223200 User submitted reviews online!!
Cumberland Falls State Resort Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (606) 528-4121
CGID1183

Cumberland Falls State Resort Park

Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   6   6   10   6   6   5   6   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$22
The 7 is due to the fact the staff is not totally up front with the site information. I have a 30 foot trailer and the woman who gave me the site info on the phone said I would fit on the site she suggested because of the distance from my second axle to the rear bumper. For most sites, there is a cliff after the parking stop so your rear stabilizers are flapping in the breeze. I had site 28 which is the only "safe" site for a trailer this size. I had to park my rig sideways on the pavement in order to make it comfortable for me. Sites 28, 29 and 30 seem to be old sites with old tent sites behind them and they just made three sites out of six. They actually tried to put a 36 foot travel trailer on a site that was 24 feet long. Staff was very nice but just young kids inexperienced with camper sizes. Horseback riding stables on site, pool is down the road and a fee is charged even if you are camping ($2 PP). There is a very small camp store with the absolute minimum necessities. Lodge is also down the road, and the falls are even further down the road. Unless you are an avid hiker, you can't walk or even bike to any of this due to the hilly roads. This is a great tent/popup campground. Dump station is easy to access and is actually sloped a bit toward the dump. They should all be like this. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
This is a nice little park that is suitable for tents up to small travel trailers. The entry road is narrow and winding and has some significant grades, but unless your tow vehicle/RV is way under-powered you should be able to handle the grades. Note the narrow description - this is important. Long vehicles will have some difficulty getting around the turns unless the road is empty (which is often the case.) The road inside the campground is also somewhat narrow, and wide vehicles may encounter difficulty making the tight loop at the end of the camp road. All of the spots in this park are short, but plenty wide (for slides, EZUp, etc.), have fire rings and are asphalt with gravel in the non-parking section of the spot. Hookups are shared, so you may need to move to an adjacent spot to get them on the proper side. Also, they are at varying distances from each spot, some being close enough for a standard 25' hose/power cord, others will require additional length to reach (no more than 50', if that, but longer than a 25' cord.) The park is located on some of the only flat land around, so there is not much the State Parks system could do to improve the size of the spots even if they were given the money by the State (which they have not for some years.) Check-in was simple and the park staff were very helpful and friendly. They let us check the spot before we finished check-in to be sure that it would work for us, and were happy to help us move to an adjacent spot with closer hookups. They also came by each day to make sure that we knew the camp store would be closing in 30 minutes, which I thought was very courteous. We stayed in spot #25, which had plenty of room for our 18' A-frame pop-up, but we had to park the truck across the front as the pad was too short to park both on the pad. This was not a problem and the park staff can assist with alternate parking if needed. There are large concrete wheel stops to prevent you from backing too far, but you will want to note the location of your rear stabilizers as backing too far in may leave your jacks hanging in mid-air. The campground is old, but well cared for, and quite nice once you get used to it's size. The bathrooms were clean (twice a day when we were there), but old. There were two showers in the mens facilities and both were clean and fully functional, but showing their age. The rangers passed through regularly and everything was clean and free of debris, trash, etc. This is probably the quietest campground we've ever stayed in. There is a lot to do at the park, which is a short drive (probably 5 minutes at most) from the campground. There are three waterfalls: Cumberland Falls, Eagle Falls, and Dog Slaughter Falls. The main attraction does not require hiking, but the other two do. There is also a playground in the campground for children, as well as a nature center, gift shop, and 'gem mining'. There is also a lodge at the park which has a restaurant in case you don't want to cook in camp (we did not go, but it looked nice.) Lastly, there is one dump site located at the entrance next to the check in station. It was well maintained and clean when we were there, and there was no line to use so emptying our grey water tote was a snap. Despite the small size of the spots and the narrow, winding entrance road, we would certainly camp here again - it was quiet, pretty, and there was plenty to see and do. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
The sites are short, and your tow most likely will have to park at the side of the road. The end of the loop was under construction to erect playground equipment while I was there. I took a site for a pop-up, as it had grass in front as opposed to chat. Restrooms clean. Wi-Fi available at the office/store, which was stocked with food/camping items. Tent sites were very nice and some built with platforms. Not much to do within the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
Clean park and gorgeous setting on top of knoll. Only one site available for 30'+ (RV 33). Most sites are for smaller tent trailers, Class C and B, and slope down at back. Bathrooms and showers need maintenance from wear and water damage, but clean. Lots of dog friendly trails. Can use store's internet if close enough. Knoxville antenna TV available but sketchy. Stayed 3 nights. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$17
Beautiful campground, nice asphalted sites, nice roads. We had to search a bit to find a site that didn't drop off the rear, so the bolted down picnic table would be accessible. I did notice the handicapped sites were rather steep, although they were a short walk from the shower house. Lovely stay, would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
This is not a good place for a big RV. Our 37'fifth wheel was difficult to squeeze into. wouldn't want to do this again in our rig. Not easy access for any big rig. We were here for a family reunion. Would stay in a cabin next time! The biggest frustration was the lack of signs telling you where to register. Drove through the entire state park and had to find a place to turn around (not an easy feat in a F350 pulling a 37' 5th wheel). Bathrooms were clean, staff very friendly. We had Wi-Fi (were beside the grocery store, so were on theirs), rarely had cell service. The "moonbow" was a sight to behold. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Read the reviews on this one. The park is nice and has a great pool close to the campground. Wifi is available at the lodge which is nearby. The sites are close. Sardine packed in close. Sites are short. Do NOT come here in/with a big rig. We set up our popup and then had a tough time finding enough room to park our TV It ends up right next to your neighbor so our picnic table was in between our vehicle and the neighbors vehicle You share electric and water so bring extra hose and extra electric cord. Store on site is adequate. Bathrooms and campground are dated the showers and toilets are ok but old and even when "clean" they are not ideal. Note that the sites are on the top of a ridge and the back of each site drops off rapidly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Sites are tight for big rigs because most are not deep. We had site RV15 and it was fine for our Jayco popup that is 24 feet when open, although one bed did hang over the edge. We could not put up our screen house because the fire pit was really close to our trailer awning. We parked on the cement slab. We saw many larger trailers park and they usually had to park the length of the site rather than on the cement slab to get on. Many people parked their cars in other empty sites if one was available. The office was open from 8-8 and a ranger rode through the campground several times when the office was not open. There was a small store that had the essentials as well as firewood and ice. The tent sites here were really cool with little decks on the sites for tables, etc. Campers could use the pool for $2 a day. It was about a 1/2 mile hike each way and they had a large parking lot if you wanted to take your car. The falls were beautiful. Take the trail to Eagle Falls if you want a beautiful hike. Corbin about 20 miles, had many grocery stores and a Super Wal-Mart is right off exit 29. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Camped here to see the Moonbow. We did see it but it was a little disappointing. It is not a rainbow like the touched up photos show, and the water is brown not blue. Ridgeline Campground is very small, both in size of sites and # of sites. We have a 21' Class B and it was tight. Bathhouse is old and small, adjacent to the store and checkin. I thought the place would fill up due to the full moon (Moonbow) but there were still empty sites. Campground is quite a ways from the falls. Falls area could use some night lighting by stairs. Nice giftshop. Buffet ($11 = Roast Beef, Chicken, Fish) was OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
The word here is "Tight". The RV sites are 90 degree to the small road and is almost impossible to maneuver a trailer. This is a camp that needs to be reworked to allow larger vehicles. The camp hosts are very helpful in selecting a spot the you can get into. We had to park parallel to the road across the camp site as we could not back into the site. There is also a fairly steep hill into and out of the park. The trees are low and need trimming. Water and electrical were good. Did I suggest using a tent. We would not come back with our 24 foot 5th wheel. The park is a great hiking park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
This park is geared towards small trailers and tents mostly. Our trailer was too big for the regular sites so they let us camp on the service road. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made a point of making sure everybody was happy. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$19
This was our first time out with our hybrid camper on Memorial Day weekend. Our camper is 18 feet closed but when we drop the two ends it is 22 feet, the site was for 25 feet and felt very close to the road. Parked our truck parallel to the camper. The staff was very friendly, clean restrooms. The sites are very tight to back into, tight corner turning into the campground. You have to drive to the pool. There are hiking trails to get to the falls. A little playground on the circle, but not a lot of places for kids to ride their bikes or play. Lots of shade. Picnic tables and fire rings at the sites. Seems everyone brought their dogs (including us) and they were all well behaved. We hiked to the falls (both Cumberland and Eagle Creek) from camp, then drove over to Dog Slaughter Falls. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$13
Very few sites for large RV's, but #121 worked out ok for our 37' Class A. We drove through the park before reserving since we live within a half hour or so, then called the park office directly since they show a maximum length of 28' at most sites on the Reserve America reservation website. Overall, not a bad place, and considering the price, we were pretty pleased during the three nights we stayed here. There are even a couple of sites that larger RV's were allowed to park perpendicular to the parking area, instead of in it, as it was designed. The Falls are beautiful and there are lots of hiking trails in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
We just visited during our trip to the park. In my opinion the campground is really only suitable for tents, pop ups, and smaller travel trailers. There are a couple of sites you might be able to get a larger unit into, but it would be dicey. There are steep drop-offs behind many of the sites. If you have a larger RV, you are better off staying somewhere else and just day tripping into the park. We would definitely not attempt to stay there in our 35-foot unit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
The park itself is very nice , great trails and falls, plenty of photo opts. The campground itself is poor. Sites too close; some are just open areas where several units are together. There is a horse stable within a short distance. The campground needs to be reworked and updated to be within the standard Kentucky wants. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
This campground is built on a cliff and that's why the sites are small. It's true that many units had about 8' hanging over the edge of the pad. We did see all types of RV's camping there including large RV's but it is difficult to maneuver into the spots as there's only 1 narrow road between. We set up our trailer beside the paved pad, not on it, as we wouldn't have been able to open up our awning due to a large tree. There isn't any privacy between the sites and they are close together. Sites 122 to 141 are the better sites, though some of the sites at the end of the loop have tent sites below them going down the hill (i.e. 135A, 135B). Some of the B sites were actually situated on the edge of a cliff with a 50' drop below. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$19
This campground is situated right on top of a ridge. When you park your camper, the back end is hanging over the edge of a very steep hill down into the woods!! We stayed here in 2008, and would not recommend it to anyone. If you are going to this area, either stay in Corbin KOA or just rent one of the cabins. The campground is very unlevel and dangerous if you forget to chock the wheels of your unit! We will not be staying here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Nice campground for the money. There is a big pool located in the park, but you have to drive to it. We would go back if we ever traveled to the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2007
$17
Horrible, poorly kept campground, looks as if it has been closed down. Has gravel clearings designated as campsites. Bad copperhead (snake) problem when we were here. Reserved 3 nights, stayed one. No park programs offered. The Cumberland Falls "moonbow" is a tale to get tourists into the area; it can only be seen in full moon, low humidity conditions. (Not the heat of summer.) We couldn't wait to get away from this area! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
This park is a pretty setting but the sites are very short. Our 25 ft. travel trailer would have to hang over the back edge over the mountain to fit. The camp office said they have big RV's here all the time but I don't see how they fit. Not a lot of room to park the tow vehicle either or have an awning/patio set up. We looked at this campground but did not end up staying at it. Beautiful park and falls. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2005
$18
One of the very worst campgrounds that I have ever seen. You would literally have trouble maneuvering a V.W. bug around in here. We had a 30 ft. motorhome that was hanging over a cliff in the back and the front of the rig was still in the road. It was so bad that we left and moved down the road to a very nice KOA in Corbin. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2005
$13
Because we had a 19-foot travel trailer, we did not have trouble fitting on a site. The campground was sparsely populated when we were there, so we didn't experience the problems other reviewers have had. We were able to park at an adjoining site, but could have parked on gravel on the camp site. Loop (with playground) is truly one-lane only. Some larger rigs were pulled in perpendicular to the camp sites, and so could fit. The campground has a small store. Because they are in the park, it is handy to the Falls and Lodge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2004
$18
Lack of sewer and wifi prevent a higher rating, not the size of the sites. I stayed here in a 36' 5th wheel and had no problem in the site I was in. There were several others we could have fit, you just need to know how to drive (and back up). The staff was helpful and competent. There are many good hiking trails here ranging from mild to strenuous with plentiful scenery. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$15
The sites are so short that even small popup campers fill the entire site with no room to park the tow vehicle. The rear of our truck camper hung over a bank making about a 4 foot step to get up into the camper. The loop road through the camping area is only wide enough for one vehicle at a time. If you meet another vehicle, someone needs to back out of the area. I would only recommend this as a overnight stop for small class B type campers or tents. The Cumberland Falls area is beautiful and worth seeing and the lodge restaurant serves an excellent evening buffet for about $14/person. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$14
We called before arriving to see if our 27.5' 5th wheel was OK. Ranger said "sure, no problem, we have had up to 38' motor homes in here". When we arrived we found only 1 site we would fit into (thank goodness the motorhome in the site was leaving)- but our front was in the edge of the narrow road, the back "over the cliff" and the truck had to be parked on the grass after moving the table and still was out in the road. Most of the sites were for tents (but very unlevel) SMALL motorhomes that could hang their back out over the cliff or for tent trailers. The pull-thrus were very short and so unlevel the ranger said they were useless. We could not make the turn on the loop road without having other campers move their cars parked on the road. Because it was late, we stayed the night and then moved to General Burnsides State Park (It was beautiful). For a "resort" park, the campground needs a lot and the rangers need to be honest about their campground. The Falls, cabins and lodge were beautiful. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com