220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Bogue Chitto State park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (985) 839-5707
CGID11937

Bogue Chitto State park

Camp Information
Sites
81
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   9   9   8   8   5   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$28
We stayed 5 nights in the Upland Campground. The sites were level and hookups fairly easy to get to. Nice park to walk and ride bikes. We hiked the 6 mile hiking trail, also. Only problem we found the sites needed mowing and weed eating. Some parts of the hiking trail needed attention also. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
We stayed at the upper loop. The road in the loop has been paved since our last stay but not the individual sites. They are still gravel. It rained while we were there and many sites did not have enough gravel and turned into a muddy mess. It was the case with our site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
I highly recommend this park if you are interested in hiking, fishing, river swimming/beaches and wildlife. The layout of the different sites varied. Some had a sand plot for a tent, all had nice wooden decks with picnic tables. I highly recommend staying at one of the lakeside spots (we had 129, also 101 was a nice one). Normally we eat meals inside but the scenery while eating on the raised platform lakeside was fantastic. I took a small aluminum boat powered by an electric trolling motor to fish the banks for perch and bass. No outboard allowed but oars or paddles would be fine. There is no launch so you need to be able to muscle a boat down the grassy bank. Wildlife: A 12 inch alligator hung out in the water by our site looking for handouts. A lot of birds. When out walking on the road an extremely large boar darted across the street in front of us. That was exciting. The park ranger said there are too many of them and they are going to start trapping them. The hiking trails are physically demanding; not for the faint - a lot of ups/downs and very soft sand. The trail to the beach (in the bottomland campground) is about 10-15 minutes through the woods; follow the white trail markers. Wear Deet; I was bitten by a horsefly and it HURT! There were Wi-FI towers throughout the park, and I could detect the network, but no internet was available. 4G (AT&T) and cellular phone service were both available. Tours at the archeological site (Fricke's cave) are available but you need to ask about them at Ranger station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
Bogue Chitto State Park is great place to go on hot summer days. The water park is fairly large and the river is quit refreshing. They offer tubing and canoeing on the river and bring your horse if you have one, there are several miles of trails. A very spacious park. The upper ground campsite are paved with very clean bathrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
We stayed there twice this year - once in the spring and once in the summer. We stayed in the Bottomland in the spring and the Upland in the summer - probably should've done it the other way around! It rained when we were in the bottomland and the wet silty mud on the ground was hard not to track inside. But, there are wonderful shady sites, some on the water. And a great little sandy path through the woods to the river. The upland sites were really hot in the summer. Since this is a new state park the new trees in the upland area are still small. There are tall pines, but need more shade. There is a wonderful walking trail through the woods. Lots of up-and-down - not flat! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$26
Its not on the way to anywhere...but, the upland sites are good size, full hook up, 50 amp and sewer. Roads are paved with rock pads. Very quiet. Not a lot of shade. Over air TV signals were strong, SAT was easy to hit and air card signal was good. There's a Winn Dixie and a few eating places in Franklinton. If you want to spend a few days, drive north on state road 25. There is a river and tubing. Low land camp area has smaller sites, but is on the water. Not a well marked turn off from 25 and the GPS may not have it. Watch close for the brown park sign followed quickly by a sharp turn to the right off the main road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2013
$19
Everything in the park, except the Upland RV campground was closed. Most of the campsites were level and spaced far enough apart that there was privacy. WIFI was weak and limited use. Very few campers even on the week-end. Area kind of remote and a 5 or 6 mile drive to anything. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$28
We stayed here during the Thanksgiving holiday, and it was great.There is a good distance between sites, and we had site 129 right on one of the lakes and had wonderful weather. The river is great even at this time of the year, and all the trails were well kept and clean. The showers and restrooms were clean and in good working order. Nice park for kids; hiking and biking trails, fishing ponds, tubing and canoeing on the river make for lots of stuff for kids to do. Great place, and I will return for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$24
Compared to any other government owned and managed RV campground this one is a 10. Very helpful staff at check-in. I give the park an 8 based on a few minor issues. The showers need a mat and bench in the dressing area. Hot water was barely acceptable in all the handicap accessible bathrooms. Charging drive ins, without reservations, the $6 reservation or transaction fee is a rip off. It added nothing to my visit and goes to a private company, not the state. Wi-Fi was inoperable in the lower campground so stayed in the upper campground. TV via antenna yields 30+ channels. The park was less then 5% filled during this off season. Dust was no problem as it rained 2” overnight. The roads are paved but the mostly level sites are graveled. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Excellent park. Beautiful surroundings and campsites. The park is 4 miles from Franklinton and stores. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$18
A very nice state park. We stayed in the upland camping area. There is a lot of space between sites. Bathrooms were spotless and were cleaned every morning. I can see the dust from the roads being a problem when it does not rain for a while. We would camp here again if we have the time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
This is a beautiful state park. The site was large and level, hookups were easy, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Since we were here during the middle of the week, the campground was almost empty. There was good television and cell phone reception, and the Wi-Fi signal was strong and dependable. As others have mentioned, the only negative about the campground was the dust. The roads had a layer of limestone gravel, and the lower portion of the trees and vegetation had a layer of white dust covering them! It rained while we were here, which settled the dust, but the wet, red sand/clay was a bigger problem than the dust. It made it very messy walking the dog. None of that would keep us from coming back, though. Maybe we would just lay out more old rugs to wipe feet on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
This was our first time at Bouge Chitta State Park and it is a very nice new park. Restrooms and laundry facilities clean and in working order. The staff, very friendly and helpful. The only disappointment, and it is a big one for me personally, was the lack of availability of internet. When I called the front office to inquire, I was told, it was jammed on account of so many users, there were fewer than a dozen of us in the entire campground! Definitely an issue for us, so don't count on having internet provided by them. We are getting ready to book another week here, and are looking forward to it, except for the internet issue! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
This is a great park and as soon as the "dust" issue is resolved it will be difficult to get a space on any weekend. We camped over the Halloween weekend and it was nearly perfect. Nice sites, be careful as all are not level, with plenty of space between. We camped in the upland section and it was very nice. The bottlomland has river and pond view sites; however, they do not have sewer connections. We plan to return again and again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
Beautiful, brand new and well appointed park. We had a great time camped at the upland campground which had full hook ups. Some sites had limited shade. Drove through the bottom land campground, sites were also nice several were waterfront but no sewer hookups. Like previous posts, it was dusty because of gravel roadways. Nice hiking trails and programs, staff was very nice. Will definitely frequent this park even if rates go up to help pave the roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
Beautiful area with wildlife, spacious sites, clean restrooms, good security and plenty walking and biking trails. I just wish I could ask the designer why when spending millions on a brand new state park would you put down dusty limestone instead of paving the roads? This is the only negative in my opinion. The trees on the side of the road are almost completely white with all the dust. It's impossible to ride in the back of a pickup or ride a bike down the main roads due to all the dust kicked up by passing vehicles. We had to stop at a truck stop on the way home and wash our camper and truck. I filled out a comment card and will not return to this park until the roads are paved like Tickfaw and others in the area. Hopefully everyone else takes the front office advice and fills out and mails the cards into the state. The girls we talked to in the front office said this is the main complaint they receive on a daily basis. Overall, a beautiful park and it would have received an 8 or 9 otherwise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
This is Louisiana's newest state park and it's very nice except for the non-paved roads and sites. The road/site surfaces are covered in crushed limestone and are extremely dusty. Also areas of the park are very far from each other and one would probably have to drive to each. It would be tough to walk or bike very much because of the dust and the distance. Hopefully, the plans in the near future include paving at least the main roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
This park is great! There are 2 different campground loops. The Upland loop has 49 sites with sewer hookups while the Bottomland loop has no sewer hookups but has decks and some are waterside. There is a "beach area" along side the Bogue Chitto river that is great for a day at the water. No pool but there is a small water park that is great for small children with a water slide and sprays. The only drawback we found to this park is that the roads are fresh limestone which makes it VERY dusty. Over time, the dust should settle. The sites are very roomy and some are shaded. Many miles of walking trails and a large gorge in the center. Great place to camp. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
This a brand new state park that opened July 28th. The RV park is separated into 2 different areas (upland RV and bottomland RV). The upland is traditional RV camping with full hookups and all back-ins, gravel, and limited shade. The bottomland is a mix of back-ins and pull-throughs with wooden decks creekside. These however only have electric and water, no sewer. A dump station is located close by. The activities are numerous, including hiking, horseback trails, water park for kids, and fishing in ponds or river. The interior roads are still gravel and can be dusty but they are working every day to make this the destination park in south Louisiana. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com