214865 User submitted reviews online!!
Picture Lake Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (804) 861-0174
CGID12279

Picture Lake Campground

Camp Information
Sites
250
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   4   3   7   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
Lots of full timers in front of park; not impressive when entering. Restrooms and showers were poor and not maintained well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$31
We were pleasantly surprised with this park. When we pulled in we nearly turned around and left. The park is occupied by mostly full time residents who work nearby. We didn't see many spots available. However we ended up in a space more than long enough to accommodate our truck, fifth wheel and bass boat. The staff was pleasant and very accommodating and other campers were friendly. It was too early in the year for the pool to be open but the laundry was fairly clean. We didn't have need to use the restrooms either given the sewer hookup. We will return to the area in September and will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$33
Every thing like the last post noted...except worse. Guess I thought the improvements would be done & park would be nice..but we were too tired to seek out something else. This park is filthy.. especially the showers/restrooms. The 99% permanent residents have trash & junk everywhere. Also, the race track next door was so loud when the dragsters took off (@ 200+mph) it shook our camper. I enjoy those races, but not to have an RV park right next door and expect people to have a conversation without shouting...never the less sleep. Worse park ever in our 6, 000 mile journey! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Lots of renovations are going on in this campground, but few seem to be finished and none are finished well. The paved road around the park is filled with potholes, cracks and then turns into a rough gravel road. There are speed bumps at extreme angles across the road that jars your rig as you cross them even at low speed. A few gravel sites are level but most are uneven with washouts going thru them. They are putting in new 50amp power stands in some sites but the water presser is very low and has a lot of iron in it. Our site had water and power on one side at the limit of our cable and hose and the sewer on the other side at the limit of that hose. When our neighbor dumped sewer it bubbled up from our connection. The bathrooms and showers are sorta clean but only partially refurbished. The laundry room is new, yet not finished. Wi-Fi is very weak. The pool looks to be the only amenity that is finished but needs more daily attention. The pool is open to the public and was always crowded. Parking for them was along the main street which stayed lined with cars. Long term RVers fill most of the park with old dilapidated travel trailers and 5th wheels. Many have accumulated junk around their sites and they have built wooden porches and walkways. You’re not given a brochure when you check in with information or rules about the park which accounts for the off lead dogs running around and owners not picking up after them. Golf carts are driven through the park by small children without any adult supervision. People walk and drive through your site at all hours. There is little attention paid to cleaning up trash, cigarette butts or maintaining any landscaping around the camp sites. We will not stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
This park is hard to rate. The location is excellent for seeing the battlefield. The pool is very clean and modern. This is an old park, but they have installed upgraded power posts. The water and sewer are fine. While they did not burden us with a list of rules upon arrival, everyone behaved very nicely. The trees blocked all television reception, but provided nice shade. The worst problem was the inability to level. If you can obtain a level spot and you do not care about television, it is a very adequate park for a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
The park served its purpose in that it was located where we wanted to be, right next to the Virginia Motorsports Park, we were able to walk right over. The 50 amp, water, sewer hookup availability and rate is also excellent. Management was also very friendly. The biggest negative about this park is that the sites are not that level, we had to use our levelers with wooden blocks to get level. The sewer connection was hard to find, since it was buried under dirt and grass - old campground. The lake itself is very stagnant and covered with algae, not beautiful at all, lots of mosquitoes. Not a destination campground except for the Motorsports Park next door. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
The roads are bad, but the campground looks like they're trying to improve them. Electric and water pressure leaves a lot to be desired. Very low on both. A lot of old ugly campers and some junk allowed to pile up. This campground is only about 5 miles from the Wal-Mart Distribution Center. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com