219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Horsetooth Reservoir was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (970) 679-4570
CGID12148

Horsetooth Reservoir

Camp Information
Sites
152
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   9   7   9   8   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$25
Nice camping along the Lake. Can get smoky due to campfires at all the sites. Campsites are very roomy; we had a nice shady one for late afternoon. Can be noisy at times due to traffic above you on the highway and the campground has a lot of families using the lake. We will stay here again, but we object to paying a day fee of $7 on top of the camping fee, then pay $2 for showers on top of that. Water is not available at each site and if you are in the sites further away from the water it will be about 1/4 mile away. Full hookup sites are $5 a night more but you don't have the shower fee and not much shade yet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
It's a nice campground. If you park on the side with the lake, people constantly cut through your site. The marina "renters/owners" that have slips on the lake are extremely rude! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
A white knuckle challenge to get to! DO NOT let your GPS send you down CO RD 23!!! The park has full, elec/water, & elec only sites. Most are pull through. Very pretty. We'll stay here again. Some may find the separate $7/day vehicle pass excessive, but you still can't find a cheaper park in Ft. Collins. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Nice park, not much shade, lots of wind. A little out of the way to visit the mountains and mountain villages. Hard to pick up cell and Wi-Fi service. Real nice lake with views and wildlife. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
Wow, came into the park from the Bellvue side. I kept thinking I need to find a place to turn around and get out of there, narrow and steep roads. I am glad we did not find a turn around spot, because the park is beautiful. Campground host was really nice and very helpful. Interior roads were gravel, site was a nice pull through, fairly level with shade. We had a good view of the lake. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
Very nice campground with several sites right on the lake. Hiking trails through the reservoir. Because we were there mid-week in October, we pretty much had the whole campground to ourselves. It can be full during the weekend. You do have to pay a $7/day usage for the county park. Some of the full hookups when not very level. The price reflects electric only with off season discount. Estes Park and Rocky National Park is only 35 miles away. If in the area, we will definitely use this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
Overall this is a very nice campground and we think one of the best in the area, even considering a few glitches. We were in S10 with 50 amp and water, we had shade in the morning. Sites S5-12 are full hook up, but no trees. The reservoir level is down, but a water view was not important. We were able to get satellite through the trees, and Verizon cell and MiFi was good. Reservations are made on the internet, so you choose your site on a map with length descriptions, etc. No one was ever at the entrance and we talked to several rangers, who were driving around, about the park fee but no one ever had any. A $35 annual fee pass is available, for seniors, if they have them. Showers are $2 for 6 minutes and another $1 token for an additional 3 minutes. You must know if you want 6 or 9 minutes before the shower quits. It takes a few minutes to get hot water and figure out the direction of the handle. The shower building is nice, but it was not cleaned or swept in the 10 days we were there. Lots of bugs in that building and the free standing toilets. The weekends are very busy. We drove on Hwy 27 up to Hwy 14, and enjoyed several hiking trails, as well as close proximity to restaurants, groceries and laundromats. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Great campground with plenty to do in the area (hiking, boating, fishing, swimming). We had a great view of the lake and hills with plenty of trees and a mostly level spot. Unlike Inlet Bay, which we liked but felt cramped by all the homes in the area, this feels more like camping. We had a decent 3G signal (Verizon) and a couple channels over the antenna. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$22
We stayed here because of its central location to the Rocky Mountain National Park and other scenic drives and easy access. We don't have a lot of experience pulling the 5wheel in the mountains so it was easy to get to. There is one grade coming from Fort Collins but it isn't bad. The park is county operated and the sites are gravel and level. We stayed in the full hookup section which are all pull-thrus. The sites had 30/50 electric, water and sewer hookups. We had a good view of the southern sky and had no problem finding Direct TV satellite. Our Verizon phones had 1XEV with 4 bars and Verizon Mi-Fi worked well. Our site was #S10 and overlooked the reservoir. It had a nice view of the valley. The $22 fee includes the $7 a day permit to enter the park. The site was the winter rate of $15 (summer $20) a day but they also charge $7 a day entrance fee for the park. Although the day permit is honored at any of the county park for that period ending the next day at noon. Just seems to me that the day fee could be waived for campers. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com