224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Sam Houston Jones State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 63 user reviews. Phone: (337) 855-2665
CGID1236

Sam Houston Jones State Park

Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   8   9   7   7   10   8   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$18
Awesome state park. Small sites but were perfect for us in VW. Loved the trails. Internet was lightning fast as long as you are near the bathrooms, which we were. Free laundry...thanks LA!! Now, the down side was the condition of the bathrooms...pretty bad, use able but bad. We did speak to a park employee and he admitted that the girl who was responsible for them was lazy. She would sign off the cleaning sheet days ahead of time. Apparently the supervisor knows this but states that she is better nothing. Still I would return as park itself is really nice...just bring your flip flops into the shower!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2014
$22
Was awkward to get trailer in the space. The post markers at adjacent sites added to difficulty. After getting in, had to re-locate as electric post was to far removed from the pad. Just had a bit of a run down feel to it. But free Wi-Fi worked OK and the laundry room washers and dryers are free to use which is a nice bonus. Restrooms were iffy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$18
Great value, $18.00 for water & electric, free WiFi (slow) and free washer/dryers (cold water wash only). Really good hiking and biking trails, Frisbee golf, plus nice playground areas for kids. Washrooms were OK but showers could have been a lot cleaner. WiFi was very slow but worked well enough for email. Some sites are very small so go and look at available sites before paying. Overall very good value. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$18
I gave this park a 9 because we stayed in the off season which made it not too squished and because some of the sites had the hookups are way too far back to reach your rig. A lot of spots are very close, however, at least they are staggered which helps a little. Other than those two things we loved this state park. The laundry room was spotless and completely free. Good trails for some walking, quite a few deer roaming around not afraid of people, quiet park, locked/coded gate at night, and park rangers driving through regularly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$18
Wonderfully quiet campground. The restrooms are very clean and plenty of hot water. The 10 second timer on the shower water is annoying and means a one handed shower while the other hand is planted on the airswitch to keep the water coming. Sites are close together but doable and the hookup connections are situated far away on many of the sites. Good to have a few hiking trails close by. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$24
Check-in was a cluster. The office staff were not familiar with the sites and we're not sure what would accommodate our 39 ft. Motorhome. As a result, they suggested we drive around the park, select a site and return to register. They had no concept how inconvenient this would be. Fortunately for us, there was a couple in the office checking in that was more familiar with the park and they suggested a site that worked great. Our experience was further enhanced when they invited us to sit by their fire that evening! The sites are a bit funky with narrow concrete pads and trees. The electrical and water connections were odd and approximately 40 ft. behind the site. There was a lovely hike along the river - it was about 3 miles RT. We saw lots of bicyclists, but we didn't ride. The community dump site was adequate. There was an alarming lack of garbage cans. I only saw one dumpster that was poorly maintained and no other auxiliary cans. I used the restroom to wash my hands after picking up trash on the trail. It was clean and adequate. Overall, this was a good experience and given the area, probably the best option. Bring your mosquito repellant! They are vicious in the evening. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$80
This is a very nice place, we loved it! Peaceful, and out in nature!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$26
The nightly rate reflects a new walk-up service charge (but if you use the internet, you also pay the service charge). The campground is next to a swamp with an alligator warning, so beware if you have pets or small children. The restrooms are badly in need of an update. You must hold the water lever in to keep water flowing in the shower. Site hook-ups were good. We would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
Sites were far enough apart to put slides and awnings out and staggered enough so you don't feel like the next camper is inside yours. Wi-Fi seems to be somewhat restricted by LA State Parks so streaming websites are not allowed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$24
The state park itself is very nice with a couple of trails which are suitable for hiking as well as biking. However, the camping sites are not very well laid out, too close together and little privacy. Try to stay away from site number CI001 as far as possible because this is where the below mentioned noisy pump is located. Very family friendly park, and the kids I've seen seemed to have enjoyed their stay very much. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2012
$20
Even for a quick overnight, we found their site was poor. It was not level, offered no privacy and was next to a "portable" that served as the washroom/shower. The path to the washroom was muddy so it's not surprising that the it was difficult to keep the washroom floor clean. Part of the park has better sites (our friends stayed there) but it's not the best campground experience for sure despite a lovely scenic forest setting nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Little run down. Sites not level, close together and difficult to access. Our site was noisy due to a large pump that kept kicking on and off. Staff very friendly. Area quite pretty, great walking trails and plenty of deer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Very nice park and campground. Staff was friendly and the restrooms were clean. Sites were not very level, but weren't so bad as to be difficult. Nice walking and biking trails, fishing, and a playground for the kids. No swimming area at all, which was very disappointing. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
One of my favorite spots. Be careful as some of the utilities are very far from your site and you need an extension, which I carry. Shade trees, lake, swamp, and bike friendly. I'll be back. Nice staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
This is a very nice park. We stayed 2 weeks. It gets very busy on the weekend, but noise level not a problem. Spaces are not very far apart so it's quite crowded feeling when the park is full. Laundry free and well maintained. WiFi in park, free and worked well. Most of the sites did not have sewer on site, but dump was close by. Verizon worked very well there. Shopping and services reasonably near by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2012
$24
Loop A is over-crowded with sites being very close together and generally not very deep. It appears that the most popular communal activity is watching, and sometimes assisting, new arrivals attempting to back their rigs into these ridiculously small sites. The RV sites in loop B are slightly less crammed together, however, both loops are more typical of what you would find in a private campground rather than in a state park. The campground offers free slow Wi-Fi, free laundry in loop B, and hot showers in both loops. As evidenced by the number of RV’s using leveling blocks and ramps, many sites are in serious need of resurfacing. Also, drainage from many sites is a major issue. If it rains overnight, do not be surprised if you wake in the morning to find your site completely submerged. Road surfaces in the park are excellent, however, the roads in the campground are in poor condition. Sites are $24 through Reserve America, which includes their $6 processing fee. There are five short easy hiking trails (< 1.5 miles) and one 4-mile trail. Fishing, kayaking/canoeing are possible in the park on the Calcasieu River. This is a lovely state park, however, the campground is the worst that I have stayed at in my 3 months of traveling through the Southern United States. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$22
Great camping park. Nice place to walk or ride bikes. Only drawback is sites are closer than I like. Can be hard to get satellite signal. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$9
Rate reflects Golden Age discount (for previous review, they still recognize it, but you have to be a Louisiana resident to use Golden Age discount in LA). This was for a full hook up site. Internet works great, good for walking, biking, great trails. Beautiful park, friendly staff. Plenty of deer, squirrel. Only change I noticed from last review, they removed the trashcans from the campsites and went to a dumpster. Which is fine, but there is one in area 2, and one in the cabin area. Nothing for camp area 1. So you either trek up the hill to the cabins or about a mile to area 2. Seems odd but we made do and still enjoyed the scenic beauty of this park. Park is very quiet during the week. Pretty busy on weekends with local campers, but rangers patrol frequently and everyone seemed to obey most rules. We would absolutely visit here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
LA no longer honors Golden Age/Senior Pass. Our fee was $16 for the W/E site and $6 "reservation fee." We were a walk in and they still charged us the $6 reservation fee. The CG is nice but no extra amenities and not worth $22 a night. We will not stay another night here or in any other LA state park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
We enjoyed camping here. There are two separate camping areas in this park, we camped in site #33 in Area 2. Sites were fairly close together, but the park was empty enough for privacy. Great overall layout with a loop road through the entire park. Lots of deer! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Had a nice pull through site. On a river which my husband enjoyed for fishing. Scenic bayou with nice woods and trails for walking and biking and bird watching. Saw several deer too.. Near town so must get a lot of day visitors. Sadly saw a lot of empty bottles and cans in the inner ponds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$18
A great campground. It's actually closer to Moss Bluff, LA. The road into and in the park is very narrow with some serious curves near the entrance. I took it slowly and had no problem with our 31 footer and toad. The site, number 38, leans a bit, but not enough to need blocking. We're very close to the laundry. This is an unusual thing in a State Campground, but a good thing. The internet signal is strong, but the whole internet thing is odd. I received two emails, so far, that had links to sites. The Louisiana State apparently didn't want me to go there, since access was denied without some unknown password. New to me and odd, to say the least. The staff person was friendly and the area is truly beautiful. Nice trail along the river and various new wildlife i.e. armadillos. Close enough to town for shopping and dining. We'll be here three days, but, so far so good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$16
This park is quite close to Lake Charles, but is delightfully remote in spite of that. The campground is along the Calcasieu River with a large pond (bayou?) on the other side. Plenty of alligators, deer, and other wildlife abound in this refuge. Most of the sites were back-in, paved, with a few pull-through with sewers. The park has some very nice trails suitable for walking or mountain biking. One drawback to the park is the nearly constant drone from the power plant a mile or two downstream from the park. We were there on a nice weekend (nearly full) and during the week (many empty sites) so experienced the range of occupancies. The park is popular for day visitors, but everyone was comfortably accommodated. We used the site as a base to visit a couple of wildlife refuges and found it good for that purpose. Price shown does not include a $6 reservation fee that is charged even if walking up. We'd stay here again in spite of that minor annoyance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$16
From the other reviews we thought we'd really like this park, but found the campsites crowded together. We have a 20 foot travel trailer with a small slide out, and it was right on the edge of the campsite next door. Other sections of the campground may be better but it was winter and they weren't open. Even in winter, was crowded on a weekend. They don't have doggie bags like parks in some of the other states we've visited, and it showed with a lot more dog waste that had not been picked up. We'd planned to stay longer, but moved on after one night and would probably not return here. Fee does not include the $6 reservation fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$18
Great park for overnight or a couple of days of rustic camping. Very clean and quiet area with plenty of wildlife (saw over 10 deer while we were there for one evening). No DirecTV 101 satellite but local channels were good. Water and electricity were close to rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$18
Premium site rate with sewer hook-ups. I like this park although not crazy about the site i booked over the internet, had this park been busy i would have been miserable. We had a pull through site on the outer loop which was right in front of the dump station, had it been busy, motorhomes would have came within four feet of my front door, but oh well keep it in my memory library for next time. This park is one of my favorites for wild life and just the general camping experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$16
A very nice park. I love the shower room. It's your own bathroom and shower all in one at the old camp site part. I can see how some sites are far from hook ups but most aren't. There is good bike riding, good trails and cool wildlife. Please bring some cat food to feed the 2 sweetest kitties by the old nature center. Someone must have left them, but they need food. I would definitely recommend this place. I stayed an extra day, just because. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$11
If you can get parked in your site and if you have long enough electric cords and water hose, this is a pretty good park. We enjoyed our stay, but trees close to the roadway made backing in difficult. We had to use 2 full hoses to reach the water hook-up. The restrooms were clean and the park grounds were beautiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$9
Would have rated it 10 if all sites had sewer hookups. Great state park and price is with Golden Access pass. Has nice hiking trails, biking trails and bird watching. Some sites can be tight because of trees at the pad entrance. Make sure you check the pad length when making reservations for big rigs. Would definitely come back here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$18
It's true that some of the utility hook ups aren't perfectly located, but this is common in older parks around the country. Long-time RVer's generally carry extra water hoses and extension cords so this really shouldn't be a problem for most. The parks beauty more than offsets any small issues about where an electrical hook up is. WiFi is excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$9
This is a tough park for most large RV units to get in and out of. Park has two campgrounds. Camping #1 has 15 tent sites and 22 RV sites. Roads and sites are all gravel. Hookups are all over the map here and most are in the wrong place. You have power and water in center front for two sites, Person in right side will need a long power cable and water hose. Some sites have sewer and that is on wrong side and in rear of site. The sites are set on a cypress swamp. Camping # 2 has 37 sites and are a little better but not much. Roads and sites are asphalt . Sites have table, fire ring, close to level and some had sewer drops in wrong place as well. Power and water were way off on most sites and a small number were in correct place. Angles on sites to road were a problem as well. Trees, trash cans and post close to road all make a mess out of moving in and out of your site. You can damage a large motorhome here if you make any mistakes. On the good side park is beautiful to look at and be in. The cypress swamp has tables on the river next to swamp and walking path all over the place. Bikes work well here. Fishing would be good here. Bathhouse was clean, you have lots of playground equipment for the kids, Wi-Fi was free and worked well and trees keep this place cool. Verizon cell and air card worked well. Sat. dish on the ground may work if you can find a hole in trees. TV over the air picked up a number of channels. Gates are locked at night. Rates were on Golden Age card. Bottom line come here in a small unit and have long power cables and water hoses and enjoy the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$9
This is a gorgeous and fun state park! You do have to be careful with communications and reserving a spot if you have a big rig like ours (40' motorhome). We were warned to book ahead and we did. I called the park office to get help on reserving a full hook-up site that we could fit into. I thought I had done that, but some miscommunication must've taken place at some point. We fit fine but didn't have sewer hook-up. And from reading other reviews, that might have been for the best as the full hook-up spots sound like they have other issues. We did have to go dump once to finish out our 5-night stay, but other than that, we had a great space. This is a very popular park, especially on weekends. Great for biking, both on the park roads and also on the easy dirt trails. Never saw any gators ?? Folks feed the deer and raccoons near one of the trailheads around 6-7pm (photo op!). This is now on my Favorite State Parks list: we enjoyed our stay here so much! (Would be a 10 if there were easy, full hook-ups.) Rate was based on Golden Age Passport: how can you beat that price?!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$17
Nice functional park. Good sites and space between some sites. Had 'Lakefront' site which was really just back against the swamp. The entire campground is a swamp. If it rains, everything is very muddy. Lots of locals doing day visits on the weekends. Great Wi-Fi throughout the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$16
Camp area well kept, but are narrow, Sites are paved but edges are breaking lose, with that said we still love to go. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$19
When I called, she said "Oh, I have a great spot on the Lake" and I said, "I'll take it." The rest just got better... This is a very cool camping spot. Nice facilities and great staff. They have a large pond with turtles, lots of scenic trails, bridges, boat rentals, and fishing spots galore. The ranger that feeds the animals (7:30 am) tossed some feed around us on our morning walk, so the animals would come close. Made for good photos! Our site (#17) was right on the lake, luckily the Gators were hibernating so we didn't have to worry about our bumper being beautifully close to the waters edge. There is plenty of wildlife to see, deer, birds, ducks, wild pigs and raccoons. We'll be back. It was great all the way around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$13
The campground was full due to Mardi Gras. This led to some pretty crowded conditions. There had also been a lot of rain which led to some standing water. Otherwise the campground is pretty nice. It is close to all kinds of shopping, but feels isolated. It is also convenient to the interstate. Staff were friendly. We would stay here again. The price was with senior discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$8
Senior rate, very good value for a 50 amp, water and Wi-Fi back in site. Bath house was extremely clean. Beware the pull through sites (premium) at this park. There are two camping areas, 1 and 2. Area 2 has 4 pull through sites, they are actually double sites, 20' wide, split down the middle with a white line. Straight out of a KOA horror movie. You need to get both sites to be OK. Area 1 has no official pull throughs, but has some end to end sites that might act like one for shorter rigs. If towing you would have to unhook to free up the other site. Highly recommend calling for info on sites before booking. Per earlier reviews some sites have serious tree issues for larger units / slides. But overall there are plenty of sites that are very nice. We would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$9
Louisiana State Parks honor the Senior Pass issued by the National Park Service to those U.S. Citizens 62 years old so we were able to stay in this park for $9.00 a night - wonderful! The park is very nice and has all paved streets as well as paved campsites along with a choice of either 30 or 30 amp electric power. There's no additional charge for 50 amp electric!!! Getting to the park from I-10 takes about 25 minutes and passes through some busy urban area. The host staff is very cordial and helpful. The park is rustic and very beautiful. Access to water related activities is handy to the camp sites. Satellite TV access is good this time of year since there are no leaves on the trees. Verizon Cell Phone and Internet Air Card access is excellent! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$16
Very nice state park. Great place for the kids to play, ride bikes, and just have a good time. WI-FI works great. Very clean bathroom and showers. Only downfall to the showers was the need to keep pressing the shower to keep the water coming out. The sites are closer together than the other state parks we have stayed in Louisiana, but still nice. Also, don't leave any food out. Even though we put our trash in the provided trash cans with the heavy wood covers, the raccoons still were able to topple it over and go to town and make a ton of noise. But hey that is what it is all about. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
What a beautiful park! Friendly and helpful staff in a unique setting: a combination of river and cypress swamp. It rained while we were here, but the site drained very well, and it proved to be no problem. It is quiet at night, well away from highway noise. The huge trees could pose a problem for opening slide-outs on some rigs; I would check my site carefully before reserving it. The amenities of Lake Charles are nearby. Signage makes it easy to get to from I-10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$9
We enjoyed our stay at this park. The employees at the park were very helpful. From I-10, the park is easy to find by following the signs. The only negative to the park are the trees surrounding our campsite. They made it impossible to open some of the bay doors. We also could not use our awning due to these trees. Direct TV satellite will not work due to the trees. The W-Fi in the park was very easy to access and reliable. We stayed in site number 42. We used our Golden Age Senior Pass and received a 50% discount off the regular rate of $18 per night. Wildlife in the park is very tame: numerous deer, squirrels and raccoons. There is a dedicated wildlife area where the wildlife congregate daily; however, they are seen through out the park. There is a Wal-Mart approximately 6 miles from the park. There is a small convenience store less then a mile from the park. We ate at Hollier's Cajun Kitchen in Sulphur, Louisiana. If in the area, we would stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$9
Very nice park. The $9 fee is with the Golden Age Passport; otherwise $18 a night for a Premium site. HOWEVER, be aware that not all premium sites have sewer as implied on their website! I reserved a premium pull-thru (#24) and it did not have sewer. Only sites #1, #5 and #6 are pull-thru with sewer. 13 of the back-in sites have sewer but some of them might a bit tight to get into with a large rig due to trees. There is a dump station at each of the camping sections but much as I like this park, we may not stay as long as we had wished because I don't feel like going through the take-down, dump, set-up again routine. The campground loop road is 1.5 miles, perfect distance for bicycling or walking. They also have several trails through the woods that are marked and indicate distances along each one. Be sure to wear bug screen though as the deer flies do bite! Areas around the ponds are very noisy at night with frogs and other night critters singing their songs. Really neat. There is Wi-Fi for an additional one time fee of $3.00 and works great! We would most definitely stop here again but will make sure we get site #5 or #6! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
Very nice park with very nice personnel. We received a 50% discount for having a Golden Age pass. Lots of deer roaming around, and a beautiful lake just a few yards away. The pull-through sites are somewhat odd; they're long, with one site being in front and the other directly behind. Seems to work OK. We had site #1 and there was a large fenced-in machine of some kind, about 50 yards from us. I don't know what it's job was, but it ran most of the time and was rather noisy, but not too bad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
Great park with wonderful views, good hiking trails and lots of places for bicycle riding. No wireless internet was available when we stayed here, but our Verizon Wireless worked well. Our site had full hookups, no sewer sites were also available for $2 cheaper. Staff was friendly, a ranger was around hourly for security. The only problem was that our site, #11, was extremely small with inconveniently placed trees. We were able to wiggle in our small travel trailer, but any bigger rig would have a lot of trouble. Additionally, hookups were on the wrong side of the trailer which required extra hosing. As long as you don't stay in that particular site, I definitely recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
I really liked this park!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
I liked this park and would go out of my way to stay here again. Wifi could be up and running in the near future, great place to camp. We were hear for three days and visited friends. Why stay at the casino when you have this type of camping available. Restrooms were ok, not sparkling, but ok. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$18
This park is very shaded. The showers are very updated and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2009
$18
Narrow roads and site. The trees were close so we couldn't open slide out and we left. Sites were very close together. Very short parking for our truck and 27' travel trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2008
$8
The rate reflects Louisiana allowing Golden Age Passport use in their State Parks. This Park is kind of shabby-looking and in need of some maintenance. There was trash on the ground at the rear of our site that had been there for a while. It was an okay place for a quick overnight stay; but we wouldn't probably return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$9
I can not say enough about this park. We woke up every morning with deer at our site and they came back in the evenings. We were parked across from the pond and loved it. Security was good and staff helpful. A beautiful park that we would go back to in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$17
Not bad, but could get a better rating if the bath houses were updated. They are old and rusty! And, not very inviting. Good level sites that are paved. However, the water and power connections are a long way from the sites so bring your extensions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$8
Very nice park. Recovering from Hurricane Rita. Reservations went well. Pull-through sites not very friendly for large vehicles with slideouts.(two units share the pull-throughs). Large trees in the camping areas make you be very conscious of your surroundings with large motorhome, but is doable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
We loved this park. It is kept immaculate. The park rangers are constantly patroling the area, empting the trash cans and doing maintenance work. To make things even better, they accept the Golden Age Pass so the usual $18 fee was only $9.00. This is a nice place to just sit back, relax and enjoy nature. The deer even put on a show behind our site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
I love the park. Lots of Shade, Wildlife, My only problem was the raccoons at night getting in the trash can. They are smart little creatures. Oh some of the coons are quite large. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$16
Park is well maintained. Nice trails and wildlife. The campsites are improved with ring & BBQ, but are quite small. few sites are able to fit in slideouts. The campsites are too close together for my taste and further closed in after unhitching and parking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
The park was an absolute joy. Very clean and well maintained. It is an older park, and the sites are very close together.The hookups were on the wrong side on our site, but thanks to a neighbor with an extension for our water hose it worked out . Beautiful park, lots of wildlife. A squirrel ate out of my hand, and lots of deer. We will stay here again. The staff was very helpful and friendly We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
Park rangers very help full when we had some electrical problems. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
We were assigned a site that had a drain pipe emptying into it leaving a pool at the edge of the pad. Park was well maintained, just needs some updating in camp area. Some downed trees still around from hurricanes. Will return when in area. Accepts Federal Golden Access Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$16
This shady campground in a forest is peaceful and quiet, just as we like it. Each site has water and power, and some have a sewer (others can use the dump station). Cold water shower. Six miles of very nice hiking/biking trails leave the campground or nearby and wind through the forest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$16
Very nice park with lots of hiking available. We enjoyed our stay very much and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall, a great place to spend a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$18
Very nice park. The park ranger was always roaming the park (in a truck). Play park for kids was nice. Very quiet and peaceful. Some sites were pretty close together. Site #1 is where I stayed and it was definitely the best site there. It was a Pull through with water and sewer. Many of the other sites are configured to house 2 rv's (both rv's backup back-end to back-end.) Didn't see any alligators, but they say they're there... Small trash can at our site (not sure about every site). Would stay again. Nice park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$18
We stayed in this park for 4 nights while in Lake Charles on business. This park is a real treasure in the Lake Charles area. convenient to most things, yet it's very large and makes you feel like you are away from it all. Hurricane Repairs are still underway and much of the park is closed. However, there are still lots of trees & shade. No pool, but there is lots of wildlife considering where you are... deer, coons, alligators etc. Lots of room to bike ride or go for walks. Nice playground area for kids. Only real negative is that the sites can be tight to get into for a large RV. Our 30ft toyhauler was pretty tight to maneuver. Also, utility connections can be a real pain. Sewer hose will have to run under the RV at many sites. You could also may need extended power cords & water hoses. If you need to a place to stay in Lake Charles, it's worth a stop for sure... In fact, it's worth a visit if the opportunity arises. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$12
Park police was overbearing on everyone. He wanted to make sure you knew he was in charge and what the rules were. No exceptions. Park is clean and nice. Some spots are very close together, and some are very hard to get into. Larger rigs over 30' would have some problems. Campground is located on the river but the park will not allow any swimming in the river. There is a boat launch there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com