206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Big Meadows Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (540) 999-3231
CGID12058

Big Meadows Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
119
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   9   9   8   10   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
What a wonderful experience. This campground and national park turned out to be exactly what we look for when we head out to the great outdoors. Places like this bring out the young Boy Scout in me from long ago. The majority of the campers this weekend were young, outdoorsy tent-campers who spent the majority of the day exploring and hiking the trails of the park. Some people may be content to spend the majority of their stay in the campground, attached to their RV umbilical, but we feel that doing so misses the whole purpose of this park. The campground was quiet, serene, peaceful, and occasionally roamed by wildlife. While there are no hookups, no cable, no over-the-air TV, and we never once missed them. There is so much to get out and explore, and we were able to only scratch the surface during our short weekend stay. As far as the sites themselves, our site (E196) was remarkably level, but unfortunately not all are. It appeared that the sites in loops G, H, and I were less level than others. I was impressed with the camp store and wayside, both within walking distance of the campground. The rangers and other workers in the park are very upbeat, friendly, and professional. What’s not to like? We cannot wait to go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
If you can live without all the hookups this is a great place! We came here after bailing on our reservation at Jellystone in Luray. Plenty of shade and space for the kids. Multiple hikes with fantastic views and waterfalls nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$10
Such a beautiful area and decent, natural campground. By natural, there are no hookups, just trees, birds, deer, owls and other wildlife to observe. Our site in the E loop was very level. As mentioned previously, not all sites are level, but all appear to be huge and offer privacy if that is important to you. There is a big choice of trails along with camp store, wayside and visitors center. Staff was friendly and helpful. The park was full and quiet for opening weekend except for the two young people with the car doors opened playing the radio too loud. Everyone else was respectful. We enjoyed all this park had to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
Very nice campground. No hookups but generators are permitted during specific times. Lots of pull through sites nicely spaced. My site was level but I selected a poor location near the dumpster area. I'll know for next time. Pay showers $1 for 5 minutes available. Wood was $5 plus tax. Concession managed by vendor - not park staff. Plenty of hiking opportunities, wildlife viewing and good location on the Skyline drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Wonderful campground. I can't wait to go back. The tent sites were in the middle of the woods and very well kept. The showers at the main office where clean and the walking trails on Skyline Drive were beautiful. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$17
Nice park. Has lots of trees, need to be creative to get a satellite signal. Nice to see the deer each morning and night. No cell service, but you can drive to the picnic area and get full Verizon service. Fresh water available and a dump station with rinse and fresh water fill up. We would come again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Excellent park in terms of size and levelness of site. Sites are all asphalt paved. Not all are level. But ours was this time. This is our second time here with motorhome. Discovered that there is free Wi-Fi in the lobby of the on site lodge hotel. Cafeteria food at visitor's center is walking distance, good, and affordable. Best online reservation system. Sites are shaded. No hookups, but nice to be in the actual park on top of the mountain. Rangers strictly enforce max # of campers which is 6 per site, 2 vehicles per site, and 2 tents per site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
This is one of several campgrounds along Skyline Drive in Shenandoah National Park. It's about 15 miles south of the Thornton Gap entrance to Skyline Drive. The camping area is large and attractive, with generator-free and tent-only sections. No hookups, but there is a free dump station about 1/2 mile away. You will see deer and other animals while you are there. This is bear country, so food left outside will be confiscated by the rangers. Cell phones do not work here, but will work at the nearby Big Meadows Lodge. There's also Wi-Fi at the Lodge. Showers are pretty far up the hill from the bulk of the camping sites, and require 4 quarters for 5 minutes. There's no warning before the time runs out, so keep a waterproof watch on, or bring extra quarters! On weekends the campground fills up and there are lots of smokey campfires. During the week in late September, it was pretty empty and quiet. RV sites are very reasonable for most rigs, but really large motorhomes (40 ft and longer) may have to be selective about the site they pick. Most sites will require some leveling. There is a gas station, cafe, visitor center, lodge, amphitheater, and store and at Big Meadows. No diesel fuel. Luray is the nearest town with services, about 50 minutes drive (approx 35 miles). Overall, Big Meadows is a great spot from which to explore Shenandoah National Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$15
We camped here in a 30 foot RV with tow vehicle. No hookups at all. Recommend you disconnect if entering at Thornton Gap and heading to Big Meadows. If towing it's a very steep and windy, up hill route. Pay showers are $1.00 for 5 minutes, very clean. Very quiet, with cooler weather then down in valley. Cannot bring firewood in, must purchase it here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
We have camped at Big Meadows many times. As always this trip was as spectacular as the others. My overall review today is very similar to the others I’ve submitted: overall fantastic. Things normally remain the same here, which is one of the major reasons we keep coming back. But, this visit marked a huge change in campground policy. In a pleasant surprise to us the park has instituted a "Generator Free Zone". This now means that Loops "A", "B" and the walk-in tent sites are areas where the operations of generators are prohibited. We, and now it appears many others must have lobbied for this change. No longer do campers who enjoy peace and quite need to tolerate noisy generators in adjacent sites. We are so glad to see that park officials actually listen to the requests of its visitors. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
The site we were on was very unlevel H211, which is the main reason for the rating. Most of the sites at this campground are too unlevel for big rigs with auto levelers. Our pull-through site had such a tight turn and a huge tree trunk, so we had to back into it instead. If site was even, I would rate this campsite a 9. Dump station and fresh water fill available. Huge pull-through sites and paved pads. Too bad they're not level. Generator hours 8AM-10AM, 4PM-7PM. Cool enough, so no need for AC. There was not enough space for our awning to go out because of the tree trunks, but enough space for slideouts. Camp host used a golf cart to lead us to our site: nice service. Very beautiful campground with many trees and deer. I will return, but will try a different campsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
Big Meadows is the flagship operation for Shenandoah National Park, and it merits repeated visits. It has the best set of ranger and wildlife programs in this region. The climate is good at 3600 ft elevation. There are a wide variety of sites depending on loop. Our family customarily likes to use Big Meadows as the last night or two of an extended trip as it's not far from our home. There's little to no leveling or site preparation to be done and lots of facilities and events to entertain the kids; it makes for a nice low-key diversion to end a journey. If coming in October, I'd advise a midweek trip to avoid the tourist traffic pouring out of Washington, DC. Even then, Monday through Thursday are nice and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
This is a fantastic NPS campground, and a remarkable escape just 2 hours outside of the Washington, D.C. metro area. Usually quiet, mostly wooded with large, roomy sites. Many super fantastic walk-in tent sites as well, which we've used many times over the years. Now that we're in a trailer, I do wish they had a few full hookup or at least electricity sites available. But the tradeoff is worth it. Many great day hikes within a short drive, ranger activities, etc. Big Meadows is larger, more popular and usually more crowded than the slightly-more-remote Loft Mountain, but both are great. If staying for a longer period in the park, recommend splitting time between here and Loft Mountain. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
Big Meadow is our absolute favorite! We've been here 3 times tent camping, and will now return with our new motorhome. The sites are well laid out, and have good privacy offered by landscaping. Multiple access points from the campground to AT trails is a plus for hikers. Some wooded sites back up to the Trail. Laundry facilities and showers were clean. On-site host keeps the facilities neat & tidy. Easy walk to the campstore and nature museum. Black bears were present in the spring; we encountered one napping in the middle of the trail-luckily he ran away! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$10
This campground is in the middle of the Skyline Drive with a visitor center,amphitheater, laundry, trails, showers, ranger talks and walks. It is a nice campground with the Appalachian Trail just steps away. Plenty of deer walking throughout the campground and some beer sightings as well. Visitor Center had a few films to watch, exhibits and a big meadow to lookout on and explore. At night the lights from the towns in the valley glisten down below. Nice campground! The Virgina Piedmont is to the east and the Shenandoah Valley to the west. If you haven’t driven the Skyline Drive or camped here you definitely should. When the days are sunny and clear like it was the views are outstanding and there are so many hikes one can choose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
The showers were not in the most convenient location, and are $1.00 for 5 minutes. The attendant was most helpful and very friendly. The laundry had four washing machines and six dryers, I think. Deer were everywhere. Everyone in my group saw a black bear except me. Cell connection available only on the back porch of the Lodge which is very nice. We enjoyed the entertainment one evening in the Taproom. Great hiking trails from easy to difficult. Senior rate $10.00 per night. (866) 875-8456 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
Excellent campground, even without power and water. Large spaces, plenty long for the longest rigs. Heavily wooded sites with plenty of shade. A short walk to restrooms and showers. We'll be back here in October. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Very nice park. Really like the park even though no water or electricity. Though it was 99 degrees at bottom of Skyline Drive, campground was ony 81 degrees. Love the hiking, and saw plenty of wildlife (11 bears, 3 turkeys, 1 Peregrine Falcon, numerous Chipmunks, 1 Timber Rattlesnake, and 100's of deer). Showers were a little small and could have used a cleaning, but nothing too bad. Will gladly camp here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$21
This is one beautiful park and campground. We were here during the middle of the week and there were many nice sites to chose from. Reservations can be made on the NPS website, but we went spur of the moment and were fine. There are no hook-ups at the campground so consider this to be a rustic type stay. Our site was level, freshly mowed and had a fire ring. Park maintaence crews seemed liked they were everywhere working. Restrooms were spotless. Showers ($1. = 5 min.) weren’t in the restrooms, but located in a common area near the camp store. Camp store was fully stocked; firewood is available at $5 a bundle. Various Ranger programs were given daily and covered a variety of topics. The evening campfire program is always outstanding. Deer wandered throughout the campground all hours of the day and night. Big Meadows Lodge is located only a short hike away from the campground. Dining hall, tap room and gift shop are all located there. There is a wayside area as you enter the Big Meadows complex where you can purchase fuel. The only negative issue here …..Use of generators. The campground isn’t segregated as to having all large motorhomes with generators located in one section of the campground. Here someone little tent can be located directly next to a 30’ class “A”. We were forced to tolerate the motor home in the site directly behind ours run his noisy generator the entire time we cooked and ate dinner. The park should re-evaluate their rules on generator use OR place all the generator-equipped motor homes in their own section of the campground. Overall a great place to camp. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
As always a beautiful camping place. We try to get up here often during the summer living not too far away from it. Always lots of deer. Cell phone reception was good on the north side on part of the Appalachian Trail. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
This is one of the nicest NPs I have ever stayed at. They have an area with pull throughs that does allow generator use for about 5 hours per day, enough to recharge the batteries. No hookups but that is normal for a NP. If you have a large rig, make sure it will fit on the site given to you by the reservation system. We had a problem the first night. Staff was very friendly and moved us the second night. Tents had nice sites with freshly mowed grass. Only about 4 showers for over 100 sites, could be a wait. Also charged $1 for 5 minutes. Lots to see inside park and the surrounding area. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
This is one of my favorite camping locations. Although, this is my first year doing so with a HTT. It is a VERY quiet campground, at night. Almost early (no animal, insect, tree frog sounds.) Because of this, at one point, we were convinced were heard a bear growling in the woods. Turned out to be someone snoring. (That's okay. I'm sure I got them back.) Fire wood is very expensive. We only had fire Saturday night, and Sunday morning (for cooking). It took about $35 of firewood ($4.95 per small bag of wood). Showers are one of the best in the Nat'l Park system: and actually IN the park. We stayed in B-118. All RV sites seemed to be very level. Good supply of fresh water. There is a great park store, very close, for supplies. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
A great campground to stay at on the parkway. We watched to deer come into the campground in the evening. Beautiful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
In spite of the fact that this campground lacks hookups, this in a very special place to stay along Skyline Drive. Take a walk behind the shower building along the short trail to the lodge for an excellent dinner overlooking the Shenandoah Valley. Nature trails, trails to a waterfall, large sites, and clean facilities. This is a special place. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$15
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$19
Very nice National Park Campground. Campground has pay showers, camp store, and laundry on premises. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$19
Absolutely LOVE coming here! We live in VA and go to the mountains quite a few times a year, always staying in Big Meadows Mixed Camping. Always clean and quiet with so much to do and the price cant be beat. Whether its an RV or a tent, the price is still $19.00 per night. Wildlife abound - I've seen more black bear this year than I have in the 18 years I've been coming up here! Highly recommend to everyone! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$22
There are many good things about this park. The ranger programs here are outstanding! We've done 8-10 of them on a variety of topics: and have learned a lot. Hiking out of this park is also excellent, with well marked and well maintained trails. The meadow itself is fantastic: huge and diverse. The best time to go is at dusk, when one can see a multitude of deer (w/fawns) feeding in a natural context (i.e., not begging for food in a campground). It's really something to see. The campsites themselves are fairly large. Some afford good views off the Skyline Drive. My major objection involves the park's generator policy, which allows generators to run from 8-10:00 a.m. and 4:00-6:00 p.m. every day. The noise during these hours is unbelievable! In fact, many people just turn their generators on and then leave the park, allowing them to run full-throttle for 2 hours at a stretch. Don't plan to sit outside during these hours. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$19
If your looking for peace and quiet, this is the place. We tent camped here during the middle of the week in both July and September. July was a bit more crowded but no problem finding a good site. Although weekends could be a problem. Wildlife everywhere. Deer, racoon and skunks wandering through at all hours. You can hear the coyotes howling every night, now that was cool! Kids would love this. Ranger programs excellent, but not held every evening due to budget cuts. We grabbed our favorite site with a valley view, only problem is these premo sites aren't "tent sites" and a 35' class A pulled in next to us. We had to tolerate his generator until quiet hours started but the view was well worth it. No hook-ups but there's a dump station on site. Rest rooms were spotless, showers were hot! I avoid loops B & C due to the raised fire pits, but thats me. You can drive up to the lodge for a full course meal and local entertainment every night in the taproom. Highly recommend if "rustic" is what your looking for, but luxury is only a short drive away. We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com