You could walk the course at night. Great Wi-Fi, phone signals. The site we had did fit our 39 ft 5th wheel and we were able to park the truck on site too. The site was paved with grass next to it. It was wider on one side than the other, but that was good, due to the hookups being on one side. The roads into the park are wide enough. Once inside, its a little tight but we were able to back into our site without a problem. First I thought we saw 2 pull-throughs. The hookups were weird here. The electric was shared (which is fine) but on the wrong side of the trailer, as was the water. It was lucky that we had a long enough hose and electric cable. The sewer was also on the wrong side, but our hose reached. So many of the sites were like these that we saw. A man who had 20 amp site but didn't have an adapter, if he did, he barely had an enough electric cable to reach the pole. This campground is in need of updating. It was nice enough weather that we didn't need to put on our AC much, but when we did (we didn't need both) so it was OK that they only have 30 amp power. The camp host said that they are trying to see if they can expand the campground. Right now, the tent sites are closer to the road (it's not busy really). They might develop that into more RV sites and put the tents where the RVs are now. Or expand across the street where the picnic area is located now. I think if we were to go back to the area, we'd stay here again. But we'd ask for a certain site that has the hookups in a better positions. There isn't much choose around that area. This is the best of them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$21
We stopped by for 2 nights and got snowed in for 2 more. They are listed as being open during the winter. But clubhouse was closed 4 of the 5 days we were there. They did not clear the snow covered road. The park sits on a small hill that is slippery when snow covered. The sites are small and not level. Some sites will take lifting a tire off the ground to level. We could not use Wi-Fi because no one was there to give us a password. We were just wanting a place to hook up to electric while visiting relatives. Better than staying in store parking lot. I can see how this campground could be nice in summer. Has lots of trees and sits on a golf course. I would not plan on staying here unless you have seen the sites. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$21
Rate includes AAA discount. Interesting small park near Bourbon Trail Distilleries. Backs up to a beautiful golf course. We were in 34 foot rig. Sites are close and tight. Quiet and very peaceful park. Bath and showers are clean. A little tricky getting into the park with a motor home. Had to unhook at front gate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$22
Very nice park. Sites a bit crowded but we had nice neighbors. Facilities nice and clean. Friendly staff. Close to town w/ places to eat and things to do. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
We really enjoyed this park. The park is small and the campsites aren't all level, but we lucked out and got a nice level site that was next to a large green area. We felt like we had a private yard, even though the rest of the campground was pretty tight. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
We stayed here for five nights and really enjoyed it. A very peaceful, centrally located camp ground fully equipped. We had to back in which was fine but had full hook up, internet, and some TV stations. We backed right up to the first Tee for the golf course. That would be the only real noise you would hear. Once that closed, it was so peaceful (and even during the day it was too). The guy who checked us in and worked the evenings was VERY helpful. Great location to visit other parts of Kentucky for day trips. The one caution: some of the hook ups are on the opposite side (they share with your neighbor) so bring extra long electrical and water/sewer hoses too in case you get one of those sites. Would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
The listing for this campground needs to be updated as they now have WiFi here: encrypted, with a strong signal and good speed. Also there are sewer hookups at five sites. There are plenty of mature trees, so if you need satellite TV you will probably be out of luck. TV broadcast reception in the area is limited to a few stations. We used this park as a base camp for touring the Bourbon Trail, and for that the location was excellent. The park also has an 18 hole golf course, which may be an added attraction for some. Sites are for the most part spaced well, but that could be a problem for some since the power connections, 30 amp max, and water connections are located between each pair of campsites. I had to use my 50’ water hose and my 25’ extension cord to get hooked up. Note that the sewer connections are about where you would expect them, towards a rear corner of the parking pad. This park is best suited to mid-sized RV’s or smaller. My 31’ travel trailer was a snug fit, and there were a few big rigs squeezed in. Parking pads are paved and generously wide, though most are short. Some have been lengthened a bit with gravel. There are three pull-through sites here, though two of them are parking areas parallel to the road. All sites will require some leveling, and I recommend bringing extra blocks or planks for this purpose. The restrooms are outdated though they looked clean and in working order when I checked for this review. The dump station has a curb around the connection so a longer hose might be needed if you will be dumping a tote tank. The guard shack at the entrance seemed to be manned at random. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$19
A nice park located at the "bottom" of the bourbon trail. Sites are definitely not big rig friendly. A Jayco 24 ft trailer came in while I was there and used a power mover to get into the site. The surrounding area's attractions makes up for the difficulty in parking the rig. Most of the sites are unlevel either side to side or front to back, some more so than others. Using poi-factory.com data has the park on the wrong side of the street. Fee to dump. Wi-fi is good. IMHO, small A's, B's and C's are good to go. Trailers or 5th wheels, well, good luck in getting a friendly site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
This is a smaller campground and some of the sites are a little hard to get into. It is right by the state park golf course and near the Heaven Hill Distillery. Getting level on some sites is a challenge. They have a shuttle to the Stephen Foster Musical during the season. There are only a couple of sites that can easily handle a large RV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
Short spaces, some too short for a 36' fifth wheel. OK for shorter rigs, alto there were a couple long sites. Paved, few level, under large trees. Pretty setting on the back side of the SP on Hwy 62 east of the downtown traffic circle. Bardstown is a really neat Civil War historic town with lots of well preserved homes, a few museums and local restaurants with fresh garden veggies. About 1 hours south of Louisville, KY. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
This is a small campground in terms of number of sites but the sites are fair sized and there is lots of green space, and a nice playground to run around. You can walk from your camper to the first tee on the golf course in just a few minutes. We camped here mid week and there were only a few sites filled. It was quiet and conveniently located to several distilleries and the Bernheim Forest and Aboretum in Clermont (free to visit - a must for nature fans! We took our bikes!) The kids enjoyed the Stephen Foster Musical. If there was a downside, there was no visible, marked path to walk or bike from the campsite to Federal House in the state park - you had to get in your car and drive the short distance. There was a shuttle bus for the evening musical performance. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
A pretty park with some sites over looking a golf course. Many nicely shaded sites. Very convenient to Bardstown - it's actually on the edge of town - and many distilleries. Discounted fee of $25.50 included a $7.50 reservation fee! Tight approach to well shaded site 30 brought praise for parking / maneuvering from other campers and my wife. Hook up were so far from site that I didn't bother with water and had to dig-out the extra extra 30 amp cord to reach the electrical box. Hooking up to it would be fun in a heavy rain: one would be standing in a drainage ditch while hooking up. But, it's a pretty, shady, nice state park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
This is a nice park with a few quirks. It is tight for maneuvering and backing into many of the sites. Some sites have hookup a good distance from the site, requiring extra hose and power cords. We were initally given one of those sites and moved. Our new site was level but had a three foot drop off in the back. I had to go to Lowe's and buy eight concrete blocks to set our rear jacks on. The bathhouse was old but VERY well maintained. We saw cleaning people here 2-3 times daily. Kuddo's there. There is a beautiful view of the golf course and the campground is convenient to everything in the area. Shuttle service is provide to "The Steven Foster Story" wonderful outdoor musical. I would consider staying here again if our new fifth wheel would fit into any site without accidently removing a tree. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
We took a look at this park but did not stay here. The main road and sites are on asphalt. Most of the sites were not very long and were not level. It appears to me that a class A or C would have an easier time backing into a site. The main road was very narrow and mature trees could make backing in a challenge. The location of the utilities varied from site to site. Water did not appear to be available at each site and their location was not within easy reach. We spotted only 2 sites that we would be able to get into. We have a 32 foot 5th wheel. We would not camp here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$21
There is two small loops and many sites are unlevel. There is an 18 hole golf course that surrounds this campground that is part of the park. The club house is a walk away about 2 minutes. You can just walk on over and play. This campground is in Bardstown which has so much to do with many of the distilleries from the Bourbon Trail nearby, civil war sites, historic sites and My Old KY State Home to visit where Stephen Foster stayed when he wrote the song. Campground is small, cute and clean and you can play golf without having to drive out of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
Nice shaded campground. If you have a big camper or RV you might want to choose another campground. There VERY tight turns and sites are a pain to back in! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This park was very nice. It is right next to a golf course. Our kids played in the park and I felt very safe letting them play. The guy working the store was extremely nice as well and the restrooms clean. I would definitely stay here again. Be sure to visit Maker's Mark distillery. They had a great tour and lunch there was really good. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
The sites were all squished together, were not at all level, and the electric and water connections were not within reach of the sites in all cases. It looked like there were a few around the edges of the campground that might have been OK. This was a very small campground, with a nice golf course, and a historical home to tour. However, due to the design of the campsites, we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
Great scenic park without many amenities. The sites are tree-lined and the park includes My Old Kentucky Home (interesting historic home) and great golf course. The restroom and showers are very clean, all facilities function correctly and the staff is friendly. Bardstown's central location is excellent for exploring the bourbon trail and the horse capital of the world. Superb dining is available at KURTZ Restaurant close to the park. We are planning to return to this park in order to spend more time in this fabulous area. (If WiFi and full hookups were available, My Old Kentucky Home would be a 10.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$18
This is a beautiful park; however, most of the sites require some effort to get level. The park is part of a golf course and the mansion that Steven Foster wrote My Old Kentucky Home state song of Kentucky. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
The campground is small, but we were able to get a spot on the edge of the golf course during the week with no reservation. They were booked for the weekend though. We had no problems parking our 38' motorhome in one of the sites you can see the golf course from on the right hand side as you enter the campground. If you have a motorhome our size or larger I would only recommend those sites. We stayed here over a year ago on one of the other sites and had a difficult time parking - we did it, but there were a few close calls with trees and with a steep drop off behind our site. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The Heaven Hill distillery is only a quarter mile south of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$20
Nice clean campground next to a golf course. Back-in sites and only a few are very level. Not good for big rigs of 40+ feet. We arrived one day before water was shut off for winter. The rate dropped to $12 per night after the water was shut off. It is normally $20. We filled our water tank so we decided to rough it as the location worked for us. Nice staff, and secure location. We were the only ones there for the 5 nights we stayed and had no problems. Staff was around from 7am to 5pm daily. Some noise from the highway but not too annoying as the price was right. They allowed us to use the golf clubhouse restrooms (no showers) as the park restrooms were closed because of water shut off. It has very close access to Kentucky's Bluegrass Parkway if your in the area of Bardstown. Would stay again provided we could get a level site when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
This campground does not have a lot of amenities, and some of the sites can be hard to back into depending on your unit. We stayed in site #21 and had no trouble backing in. The site itself is paved, and is fairly level. Overall the campground is clean, although the facilities are older. Can't beat the location if you are going to the Stephen Foster Story play. As others have mentioned the hook ups can be a challenge, and it is only water and electric. Overall, we would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
We stayed at the campground for Memorial Day weekend. The electric box was so far away we had to drive an hour to get an extension because the local store did not have any in stock (probably because everyone else at the campground had to buy one to). The sites were way too close together, it felt like you were listening in on everyone else's conversations. Then to top off the night there was no hot water. I tried several times through the weekend and no hot water any time. I called up to the gate house twice. Both times maintenance came down, looked around and left. There isn't enough room for the kids to play at the site and the playground is a little far for little ones to go alone. There were a few things to do locally, but they were all over priced and not really worth it. We have little ones and they were bored. The local swimming pool also does not open until June, a little late for the weekend. I don't think we will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
This campground was very disappointing. It offers small sites, none of which are level. We camped in a 35 foot motorhome and our site was supposed to accommodate a 40 foot unit. It was very, very tight to turn into and from it. The water and electric hookups were so far from the site (#30) that we had to buy a 30 foot 10 gauge extension cord to be able to hook up. Then we still did not get 30 amps which meant repeated visits to the circuit breaker. The sites are so close together that we felt we were looking into the living room of our neighbors across the street. Limited play activities for children which meant they played ball and rode bikes on the interior roads. Limited walking trails. You are actually separated from the showpiece, the My Old Kentucky Home, by a golf course so you can't walk to it. Nice neighbors improved our time there (they took us to the store to buy the extension cord) but we would not return to this location. We have heard that the campground is to move in two years across the street and it may be a whole lot better then. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$17
I would give this cg a higher rating if more sites were level or close to it. We used 4 2"x8" PT planks on the front end and were STILL not level. Other than that, no complaints. Clean facility, helpful attendants,quiet setting, good neighbors. Space between some sites a little close, but with good people, that's okay with us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$21
This campground is small and tight. They reserve sites through Reserve America which stated the site we reserved was 40ft. That was not so. There were several sites they claim to be 40ft but are not. Our 36 rig fit the site head to toe with no room to spare. The site we originally reserved was backed up a hill between 2 trees on both sides; no way our size rig could get in there no matter how good the driver was...Luckily the hosts were exceptionally polite and helpful and there just happened to be a site that we were able to squeeze into (that was the head to toe sight)...the campground is 39 sites on a slope; if you have a smaller rig you will be able to fit okay. The bathrooms were excellent. The hosts were the most helpful we have ever encountered. The campground is surrounded on 3 sides by the SP golf course and there looks like no room for ever an expanded campground. We probably wont go back only because our rig is to large. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
Well shaded but site was way out of level. Couldn't reach the 30 amp box. Neighbor loaned me an extension. Could not reach the water supply with my 25' hose. Had to add a 10' extension. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. Close to all attractions. I really don't know if I would camp here again. There are 3 campgrounds in the area and it would be a toss up. We camped here one week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
Nice campground; the distance to hookups varies: some far, some near to the sites. The sites vary as to width making some very difficult to get into with a larger rig. Campground is a loop with bath house and dump in the center. If you're looking for seclusion this is not your place. On the other hand if you what to talk and get to see your fellow campers this is the place. Golf course and pro shop is next to campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$18
Limited sewer hookups , mostly for perm residents. Beautiful lake. Ok if you are into Stephen Foster. Not much else to do We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2004
$18
A nice shaded, wooded campground. Facilities very well maintained. Quiet. Reach was a little long to the electric and water, but I had extensions up to 50'. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Older campground in a beautiful area of KY. Close to the Stephen Foster Musical, which is a must if you stay here. Lots of shade, but the reason for the low rating was that the hookups are far and few between. We had to scramble around to find someone who had another extension we could use to conncet electric. Some of the sites are rather small but there is good space between them. Convenient to stores, laundry, golf, and downtown Bardstown is a must see. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com