218149 User submitted reviews online!!
Malaquite Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (361) 949-8068
CGID12185

Malaquite Campground

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$4



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   9   9   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$4
This is in a Natl. Park and is dry camping for a max of 14 days the water and dump are very close to the camping area and are convenient. The spaces are very roomy and you have plenty of room for slides chairs and vehicles. They have nice picnic tables at all sites. The access to the beach is very easy to use even for the handicap. The park patrols the park regularly. We were entertained just watching the weekend campers. I would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$8.0
We spent 3 days here with our RV looking out over the ocean. Priceless. This campground is very different from commercial ones and even state parks. The island is a nature preserve so you are several miles away from the bustle of town. Even though there are no hookups, there is fresh water and a dump station very close, less than half mile. The campsites were 2/3 full but it was very quiet and no children. We found most of the campers were older couples like us just enjoying walking the beach and relaxing with a good book. Generators are allowed from 6 am until 10 pm for appliances and recharging batteries. We loved the park and the solitude for a different kind of camping experience. When you head back inland to Corpus Christi be sure to stop by the USS Lexington at port for a tour. One caution for those with dogs..be sure to check their paws and undercoat for the little burs that are almost invisible and everywhere in the grass and sharp as needles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$8
This park is a great way to experience San Padre Island. The park has no services except for restrooms and cold showers. The beach side sites have a gravel pad and parking area as well as a concrete picnic table. The land side are paved sites with only a picnic table. You are allowed to camp right on the beach further down the road for free if you wish. The park is occupied by Winter Texans from November to April and does not take reservations. It is worth a phone call to make sure a space is available prior to driving out and paying the $10 entrance fee (good for 7 days) to get in to the park. This is a great place for walks, bike rides, and surf fishing. We would certainly plan a longer stay if in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$8
Very nice park on Padre Island. We camped here for four days and had a great view of the Gulf. But beware if the wind comes up and your windows are open you will get allot of sand inside your RV. Once you are at the Park, you are about 18 miles from any stores or fuel supplies so plan accordingly. Your vehicles receive allot of sand and salt from the ocean so plan to wash off once you leave the Park area. There are several car washes on the way back to Corpus Christi. We would camp here again. Price is eight dollars a night for camping with a ten dollar entrance fee to the National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$8
Great national park on the Gulf of Mexico. Dump station and fresh water available. There is a nice clean bathhouse with cold water only. Boardwalk to the beach. Plenty of room for our big rig. This is a beautiful spot, off the grid. Have bug spray handy. Lots of thirsty mosquitoes. Highly recommend this beautiful national park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$8
There is a dump station and potable water on-site. RV Reviews has it listed in Corpus Christi, but it is a world away from the city/traffic/crowds of Corpus. Situated in the Padre Island National Seashore . . .miles and miles of near-empty beaches. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$8
This is a national park service site at Padre Island National Seashore. Sites are gravel back-ins, half facing the beach and half facing the dunes. All but 8 accommodate RVs. Most cell phones will not work unless you go through some contortions (standing on dunes, walking 1/2 mile to access road, etc.) The campground is located right on a section of beach reserved for use of campers only. Surf fisherman and snowbirds take many of the sites (there's a 14-day limit, which is enforced, but they often leave for 48 hours and then come back). No reservations. Showers are cold water only. It is usually breezy in the campground due to being only a few hundred feet from the ocean, so you should plan to wash the salt off your rig upon departing (car washes are plentiful just outside the National Seashore). No services within about 15 miles. This may all seem unwelcoming but it is a beautiful spot and a bargain at just $8 per night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com