221577 User submitted reviews online!!
Cave Creek Regional Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (623) 465-0431
CGID120

Cave Creek Regional Park

Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   10   10   9   9   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
This is an awesome park--away from it all, yet still convenient! Beautiful, well-spaced out sites. Lots to do in the park: hike, horse-back riding, etc. and the Visitor Center has great displays and info. Heard coyotes in the distance at night. Park staff are wonderful! Quite a bargain for such amenities. The bathrooms were immaculate and separate private, locking showers with a water-saver spigot was more than adequate for a really good shower. A real "gem" for camping in the Phoenix/Scottsdale area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Sites are spacious and most are well separated. Each site has a picnic table and BBQ pit. We had site #17 and it had no shade and the road was on the other side so the only way we could sit outside in the warm afternoon was to sit in the street. We had a decent Verizon signal during our stay. Great trails right from the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$21
Desert camping at its best, very clean, paved site with easy electric and water hookups. Surrounded by beautiful Saguaro cactus. Clear sky's, very quiet. The dump station was easy to access and use. We can't wait for our next visit to the Phoenix area so we can stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
This is a beautiful desert experience. The sites are large and far apart to enable each one to have a great view of the desert and the surrounding mountains. Lots of wildlife & trails, there is even a horseback riding facility in this park. Close proximity to Phoenix for other activities. Very busy on weekends in the winter so reserve early. Nice on-line reservation system. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
Spent two nights here. Very quaint and quiet. We loved it here! Very nice campers and clean. Will be back again, and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
One of the nicest campgrounds we've stayed at. Hosts extremely helpful. We stayed here off and on several times this winter. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
The park is in a beautiful desert setting. Sites are far apart, with low vegetation providing a real sense of privacy. The pads are large and paved, and the adjacent ground is regularly cleared and raked. The bathrooms, although unheated, are very clean. The campground connects to several hiking trails that go farther into the desert. The park fills frequently in winter. Reservations advised. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
Excellent Nature Center in park. Sites nicely spaced so there is a good sense of privacy. Rest rooms and showers were sparkling clean. Plenty of hiking trails to explore. Nestled in hills so very quiet and away from any city lights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
This is a beautiful location and, despite the lack of Cable and WiFi, we travel with our own hotspot, it is peaceful with great mountain views, well-maintained and patrolled. Our only regret was that we had only one night in the area. We will return here on our next trip to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
This is one of my favorite desert campgrounds. Lots of trails of hiking or mountain biking. Sites are large and mostly level. Quiet is the word for this park. Lots of birds and other fauna too. This a regular stop for us during our winter/spring "sabbatical" in the desert. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
This is one of the parks run by Maricopa County. It’s in Cave Creek in the north Phoenix metro area. It’s a scenic Sonoran Desert setting, not really too far from civilization. Loops and sites are paved and arranged well. There are water and electric hookups at each site. Sites also have a cement picnic table and fire ring/grill combo. There is a dump station at the entrance. We stayed in back-in site #27. This site is level. They also have some pull-out sites. Showers were clean and hot. The hiking trail system is extensive. Horses are allowed on the trails. Rodeo grounds are next door. There was a rodeo event the weekend we stayed. You could hear the activities, but they shut down by 9:00 p.m. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
We loved the park. There is lots to do. There is a shaded playground for the kids, horseback riding, and great mountain biking. The park is well maintained with very spread out sites. It seemed to be a lot of snowbirds and thus very quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
I agree with the other favorable reviews of this park. It is a great place to relax. A few hiking trails through the hills ranging from easy to moderate to difficult. Horses for rent if that's your game. 1 negative for me is that there is no hot water at the restroom sinks. Showers are fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
Maricopa County has upgraded many of the camping parks in the system. Cave Creek is a prime example of a well designed desert camp. Huge camp sites, many are 60 x 80 ' and your nearest neighbor is 30 yards away. No street lights and the night sky is beautiful. The camp hosts were very friendly and kept the bathrooms and showers spotless. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Nice CG for late fall, early spring, or winter stay. Well cared for. Clean restrooms and showers, and kept very neat. Very pretty desert scenery. Water and 50 amp service but no sewer, however, two dump station lanes. Reservations can be made on line at Maricopacountyparks.org (camping/RV). Be sure to check the map on the web site, read the description of each site, and look at the sun orientation for that site. Cites are all paved but not all sites are level with some NOT level at all so check it out good. Several pull-through sites but most are easy back in. Keep your pet out of the rough as there are some mean cactus thorns everywhere. Nice playground for kids. Hiking trails and horse riding. Good shopping within 3 miles. We'd definitely stay here again. If you stay longer than 14 days you have to change sites. No breaks on camping fees. One drawback, motorcycles are considered a second vehicle which you have to pay $6.00 per day for. Rather steep I thought. Your choice on whether to mention you have one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
This is an absolutely beautiful park! The views are magnificent! Campsites are well kept with concrete picnic tables and benches and grill. The bathhouses are well kept with plenty of water pressure! The park is convenient to shopping, restaurants, grocery stores, etc., but when in the campground you feel like you are far removed from civilization. We will certainly camp here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
Very nice park. Sites were clean and well maintained. Bathrooms and showers were well cared for. Good hiking trails, but be sure to bring plenty of water. Horses are available for rent. Desert camping at it's best. Only drawback is no sewer at the camp site, but 2 are available near the entrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
Spotlessly clean, beautiful well spaced sites. Water in the showers was hot enough for me. Great trails, only a mile or two from shopping and eating (try the El Encanto in Cave Creek). TV reception was great without satellite, and Verizon cell and internet worked too. We will be back every year to stay the 14 day limit on our winter travels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
A pretty setting, well-taken care of by hosts and campers. Hiking trails are right out of the campground. Water in the restroom was barely warm so didn't try the showers. No reservations so come up by mid-day. Dump station located by the entrance, 2 sections. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
This is a beautiful campground with lovely views of the surrounding hills. Spaces fairly widely spaced. My only complaint is that the trails are all used by horses and there is a stable on site that gives rides. As a result there is more horse manure and urine on trails than I have personally ever experienced. Since we like to hike we would not camp here again. If you don't mind the smell and obstacles on the trails or don't intend to hike it is a great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
I think this is the best of Maricopa County parks. The sites are great with only 5 of 38 somewhat undesirable. All others are special. It is the best managed in terms of the well organized and efficient teams of of volunteers/hosts. The 180 degree views look southward towards Phoenix and Scottsdale with awesome sunsets. The proximity to shopping at Cave Creek and Scottsdale makes this a wonderful place for snow birds. There is a 2 week maximum stay but some people vacate the site, go into the overflow for a night and then re-up again. Way to go, Maricopa and the park superintendant for doing it right. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
Agree with others, this is a great place, especially for the Phoenix area. So nice to be actually camping under the stars and clear skies. Yet the Verizon cell and air card worked fine, and there's TV reception on antenna. Would give this a perfect 10 rating except that the 2 sites we tried were not level, and the shower room was cold and water never got hot. Rates have just gone up to $25 as of 12/09 but worth it: especially in nice weather. Can get cold and windy up here in winter. Good hiking trails but need a car for exploring and supplies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
Located east of the junction of I-17 and AZ74, this county campground is very, very nice with great sites, beautiful views and decent hiking trails. Get to this campground early as it is very popular and you may need to wait in the overflow area for a night or two in the Jan-Mar period. A 2-week limit is regulated but the county closes it’s eyes to snow birds who continue to re-up every two weeks. This crazy policy limits the options for travelers and visitors. Site 10 is terrific but 11 and 34 are too close together. Also avoid site 25 which is much too close to the overflow area. Only other thing this place needs to make it perfect would be sewer hookups although there are 2 dump stations which is pretty good for a campground of only 38 sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
We stayed with friends, but amenities were limited. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$12
They were full so we spent the night in overflow. Toured the campground and it's lovely. Ended up leaving after one night because they were full for the weekend, but we would definitely come back. First class operation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$22
One of the best parks we have been to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
Very clean well maintained park with large well separated campsites. Quiet desert setting among the saguro cactus. First come first serve but during October there was a lot of availability. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$18
This is our favorite park. The sites are very, very large. They all have cement slabs and are well landscaped. There is no noise and no lights to bother you seeing all those stars. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$18
Possibly the best of the Maricopa County Regional Parks, for camping. Much like Usery Mountain but smaller. Close to Carefree Highway and shopping, but in a very rural, scenic desert setting. Great for bird and critter (javelina, coyote) watching. Several wonderful trails in the park plus remnants of past mining and ranching activity. Much to see and do in nearby Cave Creek and Carefree. Campsites are mostly large, level, and private. Good TV reception with an antennae. This park is on a first come-first served basis and is very popular. The overflow portion was quite full nearly every night we stayed. You must pay for your site by 8 AM the next morning or run the risk of losing it. Most of the staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$15
Park owned by county. Lovely setting in desert surroundings. Hiking trails. Very spacious sites. Quiet. Dry Camp Group area set aside. Horses may be brought for overnight, small pen at campsite, call first. Isolated but easy drive into northern Phoenix. Big new Grocery store nearby. Electric registered low 110v-113v most of the time. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com