220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Grayson Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (606) 474-9727
CGID1195

Grayson Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   6   7   7   9   9   10   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
We travel through this part of Kentucky often on our way home and enjoyed our overnight at this park which was about 15 minutes easy drive off the Grayson exit. We were on site 21 with no problems. Office staff was very friendly and unlike state parks in many states, KY doesn't reserve them and then leave them empty for days. Everything was clean and neat. Patrolled well. We will definitely stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
Campground is in middle of golf course on high clearing. Very few trees. No water access. Only two trails in woods along golf fairways and lake 20 feet down from path drop off. Stayed only 2 nights then moved on. Lake outside of park is nice for boating. Few things to do here, suggest carter caves or Cave run areas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This was a nice campground on Grayson Lake. The only downfall was that the lake can become very noisy when there are fishing tourneys going on. The park is very family friendly and thus can be loud until quiet time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
$20 but they give a senior discount. This park is about 10 miles off of I-64 in the eastern part of KY. They have an award winning golf course right next to the campground actually the first sites must find a number of golf balls coming right at them. Kentucky has a number of State Parks with golf courses and they are very reasonable. State Park is nice with swimming, hiking, golf, swimming, boating, volleyball, basketball, hiking, horseshoe pits and picnic areas. Most sites are not level we were in #15 and it was fine for our 25foot Pulse. All sites have water and electricity but some hookups were a good distance away from the actual site. Restrooms were clean and they do have showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
Nice park with clean bathrooms. Bring extra water hose and electrics. The lake is accessed by hiking a trail. You can fish from the ledges as you walk along the ridge next to the lake, but best to have a boat. We chose this over Carter Caves as most of the caves are closed due to white nose fungus. It's an OK lake and park. Good value for the money. Decent lots and if you select well, you'll enjoy some shade. We were in lot 16 which was great. Spots 14 through 16 were nice and shaded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
Nice quiet campground in a state park with large lake nearby. Sites are good sized, but some in the back loop are difficult to access with 5th wheel or RV. There is a variety of shaded and open sites. Would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
We camped here before we got our travel trailer and it was fantastic. It was one of the very best state park campgrounds we had been to. We had a spot on the outer ring that was very large and had shade trees. We were right across from the playground and bath house. There was no camp store and you have to drive several minutes to get to a gas station but other then that I would suggest it to anyone. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
Very clean, both the campground and rest room/s. Very friendly campers and staff. Just the wife and I and we really enjoy this campground as it is only about a 30 minute ride home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
We camped here overnight while traveling to Virginia and were pleasantly surprised. The campground was very pretty. The bathrooms and showers were clean. My kids had a ball since there were many children out riding their bikes and playing at the playground. One problem we encountered is, as stated on another review, you need a 50' hose to reach the water hookup. We did not have water hookup that night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$16
First the golf course, Hidden Cove. A golfer's dream for a state park, we added extra nights in order to play it a second time. Campground is good for a state park, some sites are tough for motorhomes, but we found a good level one. Greater place for smaller rigs though. Water hookups are set between sites and we needed to go pick up another 25' of hose (50's total does it) to hookup. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
This campground is family friendly, clean, well-kept, as many of Kentucky State Park Campgrounds are, and at a reasonable rate. It has a nice lake also. The only problems we found at the campground we that there is only one playground, not a lot of security, and several uneven sites. We were there for the whole weekend from Friday until Monday and during the weekend, many children were riding mopeds, which is against the rules, and motor scooters. I personally do not have a problem with it and my children were riding them as well but Sunday after a fully packed campground had cleared up, they decided to start security patrolling and my child was warned harshly about riding his scooter and was it was pointed out to us that it is against the rules, even though it is not posted anywhere in the park. I didn't have a problem with him not being able to ride it if it is against the rules, but why wait until most of the park is cleared out to start enforcing the rules. We felt like they should have been ppatrolling during the busiest time instead of waiting when everyone left to begin. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$14
We actually camped here in 1997 but the choice didn't go back that far. This was by far our most favorite campground. It was our first experience with "Luxury" camping. We parked our car on a paved driveway to our tent. The sites were spacious. There was water hook up and a trash can at every site. The fishing was excellent. The locals called the area they showed us "like fishing out of a barrel". They were right. My 4 year old son put his hook in twice and pulled out a keeper both times. This was one of my favorite memories of camping. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$14
Nice size, well-spaced, fairly level sites. No advance reservations. Activities vary with the seasons. Large lake for boating or fishing. Clean and well-maintained facilty. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com