220367 User submitted reviews online!!
Pelican Nest RV Resort and Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (251) 861-2338
CGID12229

Pelican Nest RV Resort and Campground

Camp Information
Sites
12
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   10   4   8   2   10   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2014
$46
Don't let the pictures fool you. This "RV Park" has 12 sites crammed into less than 1 acre. Space between sites may not allow awnings. The hosts are friendly and the beach across the street is wonderful. But, in all honesty, this place should be your choice only if you have no other options. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
Very small mom pop park. Level and utilities including Wifi were okay. Beach is across the two lane city street (about 1,000' to water). Would stay here again. There is a restaurant next door that had live music on Friday night that was a little too loud. Depends what you like. Nice laid back small parking lot campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
This is a different kind of camping experience, but one we prefer. The small campground is quiet and clean with no bells and whistles, but everything we needed. The older couple that owns the place are native to the island and have lots of interesting stories to share about its history and the affects of hurricanes, one being a positive as the beach is growing tremendously. The two bathroom/shower combinations were very clean. The laundry area is convenient. Level concrete pads. We were at the first site near the road which was easy to get into and convenient. Wi-Fi was good. Cable TV. Full hookups. All this was good. However, the big attraction is the beauty of the island and beach just across a street with little traffic. We loved the beach, almost like having a private island. Our 3 small dogs had a blast running and romping with only a few people at a distance. We stopped in for a night, but hung out longer. I can't figure the previous bad review. It is not a resort area, rather a place to relax away from the hustle bustle. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$42
The pictures on the website are a bit deceiving. This park is a parking lot with RV hook-ups. The spots are tight. If you had your awning out, it possibly could touch the RV next to you. On the positive side; the managers were very nice and helpful. You can walk across the street to the beach; however, you do pay a fee. My suggestions for people visiting the island would be to try to get into the other campground first; however, this one does the job if you want to spend all your time on the beach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$33
Not sure where that last review came from, but our arrival at this park was met by the owner coming outside to greet us, then actually stopping traffic on the road so we could pull out to access our site! This is a small campground with a nice pool and clean laundry room. The bathrooms are individual rooms with clean showers in each. It's just a short walk across the street to the pier and beach for excellent photo ops. We will be here for a week this time, but will definitely be back for a longer stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
When we arrived we were met by the male owner who was very rude to my wife by not even saying hi to her. When we got to the site I could not use all slides or the outside kitchen. The owner told me I would have to deal with it. We decided to leave and go to another RV park. Don't stay here. I even got charged for the night that we never stayed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$36
Great place to stay, we were here for a month. The owners are wonderful people and are at the park almost daily. Park is quiet, neat, well kept, and quiet. We will stay there again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
This a very friendly small mom and pop park. Great place to lay up and rest, its very quiet most of the time some kids on the weekends. Wi-Fi is strong, bathrooms are very nice,large concrete patio, nice pool. Paved bike path runs the length of the island. Very comfortable 2wk stay. We and will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Very nice park, friendly and helpful staff. Beach access within walking distance. Easy to get in/out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$32
Extremely friendly staff and campers. Tight sites with not much room, but they help you get in. Just across from public beach. Great Wi-Fi and cable. Concrete patio. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
This is a tiny, friendly park offering level, unshaded, grass sites and good utilities (including cable and great Wi-Fi). The area has AT&T phone and data service. Sites are very close together but several are pull throughs with access from the street behind the park. A bike path that runs the length of Dauphin Island is located across the street, as is public beach access. There is some minor traffic noise even in the off-season. The price is based on the weekly rate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
Right across the street from a beautiful white sand public beach, very nice swimming pool on the property. The park is very small, looks like it used to be a small restaurant that was converted to an RV park. Our spot was a concrete slab that was perfectly label, the utilities worked fine. We were here after the season, there was no traffic noise and no crowds! The showers are in a private restroom with toilet, there are only two and are uni-sex. Shower was 100% the best I've seen in an RV park. I suspect if it had been during the season with only two it could have been a wait. This is a great and place and I'd love to stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$37
The owners and other campers were friendly and helpful. The sites are tight and some were not level. Enjoyed the beach located across the street. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$40
Pelican's Nest is a work in progress. The owners are some of the nicest and most helpful folks I have ever met. This is a very small campground. We have a 39' 5th wheel and getting into the site was difficult. You have to enter through a back gate at each site and pull in for the pull-through sites. They are working on improving the campground since reopening after Katrina. The park is directly across the street from the public beach so it is very convenient. It is located on the main street that runs the length of the island. The owners had an ice cream social on the deck while we were there. The big downfall is the closeness of the sites. They have cement pads with picnic tables. The sites themselves are gravel but very level. FYI, bring whatever provisions you need because the price of food at the only grocery store on the island is astronomical! Fort Gaines is a must see and you can catch the ferry to Gulf Shores. Great birding also at the Audubon Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$24
This is a new small park right on Bienville Blvd. across from the public beach on Dauphin Island. There were very few other campers while we were there. When there are, the camping spots will be tight. There is a nice picnic table and concrete patio, and the owners are adding cable TV now. Owners were super friendly and nice. Of course, you are right across the road from the beach and it was beautiful. We were right next to the road and the road noise was noticeable during the day but never bothered us while sleeping. We had a great time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com