214403 User submitted reviews online!!
Cottonwood Campground-Canyon de Chelly National Monument was rated 7 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (928) 674-2106
CGID121

Cottonwood Campground-Canyon de Chelly National Monument

Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   7   7   7   7   4   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$14
I was leery of staying in a campground with no electricity during the summer in Arizona but it was definitely not a problem. The huge shade trees kept it pleasant. Our 35' motorhome would not have fit in all sites, but we didn't have a problem finding a nice one for the night. It was definitely convenient for touring the park. We got the name of a tour company at the visitor center and had a 3 hour tour into the canyon and we were glad we did. We sure learned a lot about the Navajo lifestyle and saw the canyon up close. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
This campground appears to have evolved from something less formal. One way loops make it almost impossible to back into some sites. No hookups but a good dump station with water to fill your tank. Great location to start a tour of the south rim overlooks. Pleasant place with lots of mature cottonwoods to provide shade. Short walk to the visitor center. Navaho parks has taken this over and now charges a fee. Cash only, so stop at the ATM before you arrive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$14
We arrived at early afternoon, self registration. Roads and sites are paved and narrow, sites are short, some very short and some longer ones. Most of them are in an odd angle so you have to drive in instead of backing into them. It doesn't really matter as there are no hookups at all. We found a back in site long enough for our 5er and truck with enough space for slide out and awning. Restrooms are toilets only and could have been cleaner. At this time, there was only 1 other RV staying here. It is very nice but could be even way nicer with a little bit of maintenance. It is a perfect place to start your tour of Canyon de Chelly. We would return if again in the area as it is the only campground here and we think it is not worth wile pulling the RV to the other campground which is quite a way into the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$14
Very nice setting among large cottonwood trees. Can have shade if you want it; we chose a sunny spot for warmth on cold mornings. Restrooms fine and have electricity, but no showers available. Campground roads narrow and confusing. Most sites are back-in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$14
Nice clean, quiet campground, right in Canyon De Chelle Park. Very tight interior roads with trees all over. Great spot for visiting the canyon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$10
Lots of Cottonwoods for shade in middle area; outside has sites for satellite users. Sites are all paved and very level. Some pull throughs and some sites can handle some big rigs. Clean restrooms with no showers. Dump site available and water fill. Great stay to see Canyon de Chelly. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2013
$10
Overall this is a nice campground, but I see signs of neglect. The Navajo Nation took over this campground several years ago. The interior roads and sites have recently been paved. However, this is a confusing campground to navigate in. There are two-way roads that only one RV can safely pass. The bathrooms are old, tired looking, and a bit smelly. The bathrooms did not have paper towels, blow dryers, or soap. There are no showers at this campground. About ¼ of the sites can accommodate large rigs (over 38 feet). Caution must be taken because the interior roads are narrow. Some sites are more level than others. There is one water spigot (without threads) per camp loop. There is a dump station with fresh water. Surprisingly, there was no trash can at the dump station. This campground is dry camping only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$10
Nice, clean, well-managed campground. Some of the back-in sites were difficult to get in to because of the angle on one-way roads. Lots of shady and sunny sites available. Located at the mouth of Canyon de Chelly, behind the visitor center. A small problem was handled by campground personnel immediately. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$10
Very nice, quiet park. No electric but water is available at several locations. The staff were very helpful when asked about services in town. The drive down the south rim was very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
No hookups, but has a dump station, and a threaded water connector is available for refilling tanks. Sites are well-spaced and level. The nearby Canyon de Chelly is *very* pretty and the views from both the north and south rim drives are well worth seeing, including the Anazazi cliff dwellings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
Navajo Nation has taken over from Park Service and has really done a spectacular job. Roads all paved as are sites. Sites level and various lengths. We left our 34 ft 5th wheel attached and plenty of room in 4 sites we looked at WITH a 2nd small SUV. Park is spotless, good shade at many spots with 4 handicapped good sites near restroom. These are also VERY clean, but no showers. This is the nicest no frills campground we have ever stayed at. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
Only facilities are restrooms. Kept up OK. Nice park, paved drives and sites. Lots of shade. Was very windy when I was there. Within walking distance of Thunderbird Lodge which has cafe and ice for sale. Could not find any shower facilities in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
This very basic park is in a very convenient location to see Canyon de Chelly. Space campers made it seem more sparse than it is. Paved roads and sites though leveling is a challenge. We enjoyed our stay in a pleasant location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
Was a U.S. gov run campground turned over to Navajo nation control last month and now not free but $10/night. Nice paved roads and sites well spaced with cottonwood trees abounding. Water spigots scattered about between sites; not at sites. Clean and beautiful. Right at Canyon de Chelly entrance. Excellent tours into the canyon by Navajo tour guides or drive yourself along rim roads. A real GEM to see the canyon and the ancient ruins. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
They just started charging for this park on April 16th, but $10 seems a fair price. Sites are paved and fairly level with open area between most sites. Restrooms (no showers) seemed updated and clean. The park is at the entrance of Canyon de Chelly , so it is easy to drive to either the north or south rim from there. Horse rentals and jeep tours are available at nearby Thunderbird Lodge. Local artists will come by to offer their wares, but they were very polite. A very nice rustic camp site with easy access to gorgeous Canyon de Chelly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$10
Camped in a 40' RV. Campground is now run by the Navajo and they charge a $10 per night fee. Did not see any security at night. Locals come in to fill water jugs, and dogs still wander the campground. There is a dump station and you can fill your water tank. Rest rooms have flush toilets and sinks but no showers. We were on site 7 and had Verizon cell, 3G and satellite TV. Be careful of the large rocks lining the road and parking sites. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$1
This is a very nice National Park campground. The campground is free, but I put $1 since it will not allow $0. The cottonwood trees are beautiful and cover the park. There is a picnic table and a fire pit at each site. The bathrooms are clean but there is no shower. Obviously the campground is close to the park and the rim drives. There is also convenient shopping. The sites are fairly level and vary in size. We had no trouble finding one for our 35' motorhome. The limit is 40' but we think there were some that were longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$1
Nice park, newly paved interior road and sites. There are a few big rig sites that are pull throughs. No Verizon cell or internet signal in the campground. Horseback riding available and guided tours of the canyon. There was some sort of construction going on next to the park and we were awakened in the morning with heavy equipment beeping going on. Park is busy on the weekends but pretty quiet people-wise midweek. Did notice kids with their parents during the midweek: would think they should be in school. Noticed a few dogs loose but they weren't aggressive. The dump station was open but we didn't check to see if there was potable water available. We noticed a deserted host site near the dump station that had a power box. Might be able to use it!!?? It was late in the season when we were here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$1
This is a hard park to rate. Under most circumstances, a dry camping park like this would get a 9 rating. It is free. It has large shade trees. The roads and site parking spaces are paved (in perfect condition). There are bathrooms and showers. It's not crowded. However, the location is the big negative. It is on the outskirts of the sad looking Navajo town of Chinle. There is no access control, so the locals use it like a city park. People are constantly cruising through. Most are families, but many are kids and persons of questionable looks. Packs of dogs roam the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$1
While you cannot beat the price, there are no hook-ups and no services available here. There are bathrooms, but they were heavily used by both campers and locals, so although cleaned daily were less than sparkling. The listing states there is a dump station and potable water, unfortunately the rangers said there was a problem with the well so no potable water was available. There was water for sale at the local market. You must be self-contained and well stocked. The canyon drives and tours made it well worthwhile, simply spectacular. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$0
If you're self-contained, this is a great spot from which to explore Canyon de Chelly. Lovely location in a thicket of cottonwoods. The entire campground was just paved and there are a few pull-off sites parallel to the road, although no pull-throughs. Restrooms were locked in early November, along with half the campground, but you can't beat the price. Visitor's center is nearby, and you can walk next door to the Thunderbird Lodge to hire a guide for a Jeep tour of the canyon. Excellent location, if lacking in amenities. (This website won't allow me to enter a zero in price for campground, but it is absolutely free.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$1
Beyond what was said in the previous review there are water hydrants in all of the loops but no way to fill a fresh water tank as there are no threads on the hydrants. Also, no water is available in town. You might, repeat, might be able to fill at the camp host site. There lots of goat head puncture burrs all over the unpaved areas so watch pets' paws. Generator hours are 6 AM to 8:30 PM. October is a popular time of year, but there were many open sites the two nights we were there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$1
All the roads and pads were black topped in early October. Points off for no hook ups and not taking reservations, which is especially inconvenient if you have a big rig and fewer choices of sites. That said, the campground is free, and it is one of the prettiest campgrounds we've stayed at in 3 years of full time RVing. The cottonwoods are gorgeous and offer wonderful shade. The sites are spacious, and the host was friendly. And you couldn't have a better location for visiting Canyon de Chelly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$1
This is a free campground. Find a space and pull into the site. There are no reservations. There is a water outlet on the grounds. We walked to the Thunderbird Cafeteria a half block away. We enjoyed the food. We were somewhat annoyed by dogs barking all night long in the area. The host was very helpful. We showered in our trailer with on board water. Our site was shaded. The dusty roads were wetted down by highway staff. There is a dump station in the park close to the host site. Picnic tables were provided. The area is plagued with millions of ants. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$1
This is a free campground inside park boundaries that offers only restrooms, no showers. There is a park host on site so we felt safe. It is a pretty campground with lots of shade trees. The sites are on the small size, but we saw big rigs squeeze in. There were a lot of stray dogs roaming around which caused problems for RVers trying to walk their pets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$1
Perfect location for touring north rim & south rim of Canyon de Chelly. Nice sites with plenty of room for our 30' 5er. Campground is free, but I had to put $1 to get review accepted. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$1
This is a nice park, especially for free! However during the winter, there is no water so be sure to fill your tanks before arriving. There was one water source in the picnic area but you will have to 'fill and haul' as it is 40 feet from the parking area. The campground had most of the loops closed and one restroom open. The website says only 40 foot or smaller but there were at least 3 sites that would accommodate larger. There is LOTS of local traffic coming in to 'hang out' and use the rest rooms and get water so beware. I talked to a maintain worker who said that they water is not turned back on until April. It was definitely a great place to camp for a few days if you are prepared. I went by the Spider Rock campground and it was very muddy due to the recent snows. No way I would take my rig in there! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$1
Great location and, since we stayed in October, the leafy cottonwood trees were just gorgeously golden. Some bathrooms were closed for winter already, but there were some facilities, which we didn't use. Tight spots, but worth it after a day of touring the canyon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$1
Great location; nice park. No hookups, showers, etc., but clean bathrooms and decent level sites, each with table and BBQ. I don’t see how they can offer this facility free of charge but was glad they did. We would return here in the unlikely event we want to revisit Canyon de Chelly (don't get me wrong; it is definitely worth one visit). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$1
No cost, no frills NPS park for campers visiting Canyon de Chelly. No hookups, or showers,with bathooms and water nearby. Lots of trees with sites on the small side although there were a few larger sites available. Overall, an adequate place to stay for night or two. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$1
This is actually a nice park, with lots of shade, and is inside the park and adjacent to the Thunderbird Lodge and Canyon Tours. As noted by other reviewers, this campground offers no hook-ups, which is the biggest problem. The bathrooms were clean, but there are no showers. We didn't have any problem with mosquitoes, but the ants were terrible (make sure you bring a bag of ant killer granules to spread over your campsite). It's fine for an overnight stay, but you really need at least a power hook-up to stay any longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$1
Site is free, no reservations taken, but there were plenty of sites available. There are limited sites for long RV's, but plenty were available during our stay in August. There was generous space between sites. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring/BBQ. There is plenty of shade from tall trees. The national park visitor center is within walking distance up the hill. Bathrooms were adequate, typical national park facilities. Generator usage was 6:00 am - 8:30 pm. Our "6" rating is only because of the lack of hookups. This is a very nice public campground and perfect for a visit to Canyon de Chelly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$1
Free campground and worth exactly what was spent. Thoroughly dreadful experience with horrific clouds of mosquitoes with blood appetites to make Vlad the Impaler blush, ants on every conceivable flat surface and filthy unflushed toilets. This could be a great dry campground with even a little effort at management - it's bewildering why the Park Service doesn't recruit a local concessionaire and charge a minimum fee that would maintain and improve the place. The location is fabulous there is little competition and there was quite a demand. The big upside was the reminder of how good it was not to be tenting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$1
This is a FREE Department of the interior campground. There are NO hookups, but the campground is very pleasant with large trees. There are rest rooms with Lavatories and running water toilets, but no showers. We aren't huge on dry camping, but this was a very nice park for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$1
Not for those that like hookups. Generator hours start at 6:00AM. There is water and a dump station available. There are also flush toilets and cold water wash stands in the bathrooms. There are some long pull through sites, but many sites are short enough that tow or towed vehicles must be unhooked. All the sites are generously spaced. The campground is actually free, but this website would not accept zero in the nightly rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$1
Park is "OK" but going downhill since they don't seem to come around to clean the sites as people leave as they used to. There are also packs of dogs roaming uncontrolled inside the campground, trying to find food, water, etc; and although they didn't seem threatening to us, people with pets had to be very careful. The locals seem to just let them go after they grow older. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$00
This park located next to the visitor center for Canyon de Chelly is free. Yes, free. There are no hook-ups, but a dump station and water for fill-up are available. The location is excellent for visiting Canyon de Chelly and taking side trips such as Monument Valley. It has beautiful cottonwood trees for shade. We stayed 5 nights. Rangers speak frequently at the campground re: Navajo culture, pottery, and the geology of the canyon. The hosts were terrific. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$
This is a free, public campground. There are a few sites (mainly in Loop 1) for 40' RVs, but they go early. No reservations. The campground is nice for a few days of dry camping while exploring the Canyon de Chelly area. Picnic tables and grills at your site. The sites are fairly widely spaced apart. Off season we arrived about noon and got one of the few remaining sites large enough for us. Nice place and nice campground overall. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com