206790 User submitted reviews online!!
Mammoth Cave Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (270) 758-2424
CGID1204

Mammoth Cave Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
109
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$8.5



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   10   8   7   10   7   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$8.5
Most of the sites are well spaced apart for RVs. Bear in mind though this is a popular campground for tenters. This means things get pretty rowdy on weekends. They try to keep the restrooms clean, but the one we were using would get pretty trashed during the day. There are two sites available with 30 amp service. During the week the campground is fairly peaceful, but unless you like noisy crowds stay away on weekends. There are about 10 sites overall that can motor homes up to 40 feet. There are no showers in the campground, but there are pay showers at the camp store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$9
We paid $8.50 per night using the Golden Pass. They have a nearby concessionaire that offered showers and laundry for a fee. They had a well stocked store. Some of the sites were tight due to trees. There were a few larger pull through sites for larger motor homes but not many. Our motorhome just fit and it is 35 feet. The cave tours were fantastic but some were costly. We again used our Golden Pass and were able to go on one of the less expensive tours at half price. They had wonderful paths and the deer stroll right by your site. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$15
Lovely wooded setting and friendly staff. Water is available at a central spigot but for filling containers, not for using a hose. The park has a bike trail and many program options for exploring the caves. Generators were supposed to be used during daylight hours but a class B a few spaces away ran theirs during quiet hours anyway. Still a nice park for semi- primitive camping within walking distance to the cave and park store (where the showers were). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
We stayed here while going to Mammoth Cave and really liked it. The sites were a little small and it took some time to get our motor home arranged. While camping here we had four deer that wandered through our site and didn't seem to care that we were there. Very quiet and certainly in the woods. We recommend this park for those that are going to Mammoth Cave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$8
National park campgrounds are usually neat places and this was no exception. Several pull through sites in each of the loops. Lots of space between sites. Some sites some are not too level though so check first. Showers only take tokens (10 minutes per $1) which are available for purchase at the store and since we arrived after hours, had to wait until the next morning when the store opened to shower. Good shower though, lots of hot water. Be advised the shower stops without warning so suds up first - then rinse quickly to keep the soap out of your eyes. Price reflects Federal Golden Age Passport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$17
This is one of the most beautiful campgrounds I've seen. If you like being in the woods. Sites are spread out and have plenty of woods/trees all around. Had a deer walk right through camp. Saw an albino squirrel. Had problems with some very rude neighbors the first night want sure who to call so I called the hotel which was next door and they helped me. The next day we had rangers and staff all day long riding through they took it very serious. Over all had a great weekend. The poor rating is because they have no water or electric hookups and the showers are a joke. You have to pay 2 dollars to shower for 10 minutes with no privacy in the men shower. Showers were generally run down and not very clean. We used battery on the trailer and stores on the way in and filled up the water tank. They did have a dump station with potable water at the entrance. I rated kind of high because I knew most of the facts before I went three big surprise was the bathrooms. Its one quarter of a mile from Mammoth Cave Visitor Center. The cave tours are excellent and lots of other stuff to do as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
This campground was among the nicest maintained campgrounds we've ever stayed at. The park service employees would come around a few minutes after people leave, clean out the fire pits and pick up the sites. They occasionally blew leaves off the parking pads and so forth. The bathrooms were also very excellent and very clean. A somewhat strange, but very much appreciated in the 100 degree-plus weather we had while there, extra service is the air-conditioning in the bathrooms. The sites vary quite a lot. Some are large with lots of privacy, others have very little privacy and some are small. Some are large but share a portion of the driveway with the neighboring site. None of the sites have any hookups, so plan accordingly. Showers are not provided by the park service. They're available for pay ($2 for a token that buys 10 minutes of shower time) from a private concessionaire. The showers were mechanically good, good water pressure and lots of hot water, but were not nearly as clean or nicely maintained as the park service facilities. Also, a typical use given is to go buy a token then go shower. The changing area is one large changing area for all showers, so clothes and such are left in the open. I had my wallet stolen while there. Be careful to buy tokens in advance and not take any wallet or money with you to the shower. Personally, I would have preferred the park service provide showers as part of the park and not have to pay for them separately. I wouldn't mind paying more for the camp site in order to have showers provided. In addition to the namesake caves, this National Park also includes excellent above-ground hiking and horseback riding. We stayed there for nearly two weeks and had a great time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$17
An older National Park Campground, well laid-out, well maintained, but no hook-ups. Showers and laundry available at the camp store operated by a contract concessionaire. We experienced lots of hornets and wasps that were annoying. They didn't sting, but were constantly into any food or beverage left uncovered for 2 or 3 minutes. Cave tours were great, advance purchase would be advisable during the busy season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$9
Rate paid was $8.50 reflecting 50% discount for Golden Age Passport. Regular rate is $17. Densely shaded. Many pull-through sites for larger rigs. Not sure a really big rig would feel comfortable here given all the trees. No hookups, would rate higher even if only electric. Showers are in a central location although bathrooms are scattered about in the 3 loops. Did not use either the showers or bathrooms so no opinion on cleanliness. Would definitely stay here again. Reservations are recommended during the summer. Advance purchase of cave tour tickets is also recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
Not a bad campground. Great for Families. Enjoyed our stay, will most likely visit again next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$17
This campground is outstanding! The rangers were very friendly--there was a problem with the site we had actually reserved, so she recommended two others and told us to pick one. The sites themselves are level and spacious. It's an easy walk to the visitor center (stop at the Troglobites snack shop--huge ice cream cones for $1.00 each!) After dark, the campground is very quiet. My kids were tickled with the deer and turkeys that wander through the campground in the morning. There are many activities in the park besides the cave tours (which are great)--lots of hikes, canoeing on the river (although you need to go outside the park to get a canoe to rent) and bike trails. I plan to go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$17
The park staff was great and the camp sites were very clean. The cave tour was great. The weather was very hot so we ran our generator a lot for our dog which wasn't a hit with the tent and tent campers nearby. The park service switch our site when they saw how long our camper was so our stay was enjoyable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$17
We spent two nights here while touring the Mammoth Caves. It is a very nicely kept up National Park campground. The roads were paved (without the usual national park potholes). The bathrooms even provided soap! The rangers were pleasant and even changed our site before we arrived because they didn't think the site was suitable for our motorhome. The sites were spacious and we had deer run through our site twice. This campground is within walking distance of the caves and restaurant. The camp store provides the basics. Be aware that they do charge for showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$17
What a great campground! Lots of level sites and quite a few pull-thrus. We camped at site #34 which was a pull-thru and across from the bathrooms. Campground is very close to the Visitors Center where all of the tour tickets are sold (book early-tours fill up fast) and tours begin. My kids did the Trog tour (helmets with lights and knee pads furnished) where they get to go caving with 2 guided rangers and no adults. My 2 sons (ages 8 and 10) had the best time. They will get dirty on this tour! Staff was friendly and very helpful. There are 3 showers in the laundromat area behind the campstore that you have to purchase tokens for $2. Water wasn't terribly hot but adequate for showering. I had plenty of time to take a decent shower. Camp store is pricey--what else would you expect? Bring your ax and maul to split wood as they have a lot of cut down trees just waiting to be split for firewood! Nearby Double "J" horseback riding was great. Their property backs up to the park boundary. So you get to go horseback riding in the park! $20 for an hour and a half ride. Tommy was a great guide! We really enjoyed this outing! The only negative that I had with the entire campground is the bathroom. On our loop, which had 2 bathhouses, the men's room has 2 urinals and only 1 commode per bathroom! No info on the womens. There were many times in the morning you would have to wait in line if you had to use the commode--and the campground loop was maybe 30% full. I can only imagine what a full campground would be! I still would highly recommend this campground! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
Excellent campground and lots of activities to do. The caves are awesome. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$16
Sites are nice, wooded, paved, clean. Back loop is along Green River Ferry Road, which added a bit of traffic noise when the ferry was operating in the day. Restrooms kept clean. Potable water spigots near each bathhouse. Walkways to bathhouse lit (nice touch). Showers are pricey ($2 for 10 minutes). New campground entrance station being constructed during our visit. Plan out your supplies. Camp store is expensive. Nearest Sprawl-Mart is in Glasgow or Bowling Green. Groceries in Cave City. Cave tours and the backcountry are spectacular! Get tickets early. Drive-ins overwhelm the park in the day. Campers far outnumbered. Don't be misled by thinking half empty campground means no one is coming to the park. Fall colors were wonderful. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$14
If you like the rustic experience and have a self-contained rig, MC is great CG. They are developing a few sites with hookups, so maybe soon you will have at least elec/water. Lots of tents, but we take our 25' Airstream there all of the time. All sites are shaded, with plenty of above and below ground tours available. Showers are at the park store within walking distance of the CG and cost, I believe, 75 cents. Restaurant at MC headquarters. Make tour reservations in advance as they sell out quickly. Mammoth Cave is great. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com