224137 User submitted reviews online!!
Green River Campground, Dinosaur National Monument was rated 7 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (435) 781-7700
CGID11982

Green River Campground, Dinosaur National Monument

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$6



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   8   3   9   7   9   3   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$6
There should be separate categories when rating campgrounds because it is unfair to compare this National Park Service campground to a full-service RV resort. Green River has no hookups but if you are prepared to boondock and love a quiet, peaceful campground in a beautiful setting, this one rates a 10. The campground is along the banks of the Green River with a view of the mountains of Dinosaur National Monument rising several thousand feet above. The interior roads are paved, as is each site. The roads are one-way and easy to navigate in big rigs. Many of the sites are suitable for big rigs. Lots of cottonwood trees for shade. Water faucets (not threaded) at the restrooms. No dump station. Half price ($6) with Senior Pass. The north loop is first come-first served, the other sections are reservable. Surprisingly, I had a 3 bar cell phone signal and 1 Mbps Internet data rate via my air card. Nearest town with any services is Vernal/Naples, 20 miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$12
Gave this place a "9" due to location - ON the Green River at Dinosaur National Monument. Electric/water/sewer are not available; potable water was available at the rest-room sites via your own container. Sites were fairly private - roughly 1/3 available for "reservation." Our site was 1/4-bubble level - paved roads/sites. Had stayed here in 2003 - improvements made in the interim. Just a really nice, quiet, and unspoiled natural area. We WILL stay here again!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$12
Typical NP campground – sites are spread out well. No hookups. Some foliage between sites. Roads and sites are paved – road is a little narrow. No Wi-Fi of course, although it is available in the visitor center. On my AT&T phone I was able to get an Edge connection that allowed access to the Internet, although it was slow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$12
Beautiful site on the banks of the Green River inside Dinosaur National Monument. No amenities other than bathrooms. Well-spaced sites with asphalt parking. Verizon signal is fair. Some sites were closed due to tree damage, but the park service says the campground never fills. No reservations accepted. No dump station. Overall, very quiet and peaceful, and in a gorgeous part of Dinosaur Nat'l Monument. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$12
This NPS campground is showing signs of budget restrictions: overgrown with weeds and untrimmed cottonwood trees which closed half the sites. Paved roads and sites, including pull through sites that can accommodate long coaches: are spacious, shaded and generally level. No utilities and no dump station. However, the ranger presentation was excellent. Has potential for being a lovely park if budget problems are resolved and it were appropriately maintained. The monument is draw enough to make staying here worthwhile. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$12
Planned to stay two nights and stayed seven. Excellent spots. Very uncrowded and clean. Each site on the river side has it's own path down. About 50% of the sites were closed because of 'killer trees'. Old cottonwood that now shade many of the sites will be killed. We were conservative with water (using the restrooms as much as possible) and were able to go for seven days. Saturday night lecture and many hikes around the area. Plenty to do for all. Highly recommend this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$12
This is a very nice NPS campground. Roads and sites are paved. There are some long sites, good for a 40'+ rig. Great location on the river. Like almost all NPS campgrounds, there are a few low tree branch issues. It is very annoying that NPS parks refuse to properly trim the tree branches to a safe height. Note: About 1/2 the sites are closed due to "dangerous tree" issues. These are old, mature cottonwoods that have been there for a long time. I'm guessing that a branch fell and did some damage, so NPS has marked about 1/2 the trees as dangerous and closed the adjacent camp sites. That was two months ago and nothing has been done since then. Get there early in the day if you want a site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$6
Just a lovely location, a variety of mountain and desert scenery with the beautiful Green River running right by the campsite. Surrounded by birdsong. Paved sites, fairly level with clean restrooms (no showers). Located in an area where most dinosaur fossils have been found. The exhibit hall is built right into the side of the dinosaur quarry, with many bones and fossils you can touch. Nice scenic drive with a short hike to see many petroglyphs. Out of the way, but worth it. $6 fee reflects Golden Age discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$6
This park needs a lot of attention. Very poorly maintained. The weeds were everywhere and around the picnic tables. The sites are paved and level. The hiking trails are overgrown. We never saw an attendant which was not a problem as it is self pay. Will not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$12
What a great place for boondocking. Quiet, lots of shade, level sites, right next to river down in the canyon. Would definitely stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$12
Pleasant campground by Green River in Dinosaur National Monument several miles from Temporary Visitor Center. Several sites near entrance occupied by larger rigs had water hookups. Flush toilets, no showers. Not all sites are shaded. We arrived late in day, secured a roadside pull-through in the sun. Friendly NPS staff stationed in campground, with ranger talks offered in evening. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com