223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Whispering Hills RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 76 user reviews. Phone: (502) 863-2552
CGID12359

Whispering Hills RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
221
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   9   8   8   7   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$34
Plenty of spaces. Lot not level. No shade. Pristine restrooms and showers, each private. WiFi worthless. No cable. Utilities worked well. We would stay again but not in hot weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
This is a somewhat newer campground and the buildings and pool are very nice. With that said, there are no trees planted yet. Maybe they will plant some soon. They do have plenty of things for the kids to do. The playground is nice, have a jumping pillow inside the huge pavilion, and a nice basketball court. The pond is stocked and the kids caught plenty of fish. Now for the things I think that need improvement. The road is slightly lumpy, but that to me isn’t the thing that would stop me from coming back. What would stop me from returning are the narrow roads inside the campground, and the small sites. They average around 25 ft wide and maybe 45 ft deep. Not much space to setup any recreational activities around your camper. Getting into and out of your site can prove difficult with all of the cars parked along the road. Water pressure and sewer were good, as was cell phone service with AT&T. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If the roads were wider and the sites bigger, I could see us visiting this place more often. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Slightly out of the way from Interstate. Inside roads are lumpy and all gravel. Sites not very long for big rigs. No shade. Staff very friendly, pool very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$31
This is a very nice park. Super nice people, gravel roads and pads. Utilities and restrooms are excellent. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
This is a nice park with a clean inviting pool (no visitors allowed in the pool). The staff is friendly and they escort you to your site. Satellite and antenna reception was good. The staff is friendly and the park is dog friendly. The rate we paid reflects a Good Sam discount of 10%. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
Stayed 4 nights in a motorhome. Nice pull-through gravel sites. Some grassy areas at each site. Campground is clean, pet friendly, lots of space for kids to run, a fishing pond, and play area. No shade trees but good satellite coverage. Would stay again. There is lots of do in local area, some require reservations. Camp hosts friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$16
Rate cited is based on the monthly rate. I am very undecided about this park because it is full of conflicts for me. The owners and the staff are wonderful and they work so hard each day to maintain the park. Parts of it are so beautiful and then there is the part that is so terrible. There is a beautiful pond with geese and green manicured grass all around it. The bathrooms and showers are incredible. Each one is an individual bathroom with toilet, sink and shower. There are plenty of them and they are immaculate. The laundry is very small with just 3 washers and 3 dryers but the price is very reasonable. There a fantastic swimming pool that is enjoyed by children all day and evening. They have a great play area for the kids and a party pavilion. This park really caters to families on vacation and many of the RVs are there for the season with families coming when they can. There are quite a few permanent residents but their area is clean and neat and if you are not out walking, you wouldn’t even notice them. The road in is very narrow but we managed as no one was coming from the opposite direction. Once in the park, the roads are terrible. They are a mix of old broken paving and gravel. The sites are all gravel and not at all level. We had quite a time and never did get our RV leveled properly. But most of them are large with a grassy area, a table and a fire ring. Very few have trees for shade. We were told to use a water regulator as the water pressure was too high. That gave us very, very low pressure. The Wi-Fi did not work. When we arrived we were told that it might get fixed in a day or two. It was never fixed in the whole month we were there. We had TV with our antennae. I would go back as management works so hard to be constantly improving it and it is a great location for visiting the Lexington area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$44
Water, electric and sewer hookups are good. Restrooms are spotless. We have some grass in our front yard. We have good Verizon broadband and cell service. We aren't too far from Lexington. The roads are terrible, sites are narrow, Wi-Fi is non-existent (never could log in). Many sites are very unlevel, front to back. Don't know if we would camp here again or not. The choices for large 5th wheels are very limited in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
This is a newer park that appears to be still under development. Yes, the roads are sub-par but passable. The pull-through sites at the front of the park can accommodate big rigs with toads but if you leave your toad connected you had better have a long electric cord as the power boxes are located at the very back end of the sites. This appeared to be the case with most if not all the sites. The sewer connections were 2" to 3" below grade so you had to be careful not to get gravel in the sewer. The pool looked to be new and was very nice. Unfortunately no cable or shade but the park's Internet (satellite I believe) worked well. We had a very good Verizon signal also. The park is about a half mile from the interstate but we didn't hear much traffic noise. Only use exit 129 to access. Management was friendly and accommodating and we would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
CONS: Majority of sites were back-in with minimal area to maneuver. Wi-Fi didn't work for us, had to use Iphone hotspot. Gravel sites are fairly short and required some work to be level. PROS: Lots of room for kids and activities (pool, bouncy pad, pond) for them. Convenient to I-75 and northern Lexington attractions. Water pressure is very good, camp brochure says to use a regulator. 50 amp power was good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
Staff is friendly, park is clean, and sites are ample. This was the second time we had used this RV Park. The roads were in bad shape and in talking to the manager he stated that his roads were being reworked. I know that two years ago they were paved versus gravel now. Apparently, his contractor the first time around did a very poor job and now the campground is having to scramble a little to get the roads back in shape. The park is easy to access and actually a very nice place to stay if passing through or camping to explore the local area. WiFi is available, while the staff will readily admit it is not the best. Restrooms and showers are all private enclosures and very spacious. Certainly high quality and nice. The pool was not open yet, but the area looked very clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
This is a nice park that could be improved with some work. The interior roads need work badly. There are potholes and bumps throughout the park and plenty of equipment to fix them. They advertise WiFi available, but it only works for a few minutes and cuts you off. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$31
We stayed here for an overnight. It is a very good park - convenient to I-75 with two Pilot's for refueling at the exit. As noted before, use the exit from the south. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The CG seems pretty new and there are things that will improve over time. There is a really nice lake and the rules are very pet-friendly. Access to Kentucky Horse Park and other attractions would make this a good base camp for an extended stay. Why only an 8? The roads need to be reworked - they're rough and rutted. Our site wasn't terribly level. The gravel hasn't packed down well. The camper before us had put his levelers down and we could see an 8" deep cylinder-shaped depression so we chose not to put ours down. The lady who checked us in said that when there is a lot of rain, there can be issues. Having said that, we will definitely stay here again for a longer period. There are just too may pluses to worry about the newness issues. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
Campground close to I-75, with some freeway noise. Site not level and ground very soft from recent rain. Sites were very close together. Front desk very nice and friendly, escort provided to site. Restrooms were very nice despite the campground being very full. There was some maintenance being done on water system which meant no water for a short period. WiFi was not reliable. Would stay here again for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
This is an attractive park, but the hookups are in inconvenient, hard to get at locations. At least in the site I was on. As to Wi-Fi, they state "Limited Wi-Fi", which is an understatement. We were less than 75' from the office, and could only connect for 30 to 60 seconds at a time, after which it would lose signal. On the plus side, they have the nicest, cleanest restrooms and showers I have seen in many years of traveling. Each is a separate bathroom with toilet, shower stall, sink, and chair, and they were all spotless. I would stay there again for the bathrooms alone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
The pull-through sites are gravel but level and hookups are in good location. The restrooms where very clean and the staff also great. We only stayed overnight on the way south but would stay again if in the area. We went by our GPS and came in from the north and should have followed the campground directions as the roads are narrow and from the north you have to drive about 6 miles on them but from the south it is only about 2 miles on narrow roads. Our price was with Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$30
This was our second overnighter while traveling to/from Florida. We stayed in 2013 too, and the owners remembered us from the previous year. Owners were extremely nice and welcoming and escorted us to our site. We (including our Great Dane) were invited to join them and other guests around a community campfire to make smores, all ingredients provided! Lovely office and pool, but the spotless, private bathrooms were the nicest I've seen. They were individual rooms in a larger building, each with shower, sink, and toilet. Others have commented about the roads, and they're right. We just drove slowly to our campsite, no big deal. Roads won't keep us from returning to this friendly place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$29
This was a good overnight spot. The people who run the place were super. The bathrooms/shower area very clean. Verizon strong. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
We stayed here two years ago. Well maintained campground with gravel sites. We had a pull thru site, the utilities all worked without any problems. Be aware that they have high water pressure. The bathroom facilities are top notch, clean and well maintained. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Great park. Two issues of which to be aware. First, the roads are rough due to buckled blacktop; however, they are passable. Second, make certain that you have a water pressure regulator. The campground has extremely high water pressure and for an older travel trailer it is too high. We blew off our toilet hose the first flush! Other than those things it is well cared for and the staff are wonderful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
This RV park is close to I-75 and a great location to visit the Kentucky Horse Park, Toyota tours, Lexington farm tours and the Bourbon Trail. Georgetown has a very cute downtown with lots of shops and flowers. Also, many beautiful older homes in town. Whispering Hills RV Park is only 3 years old and still a work in progress, with redoing the roads as their next large project. The owners and staff are all very friendly. The park has a large pavilion for groups, a beautiful swimming pool, a nice playground, immaculate bathrooms with all individual locked shower rooms with robe hooks, a chair, sink and a toilet in each room! They also have a nice pond, but you will need a KY fishing license to fish. There is no shade in the park, which is great if you want satellite. They have pull thru sites as well as back-ins. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
We spent one night here as a stopover on our trip south in a 40' Phaeton. The access from I75 takes you down about 3mi of narrow two-lane country road. There is NO shoulder on either side of these roads and they are hilly, so one prays that the locals coming at you are aware there are large vehicles traversing their little country roads. The park seems relatively new and has quite a few positives going for it. The pool is new, large and well maintained. The shower facilities are individual rooms with sink/commode/fiberglass shower units. The showers themselves were clean, but most of the curtains hanging in them were growing pink slime on the bottom of them.....badly needing routine laundering. There is a small lake at the lower end of the park that is fishable. Now for the negatives. There is a front/upper section with larger pull thru gravel sites that were relatively level. The roads are gravel over ruts and holes (passable however).....badly needing surfacing or regular grading. The owners are friendly and attentive and are hopefully planning to pave the roads when funds allow. A previous review questioned the water quality. I asked before we hooked up. The owner swears that the water is city water and there have never been any problems. They were aware of the bad review and said they had come to the conclusion that the reviewer had confused their park with another one. Corroborating their claim....the pressure is VERY high....higher than any system other than city water could produce. Although we have a built in reducer, we put our external reducer on as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$58
We stayed two nights to visit the Kentucky Horse Park. Great location. Nice owners. No shade but no shade. Nice view. The WiFi was very poor but all in all a great location for the blue grass area of Kentucky. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
This is a terrific campground located about 10 miles from Lexington and the Kentucky Horse Park. The rest room/shower facilities are the best we've seen during a cumulative 15 months of RVing. The staff is friendly and helpful and the park is well maintained. There is no cable TV, but lots of digital broadcast stations come in strong. Now the few minuses. The roads in the park need resurfacing, but they are passable. There is no shade at all, and the sites are a bit close together, but not so close to interfere with slide outs or awnings. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
This campground was stop number 2 on our maiden voyage as a motor home family. We had been concerned about some of the postings from others regarding the condition of the roads, but found that to be a non-issue. The roads bore some evidence of past issues, but we wouldn't have noticed anything had it not been mentioned in other reviews. The grand children could ride their bikes here. The pool was their favorite though. Otherwise, we were greeted as well as we have ever been. The staff are obviously experienced campers, and took great care of us. We arrived right at dark, but we were checked in and set up in seconds. As I understand it, every site has water, electric, and sewer. What a treat. Our site was level, gravel, and a little narrow for our tastes. Our site was convenient to the office, pool, and sparkling bath house. The only thing that wasn't a few steps away was the laundry. A little further away was a huge shelter that is used for various functions including live music periodically. The shelter is on the banks of a lovely lake. While others had mentioned the highway noise from I-75, it is about a mile away, and you really don't notice it at all unless that's your 'thing'. The property is surrounded by nature preserve, and feels very isolated from the hustle and bustle. It is several miles off the interstate, including a short trip down a typical KY back road. It is about 7 miles into Georgetown with a full complement of services available there. The Pool/Bath house is where this place really shines by being well designed with a nice slide at the 'deep' end. The bath house consists of 10 individually lockable bathrooms, each with it's own sink, toilet, and shower. They were spotless, secure, and well lit. The best I've ever seen in a campground, period. Complaints? Few. The Wi-Fi was marginal at best. I'm sure they have made a significant investment, but they were very busy when we were there, and the bandwidth reflected that. It is cramped and, as a new park, shade is pretty much non-existent. The pool currently closes at 8, which is pretty early according to my kids. Adults would appreciate some no-kids time there up til 10-11. We'll be using this campground for our frequent trips to KY. Thanks for a great job! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$31
This park has the cleanest and best designed shower rooms that we have ever seen. A beautiful swimming pool and a great office staff that are very helpful. They have a significant drainage problem. Sites near the lake really get waterlogged after a rain. The paved roads need major repair. All related to the drainage issues. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
The rate reflects a GoodSams discount. The park is clean, lawns cut, nice pool, with easy access off I-75. There was some train noise, but not an issue for us. In spite of this appearing to be anewer park, the park roads are in urgent need of repair. Whatever payment may have been there originally is badly buckled and full of pot holes. The electrical pedestals are all located at the back end of the sites and it required that we use an extension cable in our pull-through site. Several pedestals were damaged and badly tilted, but the one are our site was functional. All of the site water supplies had a very small note that we'd never seen before in a campground, "not intended for drinking purposes". There was no mention of this at check-in. Make certain that you bring your own drinking water! There is no cable TV, but there were about 20 over the air channels available, and many sites appear to have good satellite access as there are not many large trees in the park. Also, the pull-through sites were narrow, gravel, and soft. Several of the sites would take a lot of effort to level if even possible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
The loop to the left as soon as you enter the park, has the best sites. That is not where we were put however. Interior roads are very poor, sites are gravel and pretty close together but not bad, poor drainage if it rains. WiFi was very poor, for us anyway. The restrooms are very nice, pool is nice, staff nice. Has good walking for pets. There is some freeway noise but again not bad. We would probably give the Horse Park a try if in the area again. Price reflects weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
Excellent park. Rate is for week stay. There is some problems with soft gravel at sites. We enjoyed our stay and lots to do in area. The owners are friendly. Big rigs had no problems getting into park. Park is far enough away from highway to be fairly quite. We would return if in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
This is a lovely, very young campground. The whole area is manicured and grassy. Our site took just a little leveling but it was level front to back so we did not have to unhook. Not all sites are this level. Clear sky everywhere for satellite. Wi-Fi was mediocre. Gorgeous crystal clear pool. Showers were immaculate and since each one was an individual room, they were roomy. Do not trust Garmin to take you off I-75 at exit 136. Go on to exit 129. This is a much better and safer approach. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
Rate is based on a weekly rate. Staff was friendly at check-in. Some of the interior roads are in rough shape and narrow. Broken, heaving asphalt mixed with gravel. Roadways and sites do not have clear separation. Hard to tell where one starts and the other ends. Our site was a tight fit for our coach. Good power and water pressure. I would probably stay here again but only after checking out what else was available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
This park was really clean and manicured. The grounds were beautiful and the facilities very clean. The owners were onsite and very friendly and attentive. Our site was almost perfectly level, and surrounded by green grass. Picnic tables, power connections and sewer connections were all in excellent condition. Access, unlike many parks in the area, was easy on paved roads. Use exit 129 off I75 for a shorter trip down the 2-lane road. We highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$29
With the temporary closure of exit 129 on I-75, missed the turn and had to take an alternate route. Called the office, did not get much assistance other than the exact address. Upon arrival after a lot of rain, found the gravel site standing in water and soft. Had to use boards under all wheels and jacks. Entry road is narrow with a couple of hills that impede visual sighting of oncoming traffic. Think it would be difficult for 2 large units to meet on the road. Rate is Good Sam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
Destination or Overnight Park in farmland of Georgetown, KY. Easy well marked access off I-75. Very friendly office staff that escorts you to your site. Good asphalt interior roads with level gravel hard pack, long level sites with room to maneuver. Lots of room for slides with grass between sites . Utilities conveniently located and worked properly with good 50 amp service. Picnic table at each site. Good free Wi-Fi. Strong cell phone signal. Nice pool and kid play area. Fishing pond and lots of room to roam .Good HD TV stations no cable .Clean modern showers and laundry rooms. Park has a rural feel with no train, plane and some traffic noise. Good overnight or long term stop. Would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$32
Nice little park. Very friendly staff. Good TV reception. Verizon and AT&T had full bars. Very quiet and very clean. Gravel pads but level. If we weren't expected someplace else, we would stay here a little longer than one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$28
Great park for overnight or for visiting area. WiFi and free air TV reception was good. Easy access from I-75 and within park. Bath area was clean. They are still struggling with soft spots where the stone base has not settled but that will improve as time goes by. Very enthusiastic owner actually led us to site then placed their plywood squares under my jacks before I got them lowered. Area is almost overlit at night and road noise from I-75 is just a slight hum. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
Good campground. We enjoyed our overnight stay. Interior roads and sites are gravel. Pull-through spaces are not overly spacious, but good for an overnight stop. VERY friendly and accommodating owners. Good power and water. CAUTION: the directions in the Trailer Life directory tells you to exit I-75 at exit 136 and take US 25 south. This is a bad road for a tall motorhome. USE EXIT 129 AND GO NORTH ON US 25. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
As another has said, have been a frequent visitor of the Horse Park. We now have a new place to visit when in the area. Nice park. It is getting better all the time. Friendly helpful owners. Easy in and out access. Good WiFi. Close to everything Lexington. Will definitely be back next time in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
After traveling across and around the country (in a 45' coach), it was a delight to check into a park actually run by the owners. Owners that built the park and maintain it. A bit of trouble with the roads and frost heave, but plans to correct. Just North of Lexington and close to Louisville. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
This park is only a little over a year old, but it seems to be on the right track for success. The owners are young, vigorous and friendly. The park is experiencing some growing pains as the roads need work and the sites are somewhat un-level. (We travel in a 40' coach.) The parks plantings are immature but will grow I'm sure. There is a great private lake for fishing and boating. The swimming pool was most invitingly clear and clean. This is without doubt the finest park in central Kentucky. We'll never stay at the horse park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Excellent customer service begins the moment one pulls up here. Whatever the need, owners and staff will surround you with as much help necessary to get you settled in. Then be prepared for the beautiful view of the hills over the lake and the serenity at night that overrides the "growth" factor here. Sure, the roads need a lot of attention but not because of the owners neglect but because of the county push. Yet, with a little less pressure on the gas pedal, one can do just fine. The sites are as most new parks. Never ending maintenance because of the users and not the owners yet the lawnmowers are on the go as often as possible keeping this park manicured as well as can be expected. The owners will go to about any length to accommodate quests to include having live entertainment every few weeks at THEIR expense. The Wi-Fi is on the house and is as dependable as any other but suffer from those who use up the bandwidth for Internet phone and long downloads. A little patience will reward you with a memorable stay. (Oh, the pool is immaculately maintained.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
Roads are rough and narrow. Sites on the small size both length and width. Nice pool. Owners on site. Wi-Fi reception good but slow speeds. Sprint, Verizon voice/data reception good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
We camped here to be close to sightseeing in Lexington. They need to spend some major money on their roads. Sites are pretty uneven also but the roads are ruts. The internet is too weak to be of any service at all. The pool is very nice as are the owners. Would not go here if it had rained anytime soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
This is the closest full hookup RV Park to Lexington. It's a new park so the trees are a long way from mature. However, the sites are level, the park is very clean, and the staff is friendly and helpful. It's an excellent place for "groups" to spend the weekend because they are set up to accommodate them. We will always stay here when visiting Lexington. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
We had stayed here last year - they are always trying to improve the park even though it is a newer operation. They will try to accommodate you in anyway they can. The only pitfall is some of the roads - they were told by officials the blacktop must be down before opening a couple years ago even though ground was not ready so this has caused many parts of the road to deteriorate. They are doing what they can with the resources they have to temporarily fix the locations or even lay down a lot of new gravel. In time this will all be cleared up - we will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
This is a young park. The park has only been open for a year at the time of our visit. Our rate reflects a Good Sam discount. There was not much shade, but the owner has planted lots of tress. We were at the camp for three days and every day someone was working on sites, building picnic tables, or something else to enhance the park. The pool, showers, restrooms were absolutely spotless. There are fire rings at each camp area and every site is a full hookup site (s,e,w, 50a, 30a, 20a). While some of the sites were not as level as others, in a conversation with the owner his plans are to finish leveling and to pour concrete pads at every site. Individual sites are well spaced apart with plenty of room. The park is quiet and easy to get into off the interstate. Although, the road will make you stop and think at first when you turn off the main road, but it is actually a good road. If we are in the Georgetown area again this is a park will will use again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
First off the staff were very friendly and helpful. No grocery store nearby. 2 miles from I-75. Interior roads are asphalt but uneven. Sites are very uneven including pull through sites. Sites have loose gravel and small grassy area with picnic table & fire ring. WiFi was intermittent- had to have office reboot their computer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
This is a new park (2009) in a beautiful location, but close to Interstate so very noisy at night. Bathrooms/showers are some of the best we seen. Some sites are composed of way too soft gravel. Great location for touring the horse county, but a ways from the city. The owners are very nice and helpful. There a few things to work out but it is satisfactory for a basically new park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$33
Really nice campground, very clean, and the bathrooms were awesome. The only issue I had was the WiFi speed. We had good signal strength, but it never connected any faster than 5.5 Mbps. (most of the time it was at 1 Mbps ) Very slow... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$32
Very impressed with customer service and would recommend to others. On a cold winter night my heater broke, and they sent someone out to help with it. When they couldn't do anything with it, they loaned me a electric heater, and I was so thankful. Also have a lending DVD library and books. Great bathrooms with showers. Great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$32
This campground has the best restrooms I have ever seen. There are multiple (10 in the bathhouse near us) private bath/showers that were meticulous. Sites are too close together. For an overnight this time of year, no problem. I would not want to be in this campground when most of the sites are occupied. Roads are in horrible condition but owners are addressing the problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
The roads are in bad shape. The Wi-Fi is not good: half the time I couldn't get on and it was slow. I don't see why they advertise Wi-Fi. Some of the sites are soft, so we moved to another site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
Early November is not the best way to enjoy an RV park in this area of the country, and the rain didn't help any either. But looking around it appears to be a nice park. There is a fishing pond, a pavilion plus a pool on the property, along with the park store and a small selection of food and RV supplies. The Wi-fi signal was strong at my site, and the connection was fairly fast. Verizon Wi-fi and data connection was good, and it was easy to pull in all of the major over the air network channels. The sites have 50/30/15 amp service, water, and sewer hookups. There is also a picnic table and fire ring. The sites are gravel with 12 to 15 ft. of grass between the sites. The site I was on was not real level and would need 3" or more of blocks to level the trailer side-to-side. Sites 20 through 46 are on a small hill so some are not level side-to-side and others front to back. The other sites looked fairly level. Not a huge deal but something to remember. There are also restrooms, bath house, and laundry, but I did not go and check them out. All in all it's a nice park, and I would stop again, not only just for a night but for a weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
Not sure there is anything I can add the previous reviewers haven't already said. This is a wonderful campground and the hard work the owners have expended is very evident. Mother nature dealt them a severe blow after their roads were paved but they are working hard to fix them. There is so much to see and do in the area and we hope to go back and would not think of staying anywhere else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
New campground. Excellent facilities. Bathrooms are individual baths similar to a home bathroom and are very clean. Pool was not open but looked to be in excellent condition. Roads need a little work but the owners are on it. Apparently they were required (by the county) to pave the roads prior to opening and the base was not packed well prior to paving. Sites are out of level from front to back so you need some way to level a motorhome. Owners are about as nice as any owners I've ever met. We stayed an extra night and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
Stayed here on the way back to Illinois from TN. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Bath and showers were top notch. Traveled with two grand daughters and they really enjoyed the playground. The roads were rough but they are working on fixing them. Great place to stay. In addition down the road is a great BBQ place called Fat Boys, family run and very down home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
This was our 2nd visit to this campground. We had a wonderful time. The owners continue to work to make your experience better and better. This weekend they had a 2 for 1 special so we stayed 2 nights for the price of one. Next they had a band play in the pavilion Saturday night, and they were very good. The park is kept spotless, the bathhouse impeccable, and the staff the friendliest I have ever experienced. They have a fishing pond, a playground, and activities for kids of all ages. The internet quality is top notch! This park continues to get better and better. We will definitely be back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
Very nice campground. Pool was closed for the season, but it was new and the entire park was well cared for except the roads. The roads were very thin blacktop, huge potholes, washed out areas. We were able to get to a nice site, but the entire blacktop would wave and move as we drove over it. The managers were very nice. Power was excellent as was water and sewer. This is a new campground and I am sure they will fix the roads. Close to tour of the Toyota factory and to Lexington for tourist attractions. Excellent Chinese buffet. The best I've ever seen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
This is a nice park. The roads need some work and the trees need to grow up for some shade. They have put a lot of work into the pool and bathrooms. Both are very nice. The pavilion area had a movie playing in the evening. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
Rate reflects "Good Sam" rate. This park is a real gem in the rough. Just what we have been hoping for in the Central KY area. We come to KY once or twice a year to visit relatives. The other parks are history to us since we found this one through Internet search and "Campground Reviews Website". We were coming from the North and our GPS said to take Exit 136 from I-75. Wrong move. Use their website and take Exit 129. Otherwise, you will be driving on U.S. 25 South for six miles on a crooked two-lane road with overhanging tree limbs. Take Exit 129 (as their website states). You double back under I-75 for approx two miles. You go under the I-75 overpass. It is not marked by height. The overpass is probably 15'+ so you do not have to worry about the height. Campground is very nice and quiet. Did not use laundry or bath but checked them out. Both were impeccable. Laundry has no windows since it doubles as a tornado shelter. Upper streets are buckled - not due to poor construction - but because county made owners put them in prior to the dry spell so they could open the park. Talked to the owners and that is why I know this. We are only here for a week visiting relatives and have no affiliation with park at all. Just great to find a park close to both of our families. We plan to stay here every time we come to KY. One of the biggest pluses is that we have 50 amp, water, and sewer. Priceless. Yes, it needs more work done on it but owners are doing their best to make the park 1st class. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
"Potential", work in progress, best describe this RV park. With additional capital and major repairs to the park roads and site pads, this park would be at the top of the scale. Unfortunately, it appears that the owners were on the right track and the current economy has taken a toll. The office, bathrooms, laundry, showers are all first-class. The view is pastoral, rolling hills and beautiful views. I can see this park becoming a long-term nest for folks looking for a "home", versus the RV'er that stays a week or two at a time. In defense of the owners, cash-flow during these tough times is more important than ascetics. Great folks to deal with and if they are able to keep to their original site plan, this place will be in high-demand. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
We chose this new park for our 1 week visit to Lexington, KY based on the high ratings from RV Park Reviews, however, this park is not yet a 10. If the owners future plans and improvements are realized, this could be a superior RV resort. There has been a significant investment in providing great facilities such as a sparkling pool, immaculate restroom/showers, new playground and pavilion, and it's a good start to becoming a first class operation. We liked the back-in sites located at the front of the park, as they appear better established with grassy areas in between sites. The narrow, rough asphalt interior roads and gravel sites in the back remain a work in progress. If you are 40+ feet towing a car and looking for an overnight stay, the pull-throughs are not adequate in length and you will need to disconnect your toad to fit. The owners seem very nice and we wish them well with this new venture and look forward to passing this way again in the future to see their progress. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
This new campground has a very well thought-out design. Bathrooms (very clean) extending off the main hall include a shower, sink, & commode. Facilities are well- maintained. The park is located close to the Kentucky Horse Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
A park with a lot of unrealized potential - just opened a few months ago. Kentucky Horse Park is nearby (10 mi). No discount and over-priced for what you get. Sites are level, gravel with good hookups. However, it would be real fun being here on the hill top during an electrical storm. It's also likely to be muddy - there are many dry rivulets from run off between sites. Asphalt drives are buckling due to poor construction. No shade. Rest rooms / shower area clean and air conditioned. You get your own little room for showering and using the toilet. Wear shower slippers: floor is rough stone cast in concrete. Needs towel racks, clothing hooks, etc. Four of ten rest rooms were inaccessible, including the locked handicapped room. If sewer hookup is not needed, stay at the nearby Kentucky Horse Park which has numerous sites, many well shaded. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Owners are friendly. Location is close to Georgetown but the city doesn't offer much. Interior roads are very narrow. Our rig is 54' long and we had to enter our pull-through site by going through the site behind us. There is no way a longer 5th wheel could be put on most of these sites without a lot of maneuvering. If all the surrounding sites had been full we could not have gotten in or out. Our site was maybe 10' longer than the 5th wheel. Had to park the truck in a vacant site. Pool is very nice with a slide. Laundry is 2 washers and 2 dryers in a very small windowless room. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
The park is new, clean and in good repair. It is in a very rural location with a view of hilly pasture land. A pond/lake with a tiny island and a flock of geese is on one side of the park. A nice large clean pool with a small twisting water slide was next to the office. The packed gravel sites were a mix of back-in and pull-throughs. Many sites were not very level and also not packed nearly as hard as they should have been. The sites that appeared most level and hard packed were on the right side of the hill top as viewed from the office. On Saturday night a live band set up in the park pavilion and played very loudly until well after 10 PM. There is no shade in the park, although this was not a problem for us as the weather was mild. There was no CATV but the free Wi-Fi worked well. This park offers good access to the Lexington area and I recommend it, but only if you select a site on the hill away from the pond and the pavilion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Very nice weekend getaway or stop over when traveling through KY on Interstate 75. This park is very new so things are still underway but everything is very nice and very clean. The owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating. Bath house and pools areas are kept spotless. Will definitely be back again. They had karaoke on Saturday night and was enjoyed by all ages. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
We stayed here two nights, in a back-in site, as a weekend get away. The campground has only been open a few months so it was not very crowded at all. The owners and staff were very nice. The bathrooms are private rooms and very clean. The campground is mostly gravel right now but they have worked hard to make sure the gravel is smooth and level. They have plans to blacktop after everything has settled. They put sod on a lot of the sites I saw so we had nice grass. The pond seemed to have a lot of little fish in it. My son had a ball catching them but nothing big enough to keep. Heard there are bigger fish in there as well. I saw bluegill, large and small mouth bass. No shade trees, but they have planted some young trees. This campground is about 5 miles north of Georgetown. Interstate access is about 5 minutes away. I would guess that you could get to anything in Lexington in about a half an hour. Shopping. Kentucky horse park. Keeneland etc. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
This is a nice new campground. If the owners have the energy and resources to complete their plans, it may someday become a 10. It is not yet there. We were here for only a one night stop over. Our pull through site was barely able to contain our 35' motorhome and attached tow car (total length 55'). There may be longer pull through sites. Back in sites appeared long enough for any rig. Our site could have been more level where picnic table etc. were. Pool is great. Owners and workers are very friendly. As weather permits and the park is complete, I would expect this to become a gem. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
This will be a five star RV park when finished. I say that because its still a work in progress. It's been raining for days so there's mud all over, because not all the landscaping is finished. In spite of that its a great place to stay. Full hook-ups, great wifi, no big trees blocking satellite and super nice owners. The bathrooms are all separate so its like being in a regular house. I will come back and stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Nice, spanking new park with the best hosts we have had the pleasure to stay with in 20 years of camping. This is our second time to stay. We stayed when they first opened in September and made a point of coming back. The park gets nicer each time and the hosts couldn't be more helpful with anything you need. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
This is a brand new park! It does have great bathrooms and pool! They are still building some sites. Pond is wonderful and there are fish! This is going to be a destination park for us next time. They gave us the name of a wonderful pizza place in town where we went to check out the old square. There is a Toyota plant nearby that you can tour as well as the Kentucky Horse Park and old towne Lexington not far. A big tandem Camelot pulled in right beside us...so no big rig issues. They are adding all gravel sites too, for those that like them. There is a large shelter house for groups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
We use this park for an overnighter. This park is new, some sites still being built. The staff was very nice. They have a fishing pond that has big fish in it. The park was very clean the showers were the best I have ever seen. They are all new private rooms: its like being at home. I read past reviews about their bathrooms and showers: they are not wrong. Other parks should look and learn how to do their showers. This park will be one of the top parks when then get it all done. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
Wow, what an experience we had at Whispering Hills. The time spent dealt with severe storms, tornado warnings with heavy rain and wind. With that being stated, the owners of this CG were very concerned about their guests. They were constantly keeping us updated on weather conditions. In fact they came around at 5:30am letting us know about some pending bad storms were coming in the CG direction so we could go to the safe spot on the CG. The whole Midwest has experienced one of the worst April’s in history with large amounts of rain and severe storms. My wife and I decided to leave a day early as there was no relief in sight with the weather. We actually had a small break with sun peeking through so it was our chance to break camp without rain. By the time we were pulling out, another round of storms was coming. The owners deserve much credit for their diligence of working with the guests. They are two of the nicest folks that you will ever meet. They even offered a refund but we declined as it was our choice to leave. This CG will be one of the top in the area (it is new) once all the landscaping is complete. We encourage anyone who is traveling in this area to give this CG a chance (we will be back for sure). It is easy access to and from the I-75 expressway but far enough from the expressway that noise is not an issue. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
Great bathrooms. Best of any campground I have stayed. Each bathroom has a separate entry door with lock that contains a shower, toilet, and sink. Very modern and clean. For those who like privacy when getting ready, this is the place. The pool was closed during my stay but it is large and has a water slide. The playground is very nice for young kids. This park just opened so work continues on the landscape and some of the sites are still in development. It is located in a peaceful country setting with no road noise. It is clear this will be a top rated park in the near future as the owners continue to develop their campground. Also, the owners are extremely nice and helpful. For anyone traveling up and down I-75 near Georgetown, KY, stay a night at Whispering Hills. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
The owners here were really friendly and willing to help us with anything at all. This is a brand new campground, just north of Lexington, Ky., and it is only a couple miles through the countryside, so would be great for overnight stays also. There is a pond with ducks and fish, a large swimming pool with a spiral slide, a playground area with really impressive equipment, and the campground is surrounded by a very picturesque and quiet setting. Their interior roads are all blacktop, and each site has a picnic bench and full hookup. We will come back for sure. FYI: there is a McDonalds at Exit 129 and it is RV friendly. We like breakfast when we leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com