220931 User submitted reviews online!!
Goodfellow AFB Recreation Area (Military Camping Only) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (325) 944-1012
CGID12178

Goodfellow AFB Recreation Area (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
33
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   10   9   8   9   8   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
Two sections to campground. An older loop right next to entrance, and a new area. Older area has trees, concrete pads, table. New area is a basic parking lot with utility pedestals. Arrived near sunset and got the last site in older section. Campground host very helpful. Some long term residents, but park was clean and quiet. Nice area to walk around. Do be aware that campground is near road, and water front area is a day use recreation area for a training AFB with lots of very young airmen, soldiers, sailors and marines out to party on the weekends. Will stay here again every time we are in the area is space is available. Much better rate for facilities than city owned or commercial CG nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Great park for the price. Best in San Angelo. WIFI worked great and is now throughout the whole park. We parked in space #10 upon arrival, but found it had little shade and was right next to a large busy parking lot. Asked if we could move to space #12, which was empty and was told "no problem". Managers very friendly and helpful. Spaces are large and well spaced, so you aren't on top of other campers. Women's bathroom was filthy, but they had a "Goodfellow Appreciation Day" yesterday for all personnel from the base, so that may have contributed to the filth. Was told by a "long time" camper they are adding six more spaces across the parking lot. IF this is the case, they really need to add more washes and dryers. There are only two each, making it difficult to get all laundry done. All in all a good experience. Will be back when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
Level concrete parking. Pull through spots are long and easy to park. By far one best military campgrounds we've stayed at . We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
I first stayed at this campground a year ago and it's excellent quality and service hasn't changed. By the looks of the other reviews and ratings since then, I'm not the only one with that opinion so I won't repeat all of the positive comments about the facilities and amenities. There is large pool, a concrete shortened basketball court, a tennis court, and a nice playground area with equipment for the kiddos. There is a pavilion with enough picnic tables to handle bigger groups. The marina area has water type recreational and fishing equipment that can be rented if you don't bring your own. Swimming is also allowed. As was mentioned, there are plenty of trees throughout the park, but in west Texas most are the live oak type that don't provide an abundance of shade for the rig. They are more for aesthetics and sitting under. I was told that the Wi-Fi system has been improved to cover the entire park. My site was in the front row closer to the office where the signal was good, so I didn't verify that. Because this campground is not on the military base, there is plenty of shopping and restaurants around the local area. One word of caution. If you have a big rig, it is best not to drive up to the office/check-in area. It's a dead end area and you probably can't get turned around. Unless you intend to occupy one of the back-in sites that are in that area, park somewhere near, but outside, that area and walk up. The price for a site went up $5 since my last visit, but it's still a a great value for such a nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Park is clean, well organized with concrete pads and patios. Each site with picnic table and most with shade trees. Would stay there again when in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Sites are spacious with concrete pads and connections that are conveniently located. Camp hosts are awesome. They are very helpful and friendly. The bathrooms/showers are clean and well maintained. All sites have some shade trees, but satellite connection not a problem. No problem with cellular reception. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
Nice campground with level, concrete pads. We stayed here six nights visiting family in the area. Bathroom has two showers which is fine for the winter crowds, but would have a hard time handling the volume of campers in the spring/summer. One annoying thing was the camp host had a family member staying with them, and this person would occupy the room adjacent to the washers/dryers most of the day. She would also have her dogs inside the area though dogs are not allowed inside the facilities. The campground was kept very clean and the Outdoor Rec personnel were extremely friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
Very nice Famcamp, all hookups in good repair. Very level concrete pads. Camp Host was clearly marked and very friendly/helpful, and pointed us to our site to set up and then come back and see him for paperwork. It was really easy to find,. Our GPS took us right to the front gate. Nice place on the lake. We stayed only overnight, and sure in summer with the lake and pool, this place would be a gem. Only downside, 20 bucks for a Famcamp was a little higher than we anticipated, but would rather pay that than KOA prices for less. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
This is a small, but nice military FamCamp. Access to it is easy for all size rigs. It is on an area lake off base which provides some rentals of boating and other water recreation equipment. The office, pool, and host staff were very cordial and helpful. Campsite roads are mostly gravel and there is a combination of gravel and paved back-in and pull through sites. I was running AC and most of my appliances at the same time without any voltage problems. The pool is a nice amenity especially if your site is right next to it. There is a laundry facility in a building that has enough space and tables to enjoy an air-conditioned meal, cards, or board games if one chooses to do so. There are a couple of negatives: which all experienced RVers would find a royal pain in the posterior. The first negative is that there are several trees branches lining the access road in the CG that need to be trimmed back. They will scrape your rig. Second, signage is absolutely TERRIBLE!! There are no signs directing you to a numbered camp site area. There are no signs directing you to the registration office. If you decide to blindly drive around looking for the office, you might find yourself in a place where there is no way to turn around. I could not get logged into the unsecured Wi-Fi system, despite having tried on several occasions with two different operating systems. My Verizon 3G hotspot worked well, which tells you that cell coverage is also good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$15
Another very nice Famcamp. Sites are very large with concrete pads for your rig. Our site's pad was a little off with the right side about 1" low left to right, and front to rear was spot on. Water pressure is high so use a regulator. The Famcamp has many activities available including boat rentals. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$10
Stayed here while the DW graduated from Fire School at Goodfellow AFB. Originally assigned to overflow for $10/night. We were told that another unit was due to leave and they would come and get us. If they moved us, they would not charge any more since we had to move. I think the overflow is better then the regular, if only they had sewer. You are parked right along the lakefront with electric and water. Others in overflow did not move when given the option. If the DW was not set on sewer, we would not have moved either. The shower houses were down for remodel so they had a port-a-john trailer on one site that we cleaned regularly, but no showers available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$15
This is a well-maintained, full-service campground and RV park on Lake Nasworthy, about 10 miles from Goodfellow AFB. Interior roads are gravel, but there are concrete pads on loops that provide easy access. Sites are large, with table and most have shade. Nearby is a marina with boat rental and swimming beach. Quiet this time of year, but can be noisy during the day in the summer months. Sporadic office hours, but an on-site host will check you in. Verizon cell and Aircard worked well. There's not much in the area, and this is a hidden jewel of a park, at an exceptional price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com