214355 User submitted reviews online!!
Fairview Riverside State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (985) 845-3318
CGID1237

Fairview Riverside State Park

Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   7   10   8   5   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
This state park is located in a suburban environment. Traffic coming to the park was heavy and at times at a standstill on a Tuesday around 6 PM. Once in the park, we found an open lawn and tall pines environment with lots of available campsites. Relatively quiet. Gated with combo lock for night entry. Host was friendly, and all business. Water and electric worked fine. Trees close to the campsite made it challenging for backing up our RV. Pad was new asphalt paving. Out in the lawn, it was black soil covered by well-mowed grass, and very wet. We could not set up chairs because of the dampness of soil. Bathrooms were spotless, modern, and private. Cspire phone service was four bar 3G. About 40 DTV over the air stations. The "waterfront" campground is nearer to the Tchefuncte River, but they are not truly waterfront. They are located next to a boat ramp. River was in flood and influenced by tides, so the road to the back camping area was covered in about three inches of water. Several nice boardwalk trails available. Lots of insects, but it is June. Numerous upscale suburban restaurants nearby in Madisonville and Mandeville. Beware of online reservations, there is an added fee making it $8 more expensive to camp versus driving in, but you take a risk of not getting the site you want. We will return again to explore the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$23
Nice park, clean restrooms and showers. I do not recommend this park if you have a 39-foot RV. It was very hard to park due to all the trees. There are a few spots that would work but not many. Would not stay there again only because of getting our rig parked. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
Well maintained park with nice spacious sites. We took a premium site, because it was the only one that had a beautiful view of the bayou. We walked around and all the regular sites were just fine, no water views. Nice boardwalk and trails though the woods. WiFi actually worked as advertised. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$46
The rate reflects that Reserve America required a 2 night minimum, although we only wanted one night. It looked on Reserve America as though they would honor Golden Age Pass if your state does, but they only honor it for Louisiana, Maryland and Delaware. We could not cancel the second night. Sites are close. The tables are on a concrete pad and your neighbor's table is right next to your paved site. It is odd. Bathrooms are individual with showers, and very clean. It is a pretty park. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
Lovely location. Well maintained with clean restrooms. Easy access from I-12. New Orleans is easy accessible via the Lake Ponchartrain causeway. ($6 toll for an RV.) We parked our 31 ft RV on the parking lot near Algiers ferry. We paid 5 $ for the day and felt safe. To get to the French Quarter we used the free ferry over the Mississippi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$22
Great park. Large sites with nice fire rings and grills. Bath house looks new and was clean. Interior roads are narrow and tight in some places. Most of the park is very muddy after rains and is messy. Rating would be a "9' if sites had sewer hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$18
Sleepy little park. Great playground for kids. Dock near the river good for casting but not much fish-catching going on from here. 10 minute nature walk. Very neat old museum on site for grown-ups to tour. Friendly old dog walkers all about. Not much to do, especially for kids. I was told that during March-April (I think) the camp site fills up with locals who want to spend several days fishing in the river. This is a great park if you have a boat and are into river fishing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
Beautiful sites. New showers, laundry building. Trees, grass, spacious. Close to stores of all kinds. Close to LA lake Ponta chain causeway. Stayed 4 days instead of the planned 2 as it is lovely and mostly empty. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$23
Out of dozens of outstanding campgrounds visited all over country, this is the finest yet. Large park with grass and trees, all manicured, and paved, level roads and sites with generous separation. We are in 24 foot motorhome. Chose site nearest river with excellent view. Restrooms are super clean with individual dressing stalls with shower. Good laundry. Area is an upscale bedroom community for New Orleans--everything you need is available nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$18
I really liked this small park. It was immaculately kept. The sites all had nice picnic table and fire ring. Although the sites were fairly close it just did not see cramped. There are lots of open space around and each site is blacktopped. There are two sets of bathrooms. One is very new and beautiful for a campground. The other one is older but still very clean ( and they are in the process of replacing it with a new bathroom. There is a very nice walk along the river and a marsh walk. There are also large open picnic areas. The sites are a bit tight to get in because of the pine trees. When my husband first saw our site he thought he would never get in but he got in with only a little bit of maneuvering...he is pretty good at this. Other sites were not as tight but this is something to consider. I am sure we will be back to this campground because it is very nice and close to areas we want to go. Next time I will work to make sure we get campsites in the back loop because they are right next to river and quieter and easier to get into. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$18
This is a beautiful, peaceful, clean level park. Perfect for bike riding. Very clean. Level sites. We stayed on a site close to boat ramp. Very quiet and relaxing. Showerhouse was by far BEST I've ever seen. Clean and very well kept. Other parks could learn from this one how to keep a showerhouse. WOW. How nice it was to feel so comfortable there. Heat was on so it was nice and toasty to shower there. Only con was the person at the gatehouse seemed in a really bad mood when we checked in. She made us wait while she had a conversation w/a camper who had walked up to the window. She was not pleasant at all. We refused to let her poor attitude ruin our trip. I can't wait to come back and camp here again. Hopefully someone else will be on duty at the gatehouse, or that person will be in a much better mood. Lots of neat looking places near by to shop and eat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$18
During the week its quite but a lot of reservations for the weekend. Level sites and paved pads. Fire pits and picnic tables. Friendly and helpful staff. Close to boating activities and fishing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
Limited 50amp sites; no sewer, but nice state park campground. Pads are narrow. Upper sites are the best. People make weekend reservations way in advance. Campground is about 5 miles off I-12, but easy access for big rigs. Quiet and secure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$13
Fairview Riverside is a very nice state park. We tried a new spot by the river but the water was high that weekend. Our site was on the east side of that area and flooded in late afternoon so we had very little outside "sitting" area. Picnic table slab was under water. That was the only downside for this stay, we go here on a regular basis and it's our favorite park so far. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$8
LA state parks are the best places to camp while in LA. If you are a senior, you can't beat the price. Fairview is well groomed, quiet (with the exception of weekends), beautiful and close to conveniences. I highly recommend staying here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$9
Great State Park. We stay here everytime we are in the area. We stay in the back loop because there isn't that many trees to allow satellite reception. There is a small museum at the entrance which is nice/interesting. Close to a number of nice restaurants and shopping. Our rate was based on Golden Access Pass. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$18
The park office was open until 10 pm, which was convenient for late-arrivals. I was in the smaller back loop, along the river. This was advantageous because there were fewer campers sharing the bath house. It was also fairly open and is a good area for big rigs (sites 61-84). The bath house was climate-controlled, clean and overall very nice. There was one washer and one dryer there. Sites had a fairly level pad just wide enough to park the RV on, which was necessary because of the wet conditions. Otherwise the ground was very saturated which made for muddy walking with the dog. There were boardwalks through a swamp and along the river, as well as a dock, boat ramp and boat slips. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2009
$18
Facilities were well maintained. Staff friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi strong and reliable. Laundry equipment was nearly new and worked well. Some shade but satellite TV worked fine. Lots of dining and shopping choices nearby. I was in northern area, along river, and sites were closer together than I've come to expect at state parks. Very prone to flooding along river. It rained off and on while I was there and ground ranged from very muddy to under water. Sites in center of area flooded least but were still consistently muddy. Southern area didn't seem to have nearly as bad a flooding problem. More shade there so satellite TV might be a little difficult. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
We like staying at Fairview Riverside State Park, especially in the section close to the water. Almost all sites are shaded and the staff is very friendly. The only drawback is no sewer hookup; so at check-out time you have to wait in line with everyone else trying to get out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2009
$9
Fairly nice park but security was lacking during our stay. Noisy late night parties and loose dogs made for sleepless nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
This is a very nice clean state run park. I found the staff to be friendly and very helpful upon arrival. I stayed in the rear area of the park near the river and liked walking the pier and boardwalk in the woods. I found the Wifi to be very good. I enjoyed my morning coffee on the pier watching the sun come up.. very peaceful. I will be staying here on and off on many more little weekend visits. There is a 2 week max stay, I can see why now. Too many would stay here if not. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
This is a great state park. The grounds are very well maintained, and our back-in site was level and easy to get in to. Some of the sites in the first area looked a little tricky with the trees. The bathhouse by the river looked new, and it was very nice and clean. The wifi service was excellent. This was a good location for us to stay in and make a quick trip into New Orleans.The surrounding area was a nice area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
Our site was paved and required little work to level the trailer. The restrooms were very clean, modern, and air-conditioned. We had a water-front site and the view was spectacular. A laundry room is available next to the restrooms. The park has a great playground for the kids. We just stayed for a night on the way through, but plan on returning for a long weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$16
We stayed here once. We live close by. We camped in the front part and were very dissatisfied. The back part was much nicer. Had to listen to drunken arguments at next camp site. Lots of worker's staying here. Nothing here to entertain children. Nice fishing pier in back. I doubt that we stay here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$16
This was our first trip with our new trailer and it was excellent. The campground is very clean. The bath houses were also very clean as well. We visited the Otis House Museum and was given a tour. It was informative and even held a child's attention. The only thing camper's need to be aware of is that some sites are problematic because of Pine trees. The trees can make getting in and out a nightmare and could also prohibit you from using your slideouts. I also loved the wireless Internet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$16
This is a real nice campground located on the river. The best sites are located near the river where they have a new bath house. Lots of space to ride your bike and they also have 2 play grounds in which the kids love. Also, it is conveniently located to restaurants and grocery stores. We stayed here twice, and it is my wifes favorite campground. Definitely would be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$18
Very nice state park campground. Front section is near the highway with many pine trees which can create some tough situations when backing into a site. The rear section is more open scenic and located on the shores of the Tchefuncta River. Interior roads and sites are paved and angled for easier back in. Free Wi-Fi is available with several access points throughout the park. Large, clean bathhouse and small laundry with 1 washer and 1 dryer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$16
This is my second favorite park in south LA. There is a boardwalk extending the length of the river, another boardwalk extending into the swamp. There are two play areas for the kids, one has an excavator(can't get my son off it) that digs in a sand pit. It consists of two camp areas, either area is really nice. Only one camp area gives you a river view, though. Don't miss a riverfront dinner on the porch at Morton's. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$18
Great park. There are many pine trees located in this park. You should call the park to get information on each site as the trees present some problems with slide outs and awnings. Some sites seem very short. This is one of my favorite parks, just plan ahead to make sure you get a spot that your rig will fit in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$16
Sites are a little crowded but the local campers are always friendly and we come away with new friends each time we camp here. The campground land was donated by a wealthy New Orleans businessman and his home, which was built in the late 1800s, is open for free guided tours. The park is also an easy 45 minute drive into New Orleans. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$8
Park now has all new blacktop roads and sites. Sites are more or less level. Large number of trees to park under. Number of sites out in sun and very close to river. Very nice place to spend some time. Fire rings on ground and no tables. Price is on Golden Age Card. Some sites may be very hard to get in and out of with large unit due to trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$16
We stayed here for New Years weekend. The park was recommended by several friends who could not say enough about how nice it was. The park was very clean, but also very small. We have stayed in many Louisiana State Parks, and frankly expected more. The front part of the park is right off of the roadway and the roads are quite difficult to navigate. There are trees in the park (pines) which certainly could have been placed in better spots. Some of these made it very difficult to back into the site. I had to make several adjustments forward and back just to be able to open the slides and extend the awning. There are still several long time residents in the park, which certainly look as though they have been there for a while. The back section of the park certainly looks like it would be the better choice, these sites have a view of the river. It was not a bad experience but just did not live up to my expectations of the other State Parks that Louisiana has to offer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$18
This is a super State Park. It has been rebuilt since the hurricane, with a new boardwalk and an almost completed bathhouse. There were no FEMA trailers! Our site was close to the river, easy in and out. We caught bass in the river. I would highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$16
This was our first time at this campground. The campground was a little small- you could see all the way across it. The sites were a little hard to get into. There were a number of trees really close and it was hard to maneuver the truck with the trailer & roll the awning out. In the back of the park was a nice circle of sites. If I go back I will try to stay in that area. The only problem we had was the "resident" campers. Since hurricane Katrina there is a lot of construction workers living in RV parks. There were a number of these "campers" in Fairview on the weekend we went. Most of them were respectful of the kids on there bikes, but at night we had a few uninvited "guest" come over and try to start up conversation...it's funny it usually happened around supper time when we were frying fish or cooking steaks. We had to keep and extra close eye on the kids because of this. I was uncomfortable, but overall it a nice place. I'll give it some more time an maybe the workers will clear out as the local neighborhoods finish up there rebuild. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
We had driven thru recently and was very pleased with the park. Very clean, and spacious. We were anxious to camp there and it exceeded our expectations. Nice staff, quiet park, and gorgeous scenery. We are going back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$16
Great Park. Fishing, friendly staff. Had a great time. One of the best parks I have been to so far. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2005
$12
Nice state park. Roads and sites are blacktop. Great view of Tchefuncte River from some sites. Playground equipment for kids, fishing from pier in park, lot of large shade trees to park under. 14 day max stay and half price on Golden Age Card. Number of good restaurants close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$12
A nice state park, with friendly staff, clean showers & a river. It is a real bargain and close enough to New Orleans to have some tourist appeal. We have stayed there several times & have always enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$12
One of the nicest State Parks we have found anywhere in the U. S. Nice shaded lots, all paved sites, good paved roads. Friendly and helpful staff. Several excellent seafood restaurants nearby: Morton's and also Koffee Can. This little town is on Tchefuncte River. Easy to get to from I-12. Good base for trips to New Orleans, Hammond, Slidell. This is a park that is well worth the stop for overnight or several weeks. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$12
Great park for fishing, crabbing, and boating. Very friendly people. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com