218725 User submitted reviews online!!
Kentucky Horse Park Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 157 user reviews. Phone: (859) 259-4257
CGID1201

Kentucky Horse Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
260
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   10   1   8   8   8   9   5   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
The place was jammed for our Saturday arrival. Got one of only two remaining sites. Good access on paved roads although the sites are not angled but perpendicular to the circular road so backing into the site can be a challenge if your neighbors are parking close to or on the road. No restriction on parking your vehicle on the grass. Typically, it all but emptied by Monday and was quiet and peaceful. Shade depends on the site and there is only one bath facility for each camping area. Laundry was $2 for the washer and $1.50 for the dryer. Camp store is well stocked and staffed. Get discount tickets for the adjacent Horse Park at the store. Two dump stations with dual access lanes in each. Close to wineries, the bourbon trail and picturesque horse farms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$22
Level, paved parking area, spacious grassy sites. Wi-Fi supposed to be available but it never worked. No sewer hookups is a drawback. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Excellent park, lots of shade trees and green grass, the sites were wide and deep. My only complaint would be that there were only two laundry areas with four washers (two of which were broken) and four dryers (one of them was down also) for such a large park. We will definitely return, also campers receive 50% off entry to the horse park, which is fantastic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Embarrassed to mention I'm a Ky Native and Horse Park in same sentence. Restrooms and bath house were unsanitary & hazardous at best. Feces on shower curtain, share your shower with a family of roaches (they also try on your clothes). Sinks broken and falling apart. Youth office staff oblivious to world & need adult supervision. Poor design and overall needs updated/remodeled. Be careful of which site you pick as not all sites can accommodate large rigs due to the angle of placement within the curved drive (stupid idea). Not all advertised level sites are level. 8" of blocking and I was still 3" off. Bad park design to place the store/bath house/restrooms/playgrounds and office check in at the junction of all points. With this amount of congestion, a 25mph speed limit, children everywhere, impatient drivers and speeding golf carts with no courtesy to the rigs pulling in and out, I'm surprised serious accidents have not occurred. Most power posts look scorched, have been knocked over or are leaning and the insides are just as bad. Nobody comes around after someone leaves to check to ensure breakers are off and water shut off. I did that for one site where the water was left running. Neighboring campers saw and did nothing. Fire rings are so deteriorated they might be better off to do away with them. The place has more amenities than other state parks I think but the cost for the lack of sewage hookup and the issues mentioned above? I cannot camp here again let alone even mention or recommend this place. It's disgustingly dirty, needs serious repairs and updating. Not worth the time, money or effort I feel. For the amount of money initially invested, the advertising and capacity use it receives I see poor management and bad business decisions made in not reinvesting revenues back in to the campground to keep it maintained, healthy and safe. I'm embarrassed to see this listed as a major attraction to Ky and a showcase for its heritage and international claim to fame. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
Beautiful Large campground. Plenty of space between sites. Only an 8 because it was a stopover only. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
This is a picturesque park. Sites have ample room for slideouts but will vary greatly in terms of level ground and trees. Store is well supplied and personnel friendly and helpful. If this park had sewer hookups, I would rate it higher. Not sure if laundry facilities are there. Nice pool. Plenty of room for kids to play. Lots to do in area. Horse shows, etc. Distillery tours. Rate reflects senior discount. Would return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
Great family park. Nice pool, nice restroom and shower facilities. EXCELLENT park for bike riding - Horse Park and Bike Trail into Lexington. Nice camp store and friendly staff. Sites were level and good water pressure. Four dump stations upon exiting for little waiting. No trouble backing in our 27 foot trailer. We love the location and atmosphere of this campground and will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$27
If KHP had sewer hookups, it would be a 10! Very nice park, great restrooms/showers/laundry. Great water - this is the stuff they make Bourbon with. Playgrounds, basketball, tennis. Great for kids on the bikes. 4 dump stations. Very, very well maintained, trash cans at the site emptied daily. Super nice folks, true Southern Hospitality. Already booked it for next year. Rate reflects 10% Military or Senior discount. $2 higher on weekends We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
Pros: A lot of fun things to do for the kids. Now have 2 play areas, tennis court,volleyball court, basketball courts, and pool. Very close proximity to the horse museum and arenas. Park also has a general store. Has a laundry area near the store. Daily trash pickup- shared trash can between two sites. Cons: Sites are paved but not level. Fire rings are very old and fire likes to creep out from under the ring. Trees need to be trimmed. Our tree limbs were so low we feared the tree would catch fire from the fire ring. The grass was very weedy and there was food wrappers and duct tape scattered throughout the grassy areas. Quiet times are not enforced as it was around midnight and neighbors were still playing loud music outside and partying. Bathrooms: Overall the bathrooms are in moderately good repair however, the shower stalls had debris and dirt pushed up into the corners. The toilets had no toilet paper. The toilet stalls had carvings on all of the walls. In the ladies restrooms the sinks are not clean as could be. Overall, even though the KY Horse Park is still a family friendly destination, I am very disappointed in how bad the park has gone downhill in the last 2-3 years. My family has been visiting the park for several years now. We have noticed that the park went from a great place to visit to one I seriously question. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2013
$28
We were very disappointed in this campground after reading so many good reviews. The sites are way to close together. If the campground was full I can't imagine how awful it would be. Sardines in a can come to mind. The sites did seem pretty level, but there was just wasn't enough shade for us. We will never return. Too many other beautiful state parks in the state to waste time with this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2013
$40
This campground advertised access to big rigs but they were all back in sites with trees that need trimmed everywhere. Don't even try with anything bigger then a 35 ft. Not level at all, tiny sites, with no sewer hookups We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
This is a very nice park with a few drawbacks. Some of the sites, depending where you are can be very un-level. The spaces were paved into the natural terrain, so they may slope in any direction. The parking pads are paved but there are no patio's. Our site was an end site so there was a lot of room, but due to the lack of a patio the area you stepped out on was dirt, or mud when it rained. Also, the lack of sewer was a bit of a pain since we were there for 5 days. There is a pump service that will come to the park an pump out your tanks, but at $35 dollars it was a bit pricey. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$21
We stay here each year with our grandchildren. It has become a kind of family tradition. The children were small when we started, and now they are teenagers. We love the setting and the activities (e.g. pool) that are available. The campground is large, but the service is fast and friendly. The park is well maintained. Sites are spacious. We plan to return in years to come. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
Well kept park, good access roads, the sites are spaced apart. The pads are somewhat narrow, most sites are shaded. Trash cans at every site and trash is picked up everyday. Now the bad, Bathrooms and showers were filthy, mold in the showers trash everywhere and they smelled bad. Lots of kids on the weekends and the staff is unfriendly and in some cases rude. Most campers did not pick up after there pets; in fact most of the rules were not enforced. I am not sure if I would stay for any extended period again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
If you like tons of people and kids everywhere, come to this park during the summer. The sites are spaced well, but none offer sewer hookups. There are four spots for dumping as you leave. Easy access and the best place to stay if you are visiting Lexington. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
Lots of sites and everything worked well. My only complaints/criticism is the paved sites are very narrow and at a right angle to the street making backing in difficult. The next issue would be the sites are very out of level. They look level but when you try to level you find they are not. Lots of rigs with blocks and tires off the ground. I would stay here again but only if I could get a reasonably level site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Just spent the night while traveling to Rochester,NY, from orth Mississippi. This park was easy to find with easy access to the sites. Got there after the office was closed, but instructions for paying were easy. The grounds were well maintained, the bath and showers were very clean even at the end of the day when we arrived. The park roads are paved and wide. There are speed bump signs, but they are very close to the bumps so watch your speed or you could be in for a suprise. Would stay here again when traveling. Would not want to stay on a busy week(end); I think it would be a zoo. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
This is our second stay here. Wide sites. Great staff. Excellent ambiance. Although no sewer there are four very convenient dump sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$27
Great park. Clean and quiet and very convenient. Discount admission to the horse park if you buy tickets at the campground office. Internet did not work very well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$29
This is a large campground with 260 sites situated in large oval patterns. It is made up of two large loops each with a smaller loop inside; many of the sites have some shade at least some of the day and all are about the same size. Many of the trees are Maple with pine trees scattered throughout and the color this time of year is awesome. There is adequate space between the sites, more than most of the campgrounds I have been in. The pads are paved, but not very wide and you almost have to park a second vehicle in the grass with bigger rigs. The sites are not at an angle, so it can be somewhat of a challenge to back in with a larger rig, 35ft. or more. Some even pulled forward into the site, unhooked and drove around the grass to park. First I had seen this at a park. We even saw where one trailer had set up in the grass alongside and used the paved site for their mat and picnic table. The paved pad is so narrow that when you extend your steps they hang over onto the grass (or dirt because the grass has been worn off because that is the only place to sit your chairs or picnic table). It made the distance from our bottom step to the ground 16 inches. Even with my portable step, it was still too high. This would be the only reason I could not give this park an excellent rating. Water and 30/50 AMP electric but no sewer hook-ups. There are two nice dump stations. Be sure to have a water pressure regulator. The pressure was strong. Lot of locals camping here and many would have golf carts with them. I don’t mind the quiet electric carts but the gasoline carts were somewhat annoying at times. The Wi-Fi was intermittent and very slow most of the time. There are areas where there are electrical but no water. There are a couple of very large areas that is primitive camping with no utilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
This is a huge campground with very nice large, grassy and shaded sites. Each back-in site has a 55' cement pad, but not all of the pads are very level. The sites are arranged in two figure eights (one within the other) so there is an outside ring and an inside ring. The campground swimming pool and playground are in the center of the eights along with the bathhouses. There is a small grocery store and lots of trails for walking and bike riding. The facilities and events at the Horse Park are open to folks staying in the campground at a reduced cost. The only downside of the campground is the bright lights and extra noise at some of the sites on the inside ring close to the playground and pool. Additional sites are available on the grass - some with electricity. These are the best sites for very large rigs as the cement pads would be very tight. I had good Verizon phone service. Wi-Fi is available for a fee. I would return here, it is a very pleasant place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
Very nice park with paved interior roads & pads. Site required some leveling. Good TV antenna reception and fairly reliable WiFi. Sites are large, grassy, and partially shaded. Trees are well trimmed. Laundry house is clean. Very large pool with deep end, but closed for season during our stay. Nice sport fields and good walking and biking opportunities. Convenient to Georgetown & Lexington. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
We stay at the Horse Park Campground often and always enjoy it. The sites around the outer circle back up to green space and are very nice if you have dogs, which we do. This time we were in site 13 and it was spacious for our 35' MH. If you have children that want to play on the playground, we recommend site 149 or nearby because it's a shorter walk. This time around, we rode our bikes on the Legacy Trail, which was recently paved and links to the campground entrance so easy to access. It was scenic and paved and we thoroughly enjoyed the ride although we did not ride into downtown. Our only negative about the park is that the Wi-Fi is intermittent and if you have work to do while camping, it becomes a hassle. Hopefully, that will be addressed at some point because so many travelers need stable access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
Nice park and a busy place. If you are really interested in horses, this is the place to be. All sights are back-in and they have three dump stations, so no problem. All sites have plenty of room, so have more trees and shade then others. We were just here overnight. Easy to get to; just followed the instructions from Map Quest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
This is a very nice campground. Only warning is that even though the pad sites are paved, they are not level. The office staff is young and not friendly. Two young girls in the office when we checked in; neither offered us any information or advice about visiting the Horse Park or local attractions. It wasn't until I came back to the office later and asked about local grocery stores that I received an information sheet about the park. This should have been provided upon check-in as part of an information packet. That has always been my previous experience with campgrounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
This is a large campground adjacent to the Kentucky Horse Park. The back-in paved sites are narrow (~10') wide although easily backed into. However, the sites are well-spaced with lots of green lawn between them. There are also trees between most sites. Convenient to downtown Lexington. Friendly and helpful staff. While the site amenities include only water and power (30 and 50 amp), there are two dump stations, wireless is available, and over-the-air television reception excellent. We will definitely stay here again as we visit the area periodically. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
Large paved sites are mostly level. Very pretty spot. Restrooms were clean. Would give it a higher rating but sites are at a 90 angle to the road, and the water temperature cannot be adjusted in the showers (pick cool or super hot) and low flow showerheads (and sink faucets) have very low pressure. Great spot to walk the dog. During our stay the $ Wi-Fi was free since one of the antennae was down. A private pump out service is available. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
The sites are nice sized, and the field behind our site was a great place for the kids to play. The pool was clean and well run. Only complaint about the pool is they don’t allow coolers in the pool area, not even bottled water. This leaves you running back and forth to your car or cart to get a drink, small inconvenience. During the summer, get use to having to call the camp office, as the electricity tends to “brown out” quite a bit. Had this happen 3 times during our stay. Campground electrician told us that the main breakers kept tripping due to all of the A/C units running. Our major concern was security. We had around 12 kids in our group and we felt it wasn’t a safe place for kids. People drove on the camp roads really fast, around 20-30 mph, and many were underage. There was also a couple times where kids drove mini bikes through sites and down the campground roads very fast. We had several people drive right through the field behind us at night with no headlights on. Even had adults take golf carts right through our site. I believe that the lack of security was the reason. This, coupled with many folks that use the campground are equestrian types, and maybe they don’t understand campground etiquette. Even though I don’t think this is a matter of etiquette, but of common sense. We only saw one park ranger drive through the park the three days we stayed here. We were thinking of coming down again in the fall and perhaps trying to get our rally at the campground, but I don’t think this is a safe place for kids to play. Sent a note to the manager a week after our visit and got a very poor form response, so I guess this isn’t a big concern to them. If you don’t have small children to worry about, then this is a nice campground close to the Bourbon Trail and many of the nice attractions in Lexington. Very flat and paved throughout. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Love this campground but it is a busy one. Sites are a good size and the pool is really nice. The Horse Park is a great place to visit. There is golf nearby and bike paths too. The only thing we don't like is having to cut across other people's sites to get to the washrooms - there are no paths from the outer loop through the inner loop. we've camped here several times and been very happy each visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
Typical large campground. Bathrooms/showers not the cleanest because of so many people using them. Easy access to the Horse Park. WiFi is $10 charged by the week: if it works. Noisy during the weekends. Probably wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
When you enter Kentucky Horse Park beware. There are two speed bumps that are poorly marked. The sign is 12” X 12” and located right on the bump. The bump is not marked with the universal yellow paint. You do not see the bumps until you are right on them, and they can cause significant damage to your suspension. The park itself is well cared for and well landscaped. There are no sewer hook-ups, only electricity and water. Most all the campers use the shower facilities. As one poster has already pointed out, the water is extremely hot and caution should be used, especially with young children, as you could be scalded. The showers, during our two-week stay, had not been cleaned or disinfected. Overall, the park is nice, but there is room for improvement. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
Nice campground. The check in parking is small for bigger units. We stayed in the outer loop which had nice spacing and a lot of room behind them for the kids to play. There is a very nice large pool. If you like horses the park next door is really nice. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
Staff OK. A little difficult to back into the site if another RV with a car is in adjacent space. A little maneuvering and it can be done. A little problem with leveling the RV without having the tires off the ground. Nice spots to walk your dogs. Quick ride to the horse park which is the reason we came here. By staying in the campground you get free parking in the horse park as well as a small discount on the tickets. Good enough store. We will stay here again when visiting the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
There are large, paved sites surrounded by grass. Lots of kids on the weekend, but quiet during the week except for announcements from the horse park. Really great place to walk the dog. Wi-fi is $10 for 7 days. During the quiet week, showers were too hot. Private pump out service is available. Good over the air TV. This is a pretty park in a pretty area. We originally planned to stay 4 nights, ended up staying 9. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
This was our first visit to KHPC. It is a very large park-like CG with huge sites and within walking distance to the Horse Park. There is a good combination of trees and open space giving both sun and shade. Take a tour to the KY Horse Farms: outstanding! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$29
Spacious lots and very friendly staff. Camp store was well stocked. Of course very convenient to the Horse Park which is good for several hours of family time. Roads and sites were paved which occupied the kids with scooters, bikes, chalk, balls etc.. Just not very many amenities outside of that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$19
Nice park but pricey. Price quoted is to stay in a grass field with no facilities. Dump & water available. Electric hookups are $25/night. Electric & water are $29 per night. Wi-Fi is extra. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$26
This park is easily accessible from I-75 (exit 120) and is right next to the Kentucky Horse Park. In fact, you can walk through the back gate and into the horse park facilities, although they do charge a fee for entering at the main entrance. The sites are all paved, although a bit narrow. There is plenty of space between sites. Water and electric is available at the rear of the site. They have a pool, basketball courts, volleyball court but we didn't use them. We felt safe at this park. Wi-Fi is available for a fee of $9.95 whether for a few days or a week. The facilities are clean and well-kept. The staff was friendly. Our fee reflects a 10% discount for age 62+. This is our 4th time to use this campground and would definitely return in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$20
Stayed one night while driving to Florida. Arrived after 9 pm and had no problem checking in, with an "honor" system of placing the fee in an envelop in a mail slot at the office. The sites were large with lots of large trees. A lovely touch was the Christmas light display in the park, which was animated with accompanying music broadcast over a radio station. The bathrooms were convenient and very clean. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2011
$20
I would call this a big rig accessible park, not big rig friendly. As previous posters have described, sites are perpendicular to the road and difficult for a big rig to back into without driving on the grass. Water was off for the winter season but there was potable water available at the dump station. It was a muddy mess when we were here because of all the rain that had occurred before we arrived. Just a note of caution: the holiday light display is accessed through the campground and you may have difficulty getting back to the campground in the evening if you are out later than 5:30 pm. I do not think we will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
Park is close to freeway, so easy to get to. But far enough to be quiet. Checking in at the store is a problem because there is no place to park an RV. Roads and sites are paved, but sites are 90 degrees to road, so you have to drive over grass to get in. I left ruts. Didn't have any problems. The RV park is next to the horse park if want to view some of the events. Power, water, and cell (AT&T) was good, but no sewer, only dump stations. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
Campers Beware! I used to really love this park. I had a bad experience here my last visit. I had some other campers stealing my firewood, very boldly. They came back three times trying to get more. After they were caught in the act the first time. I talked to Horse Park Police about this incident. Officer informed me that crime has risen sharply at this park recently. (break in's , theft) I also had a problem with neighbors being very noisy after quiet time.(11PM) I let go until 12:30 when they showed no sign of stopping the racket before I had it dealt with. Another issue was that the speed limit in this park is ignored by almost everyone. (cars, trucks, golf carts, dirt bikes). Please be careful if you bring children here. It is an accident waiting to happen. I think the issue with this place is the lack of police patrols and non-enforcement of the rules. It's really a shame, it is a nice park. I just don't feel it's safe to camp here anymore. Sorry for the long rant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Fantastic park. Wide sites, friendly staff, many amenities. Looking forward to camping here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
I was just passing through and looking for a place to spend the night. As an RV park, this place is average. Pros: the huge number of sites, most back in but some pull through, some shady some sunny, some level some not. Cons: the check in process is odd. You check in at the camp store, but there is really no place to park a big rig and complete the check in process. You have to block the parking lot to park. Once checked in, you're on your own to find your site. I stayed in what they call the "primitive section" which means it has 50 amp electric, but no water hookups. However, there were some water faucets scattered around. There were not really any marked sites, it was more like a big grassy area with trees along the edge. Electric hookups were scattered around and you just pulled up to one, by driving over the grass, stopped and hooked up. Had the ground been soft, it would of been a problem driving across the grass. But it hadn't rained for weeks and the ground was like concrete. For an overnight stopover, its just ok. If you love horses, you'll be in heaven. To me, horses are like cows, they all pretty much look alike and they smell bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
This is a lovely campground, with large level sites. A large pool and bicycle access to the Kentucky Horse Park site made this park a great destination. We camped during the week and it was quiet, with quite a few empty sites. The weekend was much busier. A great find whether you like horses or not! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
The only reason I did not give this park a 10 is because it did not have sewer. We enjoyed the park so much we extended our stay. We watched a horse show in one of the arena's (free) and we walked out to one of the many fields and watched our first polo game (free). The park is very clean with trash pickup every morning. We rode our bikes around this huge park and logged 8 miles before we got back to the coach. Downtown Lexington is about 15-20 minutes away. We had lunch at the Parkette Drive-In after seeing it on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives. (We write these places down and go looking for them in our travels). We will always stay here when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
Huge and shady back in sites in a park setting close to the Kentucky Horse Park. We used the complimentary shuttle service to the KHP because we have no towing car. It looked as if we were the only ones without a car or golf cart. There was a lot of traffic during day times. Don't know if that is normal. There was a sign that they have a golf cart rally. We liked the golf cart parade on Saturday to celebrate the 4th July. It was a busy holiday weekend and the park was nearly full. You could see it when using the restrooms. Would be a good idea to clean them up a few times more on weekends like this. You have to pay for Wi-Fi ($8 good for 7 days). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
This is the best place to stay if seeing the KY Horse Park. Pros - Amazing sites that are huge and shaded, great pool and recreation areas, super camp store and staff, large and clean bathrooms. You can purchase Horse Park tickets at a discount at the camp store. Cons - lots of scooters and golf carts, no sewer hook ups, terrible laundry facilities, have to pay for Wi-Fi, no cable hook up. I would stay at this place again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Kentucky Horse Park, in our opinion, is an over rated, over priced campground that has not kept up with the more modern campgrounds. The check in people failed to give out the camp wi-fi passwords ( guess because they would then have to hit us up for $9.50 for seven days and because the one we dealt with had an I don't care attitude ), the sites are without sewer connections, the fire pits were filthy ( butts, bottle caps, ashes etc.) , the table at our site was broken and covered with bird droppings and there was NO WARNINGS about the very high water pressure at the sites. We learned this from our fellow campers AFTER they had blown out their water lines in their trailers. Their sites need some tree/branch trimming. We brushed against branches coming into the park. On the plus side there are park events aplenty and it’s too bad that they don’t take care of the little things that would earn them a higher rating. Our 40 foot motorhome barely fit into the assigned site length-wise. One can get a discount to enter and tour the Kentucky Horse Park which is adjacent to the campground. A shuttle or free parking pass is given with purchase of a park entry. Suggest you call to see if you must go to this facility as they frequently have activities and this closes or fills up the campground. Fear not though because there are other campgrounds in the general area that offer sites that equal or exceed our campsite. Our Verizon air card and phone worked well with some interference from the Horse Park not free wi-fi. Yes we would probably visit those “other” campgrounds rather than return to Kentucky Horse Park Campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
Rate is for 50 amp electric and water back-in site. Road and pad were asphalt. Large site with plenty of room. Site had fire ring and table. Excellent Verizon cellphone and 3G reception. Numerous trees prevented satellite reception at our site, but there are many open sites in this large RV park if need your satellite. Discounts available for Horse Park next door, and has easy access to the freeway. Great value for the money and we would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
Great location right off I-75. Many sites are not level side to side and front to back. Spacious sites. Well maintained. All sites are now 50/30. No sewers but do have a private honey wagon service. We camp here frequently and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$26
This park is huge and is laid out in two big circles and primitive sites in the grass near the drive in. Friendly check in and very informative. There is a store, tennis court, basketball courts, volleyball, Olympic-size swimming pool and two huge restrooms. It is right next door to the KY Horse Farm which you can buy a ticket for at a discount at the store. We even rode our bikes over to see it as we bought tickets for our second day here. The farm is a working farm with 115 horses, 80 full time workers, 1,224 acres, barns, indoor and outdoor show rings, museums, films and depending when you go horse shows. One need to check out the calendar because many times the campground is full and the horse park closed for some events like the World Championships. Interesting place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
A real nice campground stayed 2 days, most sites were level, clean . Wi-Fi was a paid service, store had a modem set up. Had free shuttle service to the main entrance of the horse park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
We have stayed at the Horse Park many times over the past 10 years because our children live in Lexington. It is a very nice campground, with paved roads and shade. The store has necessities and the showers are typically very clean. I checked them out this week and such was the case although I did not use them. We stayed this time in A11 which is on the outside loop. The sites in this area all have a big "backyard" which is nice because we like to frisbee with our dogs. Because the sites are at a 90 degree angle to the road, it is a little difficult to back in, but not impossible if you have someone to help and easier during daylight hours. In the last several years, we have stayed there during every season, during the week and on weekends. I'm guessing the negative comments may have been from visitors that came during the World Equestrian Games or during weekends when there were such events as state high school track meets. Just check the calendar if you like a quieter atmosphere and avoid those dates. This week was very, very quiet and a pleasure to be here. Campground staff is usually college students so they are hit or miss which is different than a privately owned campground where they have a financial stake in being "nice". I usually do not find them unfriendly, just not particularly interested. Luckily maintenance is such that I have had little reason to deal with staff at all because I schedule online. We certainly will be here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
This is a nice big park with pretty good sites. The staff was uninterested at best, but the garbage was picked up every day and the facilities were clean. People raced through the campground with every kind of vehicle without anyone monitoring speed at all. I was afraid a dog or child would be run over. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
We had to check in at the camp store (inconveniently located to camp site) with somewhat disinterested staff and given a map with a wave of the young man’s hand to the confusing layout of this campground to indicate site and hunter jumper arena. Asphalt back-in W/E site was level enough in back for us, but could have used more gravel around site to keep down dust. The back in sites are perpendicular to road. We had no difficulty backing in a 30 footer, but the lady across road from us had huge problems in backing in her very long 5th wheel trailer/horse trailer combo and likely would have hit our toad which was entirely on our site in front of our rig if we had not been here to move it. She took out branches on multiple trees both sides of road in her lengthy battle. Long coaches appeared to require significant leveling in front of sites. Bathhouse could have used better signage to find it, and more access that was not through campsites. The bathhouse could be nice except it was way over-utilized for the cleaning schedule, with lots of hair, discarded shampoo bottles, etc. WiFi would have been very expensive for one day so we did not use. Dump was easy on the way out but I was glad I wasn’t leaving at a peak time (no campsites have sewer). Nice pool area with a lifeguard closes at 8pm. Power went off for about an hour in middle of night. Herds of people including underaged, whizzing about on scooters, motorcycles, and golf carts disregarding the stated 10 mph speed limit and unsafe passing with no enforcement or staff ever in evidence. Other than that, it was a relatively quiet campground with no fly problem at all. Reserve America adds $7.50 reservation fee to otherwise reasonable price. AAA 10% discount. We would probably return to this unique and rather pretty campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
This is a very nice park and clean. Has plenty of sites with ample shade trees for summer time camping. Pool is large enough for this campground. My complaint is this campground is not patrolled by the park police at all. We had golf carts running through our site at night as we sat around the fire, Carts without lights on them. Golf carts are running all time of the night with and without lights and they are going pretty fast. If you camp with little kids please pay attention. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Campground has a very odd entrance where you have to pull completely around the campground store during check in. All sites are back in and there is no place where you can disconnect/reconnect your toad without totally blocking the road. Not ideal for big rigs, but it is workable with some attention. You have to pay for Wi-Fi and although there is no cable TV, we had pretty good reception of a handful of stations from the antenna. This place was jammed on Saturday when we arrived, and dozens of children were absolutely everywhere (frighteningly, they were largely unsupervissed), on bikes and skateboards and people driving ATVs and golf carts constantly through the campground. But at night it was quiet and peaceful and by Sunday night the park had about half emptied out. Design is odd with double concentric loops. Try to get one of the outer loops on its outside, and you will have a nice woodsy view behind you and a quiet site. Strange not to have sewer in a relatively new park, but they do have two dump stations on the way out. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
What a great find! Beautiful bluegrass Kentucky site with white picket fences, wide sites and paved parking pads. Can't beat this place for twice the money. Would have been a 10 if it had sewer hookups. Stayed here with lots of folks recovering from the heat of The Rally. This is a must-stay if your going to stay in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
We LOVED this campground and cannot wait to go back. We were here for a horse show my daughters were participating in, so we didn't have time to do all the extras that we were hoping to, so next year we hope to schedule in a few extra days. The reasons for my 8 rating and not a 10 are the following: 1) There are no sewer hook-ups anywhere in the park. There are at least 2 dump stations, however. I have never been to such a nice, full service campground and not had sewer hook-ups. 2) The bathhouse showers were sooo HOT! The two settings were off and very hot, nothing inbetween. Two of the days we were here it was 100 degrees outside and a hot shower is the very last thing we wanted, so it was very, very frustrating. The bathhouses were clean however, as was every part of the park that we encountered. 3) The map we were given of the horsepark was very confusing and downright inaccurate. The signage on the interior roads is also not very good, so we were driving aimlessly at times looking for a certain event or building. (And my husband is normally a whiz at directions, so this was unusual for us.)Some roads are not meant for motor vehicles, just horses and/or golf carts, which is fine, but we did not feel they were well-marked. Plusses: The pool was clean and even had a lifeguard; the attractions we did see were very good and well-run; and it just gorgeous in general. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
FYI...Due to the Kentucky Horse Park hosting the Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games in 2010, the Campground will be closed to the general public from August 30, 2010, through October 14, 2010. The Campground will reopen on October 15, 2010. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Agree with everything noted above. This is a very nice park, with great amenities. We have enjoyed our stay in the area. The only issue we had was leveling the motorhome. The paved roads and sites are nice. We stayed in 66 and then moved to 155, both of which we had problems leveling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
Good signs to find the campground and store for registration. Far from the road so no road noise, although can be camper noise and campfire smoke when busy. Paved roads and well spaced sites with lots of grass and trees and a picnic table. Good voltage and water pressure, there are dump stations on the park entrance road. Some sites open enough for satellite TV. Verizon air card works OK. They made no effort to level the sites before paving so some sites on the slope of a hill can be very hard to level the RV. This is a good place to stay when visiting the KY Horse Park next door, which is well worth visiting. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
Been here several times and still enjoy it just like the first time. Easy access to I-75 and I-64. Large sites in width but not depth in most sites. A 40ft MH is close to the limit although I have seen 43ft in some sites. Plenty of campfires and smoke on weekends. Pay Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
It is hard to believe that a more beautiful park exists. Abundant grass, trees galore and a very friendly staff. The roads are paved as are the pads but both are very narrow. We highly recommend this park and can't wait to return. OK, why didn't we rate it as a 10? Several small negatives equal 1 point. The roads are narrow and you might have a problem backing in (only back in sites, but they are 50' wide) if the park were full. The trees are a blessing and a curse. With no cable, you need to be able to use your dish or dome and many of the sites have too many trees for either a dish or dome. The wi-fi really irked me. It is there. It has a great signal. But you have to pay to use it after the first 15 minutes and the cost seemed a bit high. The first spot we tried was blocked by trees and we could not back all the way in due to the trees. But these negatives require only that you make sure you make a quick trip in your toad to make sure the site is OK for you. We can't wait to come back. The surrounding area is really beautiful. Don't miss this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We literally picked the worst site there was as far as grade. Having never been here before, we picked one for location. The next day we walked the whole campground and found there was only 7-8 sites that you'll need extra cribbing for. This campground was great! Pool is in loops A-B, playground in loopes C-D. It's quiet after 9pm. Restrooms/showers are cleaned daily @10am. The staff was wonderful. Store had a bit of everything, including moderately priced souveniers. Will definitely be back!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
There is good signage on the highway directing you to this park. This is a clean park with amazing large sites. It's a great place for groups and families as the basketball courts and playground areas are well lit for evening play. The only reason we did not rate this a 10 is because they do not have full hook ups available. However, the dump station is clean, convenient and easy to use. We would stay here again and recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
This is a beautiful park, well maintained, friendly and helpful staff, the bath house was cleaned daily. There are 2 negatives. One is there are no sewer hookups. You have to go to one of the two dump stations. The other is the two-week maximum stay. We stayed here for 12 nights while visiting relatives in Lexington. This park is worth going out of the way for. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$16
Great stop off I-75. This was our fourth stay, it's always friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$22
We stayed here 5 nights starting 10/30/09. The sites were mostly level with mature trees an well-maintained grounds. The restrooms were very clean and the showers were also clean. The only negative about the showers is that you can't adjust the water temperature but it was normally warm (though sometimes too hot for a few minutes initially). We stayed at site #171 which is bordered by an access road back to the Horse Park which meant there was traffic next to us but not enough to disturb us. It was a quiet, family oriented park, probably one of the nicest we camped at this year. The camp store had a wide variety of supplies but you are not far from Lexington or Georgetown for anything you may need. We found this campground to be a great home base for visiting Lexington and the Red River Gorge/Natural Bridge (about an hour drive from campground). We will definitely stay here in the future. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
We always stay at this park when traveling through the area. There is some construction going on throughout the park to prepare for the 2010 FEI Equestrian Games. Our tip for staying here is to call the campground directly to help you choose a site as a few would be difficult to level your motorhome or could be a bit tight for parking. But, for the most part, you shouldn't have any trouble finding a suitable site. All the sites are spacious and most are shaded. We have no trouble staying here in a 45 footer. Remember, dump your tanks on the way into the campground as there is no sewer connection at your site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
We really enjoyed staying at this park! Everything was quiet, clean and nice. The couple in the site next to us did not pick up after their dog. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
I called on 8-22-2009 and was told there were primitive electric sites available. The young girl checked and said there would be no reason to make a reservation. When I arrived the next day before noon I was told there was a dog show and the only sites available were in a field without electricity. I have been in over 300 campgrounds and this is the first time I have ever had this happen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
We were presently surprised with this CG. We found so many families playing together and having so much fun. Memories were surely being created. In fact one group set up what looked like a beach setting around their campers with activities for the children related to being at the beach. You could hear children having a blast with the adults. The swimming pool was outstanding. This pool even has lifeguards. The CG is set far enough from I-75 that all you could hear at night was nature. They have set up the sites allowing much space between each site and grassy areas behind. Only draw back: the sites are not set at an angle therefore creating a tough time to back in. They have no pull through sites. Also, the sites do not have sewer hookups but they do have four dump stations. In talking to campers, the lack of sewers is something the state should investigate installing. Most sites were level but some very out of level and many are occupied by horse personnel. For this year, be aware much construction going on due to the World Equestrian event next year. Roads are being updated and the Horse Park itself is being renovated so construction shortcuts are necessary. We will certainly return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
This is an excellent campground in a great location. Several problems prevented its getting a higher rating. Wi-Fi was extremely expensive. $4.95 for 2 hours. $10 for 1 day. $25 for a week and $50 for a month. This was highway robbery to me. There were also about a hundred gnats in the shower. It is wooded and very well maintained. Nice pool and restrooms. No on-site sewer hookups. Family campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
Absolutely gorgeous campground! Trees at almost every site. Huge pool. Nice clean bathrooms. Be aware there are NO full hookups -- only water/electric, but there are central sewer dumps at the park. It appears that most who stay here are connected to the Horse Park next door -- lots of golf carts at the campground. We only stayed one night but I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
This is the only park we would stay at in the Lexington area. The facilities are wonderful, the surroundings are excellent. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
This is our favorite campground and this is the 4th year we've camped here. Large sites, nicely paved, lots to do, lots of room to move around. Very large sites, large clean pool, easy access for all size rigs. Lots of construction in the Horse Park this year due to the World Equestrian Games next year, so navigating the park is a bit trickier. We will likely be back again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
After reading the first two reviews above I must admit that this park does have a lot to offer. I found nothing wrong with either one. That's the up-side. Now for the down-side. The cost of using the washing machines in the laundry is $2.00 per load. The cost of user time on the extremely slow WI-FI system is $50.00/mo.,$25.00/wk., $15.00/day, & for $4.95 you can have it for 2 hours. These are undoubtedly the most expensive rates that I have ever run into in fifteen years of full timing. However I've got to admit that WI-FI hasn't been around all that time. The park is nice but with the rates that are charged for amenities here I don't think I'll be giving it my business in the near future. Maybe the rates are so high because there isn't any competition around . At least none that I've been able to come up with. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We camped here perhaps 15 years ago, and the upgrades to both the Horse Park and the campground are great! Like the others, I'd give a 10 (or at least a 9.5) if sewer hookups were available. Very nice clean park, friendly staff, spacious sites. Current construction (which should be completed by fall 2010) means lots of construction trucks driving thru the campground, signs being moved or obscured, etc. Temporary inconvenience. For a busy park (it's even nearly full during midweek) they keep the facilities quite clean. Security patrols day & night. Great place, family-friendly. One downside: the on site Wi-Fi is expensive ($5/day extra) and impossible to use without an active PayPal account. The office Wi-Fi connection is fast & free, but you have to limit your time if others are waiting to use it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
What a nice surprise. Would give this a 10 if they had sewer hookups. Dump stations were easily accessed from either direction. Spacious shaded sites and friendly staff. Store open late - what a concept. Everything from tents to luxury motorhomes. Kids walk and bike through your site. Pool was crowded but seemed to be clean. Signage when you enter does not tell you where to pull in for registering and unhooking tow vehicles. Registration area can get congested. Thoroughly enjoyed the tour to the nearby horse farms set up by the Visitor Center. We will be back and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
If they had sewer it would get a 10. Very big sites. It was over 30 feet between my unit and my neighbors and there was no one behind us. They have a nice store, pool, lots of places to ride bikes. You get a discount if you want to visit the horse park which is next door. They even have a free shuttle. Lots of families camp here and the kids seem to have a great time. Had no trouble getting my 35 foot motor home in our site. It was paved and not too level, but not unreasonable. Would camp here again in a minute. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
Nice campground with plenty room between sites. We prefer the outside loop. Swimming pool, tennis, basketball and playground on site. Need to book in advance as campground fills up fast. AAA discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
Second time my family have been to this campground and we love it! Very clean, spacious, nice amenities, the only thing missing is sewer hook-up!! We will definitely have many more visits! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
We stayed two nights at this campground. The sites are very big, but it would make backing in easier if they were at an angle. Lots of campers and it was a hot weekend with only one pool. The campground was very clean and quiet. If you are not that interested in horses, there is still plenty of other things to do in the area. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
Still a great campground but evidently someone else is running the park. The rules have become very lax and people are very disrespectful to the campground. There was one site that had two campers and 3 tents on one site. Not a very good for the people around them. Rules are needed for a reason and the people riding around checking should be enforcing them for everyone's sake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$14
One of the nicest campgrounds we ever stayed in. Camped in the primitive area - no hookups. It is a big grassy area. Very beautiful. Visiting the horse park is easy from here. When camped here you get a discount to the park and free parking. I would recommend camping here even if you don't visit the horse park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
The Kentucky Horse Park Campground will spoil you. The grounds are clean, the sites are spacious, the showers are in great conditions, the camp store is well stocked, and the pool is nice but average. Often there is free entertainment on the grounds but other than riding bikes around the grounds, there is not much to do in my opinion. I live in central Kentucky and am not a big horse fan, so we just sit around and relax all weekend watching our 5 year old enjoy the park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Super campground, great playground for the kids. We camped at one of the sites in the same loop as the playground, which was nice because we could still keep and eye on the kids from our camper. The shade trees are great, will definitely go back. Large swimming pool, tennis courts, basketball court and great for bike riding. The kids love going to the Horsepark next door too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
A wonderful place to camp except for one issue: many sites are not level and it would be impossible to level a motorhome on a few of them. We'd recommend staying here but don't make a reservation unless you know which sites will work for you. The restrooms and showers were simply spotless. The on-site store is convenient and well stocked. The staff was friendly and helpful. The park fills up and is very busy on weekends. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
This was beautiful ! Loved being inside the park at all times. Horses are stunning ! Sites are just too close together for my taste , and bathrooms were clean but ran out of toliet paper often . Will stay here again though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
Nice WIDE sites, pleanty of room for slides .. Friendly staff in Registration/Camp Store. Park has no sewer hookups, but landscaping, asphalt sites, asphalt roads, and the ease of getting in and out makes one glad to be here. We arrived in the middle of a thunderstorm, and so the grassy area around our site was wet. Mature trees, and lots of places for walks. We are in the non-premium sites section which are very nice. We have 30 amp plus water and water pressure is good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
This campground has to be the cleanest campground we have ever stayed in. Grounds were very well maintained, beautiful campsites, super friendly staff, campground police, bathhouses were very clean with plenty of hot water!!! Just an A+ all around. The price was good, and the only reason Im not giving it a 10, is there are some sites that are not very level. This could pose a problem for some campers. But we loved it and probably will stay here again in the future!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
WiFi is $5 for first two hours. sites are at ninety degree angle from road and difficult to get into. Not well laid out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
This campground was wonderful. Bathrooms were extremely clean. Staff cleaned the restrooms several times during the day while we were there. Campground store had all the little things you would need. Plenty of space in between campsites. There was more than enough grass around camp for children or small pets to run and play. Very family friendly. We did not encounter any loud or rowdy campers. The pool looked very nice, although it was closed during our visit. Would definitely recommend and will stay here again! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
This is a nice park with level, paved sites. Clean facilities. Store has a good mix of supplies available. We stay here a couple times a year in transit to and from other destinations. There are not a lot of options in this area so it's fortunate that this park is so nice. No sewer hook ups but they have a convenient dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$19
Very nice staff, nice sites although some where quite unlevel. Spent most of the time at the playground with the little one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$19
We have stayed at this park many times since it is close to our families. We like the park but it caters to the horse people more so than the average camper. If you make a reservation on-line, there is a charge of $7.50 just to make a reservation that is not reimbursable. What a shock! We stayed there around Thanksgiving week. We checked in but were not told that the water was turned off for the winter. After we got our rig in our spot, we found out that the water was shut off. It would have been nice if we were told this at check-in rather than getting to our lot and then finding out that we had to go to a certain place to fill our fresh water tank. We will stay here again since the Lexington, Kentucky area is very limited on Recreational Parks for people to camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2008
$22
A Comfortable park. The horse park is great entertainment and close to other entertainment and tours in Lexington. We would have rated it higher except for slope to site making leveling difficult and the showers need modernization. Staff was very helpful and we would return. Be prepared for slope to sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
Nice wide sites, clean, great roads. Quiet and well run. Lots of entertainment nearby, including horse activities on the premises. Would rate slightly higher if they had sewer hookups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$27
An excellent campground with very clean bathrooms. There were plenty of activities for all age groups. We plan to make many returns to this great location (800) 678-8813 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
Beautiful setting with wide open spaces. If a group get together is what you want, this is the place. If you’d rather relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings by yourself this is still the place. Having only water and electric hookups is a small inconvenience for the benefits of this beautiful setting. Tack on the expensive Wi-Fi and a lack of cable TV and a long stay might be out of the question. But, do not leave without taking either a paid or self-guided tour of the area. It isn't called “The Horse Capital of the World" for nothing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$21
We got the senior rate for 1 week so the price was VERY reasonable. It is a very clean, pleasant, park. There are lots of trees so satellite TV is iffy, but, there is so much going on that you won't spend much time in your RV anyway. The horse park itself is very convenient and there are always activities going on there. The utilities hookups are easily accessible, and the roads in the park are easy to navigate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
We stayed here two nights in the middle of the week. The only thing lacking in this park is a sewer hook up. This is a beautiful campground with exceptionally friendly employees. The store is well stocked with lots of fun items as well as necessities. Lovely pool and playground. Extremely pet friendly park. There was an AKC dog show being set up on the grounds while we were there. One of our neighbors had no less than eight dogs in his fifth wheel. Well behaved, I might add. Plenty of room for dogs to walk around behind our site #156. Nice park next to the Horse Park, perfect for animal lovers of all kinds! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
This is a great site but it could be improved: Concrete pads could be extended (even stones would do) because after rain the grass turns to mud. There were clean restrooms and showers. Office should have overall site map available that shows all the attractions in the Horse Farm. Local towns do not have a good choice of eating places. We stayed for two nights with class C motorhome with toad. Good price but would pay more for extended pad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
Beautiful views with large sites, paved roads and pads. It all appears to be run by the state and worth every dime. No cable but the portable dish picked up fine. There were huge fields to run the dogs. It's a 10 if it had sewer and cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
Very nice campground and sites. Staff were very friendly. Bathroom was big and clean. We enjoyed the pool, which was also big and clean. If they had sewer hookups, we would stay for a longer amount of time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
One of the prettiest campgrounds we have stayed in. Campground was completely full, but did not "feel" that way. Staff and campers were very friendly. Our site, #164, was very nice. Lot's of room between sites, and about 50 yards of open space behind us to a fence. Looking that way was a gorgeous view of the horse park. They have shuttles that run between the campground and the horse park. Pool was one of the nicest and cleanest we have seen at a campground. Would be a 10 if they had sewer hookup. They do have 4 dump sites though. Also, was not able to get on WiFi, but did not need it, so I did not try any further. Wife and I stayed for 2 days. Will be taking our kids back there in the fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
this place is so nice and the sites are huge, especially on the outer rings (campground is layed out in horseshoe shapes!) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
Overall we really enjoyed our stay here. The sites are spacious with lots of grass for games. The swimming pool is large and has life guards on duty. The shower house is clean, but the space is somewhat limited as there is one bathroom/shower house for each side of the very large campground. The only issue we had here was the lack of camping etiquette from others staying at the campground. There seems to be no concern about cutting through campsites to get to your destination without thinking twice about it. We even had people on golf carts cutting through the grass/campsite. I would go back again because the positives far outweigh the negatives. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$15
Check for scheduled events, we had to boondock in the big field but we could use the pool and my wife made it to the horse show. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
All sites we saw were not level. Front tires would have to be off the ground to level the motorhome properly. Staff when we arrived were less than friendly and didn't have answers to our questions. We asked how to get to the park and were told it is a 3/4 mile walk. Next morning's staff were friendly and did inform us that they have a shuttle (golf cart) to and from the park, which was very nice. Laundry rooms had broken washers and dryers so you had to get there quick. The grounds were nice and the spots had a lot of room between them and gave some privacy. Store was OK. Nice place to stay if you want to visit the park but other than that we wouldn't stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
This is the closest park to Lexington if you are visiting. The sites are very grassy and level. The park was extremely crowded when we were there and kids, swimming, basketball, modpes, and bike riding was in full gear. The overflow area had many campers and the dump stations were quite crowded as we left on a Sunday. The campground was too active for us. We would have preferred a quieter setting. The sites are very large and set up for larger rigs. The roads are paved and very flat. The park is quite close restaurants and other attractions. We would stay there again but would pick a less busy time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
Camped in 45 foot motor home. Site 43 on Loop A. This was clear of trees and the paved, back-in pad had slope to the front. Horse Park is always a busy place. We had no reservations, but spent one night mid-week. Horse Park is always worth a stop when passing through Lexington. Dump station is easy to use. Entry on Campground Road is paved. Do not stop at empty entry station. Proceed into campground to the loops area. Campground office is on the right. If you have a large rig, you might consider unhooking tow vehicle along the entry road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
This is a very pretty park. Reservations through Reserve America. If you can't find a site the first time, keep checking. Availability changes quickly. Nice sites and enough room between them. Ours had a fire pit and picnic table. The pad is blacktop but kind of narrow. The staff is very friendly and efficient. There is not a good place to stop with a motorhome and tow vehicle to check in. We were blocking parking spaces for cars. There is no sewer, as already stated, but there are two dump stations and 4 can dump at a time. Wi Fi was the most expensive we have encountered in over 25 parks in the last two months. $2.45 for 2 consecutive hours, $15/day, $50/month. It is not a reliable signal for that price. You can take you laptop to the office, but it is a dial up connection. They do not enforce a speed limit. Golf carts, cars, and kids on bikes all go very fast. It could be dangerous. There is a shuttle (golf carts) to take you to the horse park and pick you up so you don't need to drive. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$21
Absolutely beautiful grounds. Large sites, some shaded, good areas for walking and walking pets. We will make it a point to come back and tour the Horse Park next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
I agree with these other posts, this is a very nice and well maintained park. I would like to see sewer hookups, but for a few days we can manage and longer stays there is a truck that goes around that will dump your tanks. They now have WI-Fi available. The cost makes it unrealistic, $14.95 per day or $50.00 a month and the signal is very poor. The site we had we couldn't even get their 15 minutes free, unless we drove to the office parking lot. But at that price I wouldn't use the service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
This is a nice park. There are a lot of sites, and when full would seem crowded; we were there mid week, and it felt very roomy. All the sites are grassy with a paved back-in driveway with the utilities very convenient at the rear of the site. There were no pedestrian paths to the restrooms, which we thought very odd--one has to walk in the street or cut through campsites. The "Horse Park" is worth the tour (campers get free parking and a discounted admission) and a drive around the nearby blue grass horse farms and distilleries is well worth the price of gas! We would stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
Great park. LOTS to do. Very nice store, laundry, and pool. Friendly staff. Shuttle available from store to Horse Park. Basketball courts, tennis courts, horse shoes. Just a wonderful place with plenty of room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$29
This campground is beautiful. Sites are roomy, but some are uneven. There is a sewer dump service that drives around every day if you need your tanks dumped. We were there during the Rolex 3 day event for the horse park and it filled up quickly. If you like horses, this is the place to camp. You can walk to the back entrance of the Kentucky Horse Park. Strongly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$26
Beautiful maintained grounds. The park has a famous horse museum, statues and burial site for Affirmed, Man of War and other famous horses. Surrounded by beautiful horse farms. A must place to stay when in KY. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
The park is beautiful with all the horses around. Sites are large and were easy for us to navigate. All are back in. The pool and tennis courts are a plus. They have a Christmas light tour starting in November which is fun. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$22
Large, grassy sites. Lots of trees but many sites are open for satellite reception. We didn't have a reservation and were lucky to get a site as the park was nearly full. Interior roads are paved and easy to navigate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Continues to be one of our favorite stops. Lots of space between sites where children can play. Would be a ten if there were sewer hookups instead of just dump stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$16
In general a nice place. You get a different crowd of campers at the horse park (people who are there to ride horses.. not necessarily campers). Site was not level and no sewers is a pain but dump stations are easily accessed. Swimming pool is great and lots of lifegaurds. Major problem is that you need a ride to the horse park and the shuttle only runs at 8:45am and 12:30. Any other time means you need to unhook and drive your rig. This policy needs to be updated! Shuttles should run all the time. Horse park itself is awesome. Someone took our table cloth and door mat during the day so be careful and put your stuff away! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Very nice park with easy to maneuver roads. The sites are all pretty level. There is a great pool and plenty of things to do for the kids. We have been there for Bluegrass Games the past two summers and it does get pretty crowded and overrun with kids during that weekend. If you're there to enjoy a peaceful weekend, I wouldn't recommend this campground when the Bluegrass games are going on. Full hook up sites would be a wonderful addition. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
A nice park over all. The kids enjoyed the pool, which was staffed with lifeguards. The sites were decently sized, and included a picnic table, fire ring, and curb-side trash disposal & pick-up. We used the free shuttle to go from the campground to the Horse Park. Bath Houses appeared to be clean, which is impressive considering the number of people at the campground. We would love to see sewer hook-ups added. Some sites do have trees low enough and close enough to prevent the opening of awnings or slide-outs. Overall, it was a good trip and a pleasant experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
I have visited this park since 1981. Excellent playground for children of all ages. Well designed for many sites to back in close to the playground. Campground is thirty years old and is time for major upgrades to accommodate big rigs. This will include trimming the beautiful shade trees. It appears this may happen before the world show is here in 2010 as KY is putting in millions of dollars for increased lodging at or near the park. The present sites may get new buildings, sewer and Wi-Fi. I understand there will be 300 additional camp sites added, somewhere near the entrance. A great park for young children. I have never been to a Jellystone that compares to the KHP. On line registering is so simple a cave man could do it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
We really debated the rating for this campground. The facility itself is well laid out, very attractive, and while it lacks full hook-ups there is good dump access and a mobile service that drives around daily which will pump your tanks for a fixed fee. It's a nice campground to walk in most of the time. The downsides are pretty grubby showers and limited, broken laundry equipment. The biggest problem is that camp hosts do not enforce the rules needed to make this a pleasant stay for everyone, at least when there is horse show going on at the adjacent Horse Park. Pets are allowed to wander loose, multiple camping units are allowed on a single site. The grass is overrun with extra vehicles. We have seen gray valves left open while multiple people visit a trailer to shower, etc. Golf carts and trucks zip by exceeding the speed limit. When there isn't a show, this is once of the nicest campgrounds we've stayed at, so we recommend checking the event calendar for the Horse Park and trying to camp here when there isn't an event going on at that facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
Nice clean park conveniently located off the interstate.The only 2 things missing were sewers and Wi-Fi,that would make it a 10.Lots of activities for children and a nice pool.Would return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
Paved sites with lots of grass areas and trees separating sites. Pool was not open in May. One Internet cable available in the office. Access to the Horse park is a bonus. Very few signs or rules beginning with "Do Not/NO." We use this campground whenever we are in the area! Weekends can be difficult to get in when these is something going on at the horse park (most of the time!) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
This is a beautiful park with helpful staff. It is an excellent park for family camping. Very quiet when I was there. Swimming pool was not available and was missed with 90 degree weather. Horse park a nice morning or afternoon visit for family and kids. This would be a 10 park if they had sewer hook up. They give senior discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$31
Very nice park. Facilities are first rate but would be rated better if they had sewers and wi-fi. My only complaint is that there are very few sites that are level enough so that you don't have tires off the ground after you are leveled up. For the beautiful terrain they have there, they could have leveled their pads better. If that is important to you, get there early We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$19
November weekday, we had our choice of spots. The friendly staff had us pay for a site, then just drive around and "pick an empty one". Park was nearly empty, we drove around twice looking for "the perfect one". They're all good, though; huge sites, we felt like we had our own back yard. Still no wifi or sewer hookups, and only 3 washing machines for the 130 or so sites available off-season. Overall a great campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$26
Most everything has already been said. I would strongly urge people to get reservations. This is a very nice campground and there aren't many other choices for the area. Though it's large, all of the sites are usually taken! The weekend we were there, a Track and Field tournament was held on the grounds. Thousands of spectators and contestants, yet the campground and bath houses remained clean! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
This park has two dump stations. Lots of room between camp sites. Would return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
This campground is excellent. I don't know of a bad site on the property. The pool is great and the staff are friendly and helpful. The store is well-stocked and the laundry and restrooms are clean. There is so much to do and see in the area. Most sites are level and have depth to accommodate a large motorhome. Plenty of grass on each site and room between campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
Real nice park. We have stayed there several times. It would be nice if there were sewer hook ups. I understand wifi is coming soon. Camp store was well stocked. The staff was very helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
There is not much I can add that others have not already covered. I stayed on pad 135. When backed in the rear of the coach was pointing directly south with no trees. So I was able to get DirecTV. The pads are paved but very narrow. The coach just barely fits. I had to drive onto the grass to get into the site - left some big muddy scars. And there was little room to park the car. I arrived after a good rain - thus there was a lot of mud about. It is reported that they will have Wi-Fi later this year. People in the office [all young men] were very helpful. I tried to make a reservation today for today - no go - they need 2 days lead time. I would rate the park higher if it had sewer connections and wider pads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$22
We camp here every year in June when we attend A Helping Hand Adoption Agency's yearly picnic and the children love it here. It is their favorite campground that we have been to. There is a lot of shade and trees, level sites, activities, trash pick-up daily, and the bathrooms are relatively clean. Lots of friendly campers and the staff is nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
All roads are blacktop. Sites are 45 feet long blacktop close to level with 20/30/50 amp power & water. Two large dump stations, no sewer on any sites. Very nice pool, tennis courts, playground, volleyball & basketball courts. Lots of open space from site to site with nice grounds. Lots of nice trees in park. Campground has good stock of items and data port to check e-mail. You can now use "Reserve America" or call 888-459-7275 to hold a site. Price was $27.00 per night and seniors get it for $22.00. Horse park next door to RV park will take a day to tour if you like horses. Very nice park to visit. Park covers 1000 acres of land. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
We stayed here for the Rolex 3 day event. I would give it a 10 if it had sewer hook ups. Well laid out campground very convenient to Lexington, Frankfort and Central Kentucky. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$27
My first impression of the campground wasn't great. The campground has all back-in sites laid out like dominoes. Actually that layout works pretty well. The campground sites are pretty roomy and the outer ring sites have greenspace to play frisbee, football etc. We found the bath house to be very clean and the staff helpful. We happened to be there during some severe weather and the park ranger announced on his patrol car PA that severe weather was imminent and to seek shelter in the bath house. After the storm was over, the office checked on all of us to make sure we and our campsites were okay. I would recomend this campground to anyone and especially if you have kids. We will definitely go back again! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$19
Very large sites. Beautiful park. Easy access. Rate is for Nov-Mar. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$25
Plenty of space between sites. Everything in excellent shape. Very enjoyable stay. They also offer an electricity-only option in their overflow lot if the main campground is full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
The horsepark is a well maintaned campground and is close to the heart of downtown Lexington however the biggest problem is with the large events that take place at the Horsepark they sometimes reserve the whole campground and the general public is not allowed and this is not posted. The Horsepark needs to provide camping areas for those involved in the events and leave the public campgrounds open. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
Stayed on site #138 on Loop C with 45 foot motorhome. Some Overflow/Primitive camping available. Great park with easy access to Horse Park. Toyota assembly plant with tours located few miles north of RV park on I-75. 4089 Iron Works Parkway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
Very nice park in some beautiful country. Staff were continually working to keep park nice. Just drive in, pick a site and go to capmground store to register. Senior discount for those 62 and above. The only reason it's not a 10 park is a lack of sewer hook-up. They do have 2 large dump sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2005
$22
A beautiful park that we stay at a couple of times a year. It is well maintained, staff is friendly & helpful, quiet & clean. No sewer hook ups at sites but 2 dump stations as you exit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$
We agree with the other reviews and have stopped here often. Easy access from I-75. Sites are blacktopped but only big complaint is that nearly all sites are not level either side to side or front to back. Very roomy sites. Discounts for senior citizens and off season. Open year round We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$20
Nice park. Lots to do inside the CG and everything is maintained. Close to not only Lexington, but also Georgetown and Northern KY/Cincinnati. No reservations, so if you want a weekend spot you need to come Thursday night or early Friday. We'll be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$23
Perfect location for both visitors and UK fans on football weekends. Very spacious sites, great security, very clean. Great camping experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$23
We love the Kentucky Horse Park, but we will avoid weekends from now on. Not because of the park but because it becomes rowdy, noisy and full to the brim with adults and kids racing motorized scooter, ATV's, and golf carts without regard to their surroundings. This is becoming an increasing problem at lots of campgrounds and we are sorry to see it here. People don't equate recreating with physical activity anymore, they want to be carried everywhere by wheels. Lot of plump kids and grown ups on those scooters and ATV's. We camp with our dog but he's not allowed to run loose. Unfortunately on the weekend this increased quite a bit due to an increase in weekend warriors without regard for anyone but their own good time. When we were here 2 years ago their was more apparent campground supervision and surveillance by employees. This time it seems as if they have shaved employees to office staff and groundskeepers only. Contrary to a previous post there are no plans to add sewer at the site. It's still a beautiful and spacious campground. Will definitely stay again Sun-Thursday but will think twice about weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$20
Nice friendly staff. Park is secure; KY state park security patrolling the area, good to see security being new RV'ers. Stayed one night on Feb 21st, 2004. Would recommend and will stay there again. I chose this RV site based on its prior reviews from this site, thanks! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$19
Everything that others have said about this campground is true. Great sites, beautiful country side, level sites, nice pool. But the rest rooms are terrible. They clean the sinks and toilets but do nothing to the showers. The shower curtains are white and fully covered with black mold. Terrible dirty. If they would just clean the bathrooms this campground would be a 10+++. The young kids that work in the office are rude and snotty. Be sure to visit this area and by all means stay at this campground but be prepared for the dirty showers. Yuck!! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$23
Very well landscaped & maintained. Adjoins Ky Horse Park which is dedicated to entertaining and educating about horses.($10 admission/adults to CG folks)-Great place even if you are "not into horses". Close to a number of other attractions such as the restored Shaker Village and horse farm tours. Beautiful drives, views in area. They are to add sewer sites when that is done, it will be darn near perfect! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$18
Beautiful surroundings adjacent to the Kentucky Horse Park educational center. Large separation between sites, great pool, paved roads and sites. Dump available. Went on weekdays without reservation but often hosting events on weekends so more difficult to get a site. You choose site and then go to office and sign in. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com