206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Fern Lake Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (270) 444-7939
CGID1206

Fern Lake Campground

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   8   4   8   8   9   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
We have stayed at Fern Lake at least three times but this is our first review of this campground. It is close to the interstate, there is grass enough to walk pets, there is a Huddle House within walking distance and they do offer only a Good Sam discount. Two gas/diesel stations are adjacent to the above mentioned restaurant. The bath facility is adequate but needs some updating. We came without reservations and by early evening the place was full so this place is popular. From our perspective, the place is fine but only for a one night stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
The pull-through area is pretty much a gravel parking lot with full hook-ups. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Local TV is limited. Sites are wide, but not necessarily lengthy. I-24 noise is non-existent, although there is some local road noise. Laundry room has two new washer and dryers and is clean, although could use a fan as it's hotter than the hinges of: (and it's only May). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Stay here every year for the annual AQS Quilt Show. Owners very friendly/helpful. Wi-Fi is spotty, but had good Verizon broadband reception. Too many trees for the satellite. Restroom is old but spotless and washer/dryer available. Price reflects Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
The park is an easy on/off from I 24. The rest rooms are older but very clean. The people are very friendly and knowledgeable of the area as we ask for several directions. It is located close to town with the quilt museum and the water front displays. The sites are level and very easy pull through sites with wide roads. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
Our site was a narrow gravel parking space and dusty. It had Wi-Fi, but so low a signal there was no connection. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
This was our second stay at this park; it is a nice, family owned campground with friendly, helpful staff. WiFi signal is good. Over air TV signal was so-so and we had difficulty getting satellite. (We were in the 50 amp pull through sites.) This is a good short stay campground. Sites and facilities are well maintained. Restrooms are older but clean. Laundry is small (two washers and dryers) but clean. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
Price was with Good Sam discount. Family owned and the people really try to keep the place up. The woman in the office was extremely helpful and friendly. There are some longer term tenants but their sites are well kept. The 50 amp is closer to the road, which was quiet overnight but got a little busy in the morning. Park is close to the freeway but not within the noise corridor of the freeway. Some sites have grass and they are much nicer, but ours was just a gravel drive through area because we wanted 50 amps. We did have nice shade in the afternoon and the site was extremely wide. I would stay here again if staying in the Paducah area, but we don't like to sit outside, so the gravel doesn't matter. If you prefer grass, ask for it, but it won't be 50 amp. Easy in and out. My Verizon cell and air card worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
No road noise noticeable in our MH. Has a clean BR and showers, nice shower water strength. Had a level site, working electricity and water, didn't use sewer but it was right here. Well kept yard. Family owned and obviously cared for. Good Wi-Fi. Dog friendly. Nice lady. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
A nice CG with needed basic amenities. Staff excellent. Convenient to stores and restaurants yet quiet location close to I-24. Fine for a one night stop over, or for visit to Paducah. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
This is a nice, small, family owned and operated campground with easy freeway access that’s just far enough away that traffic noise isn’t a problem. It’s well-designed, with overnighters and long-termers in separate sections. Everything seems well kept. No Wi-Fi, but AT&T 3G was strong. Our pull-through was narrow and spartan, but level and quite adequate for an overnight. The afternoon shade was most welcome. We look forward to returning next month so we can make time to see the quilting museum. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Nice small campground. We stayed in the pull-throughs up front and had some shade in the afternoons. My only complaint is that the ad stated they had WiFi, but we could not get any WiFi service and he office staff didn't know anything about it. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Large pull through sites for large coaches. No Wi Fi or cable TV are two negatives. It is conveniently located to the mall area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$14
Our second time here. It's a central location for visiting with all the relatives. Got great WiFi from Cheers and Waffle Hut on my receiver. Price is based on a monthly rate. A no thrills park, but the people are really nice and helpful. I found out that the host let us stay fifty dollars cheaper than the $450 monthly rate. I believe it has since gone up in price, but still worth it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
Plus side was the good location for the interstate, level sites, and family owned and operated. Lots of pride and a very clean campground. Negatives were the very narrow sites, gravel and no amenities. Good for only getting off the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Nice small campground right on the Kentucky/Illinois border. The people were very nice and helpful. The restroom/showers & laundry were very clean. Not much shade until afternoon but very close to everything...would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$24
We like this campground for an overnight stay and have stayed here twice before. Sam, in the office, is very friendly and just a delightful person to talk with. His daughter checked us in and she has the same great personality. We were in Site #4 and it was level. We will definitely stay at this campground when in the area. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$29
Do not know where previous reviewers stayed, but it was not this park. No one ever was at the office. There is sign outside with directions for overnighters. It is nothing more than a gravel site, with full hookups. No nothing. Was OK for overnight and convenient to Quilting Museum, but I would not recommend it for anything but one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
Good overnight park, convenient to Paducah, KY and Metropolis, IL. Nothing fancy, but nice enough. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$24
This is your basic gravel lot with full hookups, NO table, fire pit, or shade. It is convenient to I-24 but so close that it does have some road noise. It was OK for a one-night-stand. I'd probably try something different the next time through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$25
A very nice camp, we enjoyed the walk by the lake and the owner very nice. Help with some things to see at the water front. We will stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
Clean and divided between overnighters and multiday stays. Pull-thrus are unshaded. Back ins are under the trees. Pull thrus are near local load so others aren't bothered by early departures. Very friendly on-site management. Good gravel and Private lake. My pick for a short term/overnight stay. No seasonals. Wi-Fi from a local truck stop SiriComm reaches campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2005
$27
OK basic park. Staff helpful during extremely cold season. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$24
Nice family run Good Sam park. The owner or is family are always on site. This is not a "resort type" campground, but is a great place to stay. Very easy to get into with your rig. It is a couple minutes from the mall and maybe ten minutes from the Quilt Museum and the Paducah riverfront entertainment district. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com