214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Green River Campground, Dinosaur National Monument was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (435) 781-7700
CGID11982

Green River Campground, Dinosaur National Monument

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   3   9   7   9   3   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$12
Typical NP campground – sites are spread out well. No hookups. Some foliage between sites. Roads and sites are paved – road is a little narrow. No Wi-Fi of course, although it is available in the visitor center. On my AT&T phone I was able to get an Edge connection that allowed access to the Internet, although it was slow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$12
Beautiful site on the banks of the Green River inside Dinosaur National Monument. No amenities other than bathrooms. Well-spaced sites with asphalt parking. Verizon signal is fair. Some sites were closed due to tree damage, but the park service says the campground never fills. No reservations accepted. No dump station. Overall, very quiet and peaceful, and in a gorgeous part of Dinosaur Nat'l Monument. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$12
This NPS campground is showing signs of budget restrictions: overgrown with weeds and untrimmed cottonwood trees which closed half the sites. Paved roads and sites, including pull through sites that can accommodate long coaches: are spacious, shaded and generally level. No utilities and no dump station. However, the ranger presentation was excellent. Has potential for being a lovely park if budget problems are resolved and it were appropriately maintained. The monument is draw enough to make staying here worthwhile. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$12
Planned to stay two nights and stayed seven. Excellent spots. Very uncrowded and clean. Each site on the river side has it's own path down. About 50% of the sites were closed because of 'killer trees'. Old cottonwood that now shade many of the sites will be killed. We were conservative with water (using the restrooms as much as possible) and were able to go for seven days. Saturday night lecture and many hikes around the area. Plenty to do for all. Highly recommend this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$12
This is a very nice NPS campground. Roads and sites are paved. There are some long sites, good for a 40'+ rig. Great location on the river. Like almost all NPS campgrounds, there are a few low tree branch issues. It is very annoying that NPS parks refuse to properly trim the tree branches to a safe height. Note: About 1/2 the sites are closed due to "dangerous tree" issues. These are old, mature cottonwoods that have been there for a long time. I'm guessing that a branch fell and did some damage, so NPS has marked about 1/2 the trees as dangerous and closed the adjacent camp sites. That was two months ago and nothing has been done since then. Get there early in the day if you want a site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$6
Just a lovely location, a variety of mountain and desert scenery with the beautiful Green River running right by the campsite. Surrounded by birdsong. Paved sites, fairly level with clean restrooms (no showers). Located in an area where most dinosaur fossils have been found. The exhibit hall is built right into the side of the dinosaur quarry, with many bones and fossils you can touch. Nice scenic drive with a short hike to see many petroglyphs. Out of the way, but worth it. $6 fee reflects Golden Age discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$6
This park needs a lot of attention. Very poorly maintained. The weeds were everywhere and around the picnic tables. The sites are paved and level. The hiking trails are overgrown. We never saw an attendant which was not a problem as it is self pay. Will not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$12
What a great place for boondocking. Quiet, lots of shade, level sites, right next to river down in the canyon. Would definitely stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$12
Pleasant campground by Green River in Dinosaur National Monument several miles from Temporary Visitor Center. Several sites near entrance occupied by larger rigs had water hookups. Flush toilets, no showers. Not all sites are shaded. We arrived late in day, secured a roadside pull-through in the sun. Friendly NPS staff stationed in campground, with ranger talks offered in evening. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com