221634 User submitted reviews online!!
Spider Rock Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (928) 674-8261
CGID122

Spider Rock Campground

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   1   7   3   6   9   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$10
Spider Rock is a pristine, isolated, glorious spot for DRY camping, 9.7 miles inside the Park entrance, on a good paved road. Potable water and dump site are available; primitive toilets are clean. Campground host is accommodating and helpful. A mellow guy. He also gave us a private jeep tour of the Canyon. This is a peaceful, perfect spot: one which we hated to leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$10
We found this campground to be a wonderful, "real world," Colorado-plateau, mesa-top experience. Unlike another local park (which, while a nice enough, shady, campground in a cottonwood grove, is NPS "plain vanilla,"with little separation from your neighbor), the campsites here are tucked among the pinion-pines and junipers found on top of the mesa. It is hard-soil dry-camping, bring your own drinkable water; the toilets are outhouse (but well-maintained), so we mostly used our own. The owner and his dog were extremely friendly and lead outings into the canyon, and the rates ($10/night for tent or pop-up) are good for a private campground. Big class A's and B's, and big trailers, might have some problem negotiating the campsite roads to the better sites, which wind among the trees, but for those of us with smaller trailers, no problem. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
The web page for this campground is deceptive. If you like camping in a landfill or in a debris field after a major earthquake: then you will love this place. I wasn’t sure if it was the abandoned trailers with broken windows or the plywood lean-to pit toilets that was the most disgusting. We called the listed phone number and left a message. Never received a return call. Drove the 9 miles from the park visitor center and attempted to make contact in the office which was surrounded by debris and trash. No one at the office or anywhere on site. Nothing is level and you can’t tell the muddy roads from the campsites. The Cottonwood campground is fine. Spider rock is not worth the drive from the visitor center. Put this on your do not camp list! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
Great place! Short on amenities, though they do have Wi-Fi, potable water and porta-poties. You can make reservations here, which is a plus. The owner is a wonderful guy. The resident dog, Boy, is also great, and a wonderful guide on the trail which starts in the park and leads to the canyon and some ruins. Nice fairly secluded spots and a great place to stay! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2010
$15
This campground is dry camping. The sites are not gravel just dirt. The campground is in a beautiful spot but the dilapidated outhouses spoil the view. There are low shrub trees but they are not tall enough for shade. I don't know if maneuvering big rigs is possible on the roads. Internet access was $3 a day for partial day use and connection was spotty. Campground was 10 miles out of town which was OK but the free campground was in town and had much better facilities and sites. We would not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
Remote, no power or water (at the time we stayed). However, the site was peaceful, with a nice trail leading off to the canyon and the aroma of sage and pinon in the air. The camp host, Howard, was very friendly, as were his two dogs and cat "Monday". We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
If you are adventurous and looking for a unique spot, this is it. The setting is classic southwest Pinyon-Juniper country. The sites are laid out in a thoughtful manner to enjoy the natural surroundings. Howard was cheerful on our arrival even though we had no reservation. The walking trail provided a really magical opportunity to see a part of the canyon not generally accessible, walk it in beauty!!! It's not "developed" but integrated into the beautiful locale. We awoke to a visit from a mountain bluebird; now that's happiness. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$10
This was a really neat, but very basic campground. It is in the heart of the Canyon de Chelly area, and has wonderful short trails that can be taken without a guide. There are hogans available, and if you want a more “authentic” stay, these are the cats meow. 4 of our party did so and felt this was the best campground that we stayed in all week. But, those of us in the RV used our own shower and bathroom as the “facilities” were extremely basic. There was water and dump available, but we waited until our next night out. The campground host is wonderful and very accommodating. If you realize going to this site, that it is basic, and very red dirt, you will LOVE it!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
I have to say we loved this place although it has absolutely no services whatsoever. The only bathrooms are outhouses and we did not check those out. They do have water available at the camp office, but none at the campsites. It really gives you the feeling of camping, in case you've forgotten after staying in all those paved RV parks! The ground here is the same red color as the rocks in Canyon de Chelly, and it is real dirt. The campground is set in the scrub on Canyon de Chelly's south rim and owned by a Navajo man we never saw. He has a resident camp host, a woman, who is quite a character, but checked us in efficiently and then came by later to see if we needed anything. We stayed here in October and we were told it would not be a problem running our generator as they did not have any tent campers then. I don't know what the policy would be during the summer. There are two friendly camp dogs, and a one mile hike you can take to the canyon's edge. My husband did the hike and said the scenery was spectacular. So, if you're in for a little bit of roughing it, this may be the spot for you. We loved the feeling of truly being out in the middle of nowhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$15
If you want to see Canyon de Chelly, stay at the free NPS campground. If you want to experience Canyon de Chelly, stay at Spider Rock. It is an experience. The silence is amazing. Bring your generator. Fill your fresh water supply. Then prepare yourself for an adventure. When you first pull in the campground looks deserted and junky. The roads are rutted. But, you need to look past that. It is an amazing and magical place to stay. Make sure to hike on the walking trail. The closer you get to the canyon, the more silent the world becomes. Howard is super nice and an incredible host. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2007
$15
We're the ones the previous poster referred to that got stuck. Actually, we have a '39 5th wheel and a F350 Ford dually. The dually could get through the mud but no traction to pull anything. Not a place for big rigs and would not come here again with the '39 footer. But: very nice for smaller rigs as long is weather good. Rain makes a goo stew. Manager is a nice guy and the area is gorgeous. Have fun. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$15
This is an interesting place to stay at, much more secluded than the free campground located off the mesa. You are surrounded by pinion trees and other scrub plants, and all the sites are dirt and generally not level. Howard has a rim hike on the property that's absolutely awesome. You can be completely alone and reflect on how the native people lived here. Howard's two dogs kept me company on my hike, keeping me entertained by scaring the heck out of some wandering sheep. If it happens to rain while you are here, have fun getting out if you don't have 4 wheel drive. The dirt here turns to grease when wet making it tough getting out without a trailer, probably impossible with one. One party here with me had to stay an extra day because they got stuck trying to get their 30' 5th out, and they had a 4x4 Dodge dually. Once it dries it's fine, but forget coming here during the wet months in an RV. There is a dump station here and some non-potable water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$15
This is a very special place. It's actually within the Navajo Reservation and very close to Wild Cherry Canyon which leads into Canyon de Chelly. There are no facilities, and very few campsites are suitable for big rigs, but they are wonderful. The place has a wonderful, remote feeling to it. There is a trail that leads along the edge (yes, edge) of the canyon that is wonderful to hike. Warning, the entrance drive is rutted and will require some planning to get through. In fact, I walked the entire route to the campsite to make sure it was doable. No problem if you take it slow. The owner is wonderful and keeps working to improve things. RVs should arrive with full gas tanks for 7:00 am to 9:00 pm generator use if you desire it, full water, and empty holding tanks. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com