206514 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp Meade RV Park (Military Camping Only) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (301) 677-6196
CGID12152

Camp Meade RV Park (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
54
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   9   8   10   9   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Great location for visiting family and friends. Once you've been here, it is easy to find. That first time can be difficult, though! Office staff does leave something to be desired. All utilities worked well. Laundry room very clean and all in working order. Will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
The campground is located in a convenient to DC and Baltimore. The site are large and there is plenty of grass. They have cabins with attached back-ins. The management is very difficult to work with. The other employees are nice and helpful, but even they speak poorly of the manager. He seems to make rules up as he goes along. He has one rule for one person and another rules for the rest. We enjoy staying here but are considering not returning because of the high price and the management. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
A couple updates since the last review posted in November, 2012. The rate shown is based on the "new" weekly rate. In April the park stopped offering a 20% discount for the "Golden Age/Senior Passes, but went to a weekly rate. The daily rates also went up by $5.00, so now it is $33 for a back-in and $38 for a pull-through. The park web site says "CATV", but the cable has been gone for several months. Something about a problem with the company supplying the cable programming. A couple park residents offered to re-start it, but management has been unreceptive. There is no official Wi-Fi and never has been, but again a couple park "residents" used their know-how to establish a signal. It is named "dd-wrt". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$30
This is a nice FamCamp located on the outer perimeter of the military installation and therefore offers some peace and quiet for your stay. The access road is paved. The sites are either paved or concrete, but there is some degree of sloping on many of the back-ins. The sites have a picnic table and fire ring. The utilities worked as expected. The combination club/bath house is pretty much centrally located. There are at least a half dozen individual shower rooms which precludes any waiting. There is also a nice laundry facility in the same building. Unfortunately, it is pay-for-use which is not the norm because that is usually a freebie for most FamCamps. One of the other unfortunates is that the check in office is closed on Sundays and access to the campground is controlled by a security gate system. That means you cannot just show up and get a site on that day. You will have to make a reservation. Verizon cell worked well including my hotspot. The daily cost of a campsite is higher than most FamCamp facilities, but that may be due to the close proximity to the Washington DC area. For that reason, and despite my positive rating, this would not be my first choice for FamCamps because there are several others in the surrounding DC area that are more competitive on their rates. Prices reflects an America the Beautiful discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
One of the best campgrounds we have ever stayed in, commercial or military, in over 45,000 miles of travels, . Very large spaces. Grounds extremely well maintained. Office staff very courteous and helpful. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
All concrete pads, very level sites. We stayed a week and it is very busy with folks coming and going all day long. Seemed to be a lot of on base personnel in the camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
I would give the park a 10 if there was cable and if the Wi-Fi reliably reached the sites. Otherwise, it's about perfect. Price reflects the discount given national park Golden Age passholders (wow!). Pull-through sites are concrete with huge concrete patios, nice picnic tables, firerings. Extremely level. Bathrooms are clean with separate individual shower rooms which also have toilets and sinks. If you can't get Wi-Fi at your site, there is a lounge with strong Wi-Fi. Laundry is cheap ($1.25) with good washers and excellent dryers. Lounge and laundry open 24 hours. No cable TV. There used to be, but no longer, however you can pull in quite a few channels over the air. Park is meticulously maintained, very quiet at night. (Well, except for reveille and taps, but what do you expect: you are on an Army base.) Water pressure and electricity are good. Some sites are shaded. Cabins for rent. Good places to walk your dog and there's a beautiful lake and excellent playground across the street. Not far from shopping. Helpful personnel at office. Altogether an excellent experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$23
The previous review says it all. I wanted to update the review with friendly staff and there's a lot of camping equipment you can buy or rent in the office. It's great for visiting DC or the area. We'll come again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$24
Only available to military and retirees. Well run park, clean, nice hard stands, lots of room and no crowding to your neighbors. Base has all facilities on post. Located near the back side of the post, so nice and quiet. Great rates for a metro area. Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay here again whenever in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com