223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Picacho / Tucson NW KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (520) 466-2966
CGID12208

Picacho / Tucson NW KOA

Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   7   9   9   7   5   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
We had a nice shady spot. Lots of trees. Friendly Staff. Level sites. Price was with KOA Card discount We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$33
Rate includes KOA discount. Some shaded sites, interesting cactus plantings, restaurant on site. There's a horse pasture on one side and cattle grazing on another side which means that there are some flies. Very close to the freeway with constant noise and a train somewhere nearby. Very dog friendly and good OTA television reception, but is not open during the summer. Might stay here again if I needed the shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$36
Spacious sites with fire pits and picnic tables. We had a nice pull through. Nice fenced dog run. Nothing is paved and it can be dusty. Some of the sites are shaded although ours was not. Noise from the adjacent Interstate and train tracks but we didn't find it obtrusive. Utilities are good. We had a problem with a weak breaker when we arrived but it was fixed within 15 minutes after we reported it. There is a restaurant/steak house on site with excellent steak! The night we were there an Elvis impersonator put on a 2 hour outdoor dinner show and we had a ball along with a great dinner. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$37
We stayed here on a Friday in mid-October. All sites are pull-through with some 50 AMP, some 30 AMP: some FHU, some W&E; and some tent sites. We had a FHU, 30 AMP pull-through. Our site was satellite friendly but not all are. I agree with two reviewers from earlier this years who raved about the landscaping at this park. I also agree that this is a good option for those who don't want to overnight in the typical park in this area that has hundreds of sites. There is a small pool and playground. I think the dog camp is bigger than the playground. My biggest problem was the lack of Wi-Fi at the RV sites. There was a small (6'W by 3'D), half shelter behind the office labeled as a Wi-Fi "Hot Spot". It had just 2 shelves for computers and 2 chairs. This is a fairly small park and it would only take one or two antennas/routers to cover the entire park. I thought the nightly cost was high for a park without cable and poor Wi-Fi service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$36
What a nice change from the huge RV parks that cover most of Tuscon. This is a small park with mature cactus and succulent plants, and space between sites. The managers were very friendly and accommodating. There is a good restaurant on-site also. We will seek out this park every time we go through Tucson. Note: not open during the hot season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
Long wide sites, gravel but level. Beautiful cactus and large trees at most sites. Pool is clean, restrooms are spotless and the entire campground is well cared for. This park has come a long way from its pre KOA days, and the owners/managers and workampers should be commended. The restaurant is excellent, steaks cooked over a large wood pit outdoors. We look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$33
I stayed here for 1 day. Campground elevation is 1,585 feet. Maneuvering my 40 footer towing a dinghy in the park was no problem. Roads, sites and patio are gravel. Pull through sites hold a 40 foot motorhome towing. My site 54 offered 30/50 amp service & full hookups. WI-FI is available at N/C but only near the office. It was too weak to be usable at my site. Cable was not available. I was able to receive AT&T Wireless 3G Internet and AT&T Cellular service. I received Dish Network 110/119 Satellite TV from dish on roof of motorhome. Campground is pet friendly. Walmart is 19 miles away and a grocery is 5 miles away. I am unable to comment on other amenities due to not using them. This is a nice KOA with wide roads and sites. It is well maintained and clean. Takeaways are the traffic noise from I-10 and the horses right next door. I guess they hold rodeos there sometimes and there were many horse trailers and horses there during my stay. At times the smell was “heavy”. It is a shame that a campground cannot pick its neighbors because this is a really nice KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
This park is only open from Sept to May. The restaurant others have mentioned doesn't open until December. There is nothing else nearby. The staff was very friendly and helped us find a site that would allow us to not have to unhook. The park is all dirt, but the staff has tried to spend time pruning and watering the landscape. All-in-all it was an "OK" place for a overnight stop during the hot end of summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$15
A wonderful surprise RV park. Huge sites, big shade trees, well groomed gravel sites, landscaping, excellent pool, and clean shower facilities. We just overnight, but it is nice enough for extended stays. They close May-Sept. Used PA rate. Some Hwy noise. Very charming place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$15
Great park for an overnight stop. Well maintained and nicely landscaped. Friendly staff. Long dirt pull throughs enabled us to stay hitched. Awesome steak house restaurant on site, with very reasonable prices. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$28
This park was our favorite on our trip through Arizona and California. The staff was exceedingly friendly and accommodating. The facility's were very clean and the park has a warm country, down home atmosphere. There is an on site restaurant called Frankie's Chuckwagon with great home style cooking. The park is centrally located between Phoenix and Tucson. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$14
Great park! We found them through Passport America and are we glad we did! Office staff was very friendly and told us the former owners are now back running the campground. RV sites have space between each other. Most are long pull through sites. The modern bathrooms are very well maintained. We had a delicious dinner at the on-premises Frankie's Chuckwagon restaurant (all you can eat spaghetti was the nightly special). Close to I-10 so there is a little road noise, which is the only reason I gave this campground a 9 rather than a 10. Price reflects 50% Passport America discount. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com