223611 User submitted reviews online!!
LBL National Recreation Area / Hillman Ferry was rated 8 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (270) 924-2000
CGID1194

LBL National Recreation Area / Hillman Ferry

Camp Information
Sites
380
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   8   6   5   9   6   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
Very nice. I would have rated a 10, but we did not use the restrooms or laundry so do not know about them. Area is quiet and undeveloped. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
We arrived without reservations and were given first come, first served site in the T section with full hookups. I would not call the sites huge and the driveway area could be tight with all the vehicles parked at each one. Our site was gravel and level, but there are a few that are concrete. We did not use the bath house in the T section. We launched the kayak near the swimming area because of the huge boats and wake at the other boat launch. We enjoyed the area and also took the Honker Trail hike - but the mosquitos were AWFUL. Everyone said the rain had really brought out the bugs. I would recommend buying fuel and supplies before arriving as the area is remote to shopping and somewhat expensive. We would return, if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
The park is an impressive development over a vast expanse along the lake. The first thing noticed is no big motorhomes, mostly trailers, fifth-wheels and a few class B and C’s. The second noticed thing is how hilly it is in places. Sites here may have long steep back-in ramps. There are some pull-through sites. Expect to do some creative leveling. The electric was excellent on this Memorial Day packed camp. Water pressure was also good. Cell phone was coverage spotty. The beach in the A area is very nice. The individual shower rooms were modern. This is a justifiably popular camp ground which attests to the continuing expansion for more sites and to accommodate larger rigs. If you have a long rig, it is strongly advised to consult with the excellent staff about where to go and the impossibly tight places to avoid. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
Upon arriving we found that we could not get into the site we had reserved. While the website indicated a 115 foot drive, 60 feet was straight downhill. We were then given a first come, first served site in the T section with full hookups. The site was gravel and level. Much more suited to our 38 foot fifth wheel. I would say that all the sites in the A section are for small units, and would highly recommend a call to the campground instead of using the website when reserving. The staff seemed to know all the sites and can make a more realistic assignment. The area is an outdoor mecca. Wonderful kayaking, biking and hiking. The showers in the T section were outdoor showers but the bathhouse in the D section did have private showers. We did not use either, except to take cover during a tornado alert. We would definitely come again but only in the T or D section. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$10
Rate is Golden Pass. Limited sites with water to RV until April 1. Restroom and showers in area we were in were closed. Rain prevented us from enjoying all the scenery area offered. We left after only one night although had paid for two. We would like to try again in better weather. No TV channels via antenna. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$12
First of all, this is not a Corps of Engineers campground. The COE is "Canal Campground" in Grand Rivers, KY. We thought we were stopping at the COE park and ended up at Hillman Ferry. It was OK for a one night stop but they put us in site #60 which required a very tight turn and then backing down a very narrow incline to get in the site. The site was big but getting in it was a challenge! The section of the park we were in (we arrived without reservations and took what we could get) was crowded and most sites were nearly on top of each other. This site is right next to the beach area which means this site became a walkway for several children in the area. No big deal unless it bothers you but it was rather intrusive. The other end of the campground had some pretty sites but they are really close together. It seemed more like a private campground than a National or State Park. The rate we paid was with a senior discount. The check-in people were very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$23
When we arrived at this campground we immediately decided to stay longer than planned. Hillman Ferry is one of the most developed National Forest campground I’ve ever seen. The sites are nice, level, large hard gravel pads and there’s a complete selection from full hook-up to primitive, heavily wooded to fully open lake-view. By far the prettiest (in our opinion) sites are the water-front ones in Section C1 and C2, although all the sites are decent. A portion of the sites are auctioned off for the season each year (and occupied by long-term campers) but the prime sites are kept open and reservable. The area is fairly quiet during the week, but does tend to fill-up on the weekend so book ahead if you want a lake view. We parked here in a 40-footer and had no problem navigating the roads or sites along the C loops. We spent some lovely days here watching the sunset over the lake, hiking and playing in the water with our doggie. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$14
This campground has always been fun in the past, nice for family outings. Management has been a little overzealous in recent years though. They act like it's a really secure place, which basically just means that the check-in procedures often takes at least 45 minutes on a busy holiday weekend. I've never seen any campground anywhere have such inefficient check-in procedures. Fact of the matter is that anybody can drive halfway down the access road and park, get on the paved bicycle trails, and walk right in then have full run of the place. It's not nearly as secure as they want you to believe. It keeps the unpaid and unregistered cruisers out, that's about it. They used to allow everybody to hang out at the basketball courts as late as you want. It was awesome for summer nights for the younger crowd. Now they don't even turn the lights on, which just means all the teenagers are hanging out in shady scattered spots instead of all in one place with spotlights on them. Just some really backwards thinking going on there. Although they're a little misled on the security, most of the employees are nice except for a few of the check-in guys, especially if they are an intern. Most recently they are old volunteers though so that doesn't seem to be an issue anymore. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$14
Golden Age rate for 50 amp electric only. We were in A loop, beware going too far into this end. It gets real tight with steep side roads. Not a good place for MH's or any large rig. This loop is mostly side hill. Lots of slope to the sites. The first site we were assigned had 18" of grade between our axles. Moved to A4 and blocked the front tires. Golden Age discount is a flat $6, or half of a basic no hookup site. Then prices vary by amps, water or not and sewer. Verizon broadband had no signal, cells were usable, but spotty. TV via batwing was mostly good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$22
We extended our stay for 10 nights. Limited activity this early in the season, which we enjoyed. Hosts were very helpful and pleasant. We know the campground will be very crowded in later months, however, perfect in early spring and late fall. We will return during the same seasons. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
We camped here on our way to Arkansas. There are many camp areas. We were along the lake. The sites here were back in. There is a concrete pad, concrete table and fire ring. The view of the lake was great although the water level was way down. Some of the sites can be very tight and difficult to get into and some did not appear to be level but ours was OK. The showers were clean. There are individual showers which was nice. I also saw washers and dryers at the comfort stations. There is a swimming area on the lake. For the boaters with the right site you could pull your boat up to your campsite. We did go to see the bison although they were not in the bison range. If you are in the area be sure to go eat at Patti's. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
(We didn't stay here), but looked it over. Plenty of sites, but wall-to-wall kids on bicycles everywhere! Sites are close together like they're trying to squeeze as many together as possible. No room for privacy. Noisy! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
We spent 3 nights in Area C full hook-up area. This loop is located on a hillside and can be hard to get into depending on your trailer size. I had to inch my way into the spot due to trees on the opposite side of the road prohibited getting the vehicle off the road to back into the spot. The full hookup spots in area T are closer together but are level and appear easier to get in/out of. The park was clean and an attendant is available 24 hours at the check-in station. There is also a small store on-site with the basic items. The swimming area was also relatively clean. The park does allow extended stays so you may be next to someone who appears to have brought half of their house (grills, ATVs, tents, regrigerators, etc.) I have been to nicer places, but this campground was clean and had the amenities you would be looking for around the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
We can't wait to return to this park. Terrific campground, quiet, tall trees, everything clean. Plenty of bike and walking trails. Camp hosts were friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
I thought this was an excellent park. Big, well-placed, sites, many with water view or waterfront. It has boat launches, swimming beaches, hiking/biking trails, an archery range, camp store with friendly staff, etc. etc. A lot for a national/federal park. There are a number of seasonal sites, but we found them to be well-kept. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
Yes, this is definitely a very popular campground. We camped here during the week in mid September and the campground was almost full. We were fortunate to get a site overlooking the water, - lots of birds, - herons, kingfishers, etc. However, motorized boats are allowed so some days it might be noisy. There are some walking trails right at the campground but none along the water and only one trail that takes you to a view out over the lake. However, just walking in the campground provides exercise and beauty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
Beautiful campground with lots of shaded wooded sites. Even though we did not have a reservation, we were able to get a very quiet pull-thru big-rig site. We had full hookups in the "T" section. The park is very quiet and peaceful. Friendly staff. The only complaint is the long-term residents with messy, cluttered sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
I have always loved this campground, but was a bit disappointed this time. We decided to go during the week, rather than the weekend to avoid the crowds, but, the campground was full the first night there. Upon our arrival, there were only 4 sites left with water and electric, so we chose the best one based on our memory. As it turns out, the area we chose, was pretty full of seasonal campers. Most of them were not present, yet, had so much stuff setting everywhere making it look very cluttered and, well, trashy, to be honest. And the lights, most of these seasonal folk must be afraid of the dark! This was very disappointing, as one of my favorite things about camping, is watching the shadows created by the campfire dance around, which was impossible due to the light from other unoccupied sites. However, if you don't mind all the clutter, and light, this is still a great place to take the kids for daytime activities. The staff were very friendly, and the grounds were well kept, clean showers and restrooms, and, very secure. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$24
A wonderful campground! We were not able to make reservations is advance for the any of the sites we wanted (full hook-ups) so we were a little nervous about getting a good site. When we got there, the staff gave us several choices and we were very pleased. Our site was very spacious and private, and the staff was wonderful the entire stay. Some of our favorite things about the park was the beautiful bike trail thru the woods, the location of it (close to several great outdoor attractions), the outpost store, and how secure the staff at the front gate made it. We will certainly be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2006
$24
Why would I rate this park a 2 when it is such a beautiful and clean park with such clean showers? This park has MAJOR ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS! When I turned on the A/C, the voltage dropped from 111V to 105V. This is way too low. I checked two other sites, one far away, and the unloaded voltage at the outlet was the same. Therefore, this problem was not just at our site. At one point, the A/C bogged down and the lights dimmed. I immediately turned off our A/C. After a few seconds, the park voltage jumped up to around 115V. I suspect some A/C’s got fried. After that, the voltage was marginal. Other than this major issue, the park is absolutely beautiful. The sites are level and well spaced. We would certainly go here again if it were not for the electrical problems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$24
All roads are blacktop, some roads to sites will have tree roots that push up blacktop, very hard to drive over. Sites are gravel and range from from level to some what level. Lots of trees in park under. Number of good sites on lake. Area T has. three rings of roads. Trees are very close to road in this loop. Very hard to drive in this loop. If you have a motorhome you may wish to use area C1 or C3. No noise in park. Golden Age Passport is good for $6.00 per day off price. Lots of speed bumps in park. Bath houses were all new that I looked at. You can swim or fish in lake. Park sits on 300 miles of undeveloped shoreline. Very nice place to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$19
We loved this park -- spacious, lots of trees, beautiful in the fall colors. There were lovely areas to walk and our little dog loved it. The spaces were big and lots of privacy around. We enjoyed some of the sights close by, such as Kentucky Dam, a planetarium, and Patti's Settlement. We plan to go back there soon, and would really recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$20
Beautiful wooded campground. Sites are fairly well spaced; some right along lakeside, others on terraced hillsides. Good choice of basic, elec. or elec-water sites; also some full-hookup sites, a few big-rig friendly. Tight turns on some CG roads (particularly C section) might be a problem for large or long rigs. When lake is higher, fishing enthusiasts might be able to drop a line right from your site! Really nice bathrooms - loved the private shower rooms!! Kept quite clean, especially considering how popular this campground is. Would definitely come here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$24
Excellent campground. Lots of tall pine trees and spacious sites. Sites are fairly level, but be careful pulling in because of so many trees. Administered by the Forestry Service so not a lot of amenities, but staff is very friendly, and the grounds are clean with abundant wildlife. We have camped here many times and never disapointed. Cellphone and satellite reception is spotty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$16
We camp at this campground several times a year. Great campground. Lots of activities going on during the week. Capture The Flag, Hikes, Concerts, and many more. They have a nice size beach area with volleyball, a playground, 2 boat docks. The only down fall I had this time, is for the careless pet owner who took their dog into the shower with them and let it defecate in the shower stall. Other than that mishap, I will be back again soon. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$12
Very nice campground, but very crowded. If you want something other than primitive for a weekend, you will need to get there at least by the middle of the week. Bathrooms were clean, but not well stocked on toilet paper. Water hydraunts in primitive areas were very far apart. Lots of Poison Ivy and Oak, and ticks. This used to be our favorite campground, but over the past few years, it has gone down hill a little. Probably due to the increased popularity. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$24
This is a very large park. Your sites have small rock gravel and are fairly spaced. The bath house was nice with private showers. They were still building some of them. They had a band playing on Saturday night, which was nice. Also a store with a pretty good variety of items. Friendly workers. A couple of beach/swim areas. Playground for the children. Nice bicycle paths for bike riding. We had a site with full hookups for $24.00 a night but they had other sites w/electric and water for a cheaper price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Campground is now run by the government. Best sites with sewer hook are taken by seasonals. Sites with sewer are $20, without sewer, electric, water are less. Some restrooms are very bad and some are good. The older restrooms are in bad shape, but you can expect that. Very nice campground with loads of things to do and see. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Very large Corp of Engineers campground in Land between the lakes. Has around 100 full hookup sites and rest mostly electric and water with some primitive sites. Lots of trees with some areas mostly tall pine trees and other area's a variety of hardwood. Roads are asphalt paved and sites are a small rock chap. Sites are outlined with railroad type ties which makes the actual site kind of tidy. Some sites are on Kentucky lake. Campground has a store, boat dock, swimming area and bicycle paths. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com