206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Frenchman's Wilderness Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (337) 228-2616
CGID1231

Frenchman's Wilderness Campground

Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   9   1   7   9   8   5   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2013
$29
Nice large back in sites on gravel pads. There are fire pits, and wood is available for a price. The campground is located far enough from I-10 so no road noise is heard from it. There is a local paved road next to the campground, but it is quiet at night. Laundry is $1.50 wash and dry. There are a few long term residents. Wi-Fi is available for a cost-$4.99 per day or $15 per week. Wi-Fi is available for free at the tourist info place on the I-10 exit about 3/4 mile away. The office is closed on Monday's, but when we phoned for a site it was arranged for someone to meet us and guide us to our site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
Big. Pool, arcade, lots of groups with children. Very clean and helpful staff. Church on Sunday if you wish. We had to back in. Good place to stay and go to Breaux Bridge for food, etc. But the road in is very rough and covered with crushed shells. There is a company on the river crushing shells and the powder turns to goo splattered all over the RV. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$29
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Campground was extremely clean and nicely manicured. Bath house was the cleanest that I have ever seen. The owner and his staff go above and beyond to make sure the guests are taken care of. Pool opened the day we were there, kids enjoyed it. We will definitely be back. They do not accept credit cards - cash or debit card only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2012
$30
Actual price was $29.60. Credit cards are not accepted. I would have rated this campground as a 5 or possibly 6, however, we encountered a very rude, argumentative, and obnoxious campground employee. I contacted the owners and complained to them. I received a call back the following day advising that: "This would not happen again." I will not stay here again. I hope others that decide to stay here are treated much better than my wife and I were. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
Very nice and clean campground, and the employees were very helpful with backing in our trailer. The pool was very clean and so were the restrooms. Be aware that there are long term working residents and people who use the park as a camp. There is not a whole lot for kids to do here, but it is an overall nice campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
This park contains a fair number of seasonal units, unoccupied weekdays. It also has some longterm working campers. No matter, the place is kept neat & tidy with the grass being cut almost every other day. There are a few resident hawks to provide entertainment in the evening. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$26
Nice, small RV park that is ultra quiet and staff is very friendly. We only stayed one night passing through, but definitely would stay here again. Very good rates and although sites are gravel/dirt, were level and solid. We would stay here again. Did not use restrooms or showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
Staff very friendly. I made a future reservation for the upcoming Crawfish Festival. Rates were good, access to park very good just off the interstate. My review is hopefully useful for the pop up camper world. I base my overall rating mostly on the restroom/showers. Pros: Vanity in bathroom making it easy to get dressed. Multiple shower stalls (2) so access is not an issue. Helpful staff in guiding you to space and backing unit into space. Cons: Restroom/showers were not heated. When I stayed here, the morning temperature was 49 degrees. There is an AC unit in the bath/shower. Close review of it did not indicate it doubled as a heater. In any event it was too cold for a shower in Feb. Road traffic very heavy and noisy early morning. I stayed on a week day so maybe this was people going to work. Hopefully it would be quieter on the weekend. Camp sites are grass/dirt. Would be a mess in the rain. May reconsider my future reservation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
This is a nice campground that is easily accessible from I-10 in the Atchafalaya Basin. The staff is very friendly and you are close to Baton Rouge and Lafayette. There were plenty of shade trees and the camping spaces weren't too close together. We went in the summer and enjoyed the swimming pool every day that we stayed. The bathroom/bathhouse/laundry facility was clean and right next to the pool. There was did have some playground equipment; however, it didn't look to be kept up and there were a large amount of ant piles around that area. There were a lot of golf carts that were cruising the campground and at times they were loud, especially when they were making their beer runs to the little store just down the road. I would recommend this campground, especially if you take in some of the local attractions (like air boat rides,etc.) even the Visitor's Center at this exit is very nice, clean and informative with some interactive things for kids. It was also a great place to take some really great pictures! Overall, we would go here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Spent a weekend here, not really for us though. Spots are extremely large but we have kids and there were not any others here. If you like quiet and peaceful, this is for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
Park is recovered from recent hurricanes, including Ike and Gustav. Owners are very present and involved with management. Staff is friendly without being invasive. Although there are several full time residents, everyone obeys the rules. Very family oriented, but still maintains a quiet restful air. Park is kept clean...they do escort you to your site and help you get set up. We've stayed here several times and plan several more visits in the near future. But get reservations..esp around the holiday weekends...they fill up. Park is popular with Lafayette and Baton Rouge residents looking for a quick get away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$26
I gave this park a 5 only because they recently experienced major damage due to hurricane Gustav. We were lucky to be able to stay here as most campgrounds were booked with hurricane Ike evacuees. In better times, this could be a nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Spacious sites for a private campground and near I-10 interstate between Lafayette, LA and Baton Rouge, LA. Staff is friendly and will generally guide you to your site. The owner is very particular about the lawns and littering. If someone is frying food or boiling crawfish he requests that you leave your pot at the end of your site near the road, and they will dump and rinse it in the back. This is done to avoid killing the grass. There is a pool, but can be only used for a fee along with a miniature golf course. The only negatives are 2-3 pull through sites, a lot of full time campers, and very very strict reservation policy...so beware. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$18
The scenery was great, very lush and lots of wildlife to photograph. Bring lots of towels or be prepared if it rains, there is lots of muddy area so bring a rug. Lots of shady area and the campground has gatherings and lots of activites in the pavillion area, seems every weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$26
This is a nice, shaded park with a friendly staff that escorts you to the site, and helps with backing in. We camped with 4 other campers, and the staff was able to group us together. The sites are grassy but our site was not very level. The sewer hookup is elevated and at an odd angle, making it difficult to drain tanks without "walking the hose" several times. Fire rings and picnic tables at each site. Activities scheduled throughout the year. Playground, putt-putt, pool etc., to keep the kids busy. We will stay here again. This is also a Good Sam campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$27
It's a nice campground with friendly staff. They even helped me back into my spot. First complaint I have is that they charged me for having 2 extra kids. And one was a baby. Another is that they made me take down a small tent that we used for a play pen. They said I don't want to know how much extra that would cost. One last thing, don't plan on washing clothes because the people staying on the permanent camp sites guard the washer and dryer. They should have seperate facilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$26
We noticed only 106 sites, of those, 62 are permanently occupied ( mostly by weekend visitors) with that said,this is a nice campground. It is well maintained, the spaces are large and everything is very clean. The staff was very helpful & friendly. It is located off the freeway about .8 of a mile with a large state visitor center located at the same exit (#121 of Hwy 10). Very easy to get to and from and conveniently located for seeing the sights in the area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$25
A nice park with spacious grassy sites and mature shade trees. Most sites are back-in and on grass. Lots of sites are occupied by long-term residents with many units serving as weekend fishing and hunting camps for locals. Just off the Interstate on the edge of the swamp and near a state tourist information office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$24
Very nice campground. Whole area very well maintained. Arrived after 7:00 pm and had park employees stay late and lead us to our site, help light the site, help us back into our site, and help me level the camper. Was very impressed by the service and it was well received after a long day of driving. The only reason the park did not receive a 10 was the number of permanent/long term campers. It was not a detraction as all of them were very neat and well kept and very friendly, it is just that they seemed to have most of the "best" sites occupied. Will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$24
We found the campground to be well taken care of, neat, clean and overall a quiet peaceful atmosphere. We were treated well by the employees and owners as well as given help in finding our site and setting up our camper. We will camp there again as they also have wireless internet access. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
While camping at Frenchman's Wilderness Campground I was impressed with the concern the staff shows to their customers. I camp every year during their Fourth of July celebrations and have been coming since July of 2003. During a power outage in July of 2004 the owner and staff went to each site asking the campers to shut down their air conditioners so that when the power came back on their units would not be damaged. This impressed me as it showed they were concerned for their customers RVs and campers. I will continue to camp here as they continually make improvements as well as keep the campground safe and very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$24
Very nice & Quiet campground. Employees are very helpful in escorting you & parking your rv. The campground is very clean. Only concern was the owner went site to site asking everyone to use their air conditioners only at night due to high electricity bill. This was unbelievable, especially when paying 24.94 a night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2004
$20
Great campground in the cajun country. Just off the I10 exit 121. The country road to the park is narrow and in need of repairs. In the park, the sites are grass and gravel, but some patios are concrete for the full timers. The sites are large and scattered. The workcamper led us to site and help set up. Enjoyed the park for a home base while touring Cajun country for food, music and culture. This campground is on a island in the swamp. Owners live on site and keep grounds clean. Some supplies in office camp store, but a mile down the road is another country store. The owners had a Thanksgiving dinner for all campers. On many Saturday nights they have dances with DJ's. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$21
Really nice campground. Nice pool ($1 extra per day per person for pool). Small putt putt golf. Grass in this campground is very well kept up. Most sites have shade for at least some part of the day. About 1/3rd or so of the sites appear to be members that are either full-timers or campers that go here on most weekends. Roads are mostly gravel, and sites are mostly grass, but very level. Mosquitos were not a problem compared to some of the other campgrounds in S. Louisiana - probably because they have their own mosquito control that is applied on weekends. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$20
The staffis very friendly. We got there after hours, but since they were still around, they showed us to a site and got us settled in. About 90% of the sites are shaded. Lots of trees. Sites were gravel but level. Interior roads are gravel and paved. All the sites are very large. You are not crammed together here.Easy access off of I-10 (exit #121). If you don't have your bug spray, don't stop here. The campground is in the Atchafalaya swamp basin and can get muddy. About half of the sites appeared to be permanently occupied, but there weren't any old rickety trailers. They do accept reservations, but with a no refund policy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$23
A very nice CG just off I-10, between Baton Rouge and Lafayette. Clean bathhouses (only one in CG though), nicely shaded with lots of grass and open spaces. Sites varied but most were spacious but not screened from the others. Some sites appeared a little difficult to back into because of trees and placement of utility posts. Gravel interior roads in good condition. Mini-golf, small clean pool, playground. Staff are very friendly! Very quiet considering only 3/4 mile off interstate. About 30 mins. to either Lafayette (Cajun area) or Baton Rouge (state capital and shopping!). No website but here is the phone number: (337) 228-2616 We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com