214832 User submitted reviews online!!
Chemin-A-Haut State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (318) 283-0812
CGID1220

Chemin-A-Haut State Park

Camp Information
Sites
26
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   9   10   6   7   7   3   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2013
$15
Last time we stayed here in 2011 we gave the park an 8 but it has declined considerably. Rest room/showers were filthy, sites needed to be picked up after, and asphalt sites needed to be re-leveled. Noted that there was no camp host and did not look like there had been one for awhile. This is a beautiful setting and hopefully will be cleaned up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$8
Rate reflects America the Beautiful Senior Pass for Louisiana resident. Beautiful state park, clean, well maintained. Friendly staff. Campsites were mostly level; quiet park. There are planned activities. Fishing areas, boat launch and group areas. Landry facilities were clean and operational, $0.75 wash/$0.75 dry, quite reasonable to us. Bathrooms were clean. They have a separate area for people camping with horses. Several walking and horse trails. Camp hosts and staff were friendly and helpful about the park. Only deterrent for us was a guest who allowed his dog to run without a leash; we had to chase dog out of our campsite. Would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$23
After Sunday, the other campers left, and we had the whole place to ourselves. Great wooded campsites with firepits and grills and within a few steps from laundry (only $.75 to wash and dry!) and bathrooms and showers. Security drives through all night, and the front gate is locked, but you have the code to come and go as you please. Would gladly stay again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$16
The good things. We were here in Dec and outside of the host there's only been 1 or 2 other campers here. The roads are paved as are the sites with plenty of space between sites. The showers have good pressure and plenty of hot water. No road noise no trains noise is not a problem here. The park is pretty with a swimming pool a lake for boating on and lots of hiking trails with playgrounds for the kids. They also have free Wi-Fi in addition Verizon wifi works fine here too. Now the other side of the coin. The bathroom/shower was in need of a cleaning and this time of year they only do it once a week? I look like it had been much longer. We were on the winter rate which was $16/night but what they don't tell you about is they have a $6 transaction fee that everyone pays when you first come here. They don't charge you if you stay extra nights so figure that into your calculations. They have senior discounts but that only applies if you are from Louisiana, Maryland, or Delaware and have the federal old age pass. All in all a very nice park except for the cleaning and extra $6 they hit you with. I suspect you will find the $6 fee at all Louisiana state parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$26
Pretty, shaded, quiet park. All backins, but good inner roads and all sites paved with campfire rings and picnic tables on cement. They have dropped their SR discounts but the new WiFi is great. Restrooms very clean and roomy showers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$16
If you like seclusion this is the place. We could not even SEE the RV next to us as the trees and brush is that dense, great. Each site has a fire pit and picnic bench. Showers are a short walk away and we saw a sign for washer and dryers. Would definitely return. We were there the Monday night after July 4, and there were only a few RV's here. Park has a large swimming pool and good looking rental cabins: would be a fine place for a family reunion. Trees are so dense it's difficult to get XM radio! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$9
One night was enough with all the dogs running free and barking all night long. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$8
Very shaded. Easy to hook up and set up. We stayed in Site 14 and it was very secluded, which we like. Hurricane Ike came through the state a couple of weeks ago, so the mosquitoes were thick, hungry and feeding. Probably any other time, there would not be this problem. We didn't check out the restrooms because it was too dangerous to go outside. We were here only overnight. Only 10 miles out of Bastrop and we saw several restaurants that looked interesting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$14
Typical State Park. Good sites with shade. Friendly Staff. Lodge also availiable for large group activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com