221563 User submitted reviews online!!
Farr Park Campground & Horse Activity Center was rated 8 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (225) 769-7805
CGID1221

Farr Park Campground & Horse Activity Center

Camp Information
Sites
108
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   9   8   7   8   9   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$20
Very friendly staff in the office. You pick your spot and then go to office to pay. We found a fairly level spot. They have 30 amp power, water and a sewer dump is available near the front of park. Bare bones campground, but the washroom and shower area were very clean, although women’s toilet area had no functioning lights. Very quiet and dark at night. Nice pasture views around. No internet or cable available. Perfect location for sightseeing around Baton Rouge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
Caution, if you use a GPS to find this it may take you the wrong direction. This was a great find. It is a bit rustic, being just a field with pull-throughs that were a bit muddy, but there were only 3 other campers there. The office people may not be there full time but they are very laid back about when you check in. There is a long bike trail along the Mississippi River levy just outside the park. One downside is that people hunt in the woods close to the park which was stressful for our dog. Bathrooms were adequate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$20
Strictly bare bones as far as facilities, but we love this park. The location is wonderful when visiting Baton Rouge; it is very close to town, but feels like you are out in the country. The sites are grassy and close together, but the park has never been crowded when we have been there so the campers usually spread out through the park so it doesn't feel cramped. The bathrooms are immaculate and the price is right-on! Also, watching the horses in the adjacent pasture is entertaining! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$20
A gem in the rough with large pull-thru sites. Only 30-amp service. Although there are no sewer hook-ups, there is a large dump station. Setting extremely bucolic amid a large horse farm. Convenient to downtown Baton Rouge. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
What you see is what you get. It is easy to get in and out of the park. Park is able to handle any size units. Our GPS gave poor direction to the park. Use Downtown exits from interstate and pass by LSU. I would have rated this park higher except for poor lighting in the bathhouses and park is overrun by fire ants. We would stay again if we are ever in the Baton Rouge again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
This park is very nice. Although they do not have on site sewer there is a large dump station. The sites are very spacious and all pull through. There are no activities in the park other than watching the horses that are in the paddocks but it is conveniently located for sightseeing. The park was extremely quiet the two days that we were there. I highly recommend this park especially as a one or two night stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
This park must be a hidden gem except to locals. The setting is serene with horse pastures and live oak trees. They don't take reservations and you probably don't want to be here during a home LSU game-unless you are going to the game. All sites are grass and slightly uneven. You can walk to the East bank of the Mississippi. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
We really enjoyed this park. Nice wide sites - good electricity - good water without stinky after smell. No sewer hookup, of course, but just fine for a few nights stay. Quiet too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
Can confirm the last review: this is a nice and clean park. Not too much to do here if you're not into horses, but definitely OK for an overnight stay or when you just want to relax. Would probably choose this park again. No Wi-Fi here, so bring your own internet. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$20
Nice clean park, bare facilities, but adequate for overnight. Friendly staff. Easy access. Nicely kept park with hiking trail and picnic area. Rec hall was closed for winter months. Park was about half full. Only a few miles to a Casino if that is your thing. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Park is first come first serve, no reservations. Getting a spot should not be a problem if there is no horse event going on. People are nice and helpful. When we arrived the entire campground electric showed an open neutral line. I notified them and it was fixed by the evening. Check before plugging in. There is no sewer or Wi-Fi. Good water pressure and the electric was good after the open neutral was fixed. Short ride to LSU or Baton Rouge downtown. Spots are all on grass with very few trees. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$20
A horse lover's place. Quiet and a bit secluded but probably really "hops" when there's an equestrian event. We were one of three rigs in the main part of the RV park. Few shaded sites and picnic tables. Grassy sites with gravel drives. Finding park: 6400 River Road gets you to the private entrance road which turns east off of River Road. Mississippi River nearby as is Hansen's Disease Museum about 20 mi to the south in Carville. No sewer hookup but there's a dump station. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
Positive: safe, beautiful park. Lots of room with paddocks of horses. Office manager is very friendly. It had rained very hard all day and the park was still manageable. Park doesn't have hook up sewers but has a dump station. Negative: laundry room is not available anymore. Washrooms need some serious updating. Was clean under these circumstances. We would come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$16
I stayed here because of the rave reviews given by others. I'm still trying to figure out where they stayed. This was essentially a pasture with water and power. God help you if you miss the turn - there is no easy way to turn around - we had to go 5 miles before we found a spot large enough to back into to turn back around. There is an apartment or condo complex nearby with a very loud generator that ran all night long. The campground is located a looooong way from the interstate - no easy way to get there if traveling westbound - and the railroad tracks were every bit as steep as previously reported. The price was only $16 but for the inconvenience of this location it should have been free. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$16
Very quiet park, nice setting (around county horse barns & arena). We would stay there again. It's a great place to overnight or if you have something else to do in Baton Rouge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$16
Very enjoyable park, loved looking across at the horses in the green pasture. One more note on directions, however. When you take the Nicholson Dr exit off of I-10 East (aka Hwy 30, exit 155A) be sure to veer to the right at the fork just as soon as you exit I-10 and not to the left or you will end up on Highland Dr and be in a real predicament to get back to Nicholson Dr. Take the right fork, you will not have enough time to read the sign that is partially covered by trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$15
Great campsite for close in parking to LSU and Baton Rouge. Grass pull throughs, gravel roads. Fairly roomy, no problem with slides etc. Access note: when getting off of I-10 (exit 155A) on Hwy 30 head south, then turn right on Stadium Drive (right past the stadium, can't miss it) then left at the "T", which is River Road, till you get to the park. All the other roads leading to River Road have a very high RR crossing that you will not be able to get over with a large vehicle. Don't follow your GPS! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$16
For the price (which increased in January) this park is well worth the money. Gravel and grass sites. No frills, no playground, just a good place to stay in Baton Rouge. Most sites have good satellite access. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$18
Grass parking. Good for over night or a few days to see the local sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$12
We give this park a 9, keeping in mind there are no amenities. It can get very swampy when it rains, especially the East end site of Row 2. There are a lot of fire ants around so just be aware. The views of the equestrian center were beautiful (okay, not the center itself, but the horses were). We pulled our 42' trailer over the railroad tracks and made use of the roller mounted under the bike rack, but other than that made it okay. If you're coming from the North, we don't recommend taking Mckinley to get to River Road, it's not a good area of town to go through (IMO). Continue down I-10 to College which will take you over the railroad tracks but it's a better drive. The check in for the RV Park is in the Equestrian center office and can be a walk. You might want to pull in there first then go get a site. They don't assign sites, just pay and go. There is a dual dump station and rest rooms with showers but the laundry is locked up. The park is very quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$12
Great little rv park located right on the grounds of a huge equestrian center. No real amenities however the park is clean, safe and close to downtown Baton Rouge and LSU. As another reviewer mentioned, it can be crowded during LSU events. We had no issues as we arrived midweek and only stayed for 2 nights. The park is listed in both Woodall's and Trailer Life. DO NOT follow the directions given in these guidebooks as they suggest passing over railroad tracks impossible for rigs over 20 feet. We will stay here again in our Motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$15
This is a wonderfully located jewel to use as a base for exploring the greater Baton Rouge area. It is very quiet. We rode our bikes and walked on the nearby levee. They no longer have laundry facilities. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$12
We have stayed here twice before and loved it! No, it's not wooded, no it doesn't have the "amenities" that Parks have, but it's so peaceful and spacious. We prefer the overflow section because we can watch the horses being exercised and groomed, and have tons of place to BBQ or turn our RV's opposite each other to face our awnings together. Our kids live nearby so it's an inexpensive place to stop and visit with them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$12
Sites are decent size. There are 4 hookups (water and 30A electric) for each site as the park fills up for LSU football games and they can park up to 4 RVs on each site. The office was not well marked and it took some searching to find it to pay. The don't take credit cards, it's cash or check only. We would camp here again but would check the LSU football schedule if it's in the Fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2006
$12
Good inexpensive overnight in a quiet setting. There were no events during our overnight. Wide grassy sites with elec/water hookups. Laundry room was poorly cleaned and the lights in the bathroom so dim it didn't look very nice either. Use the campsite but not the bathhouse. Riverside drive is a narrow two lane but well paved. Signage when you enter the park can be very confusing. It seems to say the office is closed and to check-in at the Activity Bld. The office is the house with the handicapped ramps as you approach the entrance. Easy check-in. Excellent paved hiker/bike trail running along the berm between Riverside Dr. and the Mississippi River. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$12
Not mentioned in previous posts are that campers are permitted to attend horse functions in the barn. Also, this park is separated from the Mississippi river by a levee which has a bike/hike trail on top. Very nice trail, partially paved, where one can walk or bike to downtown and view the river. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$12
Great RV park. Quiet and inexpensive. More than one fly - keep your screens closed...this park is adjacent to the horse training facility and barn. Recent change in rules "NO TENTS". A little hard to find. Access street not on Delorme Street Atlas, but is on Microsoft Street and Trips. GPS coordinates of access street is: N30° 23.316' W91° 12.684'. Gravel roads, grass parking area. Electric + Water only. Nice sewer dump adjacent to RV area. 14 day limit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2005
$12
Very nice, clean, quiet park just south of Louisiana State University. Location is great. Sites are very large & will accommodate any number of slides. Sites are pull throughs, but not long enough to keep tow vehicle hooked up. Plenty of room to park tow vehicle at site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$12
A no-frills park, close to a big city for only $12. Park is big rig friendly. Roads are gravel & sites are grass and wide enough for any number of slides. We have stayed at park numerous times & find it always clean, quiet & friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$12
This is a nice basic park adjacent to a Horse Activity Center. Can be full if an event is going on - otherwise it usually does not have many spaces filled. Gravel roads in CG and grass sites. It is about 2-3 miles from I-10 W, near Louisiana State University. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$12
Very clean park. Host was very friendly. Had been raining and some standing water. Close to Mississippi River but no view. Roads are gravel & sites are grass. Had clean restrooms & laundry. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$12
Nice quiet no frills campground. Has one of the best dump stations I have seen. Very little shade but I would go back. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com