223348 User submitted reviews online!!
Big Bone Lick State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (859) 384-3522
CGID1214

Big Bone Lick State Park

Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   9   8   7   7   7   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$23
This state park was a delightful surprise as we were traveling through the area. The gentleman running the office was wonderfully helpful with information about the park and the surrounding area. As can be expected of most State Parks, the utilities at the site are only water and electric and there is no WiFi. Sprint phone service is virtually non existent. We loved the trails and the Bison herd and the historic nature of the Park. Would definitely stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
Very nice campground. Very friendly staff. Pretty steep hills getting to campground. Need at least a 50ft of water hose to reach hookup. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$26
Nice but well used state park. The bathrooms need updating but they were clean. Very steep road getting to your site but once there the sites are very nicely spaced. From the interstate the road to the park is a little twisty and narrow but doable. Will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$23
This is a great park! There are no sewer hookups, but aside from that it was quiet, there is a museum on site, the history of the area is great, and 25 minutes from Cinci. I only gave it a "9" because of the "state park" bathrooms that nearly always have bugs and are a bit well-used. But, having camped all over, one gets used to those. The kids got to go look at an onsite Bison herd and the trails are fun to walk. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
This was a nice state park. Ample room on sites. Bath house was dated, but clean. Medium size pool proportionate to the size of the campground. Friendly staff. There were three different camp hosts for different sections of the campground. Cell service from Sprint was poor. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. We camped here four nights. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
All paved campground so that's nice. Basic state park, with pool, playground, and pond. A few things to do around the park, see the buffalo, hike some of the trails, and fish. Very quiet campground; we have stayed here several times. Most of the sites are wooded. No sewer, but they have water and electricity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Nice park. Our site (#41) was the probably the most level lot we have ever had at any campground. Most camp sites were nicely spaced. Campground is located fairly close to the Cincinnati area, so there are plenty of things to do within 30 minutes away. Our only complaints about the campground is as follows: The grass at our campsite needed to be mowed (not real bad, it just needed to be mowed), our fire ring was FULL of ashes that we had to shovel out and put beside the fire ring, the dump station is not very convenient to get in and out of (had to circle back through the campground due to difficult turn), and for my husband and sons (who like to fish) this is not a good park for fishing. However, despite these complaints, we would stay at this park again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Nice and quiet at night. Had good laundry service. Swimming pool was open. Overall it was a good stay with some nice hiking trails. It was close to the Creation Museum. Taking the back roads we discovered the small town of Rabbit Hash. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$23
Very nice park not too far from Cincinnati. Very quiet at night even on the 4th of July (maybe due to ban on campfires due to fire hazard). Make sure you have at least a 50' water hose, since water hookups are shared between sites. Mixture of very large sites to average size sites. Some sites are not level, although the grade is usually front to back rather than side to side. Be sure to check out the museum and learn about the park's importance in paleontology. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
Nice park on top of a mountain. Getting our 40' rig up there and backed in required a little work but it worked. Just choose your site carefully if a big rig. Site was level but not all sites are. Has putt-putt in park, trails to walk and bison! Price high due to online reservation (they don't do phone reservation). You might be able to avoid the online fee by simply paying when you arrive if you want to risk it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
We stayed two nights in this park and really enjoyed it. The park is well kept and as with most parks in Kentucky very green! The hosts were very helpful and friendly. We will certainly return when going back that way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
The site we were on was tight for our fiver but was called a 43 ft. Luckily we bring extra hoses as the spigot was halfway in the woods. It was rather narrow, but the worst part was the side to side leveling was at least 6" off. It's a clean park with nice hosts and very quiet but then again it's only May. Wouldn't go back, but for small trailers it's ok. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
This place is only 15 minutes away from our house but is so nice we plan on making it a yearly thing. The programs offered for the kids by the naturalist are entertaining and informative. Pool is adequate size with handicap lift. Many shaded spots for hot KY summer days. Enough space for friends to camp next to each other and have privacy. Nice common area between spots where games of toss, tag and corn hole were played. Two very large common area fire rings with stone walled seats if you want to have a large get together. Highly recommend! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
We stayed here for 2 nights and had a great time. There were programs for the kids, which they enjoyed. The pool is small and deep (not great for little kids). The bathrooms were clean, the showers had good pressure and warm water. The park was very clean, but our site was sloped and even with our jacks we couldn't get level. Nice hike to see the buffalo and the small museum. Also, a hike to a fishing lake, a miniature golf course. Lots to do! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
Small park with huge sites! Plenty of programs for kids/family. Could be rough for some larger vehicles, turns were tight & it was a very steep grade getting up into the campground. Some lots were level, others were wickedly sloped (either side-side or front-back). Will definitely return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
Manicured grounds, clean, all well maintained, helpful park host camped on site. On top of a hill, 7 miles off interstate, very little cell phone or TV reception. Only 15-20 miles to Cincinnati downtown but in the country! The park is an archaeological preserve, with museum, walking trails, very educational. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
This was just an excellent campground and what a great find. It's only about 7 miles off the interstate and it's a very pretty drive out here. It is a state park and has a pool and mini golf for the kids. It has huge sites as well as fire pits. It was just a wonderful place to camp. We stayed one night but I wish we could have stayed longer. Also, there were no extra fees for entrance like you find in many states. Staff was great too! WOW! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$24
Small but pleasant State Park located on a hilltop. Excellent trails to the Museum and Bison Herd viewing area, plus an easy lakeside loop trail. Has paved back-in sites, but many are NOT level or on a bad incline. The best flat sites were 1-3, 12-14, 25-30 loop, and 59. Sites 39-41 were almost level. Water faucets are shared between two sites-bring a 50 foot hose. The Grocery/Camp Store was closed off-season, but showers & rest rooms were open. We enjoyed this park in Fall with few other campers around. The sites are far enough apart, but this park is so condensed that it could easily feel crowded during the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
A nice place to stay, not too far from Cincinnati, Ohio. The pads are not very long. Bring plenty of hose because the water is not right on the site. These are friendly hosts. You are not allowed to bring wood from out of state (they don't check), but you can buy a very small bundle from the onsite store for $4.75, or you can drive 10 minutes and get 5 times as much for $8. We would stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
My family camped here over Labor Day weekend. The back drop of the campground is very pretty: lots of trees. The amenities however, well that's another story. The pool was VERY small. The bathrooms were outdated, however they were clean. I've seen much nicer bathrooms in other parks. The fishing lake was a joke. You had to go down this hidden trail, that was very unsafe to find the lake overgrown with weeds, tree limbs everywhere. There is no way anyone unsteady on their feet or not physically fit could handle that trail. I was very disappointed with this campground and doubt we will return. We camped in site 30. The site was very small, but in the back so there was not a lot of traffic. That was nice for the kids to ride their bikes. Make sure you bring an extremely long water hose. The spout is shared between two camp sites and a good distance away from both! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
A very clean park. Trails were nice. Most sites seemed to offer some shade. The best location is the back loop: we were on site #30, which offers a quiet loop for families or groups. Kids really enjoyed visiting the bison, which were out and grazing. Campground was booked full the weekend we were there and was still quiet and family-oriented. Each water hook-up is shared by two sites and ours pushed the 50' hose limit. Facilities were well-maintained. Pool was adequate, especially for hot days, but only ranged from 3'6" to 4'8" deep and the pool size was probably proportionate to the campground size. We'd definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
Very nice state park. We enjoyed our stay here and will most likely return in the fall. The visitor center and museum were very neat and informative, our kids really enjoyed them. Lots of bones, fossils and primitive artifacts to check out. The actual campground was clean and very nice. The swimming pool was a great relief for the 90 degree heat and it was clean. The bath house was nice as well, and the showers had hot water!! The staff at the park was really friendly and park security regularly patrolled the campgrounds. Numerous playgrounds throughout the park and the hiking trails are kept very nicely groomed. A very family oriented campground, and the put-put golf was a hit with the kids as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
This is the nicest state park I have ever been to. Bathrooms were clean, but in the mornings were a little busy since they were so small. Campsites are paved and fairly level. Bring a long water hose, though, because the water hookups are between the sites, which means they are on the opposite side of the camper on every other site and about 50ft away. Pool was great, hiking trails were great, and the kids loved riding their bikes because the entire campground is paved. We stayed here to go to a race at Kentucky Speedway which is only a 10 minute drive. We will stay here next year, too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
Nice campground. Shared water hookups which required a long hose, 75ft. We camped on Site #2 which was very nice. Has several trails if you like to hike. We saw a herd of deer while on one of the trails. The bison were a little disappointing. They were kept in a pen which was inside another pen which made it difficult seeing them. Overall the campground was nice, and we will camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
Overall we like this park for an easy weekend trip. This year what we didn't like was that after 8:00 P.M. when the office closes, there were no park employees, camp hosts, or Park Rangers. You were on your own with no cell phone reception. If this situation continues I'm not sure this will be a good choice for family camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
We stayed here one night on the way to Canada from Tennessee. We arrived just before dark and were able to take advantage of an astronomy program which included viewing the moon and Saturn through telescopes. In the morning we played miniature golf on a course much like the ones at other Kentucky State Parks. We wish we had more time to explore the activities at this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
This is a beautiful park in a peaceful setting. The sites are fairly short for longer units and some sites are not level. We blocked four inches on one side to level our fifth wheel. There are a lot of shared water hook-ups, and longer hoses are needed for some. Ours was 60 feet away. No sewer connections, but they have a dump station. There is a small fishing lake, a Bison herd, miniature golf and a museum. A nice place to get away for a few days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
This park is very clean ... sites are well placed and most are easily accessed with a larger rig. The paved pad we were located on was not real level, but we had no problem leveling off the trailer. The restrooms, showers, laundry room were very clean. The park was nearly full our first night, but it was still very quiet. We could stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$24
Big Bone Lick State Park has a great family campground. The bathrooms are immaculate, but that could have been because it was the first weekend of the season. The camp store was very small with a very limited selection, but there is a large grocery store (Kroger) in Union, about a 10-15 minute drive from the park. The check-in station is inside the camp store, but there were very limited hours during the weekend; they had not yet found a camp host for the year. The swimming pool looks nice, but it was not yet open. The sites are clean, but some require slight leveling. All sites have a picnic table, fire ring, and lantern pole (you cannot hang lanterns on trees in KY state parks). Firewood is $4.75 per bundle. They are average size and well-seasoned. There are many things to do inside the park: (1) Museum with bog diorama (nicer than it sounds) (2) Nature Center (3) Bison Prarie (there were 13 adults and a calf when we visited) (4) Fishing Lake (5) Ball fields The only things that they could improve are: (1) Hire a camp host (2) Post age restrictions on the playground We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$26
If you are attending one of the NASCAR races at Kentucky Speedway, this is the place to camp. We stayed here over the Nationwide Series race weekend and loved it. The park has nice angled back in slots, a small pool that is being expanded, a nice bath house, and mini-golf. There is a lake nearby to fish, and you can see the buffalo roam on the preserve nearby. The TV pickup is excellent up on this hill. We stayed in slot 5 and it was nicely shaded and level. The slots are paved with nice gravel patios. There was a lot of room between the sites, more than the other ST Parks I have stayed at. This has the nicest slots I have experienced during any of my KY St Park visits. I would highly recommend this CG and will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$19
We stayed overnight at this campground in route to Michigan. The grounds were well manicured and very green. The showers were very small and not real clean and poorly lit. There were only two in the ladies room. There was a shower for the handicapped but it was out of order. Couldn't use the pool because it turned off very cold. All sites were back in on asphalt with a gravel patio area where you also parked your car. The water hookup was strange. There were dual connections at the door side of our RV. I had never seen that before. We did see the buffalo herd and saw where Lewis and Clark dug up prehistoric bones. This park is way off the beaten path! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
Campsite we chose had construction going on directly behind us and we were not notified of that before we parked. Showers were very poorly lit, very small and not very clean. Walking access not good for people to get to pool and our campsite was used as everyones pass through with people even touching our vehicle as they cut through. Saw dogs not on leash in spite of leash rule. Only man at desk was friendly, Male camp host barely spoke, female just stared. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$24
We camp at this campground a lot, as it is close to our home. Very nice family campground with large sites. The grounds and shower house are kept very clean. Friendly staff with excellent and helpful host. The campground was hooked up to city water in April 2008, so the water pressure is excellent, much improved from the comments posted in the past. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$12
We had a great time at this campground. There were coin laundry facilities next to the restrooms. Water hookups are not turned on until 4/1, including the rinse hose at the dump station. The pool was not yet opened either. There is a small playground area for children that was clean and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and easily accessable. Online reservations were very easy. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$23
Nice park with lots of scheduled activities for the kids. The park has a pool, but was small and packed normally with a lot of kids doing jumps, flips and diving with only a depth of 4' 6", so we didn't use it much and the temps were hot, so that was a big negative. Bathroom was outdated and small for 62 sites, waits for showers or toilets became a problem once and awhile. Roads getting to the park from I-75 or I-71, were narrow, so I wouldn't consider it for an overnight stop, as passing other trailers, farm equipment and dump trucks was common and somewhat nerve racking as the locals don't slow down much, and there were areas with no shoulder and a drop of several inches that may damage a trailer if your wheel were to go over the edge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$20
Many planned activities. Many sites are uneven but are wide enough to put out slides and awnings. The water pressure at our site was so low that we could not use it to run the camper. Enjoyed the hiking trails and viewing the small herd of bison. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Beautiful campground with the best campground host we've ever met. Only drawback is the relatively large number of unlevel sites, however, most of these are in the front of the CG. Sites are spacious and the place is spotless. Overall we had a very good experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com