217661 User submitted reviews online!!
Palmetto Island State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (888) 677-0094
CGID12139

Palmetto Island State Park

Camp Information
Sites
96
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   10   9   10   5   9   5   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2013
$16
In our humble opinion we thought it was a HORRIBLE! You are literally IN the swamps - not BY them - IN them with mosquitoes - dirt roads - dust probably snakes and alligators - we didn't go out to see. Out rv'ing friends (6 couples in all) were staying at another park nearby and 11 of us went to see if this is somewhere we can visit in the future... EVERYONE said NO WAY !!!!! Way out of the way - filthy - did I say hot, mosquitoes, horrible ?!?!? I would say half the sites were out of commission due to having electrical work done on them, so they were off limits, but most seemed to have concrete pads only - everything else was dirt and presume mud when it rains or floods. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$22
This is one of the newest state parks in Louisiana and it is not even on many maps. At this time, the campground is closed until July 1 to work on electric problems at some of the sites. If you have a reservation they are still honoring them but your sites might be changed and you cannot have any extensions. We had a one night reservation and we were glad that we did. Beautiful park with Palmetto’s all over. Campsites are private, big, picnic tables on a cement slab, campfire pit and all sites have water and electric. The bath house was clean, clean and clean. Laundry at this time was free. One can bike ride, bird watch, rent boats, hike, fish, visit the interpretive center, rent cottages, and view wildlife. It is really pretty. You can rent a canoe and paddle between ponds on a canoe trail. It cost us $22 for the night. It is just outside Abbeville where there is shopping, restaurants like Shucks (best for seafood) and gas stations. On the drive down to the campground you can see rice paddies. We would definitely return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$16
This place is about 6 miles outside Abbeville. It currently had gravel roads and sites. The road is suppose to be paved this month. They have a pretty fast Wi-Fi but Verizon Mi-Fi works well, too. The showers are an A+. They have screened in porches on the rest room and there are two free washer and driers located there too. They automatically tack on a $6 booking fee to each block of time stay. They have a few trails around the park, a nice canoe route through a couple of lakes and canals that eventually lead to the Vermillion River. This is a nice quiet park that I'd stay at again in a heart beat. It should be noted that about 10-15% of their sites were not available due to apparent electrical issues. Our power was good but they had some strange breaker arrangements. They had 120 amp, 50 amp, 30 amp and 20 amp breaker set up. You had to have the 120 on for any of the others to work. But a check of the hook up revealed no problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$16
Wow! What a find. Opened in 2010, this CG is well laid out with ample room between sites. Nice trails and a great central location for visiting Cajun, LA. Free laundry!! Excellent Wi-Fi signal but state has put limits on streaming, downloads, and content. Very impressed with this park. Great place to bike--no hills! Would stay here again in a flash. Would rate it 12 if I could. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
This park is in a beautiful setting and the facilities are new. Unfortunately, the roads are not paved but instead they are covered with a crushed limestone which creates a considerable amount of dust. Within a couple of hours, your vehicle takes on a new color! The sites are well spaced and some are very private. There are still sites not usable due to past flooding which damaged the electrical boxes. We stayed for 3 days, never saw a park ranger, other campers were very noisy on 2 nights, well past midnight. Apparently, they do not have quiet time at this park or any monitoring of campers. Even during the day, music was playing much too loud. We would not stay here unfortunately, because the settings is so pretty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$19
In contrast with the previous review, we did not find any of the issues that the reviewer did. The gravel road was not dusty, the gravel sites were capacious and well spaced, and the place was quiet and peaceful. The ranger came around often starting about 6:00 am. Our being there mid-week in early February, along with about 10 other campers, influenced our experience. Louisiana state parks charge a $6 reservation fee, even for people showing up with no reservations. The rate shown reflects the $16 daily winter rate plus half the $6 (we stayed 2 nights) fee. Louisiana offers reduced rates for residents of some states if the camper has a federal pass. The park is fairly new and the buildings are very well done. Since the park is in a swamp, the mosquitoes are a problem solved with some repellent. The campground wi-fi worked well, as did our Verizon air card plus the Tracfone. Plenty of off-the-air TV channels. There were plenty of places to eat in Abbeville, about 8 miles away. We'd stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2011
$10
Stayed here for 5 nights for Thanksgiving in 2011 (and in 2010), for half price using the Golden Pass. Last year the park was filled, this year only 2/3 filled at Thanksgiving. The road is rock dust (very little gravel) so when it is not raining you have dust, and the dust is everywhere. The mosquitoes mentioned in other reviews are real. Any time it is warm and still, you will have dozens trying to land on you, and they are hungry. Be aware that sites 2 to 37 are seriously crowded. Most of the other sites have some space between and a few have a lot of space. The shower/restrooms are nice, though not well located for many campers. They have dribble showers with a minimum amount of water. Restrictors on the showers, and on demand, no control sink faucets prevent you from getting much hot water anywhere. Biggest problem is what I call PRESENCE. The management does not have a presence. In the mornings you will see the clean up crews around and maybe a ranger will drive through by noon, but after that there is nothing. No ranger, host, deputy sheriff, nothing. If you read the requirements for campers you will not see any restrictions on number of persons, vehicles, or boats at a camp site. A few camp sites will have 4 or 5 trucks with multiple tents, etc. There is no one around to enforce the quiet time rules, and one of the so-called hosts was as bad as some of the others. Last year we were lucky and we had good neighbors, but not this year. Only the cold nights quieted things down on some evenings. No rules on cleaning up your kennel mess when you leave, so you leave mounds around for the camper who follows you. I see the campground evolving more and more into a weekend party place for the locals. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$19
Spent 2 nights here. Newly opened last Halloween (ranger told us) after repairs from Hurricane flooding and damage. Still some 10 or so electrical site outlets kaput. Sites gravel, level, nicely spaced, lots of shade trees, EW. Dump toward entrance. Ranger station, bath houses, nature center buildings are really really nice. Nearby pond for fishing and Vermillion river and boat put ins close by. When we were there the main campground dirt-gravel road was extremely dusty; you couldn't go slow enough to avoid a huge dust cloud. We are told clip paving was planned but over due. My only complaint. Other wise a very nice state park. May another hurricane not do it in. We did need our GPS to find our way to the park as it is out of the way. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$11
Newly opened in Oct 2010, this secluded park is steeped in natural beauty. The name says it all: Palmetto - the plants are all around - near camp sites, etc. Spacious sites, many with shade. Ranger / naturalist led talks and walks. Adding to what others have said, boaters, fishermen, canoeists will love this camp. Verizon signal enough to make/receive calls. Only negatives: no sewer hookup - just a dump station, typical of state parks. And, probably too few washers/dryers - four of each - for a full camp; but, they are FREE. My count is 96 RV spots; a few cabins are available. Some temporarily unavailable due to apparent electrical hookup problems. Locals are to be credited with donating many dollars to enable opening of this camp because the state did not have sufficient funds to do so. Good discount for seniors. Bottom line; lovely park for those who like nature and the out-of-doors in a quiet setting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$16
Very nice campground. Hiking trails are made with small pebbles throughout the park. Good places to fish with the kids. Access to the Vermilion River. Spots are very large and very private. Kids loved the splash pads. Roads are gravel, but if everyone obeys speed limit, dust is kept to a minimum. We plan on returning for a week during Thanksgiving Holidays. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$16
The sites are spacious and some are secluded. Most are limestone with the exception of 4 handicap sites (those are concrete). All sites have a fire ring. There is a very nice splash pad for the kids and also a bathhouse to change clothes. Like others have posted, the roads inside of the park are gravel but didn't bother us. Comfort stations were very clean and include washers and dryers. The park is in a remote area, but only 10 minutes from the nearest Wal-Mart. Had OK to good AT&T cell service. We camped here last weekend and enjoyed ourselves. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$16
This is a brand new state park in LA. They have generous RV spaces, the comfort stations were very clean. The road is gravel; however, the only dust kicked up were by those not obeying the speed limit. If you go the speed limit, there's not that much dust. The nature center is still being worked on, but the splash pad is very nice and even thought it was cool, was working. The trails are nice, one goes on a boardwalk thru a cypress swamp. If we had one complaint, it would be that it appears a little understaffed, only saw the ranger on patrol one time and several camps were very loud and could have used some calming down on Saturday night. We will absolutely go back and support this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$99
Brand new state park. Water park for children. No pavement within park, very dusty. 1299 acres. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com