206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Cummins Ferry Campground & Marina was rated 9 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (859) 865-2003
CGID1197

Cummins Ferry Campground & Marina

Camp Information
Sites
95
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   10   9   8   7   9   10   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Stay here if you must, but we warned. The road leading to this park is a very narrow two lane highway. It is approximately 5 miles off the road. The last quarter mile is a one lane highway. The laundry does not dry the clothes using $1.00 worth of coins as indicated. It is not opened 24 hours. It is not a big park, but settled in next to a river, surrounded by trees which makes for nice camping. A good spot if you are not touring the area. Low water pressure. Great if you want to launch a boat, they have a launch ramp. There is barely cell phone reception, however, we did have a booster antenna and that gave us three bars. They keep referencing to use their Wi-Fi, which we would hardly ever connect to. They do have a land line phone at the office and are more than accommodating to allow use without charge. Pull through sites are curved and not friendly for 5th wheels. Using this campground to tour the area wasn’t our first choice and probably wouldn’t stay again to be coming and going. Very nice to just stay put and camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Great park, very well manicured. Previous posts about steep road are true, but trees are trimmed and our 40' 5th wheel made it down. Right on the river with docks available. Very nice owners, always there willing to help out in any way. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
Nice, quiet, clean campground. Drive back into the park is along 2 lane country roads but is not a problem - just take your time. No tree problems along the road to the park or in the park. As you go down the hill into the park driving a large motorhome or 5th wheel you might wonder what you're getting into, but don't worry, no issues. Park owners are extremely friendly and hospitable. Park is secure, requiring a key card to gain entry past the access control gates. Campground sits along the Kentucky River. You will probably not get any cell phone signal while in the park due to the parks location, but the park has excellent Wi-Fi. We had no issue with no cell service as we made day trips that got us back into cell phone range. In fact, just driving to the top of the parks driveway normally got us a cell signal. Good park to stay at if you want to do the Bourbon Trail tour. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
Note: The price reflected is based on a weekly rate. Park is very nicely maintained. Paved interior roads with grass between sites. Pull through sites are very long and have ample spacing between each. The pull throughs are curved and a little narrow, so rig placement can be a little interesting. Very peaceful and quiet. The road from the highway to the park is a very narrow two lane country road. Be careful as there are many blind spots as you drive the road. The actual road to the park is just barely wide enough for two vehicles. Wi-Fi is free and works great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$29
This is delightful park right on the Kentucky River. Staff was very friendly and helpful. There is lots of grassy space in the trees for tents. All roads are paved. Pull throughs in the center were nearly 100 feet long. The park is geared to families with children; it has a pool, expansive grassy areas and two playgrounds. The access road from Hwy 127 (state highway 1988) is 5.5 miles. It is 2 lane paved, but narrow, with several 20 MPH curves. Big fifth wheels drive it regularly; just go slow. Wi-Fi is a new system and it has bugs; it was down most of the time. Management is working to get it right. When it was up, it was blazing fast. Verizon signal is marginal at best. Bathhouse was clean, but not heated. Shower water was lukewarm making for a chilly shower. Rate is for a 10 day stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$44
The park is located in a very scenic setting, which we enjoyed. The address we had for the park was not exactly where the park was located. It was about 2 miles further down a country road. The location of the park has easy access to Old Fort Harrodsburg, which was very interesting, as well as Keeneland Horse Park. Our pull through lot was very spacious. There was a nice playground. On the downside, the camp store was pretty smoky and did not have very regular hours. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Great place! Very well maintained by super-friendly owners. Good river walk trails. Key-pass gates keep the grounds secure at all times. About half the spots are taken by long-term or seasonal campers - lots of contractors in giant fifth-wheels. We wondered if we were intruding on an enclave, but everyone was extremely friendly & chatty. They even invited us to their annual chili party! We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Wonderful RV park. Kind of far off road (5.2 miles) but well worth the inconvenience. Riverfront, very pretty, well-maintained, friendly owners. We happened to be here for the fourth of July and they had lots of activities planned including a fireworks show on the 3rd. We weren't expecting much but after taking our lawn chairs down to the river to watch the "bottle rockets," we were shocked at how impressive the firework display was. Our hat is off to the owners. First time we have ever seen those kind of fireworks without the 10's of thousands of people to go along with it! Didn't have a boat but they have a ramp to get into the water if you have one. We would love to visit this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This campground being a slice of heaven is an understatement. I was 1 of 4 travelers in a group. After receiving a phone call the morning of check in from another campground in the area (Elizabethtown) that said we no longer had spots, we had to scramble to find a new campground. Found this campground online and was able to reserve 4 spots together for later that day. The owners were the most friendly and helpful people. The campground was well maintained and everything was clean. Had no problems backing into our campsite. We were in a 37' travel trailer and had to back in. Two of the others in our group had 37' fifth wheels and they didn't have problems with the curved spaces. The lack of cell phone service didn't seem to bother us. We used the pool alot because of the weather during our stay. When the hostess gives you directions to the campground, follow those as she takes you a different way then our GPS told us to go. Road is wider with her directions and less curvy. Would recommend this campground to anyone going to the area. Plan on returning next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Yes, it's serene and quiet, wide sites, grass, picnic tables, trees around the perimeter and beautiful setting down in this canyon next to the river. Pull thru spaces are on the radius (curved, for some reason?). We chose a back in with a view of the river approx. 20 ft below. There is a pool, 2 washers/dryers but no cable, no Cell, or TV reception because of the canyon. There is a small C-store to buy commodities.The bad news is, we were pulling a 35ft 5th wheel. Regardless of your rig, be warned the road down/up into/from the park was narrow, windy, one-lane and at approx. a 25 degree incline/decline for l/2 mile.This would be hair-raising if two rigs met at the same time coming/going because there is NO room to pull over, someone would have to back down on the curvy, heavily wooded, windy road. They charge $10 for a gate pass, refundable when leaving (suggest turn in your pass the night before to get refund because manager we found out was going into town at first light the day we were leaving and we wouldn't have received our refund). There is a small book exchange and video checkout. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
A little slice of heaven! This is how I described this campground to the owners of the park. It was clean, quiet, well maintained, and absolutely beautiful! There is a waterfall directly across the river from the campground office and boat launch/dock area. They have a nice, tree covered walking trail along the river which was very peaceful and pretty. The owners were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We will definitely be back and will recommend this campground to all of our friends and fellow campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
This is a beautiful campground on the Kentucky River Palisades. The new owners take pride in the campground and it shows. The facilities are very clean and the grounds are well kept. The sites are big rig friendly, very spacious, with level cement pads and a fire ring and picnic table at each site. The owners are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
We stayed at this park for a week, over Labor Day weekend. The park owners were very friendly and extremely helpful. They had organized lots of activities over the weekend, particularly for the visiting kids, including treasure hunts and fireworks. Its right alongside the Kentucky River and as the name suggests, a former ferry location and a beautiful site. There are two large floating docks and a good boat launch within the campground. It was busy on the weekend, but pretty quiet on the days before and after. It's close to Lexington, Frankfort and Harrodsburg, for the tourists among us. The biggest challenge was access to the site, which is down a long, narrow road, but the journey was definitely worth it! We would not hesitate to visit this campground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We were very impressed with this RV park. It is a little hard to find so definitely print out directions and a map; however the location is quiet and beautiful! The management and support staff were as nice as any I have ever met. Everyone went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$28
What a beautiful, isolated place to camp! We were here in November, over Thanksgiving, and nearly had the place to ourselves. The new owners are really working hard to improve this already lovely park. It will be fun to stay again and see how much progress they have made. There was random cell phone coverage in this canyon, and almost no television. The owners provided a phone at the office for campers to use. An automatic gate (pay a deposit, get a gate card) provides plenty of security. Watch the very steep downhill approach to the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
A nice, quiet, very isolated campground on the Kentucky River. We didn't find any of those level sites other reviewers noted, but were able to achieve some semblance of level with enough blocks. Our site had a long pull through but the paved portion was so narrow we stepped out onto the grass. Access road is very steep and narrow but staff went to top of the hill and blocked the road for us when we left. No cell phone coverage and limited TV. Only serious complaint was very young children racing through the campground on ATV's and golf carts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
This is a beautiful spot on the Kentucky River, quiet and out of the way. The managers are very friendly & helpful. There is a small camp store, a pool, fishing pier, paddleboats and canoes for rent. There is a nice waterfall directly across the river and you can hear the sound of rushing water. The only negative we found was that there is very little water pressure in the showers. The bathhouse was very clean and well-maintained. This is a beautiful area of Kentucky and I'd recommend driving 15-20 minutes to the Shaker Village at Pleasant Hill to tour it and eat at the wonderful restaurant there. The Kentucky Horse Park is only about a half hour away and there are several distilleries in the area that give tours. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$26
This campground has a beautiful setting right on the Kentucky River. While the sites are not shaded, the campground is surrounded by trees. It is far removed from traffice noise. We were here during a very wet and cold period, so there were hardly any other campers. There are 19 improved tent sites and a playground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2004
$24
Campground is very nice for relaxing. Nice level spots and room for large motorhomes. Owners are very nice. Lots of local places to visit if you want. Fireworks show was outstanding. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Sites were level and fireworks display were good. Pool was too small for number of campers at the campground. Bathrooms were very, very, very (can't stress this enough) unclean. Flies, trash, dirty floors were found. If they were cleaned once a day they were lucky. For this to be a private owned campground and they want repeat business, they will have to correct the bathrooms. Talked with several people who had the same complaints. Marina was easily accessed. Forget any kind of cellular phone signal. Only one pay phone and placed where there is lots of traffic. Too much noise and grounds needed to be patroled. Also no alcohol was permitted, but did see many with cups (some underage drinkers) and the smell of beer was in the air. Not a great atmosphere for kids. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com