214592 User submitted reviews online!!
Periwinkle Park & Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (239) 472-1433
CGID12236

Periwinkle Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   8   8   9   10   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Nice friendly staff. Roads are a little dusty. Very quiet. Staff told us they had a nice duck pond. To our surprise it was much, much more then a duck pond. Lemurs and squirrel monkey's? REALLY, just great. Clean and quiet. Short bike ride to beach. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$50
I spent 2 weeks here starting 6pm Christmas Eve. While setting up, Santa showed up in the bucket of a front loader visiting all the loops ended by hot apple cider in the center common area. How cool was that! I have friends that spend every winter here and was glad to finally join them for 2 weeks. Got a glimpse of life with the regulars; they were a nice group of folks called the 49ers. It's nice that the RVs are by RVs, not just filling spots that don't have park models in them. We had bikes and were glad because the beach is a longish walk. We did walk there New Years Eve, and several folks had bonfires on the beach and could see lots of fireworks over on mainland. The wireless was not very good at all. I ended up riding my bike with my laptop to the library (about 2 miles); they had excellent free network there. Don't miss the Sunday Farmers Market by the library! The campground was a quiet place but we were not by the birds, that might be noisier. The spots were sufficient size, did not feel like I was sandwiched between my neighbors. Nice new cement pads. The showers/restrooms were dated but very clean. The campground staff was always pleasant and helpful. Awesome chicken wings place right across the road; if you like hot, try Dead Parrot Wings! Little private grocery and liquor store right outside the gate was convenient. Took many long bike rides while here. Saw several alligators along certain of the trails (no real danger, was cool to see them). For the hearty, take the 32 mile ride to other end of the island but, expect the wind in your face on the way back. My reservation was absolutely correct upon my arrival. I absolutely loved the fact that Fido is not allowed in this park. I am weary of little Fido in the spots around me, I don't want to be Fido's friend and I don't want to listen to Fido "talking". I feel bad for Fido's owner, maybe just have a separate loop for Fido's RV. I can't wait to get back here again. Maybe stay even longer next time? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
WE LOVE THIS CAMPGROUND. This was our second visit and it was even better than the first. It has a great location, great staff and great features. The big-rig sites are large and well maintained. The menagerie really makes this a special place for our kids. Where else can you enjoy dozens of tropical birds, water fowl and lemurs a few yards from your camper at $35 a night? Sanibel/Captiva are great, as well. Their participation in "Tents for Troops" only added to the attraction of this campground. We will continue to come here whenever possible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Location says it all. RV sites are separate from the permanents, and they do have a few pull throughs. All the roads & RV sites are crushed shell, so plan on tracking a lot into your RV. There is some grass around the sites. Very little road noise even though the pull throughs are fairly close to the road. Electric was very steady. Water pressure did fluctuate at times but adequate. Wi-Fi was working very well until a couple of other RV's showed up with quite a few kids, and then the Wi-Fi pretty much died. Agree with the others that getting to the beach is quite a walk especially when the heat index is above 100. To go to other beaches in the area can be quite a drive plus $2.00 an hour to park. When coming onto Sanibel Island, it will cost $3.00 per axle. And if you leave the island and come back you will have to pay again. Over all, we had a good experience here and would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This is a nice RV park in a great location (also the only one on the island). If it was closer to the Gulf, it would be even better. It is a 1/2 mile walk which can be long if you are lugging beach gear, but a quick bike ride. The campground has a lot of trees and tropical vegetation. Some sites are partially shaded, others in full sun. The area we were in was grassy and some hard packed shell-gravel. There may be pads in the other areas. There are a lot of permanent sites - mostly seasonal residents. Not very full in summer season so we weren't crowded by other campers. If it was full, some sites are fairly closed to each other. June - Nov 2013 off season rate is $35/night - $50 in season. Full hook ups. No dogs allowed. There is a tent area. Sites are very large and private, but no one was camping in that area while we were there. They have 2 duck ponds with swans and rare ducks. Also tropical birds & lemurs in cages. Lots of benches so you can sit an watch the birds. A nice place to relax. Restrooms (3 toilets, 3 showers) in ladies were clean, but people do track sand in. Bathhouse has ceiling fan, but as others have said, it does get hot. There is a laundry area, mail center with regular mailbox, fish cleaning area, etc. Great launching point for bicycling along Periwinkle. There are bike paths, water fountains, shady rest areas. So bring or rent bikes. We had dinner at the Lazy Flamingo which is in walking distance. The mesquite grilled grouper was excellent. There is a Dairy Queen next door, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$50
Great Place. No pull through sites, but no problem with back in's. Roads are wide enough so that we did not have to unhook tow till we got to the site. Quiet park as there are no dogs allowed. You really don't know how noisy some parks with barking dogs are until you stay in one without them. WiFi worked well. Easy to get to as it is close to the end of the causeway. They do not accept credit cards. Only hassle is there is one main road on the island and making left hand turns out of the park sometimes takes time. But, this is manageable. The sites are sand/grass. It looks like they are starting to put in concrete pads for tables and chairs and have about half the sites completed. The RV part of the park is away from the permanent park models so you don't have the early morning traffic with people going to work. Will certainly be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$53
Great location. Excellent maintenance. Roomy sites, some with patios. Exceptionally clean. Don't miss the bird show of parrots and cockatoos. Staff is friendly and helpful. Loved it enough to stay an extra day. Booked our same week next year. No pets allowed is something we deal with. Easy to get to the beach on a bike. The most bike friendly town we have ever visited. Bike rentals will pick up and deliver if you want. Great campground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$50
Stayed many times at park. People are very nice. Sanibel is very relaxing. Only RV park on the island. Close to beach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$50
We had reservations and got a site right next to the duck pond. Swans, geese, and ducks plus an ahinga stopped by. The park is beautiful, with various species of trees and flowering shrubs. They have propane available. Not far from a public beach and within a short driving distance to premier shell hunting. We loved it here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
We stayed here for 6 nights. This is the best kept secret and the only campground on the island. The Staff is SO helpful and friendly and the campground is outstanding. Sites are large and level with all the charm of Florida you would expect, and are full hook ups. The location is right on the main road, through the Island and a short bike ride. (Bikes can be rented in a few places, as well as scooters). Sanibel itself is charming and a throw back to old Florida. If your looking for chain stores or fast food restaurants, look in nearby Fort Myers as they do not exist on Sanibel or Captive. All are local owned, wonderful places to dine on the local seafood as well as other cuisines. There are NO stop lights and only 3 or 4 stop signs. The Island is very pedestrian and bike friendly. Perwinkle Park is just a short quarter mile to the beaches, which offer warm water and world class shelling: which is a sport in Sanibel. If you want a stay in paradise and leave your worries behind, then Periwinkle park is for the place for you. One bit of advice is go to the shops at Jerry's Market and buy a bottle of a product called "NO SEE UM." (It is a all natural, insect repellent made locally that all but eliminates biting flies and no see ums that bother some at dusk and dawn on the beach. It works on mosquitoes too, but they are not a problem on Sanibel.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$50
We stayed in this park in 1987 when our old motorhome was new. Then in a condo while our kids were school aged. Now with a new rig we tried the campground and found it to be just to our liking. Lots of long-term residents, all very friendly. Easy beach access about 2 minutes by bike. Helpful very responsive staff. I mentioned that our sewer hookup was a few inches below the surrounding soil and that the connection threads were clogged with soil and within an hour the staff installed an extender and politely knocked on our door to notify me that they had fixed the connection. The park is located close to several nice restaurants and everything else on the island is an easy, level bike ride away. Paved bike paths go everywhere on Sanibel. My only problem is that the park prioritizes its long-term regulars (as I would if I owned the place) so getting a site for one week is hit or miss. But we loved the park and will try for another week or two next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
This is a manufactured home community with a very nice campground section off by itself and transient campers are made very welcome. The roads, of crushed shells, are wide with adequate room to maneuver and we had no difficulty negotiating the road to our site. There are no pull-through sites here, but we had plenty of room to back into our spacious, level site. Our site backed up to a canal inhabited by native birds and we were surrounded by tropical foliage. There are two ponds with ducks and swans in the park as well as a variety of lovely species of tropical birds in cages to admire. Don't miss the nearby beach! Although you can walk there we suggest bringing your bikes (or you can rent one) to ride the half-mile to enjoy collecting shells and wading on the beach. There are also bike trails throughout the island and most of the locals seems to make use of them rather than go by car. We stayed in this beautiful tropical paradise only 5 days and look forward to returning in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
Family was very pleased with Periwinkle. Sites were clean and quiet. Speaking of cleanliness, I was very impressed with the bathrooms. One nice feature of the site was the Bird Sanctuary and Monkey display which was a very short walk away. Access to the beach was a short bike ride away, but well worth it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This is the only RV park on the island of Sanibel/Captiva. Very friendly staff and if you arrive after 8 the sign directs you to hook up at any of 3 sites opposite the office entrance. Nice that the sewer is at-site not a public one. You can park your RV and walk to dinner, convenience store, coffee/breakfast through a gate. We own a Roadtrek so preferred to explore the island in it. Sanibel and Captiva are not RV friendly, many public beaches specifically prohibit RV's although Lighthouse Beach is RV friendly. Negatives: the bathrooms. Toilet stalls have no latches! Pressure fitted only. Who needs that kind of worry? Floors have new tile but the sinks and tops look about 30 years old. Clean but very very worn out. If you are a nature lover Ding Darling National Wildlife Reserve is heaven. We went 3 times in 2 days. Try and go at low tide when wading birds feed closer to shore. Mile Marker 2 at the Observation Tower is a great spot to see roseate spoonbills. Cost $5 all day, come and go as may times as you like. RV friendly. There is one great spot to park your RV at the waters edge, that is the Causeway, the road into Sanibel (after paying toll). Free to park, picnic tables, grills, shade trees, beach with child friendly waves. We had a great early bird dinner at Traders, 2 for 1 drinks and low cost small plate entrees 3-6 pm. Also had a great lunch at Lazy Flamingos, fantastic mesquite ribs and grouper sandwich. Easy parking for both. Will we return to Sanibel? Probably not. There are beaches just as pretty all over SW Florida with less hassle. Traffic off-season in June was heavy, can't imagine how horrible it must be in high season winter. Again, Ding Darling NWR is must see for nature lovers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$50
The site was grass and crushed coral. The interior roads were ok for a 40 ft motor home towing a car and easy to maneuver. This is the only campground on the island and is close to everything. It is a little walk from the park to the beach, which is beautiful and great for shelling. Everyone was very friendly and we would stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$45
This is an very good campground with some unique qualities in an absolutely awesome location (Sanibel Island). It is a mostly retired folks and does not have activities or a playground. However, it has a fabulous little ZOO with mostly exotic birds (Some that talk) and a Daily Bird show. Plus it is a 1/2 mile walk to some of the best shelling beaches in the US. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$36
It was nice and would stay here again. No pets allowed due to all the caged birds they have. The park is nice and close to the beach. Bring you're bikes. My only complaint was that they closed the bathroom down in our area due to not enough campers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$45
We agree with the last review, the "no dog" rule made for a nice stay. This is the first time we have stayed here. We started out with 5 days, keep adding and are staying a month. The staff is excellent, friendly and helpful. The sites are large, beach is a short bike ride away. Over 26 miles of bike paths, you don't need to move the car. Sites are large, roads are sand and gravel, but they keep them graded. Its off a busy road but quiet. It is nice to have the birds and lemurs. Laundry room was reasonably priced. All in all we loved it here and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$45
NO DOGS. Four glorious days without yapping nuisances. That's enough for a 10 rating by itself. And the few children here appear to be domesticated. We came here in February just to look, found a 4 day vacancy. Lovely park. Our rig backed up on a pond with ducks, herons, egrets, cormorants, and a swan. Our Verizon air card worked well, but Verizon phones didn't. There's a pay phone about a block away. Very friendly and helpful staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$45
Periwinkle Park was a pleasant surprise: I was expecting it to be so much the RV parking lot or worse, a trailer park. And yes, the sites were fairly close to each other and yes there are mobile homes here. But the RV portion is off to one side and the sites are large enough not to be right on top of each other. The Gulf of Mexico is a nice walk to get too and to stroll with your honey along the surf line. The bath house was good, the laundry was an eye opener. The typical washer and dryer but for those things one would prefer to dry on a line, there were lines out behind the laundry, fenced in from the dust of the park. The other thing that was interesting was the birds. It appears someone who has a bird show keeps their stars out at the park for the winter. You can see them as you go for a walk around the park. All in all, we'd stay here again. The price while high, does reflect the nature of the location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$45
The only thing that this campground lacks in cable. The Wi-Fi is the best I have ever experienced while traveling... and it's free. There are exotic birds here that at 10 AM the lady comes out to teach you about them and lets you hold them. There are also monkeys... it's like having your own private mini-zoo. The beach is about a 15 minute walk. At night the island becomes very quiet. We are returning in April. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
A nice, friendly camp ground. They take cash or checks only. It has 50amp, water and sewer, and no cable. They do book up during the high season, so book early. Just an FYI, they are adjacent to the water treatment plant on the island, but we did not smell anything. It was as if it didn't exist. The beach is about a mile away...you can walk it, but driving makes more sense. More importantly...and I don't think I'm alone here...the Dairy Queen is just across the street. :-) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$48
Great park. Friendly people. Awesome location. Sanibel Island is beautiful. A little high on the price but well worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$47
I love this place and wish we could have stayed longer. The rate reflects a charge of $2 extra for our daughter, and it's the high season. Our site was next to a creek, and a blue heron paid us a visit one day. There are a lot of trees and plenty of grass. The birds and lemurs around the duck pond are quite remarkable. A great beach is a 5 minute bike ride away, and Sanibel has bike trails all over the place. The other campers, many of whom are seasonal or in manufactured housing, are very nice. There's free wi-fi that's really fast. The bathrooms are kind of old and the doors are out of kilter, but the showers are pretty hot. There's no separate changing part in the shower stalls, but the stalls are large enough that you can hang your stuff on the door and it won't get wet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Our family camped here in a 35 foot motorhome for 4 nights in June 2008. It was a last minute trip for us and we called that morning to see if they had availability. The nice woman who answered said come on over! Once we arrived, she escorted us to our campsite. Full hook ups, including sewer. Wide site with picnic table. No ground fires are allowed; also, no dogs allowed. Plus, they only accepted cash or check, but there was an ATM near by. We loved this campground. Beautiful birds, lemurs, ducks on display. Our kids, ages 7, 5, and 3 had a blast. Every morning they looked forward to going over and talking with the birds. The beach was a short bike ride away. Dairy Queen was across the street and many restaurants and stores within biking distance. We cannot wait to come back to this campground. Many people said that the winter months are very busy. The campground was not even half full while we were here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$45
This campground started in 1964, and has something like 80 permanent trailer sites and 250 travel trailer sites. We were put in a section with about ten others campers and tents, but this campground is huge with many different parts. The workers were very friendly, and you followed someone on a golf cart to your site. There are tropical birds all over the park and little duck ponds. The bathrooms could use an update but not very many people use them especially those living or staying in the park models. You can walk to the beach (long walk better taking a bike). The Sanibel beaches are sandy and beautiful, and they do have waves not like the Keys. Shells everywhere, and you see everyone bending over to collect them. They have boat rentals available at the Marina. This campground is the only one on Sanibel Island, and you can easily bike to everything – shops, restaurants, groceries and sites. We did drive to the Ding Wildlife Refuge and the Shell Museum but everything else we biked too – nice and level and wide bike lanes on both sides of the roads away from the main road. We did have reservations but a number of campers came in and were able to get a site without them. It is May and not there busiest time of year which is January through the beginning of April, and reservations are hard to come by at those times of the year. Their low season starts in June and the price drops down ten dollars for full hookups. Price is high, but the park is cute and it is on Sanibel and if you stayed in the parks across the bridge in Ft. Myers you would have to pay the $6 toll everyday. Enjoyable stay ! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$45
Somewhat unusual park with cages of exotic birds and monkeys scattered here and there. Half mile walk to the beach, easy bike ride. Aside from long delays at check-in, the park functioned smoothly. It was quiet, the site was ample in size and shaded. Restrooms and showers were adequate but not first class. About half long-term campers who seemed to enjoy a sense of community. WiFi was functional but we were at the edge of reception and lost the connection regularly. Very convenient location; bikes and walking will suffice for most. Note: no credit cards accepted so bring a check. Ants were a nuisance but not a major hassle, very few mosquitoes and no-see-ums this time of year. We will return and enjoyed this unique island campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$40
A quiet, well maintained place. Sites much larger than average. Free Wi-Fi was, fast, and faultless. We were located close to the Lemur/bird cages. The noises did not bother us in the least. The inmates seemed content and well cared for. Beach access is within walking distance for most. About .5 mile or so. Worth the walk. We would reccommend Jerry's Foods for an excellent, well-priced lunch place. It's head and shoulders over most of the other places on the island. My only gripe is that there is no space available in Jan/Feb. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$40
Its the only camping area available but it was a charming place to camp. We were next to the tent area that was a large grassy and tree filled area much like a park. This is mostly a trailer park with a section for transient campers. A big negative is only one laundry site near the middle of the park-home section and no place to park if we wanted to drive to it will the laundry. We were a good distance from the beach, farther than it looks on the map. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$49
We chose Periwinkle Park because we love Sanibel, and it's the only campground on the island. We found out we also loved Periwinkle Park! My kids rode their bikes all over the campground, visited the birds and lemurs, and just had a great time. The campground isn't on the beach, but the bike ride to the closest public beach access was very close and easy. The bath houses were acceptable, although not new, but fine. Two negatives were no pool (no big deal, you've got the ocean!), but a more important negative was no cable TV which is important to my family. We love the laid-back feel to the campground and the island. Great restaurants! It was the one of the best, most relaxing vacations we've ever had. We would definitely go back - maybe even next spring! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$39
We stayed at the Periwinkle Campground on Sanibel April 21-23 of 2006. We had a pretty good time. The campground: Average with full hookups, no cable. Our campsite was average size, backed up to a small creek and across the creek, hidden by trees but still visible, was what appeared to be a water or sewage treatment plant. Not sure if it was the water in the creek or the treatment plant, but we noticed a faint sewage/sulfur smell. The bathrooms were not air-conditioned and were a little old, but clean. The aviary was impressive with lots of parrots and different species of birds. They also had some Madagascar Brown and Ring Tailed Lemurs. The Ring Tailed Lemurs looked exactly like the ones from the movie Madagascar. I kept singing "I like to move it, move it" every time I saw them (my wife was not impressed by my singing). This would be a big bonus if we had children. We had tent campers on both sides of us, which doesn't bother me except at night I worry that my TV might be too loud with the AC running. Overall we would stay there again. We didn't really like Sanibel that much though. The people we interacted with outside of the campground seemed to be very uppity. We loved the convenience of the beach and the bike trails all over the island, but we will probably try a few more FL beach destinations to see if we can find one we like better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com