214832 User submitted reviews online!!
Oak Creek Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (859) 485-9131
CGID1215

Oak Creek Campground

Camp Information
Sites
99
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   6   5   6   5   9   8   4   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
Our 2nd stay. Older park with many full time "residents". We were on our way South and it was good enough for a night that we stayed when going North (home). Would stay again. Good Wi-Fi connection (4 of 5 bars). Level lot, friendly office staff. "Store" selection a little sparse. Would not plan for a multi-night stay but fine for a quick overnight. Easy off-on I-75 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$27
Shady campground except for the transient pull-thru sites which are level and sunny. Pool was closed when we visited in mid-Oct. Roads are mostly paved and the transient sites are grassy with gravel parking area. Campground has mostly long term residents and is open all year. Good spot to stop over night as it is near the Interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Oak Creek Campground (OCC) is just a half-mile from the Flying-J truckstop off I-71 and was a good location for day trips into the Cincinnati area. It is family owned/run with a small store that sells RV supplies, groceries, ice, etc. There's a small pool and playground, and was very child and dog friendly. While OCC is a large campground with a lot of RV sites and about 6 different site-loops all around the grounds, the majority are rented to seasonal, long-term residents with wood decks, cement patios, storage sheds, etc. on their sites. Only the front RV loop appeared to have sites for short-term RV travelers like us, with only about a half-dozen pull throughs for big rigs in the center. Also, after you register at their office, the turn-around to get back to the front RV sites was very tight requiring bigger rigs to backup, so you may want to unhook your tow-vehicle while you register. Their sites are fairly close together. Our gravel site #13 was fairly level and backed up to a small creek. There were shade trees behind us and also a local road ran above the campground so you could hear traffic noise during the day. While we didn't need to use it, they advertised on-site sewer pump outs for free, likely due to the large number of permanent/unmovable mobilehomes. OCC's WIFI worked well, and there were about a dozen channels available on antenna TV. There was a laundry. The tiled showers and restrooms, while well-used by the residents, were clean enough (you'd want to wear your flipflops in the shower) with a good supply of hot water We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
Packed in like sardines! Rate reflects a Good Sam discount. This campground is full of older, "unloved" campers and motorhomes. The back-in site we had was not very level. Electric (30-Amp) was adequate. Since we were here just over night, we didn't bother to hook up to water. As per previous reviews, call ahead to reserve a site as there are very few sites available for over nighters. The free Wi-Fi worked well, and cable was 10 channels which was more than adequate for us. While clean, the showers and restrooms need some attention as they just looked a bit dingy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
Rate reflects military discount. Ok RV park. Not much available off I-71 between Louisville, KY and Cincinnati, OH. It's relatively easy to find, but suggest you call ahead for a reservation. Only has 5 pull through sites that accommodate large rigs, and they were full by 6PM. Once inside park, turns are very tight and roadways are narrow. Many of the RVs appear to have been there a while with "decks and sheds". Although "pet friendly", not a lot of places to walk your pet for potty breaks. Water and electricity were relatively easy to get to, electrical connection was OK. Good if you are just passing through, but wouldn't want to stay a while. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$23
Would not overly recommend this park. Access is a little tricky and negotiating the park requires attention as the drop-off in some places could cause a problem. There are limited pull-through sites and they were reluctant to allocate one to us with a fifth-wheel. They said "we like to save them for people towing a vehicle" - but they did give us one in the end. The pull trough sites are fairly close together, but O.K. for an overnight stop. Wi-Fi was excellent but the cable TV was poor - few channels and most were "snowy". Will try somewhere else next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
This is one of our "old standby" campgrounds on our annual run south. It is an easy-in and easy-out campground that provides well-spaced pull-through sites for motorhomes and fifth-wheels at the front of the park that are separate from the resident and long-term sections. The staff is very accommodating and even gave us the site number ahead of time, thereby allowing us to park before registering. Rate reflects time of year and that water was shut-off at the sites; something we did not need anyway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$26
Easy to find off I-75. Rather tight turn into campground and when you come out of the park the view to your right is very compromised. The manager was very nice and friendly. Cable TV great, Wi-Fi great. Water was turned off for the season, but I was told this when I called a week earlier so was not surprised when I got there. We were visiting an Aquarium in Newport so we stayed for 2 nights. It is a 30 minute drive to Cincinnati. Great park and friendly folks. Rate reflects Good Sam. We will stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
Maybe we were just unlucky with our stay here. Dogs everywhere and some of them barked all day! The park is a pretty spot as you drive in - the permanent and seasonal vans did leave something to be desired but are situated away from the short stay area. Lovely play ground for children. Take care with the sharp turn into the park off the Interstate and care needs to be taken in leaving the park with fast traffic coming around a bend on the right. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2012
$27
We have camped here before and swore we'd never come back, but it's February and we needed a campsite. We called and made reservations and there was no mention of the fact that there is NO water in the campground, and NO water at the dump station. We found out when we tried to hook up the water. Water was shut off due to winter. No adjustment on the price, either. Our motorhome is 35' and we tow a small car. The pull through was barely long enough to accommodate us and the site was low enough in the front that we had to put boards under the front wheels of our motorhome. So far, Wi-Fi is working. Cable is bare-bones. Turns are very tight and it would be difficult for longer RVs to maneuver in this campground. We wouldn't camp here again unless we were forced to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
For an overnight stay it is OK. Would not want to stay too long. Be careful getting in the campground as the turn in is pretty sharp. We have a 36' fiver and were able to get in, but you must move cautiously. Sites were pretty level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
Not 'big-rig' friendly since turns on roads to the campground and in campground are very sharp and winding. Old campground, rather poorly maintained with what appears to be 90% long-term residents. Cable TV did not work and management said the system was being replaced. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
Rate reflects Good Sam discount. The paved roads inside the park (including the turnaround) are pretty narrow. We were in a pull-through site, and there are no trees in this area. It appears most back-in sites are have at least partial shade. Sites in this area are gravel, and ours was pretty level. Water and electric worked well. No sewer hookup. Wi-Fi was somewhat slow at times. The park was quiet during our stay and there was minimal road noise from outside the park. Only real drawback is no sewer. We would choose this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
We enjoyed our quiet night at Oak Creek, in a pull-thru with our 37 foot motorhome that has a motorcycle lift on the back of it and we have a tow dolly with our car on it. Anything much longer would present a problem with negotiating all the trees and turns. Their pull-thrus number 5 and #1 is the longest, and #5 would not work for a long unit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
Entry from I-71 is very long (5.5 miles) and narrow and has NO shoulder. Turn onto road park is actually on is about 240 degrees. We did not make it without unhooking tow, backing up for a second try, and blocking traffic both ways. It was a nightmare in our 40 foot rig. We were told at the office the entry from I-75 is easier. Only .5 mile and the turn we failed to negotiate is not necessary. We followed the directions in Trailer Life and Exit Now. We will not be back in any case. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$27
Decent campground that is good for a short stay such as weekend. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Restrooms and showers were clean. The con's is that the site are very close to a busy road so road noise is a factor. I would use again for a overnight or two day stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
Good overnight stop with a long turn around since you must go up the hill to check in, and then go back to the entrance to park for overnight. Has nice people and the short term sites were plenty big, but had no sewer hookups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$27
Near the Interstate, and good pull throughs. NO SEWER (I missed the note when I first looked at the reviews). Call for reservation, and they will give you your site number to pull into so you don't have to go through the camp site to get turned around back to the entrance. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
An acceptable park for an overnight. They insist that they have internet instant at site, we were never able to get it to work. When I called them about it they really didn't care. Won't stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
This park is very tired looking but the people were very friendly and our site satisfactory. We were surprised that grey water can just be released on the ground and were not comfortable with this practice. We would camp here again if we were in the area but would not go out of our way to find it. We did not use any of the facilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This campground is close to I-75, and not a bad overnight stay. Water pressure was fine, but the taste was a bit strange. No sewer, but you were allowed to dump gray water on the ground at your site which I found a little disturbing. Pull-through sites were on a lower level which made it a bit tricky to pull out to the road when you left. It was quiet and there were no mega-watt lights hanging around at night. There is also a nice playground if you are traveling with children. Overall, not a bad place to stay, we might stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Campground was clean, the people where very friendly. Most of the sites are permanent people. The owner was very nice and friendly. I would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
We located this campground by doing an internet search. From their website the campground looked and sounded nice, we were only staying one night on our way to Tennessee. There are around 20 sites at the front of the campground a few of these were pull thru. This is were our site was located, thank goodness. After dinner we walked through the rest of the campground and couldn't believe our eyes. The rest of the campground was year round seasonal for some and seasonal for the rest. After 12 years of camping and taking chances on campgrounds I believe this one wins our never, ever again award. It was truly and unbelievably scary that people actually live like this. Even for one night I would look elsewhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
We camped thare for the weekend . We had trouble getting our satillite dish to work. The office sent there tech guy to fix it for us at no charge. The man was very helpful. The camp ground was very clean and well kept. We plan on making many trips back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
Lots of permanent trailers, muddy grounds. The owners were smokers, and the office reeked. There is no river, it's a small creek with junk floating in it. I don't know how they got a good rating in Trailer Life. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
It is a mess, a lot of old messy seasonals, would not stay here but fine for a nights stop. No level sites, stayed in one of six pull thru spots. I would stop again but only as an overnight on the way to someplace nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
Don't bother. This campground was not well kept. The grass was almost shin high and the lady behind us "mowed" her's with a weedeater. We had a shabby seasonal next to us, that should have been towed out to the weeds and left. The pull through sites (we had a back in) weren't much more than a gravel parking lot. Grey water was dumped in trench behind us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2007
$24
There are a few sites in the front of the campground that have adequate room. We arrived late in the afternoon and the sites in the front were all taken. They assigned us a site which was very small, very unlevel, and we had to back our 35 foot 5th wheel down a narrow lane and thread it between two trees. Plus the ground was very soft and we almost got our truck stuck. There are lots of permanent residents in dumpy, dirty-looking campers there, too. Apparently there is a car racetrack nearby and we could hear the noise from that, too. We will never camp there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
Great park for a few day's visit. Although the road is narrow, the campground is easily accessible. Friendly staff and washrooms were clean although they seemed old. The back part of the park is for the seasonal sites and some look like they have been there several years. We first camped here in 2000 and they have cleaned the place up since then. We will make it a point to stay there if we are ever in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2006
$28
The site we were in was very small and in an area where permanent or seasonal campers were parked. The camp site was difficult to back into. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
There is nothing special about this campground. The sites are close together and can be quite soft and muddy. We stayed here because we were visiting the Cincinnati area and prefer to take our RV with us. Even though it is one of the closest campgrounds to the Covington/Cinci area, it is still much to far to be convenient. The best feature of the campground was the management. They were friendly and helpful. We would stay here again just for that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$27
Nice park for overnight or a few days. Appears to be mostly seasonal; however, spots reserved near the front for casual campers. Some of the seasonal rigs look like they either came from a wrecking yard or should be sent there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2006
$24
To enter the campground you have to go down a big hill, make a sharp right turn at the bottom and then past the area where you camp to the office. Once checked in you have to go to a tight turn around, passing a number of dilapidated seasonal unit then back to the front area to your site. The sites a fairly large with some pull-thrus. Cable is limited to a few channels. It seems to be clean and good for an overnight. Upon leaving, if you wish to use the Dump Station, you have to go past the office again, dump then go to the tight turn around and back out to the road. Once at the road you have to watch out for traffic coming down the hill and be quick to get your vehicle and rig out so as not to get hit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2005
$25
This would be a nice park in the summer. There are only 6 pull through sites. Wi-fi is free. The bathrooms and showers are very old but clean. I thought the price was quite high for a park that doesn't have sewer hookups and the water was turned off. All amenities were closed but no reduction in price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Adequate for an overnight. Entrance is down a steep hill at bottom of blind curve. In order to access overnight sites you must go past office and make a sharp loop to turn back. Advise to drop toad, over 40' may find it tight but doable. Electric is showing 110 volts with only the A/C on. Satellite access possible but difficult given the southwest treeline. Pull throughs somewhat unlevel. All sites are gravel with grass between them. It's an older campground with numerous seasonals. But it seems clean and cared for. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com