219990 User submitted reviews online!!
Twelve Oaks RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (337) 439-2916
CGID12402

Twelve Oaks RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
64
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   9   2   5   2   7   6   8   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$34
After reading a couple reviews I though this park would be great. It was not. It was okay, but I think most of the people staying here are living there permanently. Lots of stuff junking up the sites. Site next to us had a old camper, a trailer, a motor cycle, and truck. There were barking dogs that no one tried to quite. The staff was friendly and had free donuts, hot chocolate and ice, which was nice. I just did not feel comfortable in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$34
This campground is a real gem. Located right in town we had easy access to restaurants and stores. Management was friendly and provided us with free coffee and donuts. They have a sheltered common outdoor cooking area with fridge, store, microwave and grill that anyone can use. Our pull through site had a fancy coach light fixture and bench for resting outside. The place had many winter residents and several came over to chat with us. We enjoyed this overnight stay and will return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$32
Clean. Grass at Sites can be soggy if recent rain as there is limited drainage. They are concrete and good leveling. Not right on the freeway and that is good. Close to restaurants and shopping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
I had planned to stay here for 3 nights to attend an event and made reservations several weeks in advance. When I arrived, the owner told me he had no space available anymore. My site was given away to someone who wanted to stay "a couple of more days." I would not attempt to use this RV park again. If the park owner will not honor reservations, why would anyone risk losing a site again. To the man's credit, he did find another RV park for me that had space available -- a very nice one that has received top reviews and a place I will definitely stay again if the need arises. Honestly, what could be more frustrating after driving for several hundred miles, negotiating heavy traffic, missing the turn because the park had no signage, finding a place to turn around (towing a car) and then being fold my campsite was given away? If you are willing to take the risk, good luck! I am not! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
Not a good park for snowbirds. No activities and the clubhouse is in with office. No privacy to socialize with friends; clubhouse is cluttered with all these places to sit, but too much cheap decorations so it is uninviting. Complaints about break ins, dogs left unattended, barking dogs, pet park under water due to low land, no waste bags most of time so we used our own. Owner is very nice, but manager has problems. When raining: the sites have a low spot that holds water. I would recommend for overnight stops only, or working men! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2013
$40
Old run down mobile home park that has turned into a joke as far as rv parks go. Lots of broken up concrete and in most sites if it rains you have to wade in water to leave your rv. The manager at this rv park is very rude and talks about everyone. Mostly workers staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$40
This campground appears to actually be more of a trailer park with nearly all spots occupied by full timers or RV trailer storage. Very limited actual overnight RV camping available. We would stay there again, but I would call ahead to check availability. Friendly staff and convenient to Walmart. Paved roads and sites. Very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$35
The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The park has a significant amount of full timers that are working in the area. It is walking distance to a WalMart Supercenter. This is not a fancy park but the staff are so warm and welcoming we liked staying here for the night. They have a large pet area, but it had rained for several days, and much of it was underwater at the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$34
We stayed here in a 36' Meridian Itasca and had a tow car. It was rough pavement getting in and out with cracked pavement on 80% of the sites. That being said, they were level and nothing that made the stay difficult. In fact, the long term campers/workers and the owner and his staff were superior in their PR. Fresh coffee and donuts available in the very friendly clubhouse with an inviting corner fireplace and 60" television screen. Great dog run with agility equipment, but after a few days of heavy rain, we didn't use it because of the large puddles. We would stay here again. Excellent Wi-Fi and cable and you can't beat the hospitality. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2012
$32
Am I the only one who noticed that this park is a joke? The electric, water and sewer hookups are on the wrong side in many sites. Add to this, they are way to far away from the site to be convenient. I found most sites very small for most of today's rigs. It is anything but easy to enter unless you are pulling a 16 foot unit. I feel this is a park that could have been good, but isn't. They have tried to make an RV park out of a trailer park but are cutting too many corners trying to cram more units into the space than there should be. Be aware that their ad is very misleading. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$31
A fine stay for most sized rigs, however, I believe they are a bit embellishing their "big rig" friendliness. It is not a friendly layout to get a dual rear axle coach plus toad parked. Spaces long enough, just access difficult. No CG store, supplies or propane. One toilet/shower for entire campground. Not much to do real near place, Wal-Mart though is close. They continue to make improvements, but just a "meh" place for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
We chose this park based on previous reviews on this site and the relative easy off/on access to I-10. Our biggest problem was the turn into the park had a small sign, which we finally saw as we went by the turn. The spaces are close together, but not packed in like sardines. There are concrete pads in each space. Management and staff are very helpful with information on local area attractions. The WiFi and cable tv worked excellent. The tv channel selection was extensive. The bathrooms and showers were well maintained. The shower stalls have good room for changing, but there was only one shower/bathroom each for men or woman. The nightly rate ($31.50) was with a 10% Good Sam discount and taxes added. We would stay here again if we visited the Lake Charles area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Great for overnight stay. Staff is friendly, amenities are clean. Nice communal areas with large screen TV that the staff is more than happy to have you use. No alcohol permitted inside the rec room. Concrete pads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
We arrived at this location fairly late at night (10:30PM). That said, we were still shown to our pull-through site by the maintenance and landscaping man. He was very friendly and told us we could pay the following morning. The park was very clean and quiet. The restroom was quite clean and showers were great. The staff was pleasant, friendly and helpful. The site was wide and long enough for our 33' coach and TOAD. We will definitely stop here again if it works out in our travel schedule! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
We stayed here for one night while passing through. Great place for a short time. Level sites. Management really nice and helpful. Easy to get to from interstate. Would stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
The park is located about 1 miles off of I-10 and easy to find and access. We were on a concrete pull through site with plenty of space between the sites. It appears there are a number of RVs there for long term stays. Aesthetically it's not an attractive park. I wouldn't want to stay there for a long period but it was okay for an overnight stop. A WalMart is located near the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$13
We just spent 5 months here for the winter. It is a great place to stay for overnight or long term. Lots of the residents are workers and everyone was friendly and quiet. The owners had several complimentary Cajun food days. It was delicious. All of the hookups were good. Wi-Fi was hit and miss at times but strong and fast when up. Cable TV was good. The area is one of the most friendly we have been to. I highly recommend this park. If it had a pool and activities it would have been a 10 for us. Nice area and good people. The price shown is based on monthly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$27
We spent two nights here with our 150 lb Leonberger, getting (literally) the last spot available. Jennifer, Tom, and their staff were wonderful and hospitable, helping us with information, directions, and whatever else we needed. The park seems a mix of full time residents and those 'passing through'. All the facilities, including the fenced in pet area, were as advertised and the WiFi was excellent for us. The park was nice and quiet, but also convenient to a major road leading into downtown Lake Charles, 15 minutes drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$26
Well maintained campground. Level sites, all utilities worked well. No cable TV, but local channels came in fine on an antenna. Wi-Fi worked well. Very friendly and helpful owners are working very hard to get park in order. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
Friendly hosts who left a light on for us because we arrived late. Easy to get to the park from I-10 and very peaceful. Concrete sites and a great dog park. We will stay here again. Only negative would be the showers could use a little scrubbing. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$27
Great park. New. For others wanting to create an RV park - take a look at this one and make a copy. Well done owners. The only thing missing is picnic tables at site, but I'm sure they are on the shopping list. Dog Park is the "Rolls Royce" of parks. Even has a pool and training equipment for dogs, all fenced. Great bathrooms - spotless. Big Friendly welcome. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$21
This little park is doing it right. Nice level concrete pads, soft lighting and clean area all the way around. Wonderful staff. Having only been open since February this year, they are going to be a great stop for anyone visiting the Gulf Coast area. All my best to them! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
This park is fairly new, opening in February. The sites are level concrete pads. Green grass and well lit at night. The park is located away from the highway and is quiet. There’s plenty of shopping nearby at Wal-Mart. You feel welcomed from the minute you arrive. Looking for sights and things to do in Lake Charles, The staff can give you all kinds of information. They told us about a little honky-tonk just up the road called Grainger’s. Not much to look at from the road, but once inside, a warm friendly atmosphere. The best gumbo and potato salad in Lake Charles. That’s a must stop when you’re in Lake Charles. We will definitely stay at Twelve Oaks again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
2 Restrooms & Showers clean includes shampoo and soap. Sites were level with cement surface. Mostly back in with one row of pull thrus with level sites. Park roads are paved. Turns are a little tight for bigger rigs but it is doable. Park is a work in progress but what is done is done nice. The work continues but does not interfere with other things. Park is a quiet park. Internet owners is continuing to make improvements and friendly. Stayed one night passing through but would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
Former Mobile Home Park which the owner has turned into an RV Park. All brand new electric, water, and sewer hook-ups and new concrete pads. Roads are a bit narrow, but there is nothing to hit if you make a turn a bit to sharp. This is a good spot for overnighting (close to I-10) or a longer stay exploring the area. Owner is on site and very congenial. We had no problem getting in with our 40' rig, and would stay again when traveling through this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$27
This is an old park that they are renovating. They are using old concrete and adding new which makes it rather rough. It is very tight and while it will accommodate a 40' rig, it's only because it's empty and you can take up several spots while swinging to get in. They've also installed lamps that are difficult to avoid with slides. It is priced right though and there is nothing else in Lake Charles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
This park was an old mobile home park that was destroyed during Katrina. The owner (an RVer) bought the property & is building a new RV park. The park just opened recently & there is construction still on-going but it is shaping up very nicely. The spaces are very large with very good lighting & concrete pads. I think the daily fees are a bit high but the weekly & monthly rates are very fair. At present there are 6 large pull-throughs & about 30 large back-ins. Just 1.5 miles off I-10, easy to find. Very close to shopping, Wal-Mart, etc. Ask about Grangers, best gumbo & potato salad we have eaten for a while. It is a Good Sam & FMCA park. We camped here in a 40' RV with a towed car, and there was plenty of room to park both on our pull-through site. Plan to come back in the fall for at least a two week stay. Would of rated it higher but there is on-going construction, I'm sure it will be a 10 rated park soon We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$27
We stayed here as an overnight pit-stop knowing the park was still under construction. When finished it will be top-notch, but right now there is work and construction going on. We had our own private lamppost at our site... as did all others. The owner was on-site and was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Walmart was close by. Would like to return when it is complete. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com