224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Paragon Casino Resort RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 76 user reviews. Phone: (800) 642-7777
CGID1241

Paragon Casino Resort RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
237
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   8   7   10   10   9   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$10
Loave this campground, very clean, nice sites, most are pull-thrus. Great price with Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$21
This park is very clean and well maintained. The sites are large and level with grass and trees. The pool was cool, clean and refreshing. The office personnel were friendly and helpful and the shuttle service to the casino was very prompt. The casino is first class, as is the RV park. Be sure to see the swamp display and alligators in the hotel lobby. We look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$9
The main reason to stay here is to go to the Casino! That said it is a very well kept resort with good size sites, well maintained, and cheap. Cable reception was good as was internet WiFi and Verizon. Price reflects passport discount and they discount that when you get points on the players club card. The only suggestion I have is that the should spread out the campground occupied sites. With such a large campground why cluster everyone together? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$10
This park has full hookup sites with cable TV and Wi-Fi that worked OK for us in the RV. Most sites are long pull-throughs on cement pads and patios. The amenities (pool, playground, adjacent golf course, etc.) are resort quality. The big negative for this park is that they still allow customers and employees to speed in the park and the area between the lodge and the casino. Customer safety is of no importance to them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
Great casino RV park. Easy access. Level concrete pads. Everything works. Good buffet. Can't beat the price. We have stayed there many times and will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$10
Well designed park, good sites, facilities function as expected, restrooms/showers well maintained. Easy access and big rig maneuvering. Sites are great size and lay out. Casino was fun. We'll be back. Rate reflects Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$17
Nice RV park. Very quiet during the night. WIFI and cable included and worked very well. $5 fee to use Casino indoor pool. Entrance is on Slim Lemoine Rd south of casino. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$1
Very nice RV park. Rates a 10 if it had on site, all season, pool and hot tub. Showers are very nice but hot water was not hot enough for me. They also need a mat in the dressing area. Casino crap table activity was slow during the week as were the free drinks. Park is a real bargain at the PA rate. Our 4 day stay was comp’ed due to our modest ($$) gambling. Be sure to get a bill on check out to insure comps were indeed registered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$6
We stayed here for a total of 9 days in October. We were here two2 days (free on coupons) the first week of the month and then for a full week at the end of the month (2 free nights and 5 on PPA). As usual we had a FHU, pull-through with 60+ channel cable TV, and free WIFI that worked well for us. Most sites appear to be level and satellite friendly as was ours. Even on the one weekend that we were here, the park was only about 1/3 full, so we didn't have a lot of problems with crowds and noise. Yes, the LSU fans ride around in carts, but I didn't notice any significant noise from the revelers after 10 P.M. Although I did not see any underage golf cart drivers this time, there were still plenty of speeders (both customers and employees) to make walking around the park and to and from the casino very dangerous anytime of the day or night. Management continues to ignore a safety issue which could be easily fixed with a little effort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$11
This is still a very nice & clean park since our last visit 18 months ago. We have stayed here many times over the last 7 years, however, management seems to be getting very lax. Our last visit was during a LSU football weekend. There are many LSU fans that seem to come here to tailgate & party on football weekends. The only problem is the excessive noise level of the parties, and the very loud music coming from the golf carts slowly cruising the streets until 10 pm. I would like to see management control the noise a little better. Rate is PPA rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$11
Price reflects Passport America rate for 30-amp, W/E/S, cable TV & Wi-Fi site. Pull-through concrete sites are level. The amenities are great for the price, but the showers and restroom need attention. There is no reason for dirt and crud to be built up in the corners. Grout in the showers is crumbling and missing. We have been staying at this park for over 10 years and have seen a steady decline in the cleanliness of the restrooms & showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$10
Rate reflects free night coupons, 5 days on PPA, and GS discounts. We stayed here two seperate weeks: one included the Mother's Day weekend and the other included the Memorial Day weekend. Our site was a level, cement pull-through, FHU, with 60+ channel cable TV. This describes mosts sites but there are about 30 back-ins and 30 cabins. The Wi-Fi worked well at our site most of the time but was a little slow on the busy weekends. The staff was unable to keep the bathrooms very clean because of the crowds. My main problem with this otherwise very good RV park, is the way that their management continues to fail to enforce their own safety rules. In particular: many drivers often excede the posted 10 MPH limit by 10+ MPH. Many customers also break the rule about only licensed golf cart drivers. I've seen children under 10 behind behind the wheel. I guess the resort is afraid to lose the business of a bunch of self-important customers at the risk of the safety of eveybody else. Money rules. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
Camped here several times, all concrete pads with plenty of room. While a casino, took grandkids and they have great attractions for children which is well overseen by more than competent staff. Couple of good restaurants and a golf course that is well maintained. Swimming pool is very good for children of all ages We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$15
I give very few 10's, but this one deserves it. I had to look hard to find anything that could have been improved upon, but I guess it would be the WiFi, which was marginal. We were able to connect about one out of every four times we tried, and even then we frequently lost the signal. Other than that, this is an excellent park to stay at. You call the operator, and they immediately send a shuttle to take you to the casino, pool, or wherever. The only shortcoming at all was that it was located in Marksville, which is not exactly a pleasant city to visit. Other than that, well worth the visit. They also give Passport America and Good Sam discounts, plus they run specials. We paid $5.95 for the first three nights, and $22 for the weekend nights. You just can't beat that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$12
Very nice RV Park. I would give them a 10 except for a few items that detract from being a true, first class, resort. Check in took ½ hour due to a long line and only one person working. Unless you study your bill, you may miss the $1/day fee for use of the Resort and RV Park. This is a nuisance charge similar to the fee Hotels charge for the safe in your room. Showers need a mat and a bench in the dressing area. Hot water was barely acceptable in the Handicap accessible area. Rate ($11.73) is the average of a 5 day stay, including 2 weekend days at the Passport America rate. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$10
I delayed reviewing this park because I expected to stay here twice on this 5 week trip. We have stayed here almost every May and October for 15+ years. We have averged 15-20 days a year at this park. This year we did not make our usual May trip but made it back in October. We stayed here 4 days the first week of October. We had FHU, pull-through site with 60+ channel cable TV and WI-FI that worked well for us on site. I don't think the park had more than 40 RVs in it during our entire stay. I have indicated in recent reviews of this park, most of the facilities and amenities are top notch but the management does things that create a very dangerous situation for customers. Again, I saw vehicles flying down the 10 mph road/parking area between the RV park lodge and the casino at 25+ mph. All my prior complaints about this have been ignored. At the end of October, we stopped here on a Monday to spend 3-4 more days on our way home. We expected the the park to be sparsely used the last week of the month. The park was completely booked for the week mainly because of a Good Sam rally. I am sorry that they are so inconsiderate of their regular customers that they would book a group so large as to shut out everybody else. Management caters to speeders (by removing speed bumps) and large groups that fill the park. I guess I don't rate since I am neither. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$7
This is a fantastic park. Everyone was very friendly. We were pleasantly surprised to find they had a special rate. The price was half the quoted rate. Security makes regular passes through the park and the shuttle was available 24/7. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$6.5
This was our first trip in our new RV. I am glad we started out with the best. The park is great very clean and well kept. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. We arrived on a Thursday, not too many people here, but by Friday it started filling up fast. A shuttle provides door to door service to the casino. We will most certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$13
Price is Passport America weekend rate for full hook-ups, concrete pull-through site. Wi-Fi and cable TV included. Rate goes down during the week. Clean restrooms and showers. Park was only 15 to 20 percent full on a Friday night. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$9
This is a park we have stayed at previously. The rate reflects a Passport America discount. This is a clean, well-maintained park with paved, level pull-throughs. Cable and Wi-Fi work well. Trees are planted in the green space separating the sites are still immature, but will eventually provide shade. The staff is friendly and helpful. We planned on staying 2 days but added an additional 2 while waiting to see where Tropical Storm Debby was going before proceeding to New Orleans. The park is part of the Paragon Casino complex. Shuttle buses run routes from the park to the casino for those interested in trying their luck or enjoying the buffet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$9
Excellent RV sites are long & level. Very nice clubhouse, laundry room, & restrooms. Weekdays are nice because most sites are unoccupied. On weekends, the occupancy rate increases dramatically. An excellent value on PA rate of $8.50 for weekdays. One of our favorite parks, will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$11
You cannot go wrong in the RV park unless you want lots of grass or big trees. Each spot is spotless and on level concrete with a nice patio beside each site. Lots of room between each site. A bit noisy but all the noisy died down at 11pm. You phone the office and a bus comes right to your site for a trip up to the casino and or restaurant. We'd recommend this RV resort and It's a Passport Am. Price of $11 for the weekend... wonderful. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$17
Nice Park with good facilities. Perfect if you wish to get rid of your gambling bug on the way home. Large sites with nice patios. Kind of in nowhere-land though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$12
There has been a significant improvement in the maintenance of this park since we were here last. The sites have been cleaned well and the overall appearance is much better. It already had the ingredients for a great park, just needed some care. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$8
The best RV resort anywhere in the country at the price...$8 w/our Passport discount, Good Sam was only $15. Level concrete pads. Very clean and nice new place; trash pick up can at each site. Very helpful staff. A beautiful rec room with pool tables, TV's, etc. Would be a great place to travel with several others if there are spaces available. We were there for off season, and it was wonderful. Door to door shuttle to casino. Local Wal Mart, local restaurants, what more did we need. Local historic sites. We toured the area and up to Alexandria. Stayed 4 days because it was so nice to be in a quiet place and we really had no schedule. The casino is the most significant of the area attractions. But at the set up and prices this place is a 10 rating-about 24 miles from Alexandria, off Hwy 1 a back 2 lane road. Recommend it to all big rig RV'ers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$10
I am surprised to see that only one person has reviewed this park since I last did so in May. The rate I show is a combination of 5 days PPA, 2 freebies, and 1 day with Good Sam. Two updates since my May review: 1) The Wi-Fi is now free but they are having some glitches with it so it sometimes goes off. 2) In keeping with their lack of concern for customer safety, they have removed several speed bumps that used to be on the interior resort road between the RV park lodge and the casino. In spite of a posted 10 mph speed limit, people now have nothing forcing them to slow down. Evidently, the management of the resort "caved in" to the self important speeders who place their "right to speed" ahead of the safety of others. Fortunately, many of the "area workers" who were here back in May were not here anymore and the park was only about 1/4 full for most of our 8 day stay, so interior traffic was not too heavy. Next year I will cut the length of my stays even more if management's priorities remain anti-safety. Still a very good park with fine facilities and lots of amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Well planned out. Very friendly. Quick transport to casino. Too close together. Not enough shade. Quick support when our fuse messed up. Nice pool and game area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$4
Rate based on numerous comps, discounts, and freebies. Due to nearby Mississippi River flooding this May, we ended up staying for one 14 day stay (our longest stay anywhere, ever). As usual, the facilities and amenities are very good but, once again, management's failure to control dangerous behavior by some customers lowers the park's score. The biggest problem I have is with customers driving 15-25 mph through the park. I made numerous oral and written complaints to park personel, security, and management with no evident results. The resort management seems to place profit above safety. I my last review for this park, I mentioned that the "chalets" were no loner available. They have now been removed and the sites have been turned back into RV sites. Most of these, however, were occuppied by area pipeline workers (they seem to be part of the speeding problem) while I was there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$9
We have camped here numerous times in the past. There must have been a recent change in management. Vehicles are allowed to park on the grass and in unoccupied sites. One person, checking in late, had to go back to the office to ask that a p/u truck move from the site that was rented. There are cigarette butts, beer can rings, and small pieces of paper on many of the sites. It is a shame since this cg has great facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$7.5
Very nice park with paved, level sites, shuttle to casino with all its amenities. Well laid out utilities and sufficient room; grass between sites. Pay WiFi via vendor. There is just one little quirk that bothered me. They insist on photocopying your ID (due to "tribal police policy") when you register, which is a risk for ID theft/counterfeiting. If this bothers you, don't go out of your way to find this out when you register. Somewhat off the beaten path, and watch out for a tight turn in Bunkie on the return to I-49. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$10
This is our 4th stay here this year (twice in May for 10+ days and twice this month for 11 days total). The rate is low due to "comped" days and discounts (PPA and GS). For those of you who have been here before, the 20 or so chalets on the south side of the park are no longer being rented. I heard several conflicting stories about why. The cabins on the east and north ends of the park are still available. As noted by others, the park has level, FHU, pull-throughs with WiFi, and free 60 channel cable TV. While the WiFi is $4/day or $18/week, the total site cost for this caliber of park is still reasonable even if you pay for the WiFi We did run into one big negative for us on this trip. For the first time in the 15 years we have been coming here every May/October, the pool was undergoing major maintenance while we visited. It closed on the 3rd day (10/11) of our first stay of the month and was still being worked when we came back a week later for our 6 day (10/20-25) stay. I don't understand why they would do this when the temps are still in the 80s. The park was less than half full on the busiest of the 11 days (including 2 weekends) we were here. Since so much of their business is locals, maybe the bad economy is the reason. As an aside concerning an earlier poor review due to a "rude" employee: I think I know exactly which of the 7 or 8 regular check-in personnel the reviewer is referring to. That young lady has absolutely no personality. It doesn't make sense to me for a park like this with dozens of employees to be downgraded because one shy employee wasn't Miss Congeniality. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$18
Loved the Paragon Park in Marksville, LA. Sites were all good and clean. They have the Executive Sites with fences on both sides of you. We got one of those sites. This was our first camping trip, and it was close to home. There were concrete pads, concrete picnic tables, and a swing. All hookups were close together and we didn't have any problems. Pool and lodge were very nice, and we were close by. Didn't bring our dog this time, but will do so in the future. There is a charge for the Wi-fi, $4 a day. If there was cable, we didn't see the hookup; however, this was our first trip and maybe didn't know where to look. Didn't ask either. It was all fine. We had a small digital TV that picked up a channel or two without cable. Shuttle passed every 15 minutes. Always saw security guards. Everyone was very helpful. We will be back! Oh, the Executive Suites were $32 a night and very well worth it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$17
This is a great place to camp! T he casino is just an added bonus! All roads and sites are paved. Sites are pretty level. They have a few premium sites that are nice, with a fence that gives you privacy from your neighbor and a swing to enjoy as well. Well kept and clean. 24 hour security and you actually see them! Nice pool if you bring the kiddo's and a there is a movie theater inside the casino! They also have cabins if you have family members that don't have campers. You can ask for a cabin adjacent to a campsite. All campgrounds should be like this one. Great place to stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$9
This is a great overnight stop. The roads and sites are paved concrete. There are some shade trees but not large enough to provide large coverage. They have a shuttle that runs about every 15 minutes 24/7 to the casino area where they have restaurants, movie theaters and shops. Prices in the restaurants are very reasonable. I will stay here again if I am in the area. WiFi is $4 a day, which is not right. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$10
Passport America Rate. Excellent campground and paved roads and spots. Some have a little too much slope and you many have to work a little to get level. We were with a large group, and the office people never seemed to get rates and prepaid days correct. Excellent Wi-Fi and cable TV service. Shuttles run almost constantly to take you over to the casino. Casino is nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$9
Nice Casino park. We were there for a rally but stayed on and the rate shown is the Passport America rate. We found it quiet in our area but in back where most of the cabins are could be a little noisier. Only complaint is the sewer inlet at many sites is level or up hill which makes dumping less than fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2010
$8
While I agree with most peoples prior comments I will probably not be coming back the front desk person was the rudest I have ever encountered, She never once looked up just kept here head down sounded like she used to work for a DMV some where. Never looking at me just ask for my drivers license, credit card handed me the directions to the site told me to come back the next day to get my receipts and went back to what she was doing before, no goodbye, no have a good time, nothing, with that attitude won't be back We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$17
Exceptional RV park. Lots of space, wide and long paved sites with large concrete patio with concrete picnic bench. Very clean, new laundry facility. Great pool area, very clean also. Lots of space to walk and walk our dogs. Casino next door with restaurants and movie theatre. It is our first time here, but, we will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$22
A good place to stay for visiting the area. The price is right. Wi-Fi is at additional cost of $4.00 per day. The quality was excellent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$9
Rate reflects various discounts. We stayed here twice in October for a total of 10 days. I have numerous previous reviews on this park and was tempted to give it a 9 for the first time. In the past, I have encountered too many instances of poorly behaved customers. During my October visits the park was never really crowded enough to determine whether or not this has changed but management has instituted several policies to improve the situation. For example, they have installed several speed bumps and limited access to the pool to the front door of the lodge to prevent non-guess use and other problems. I wont know until I stay here next year on a crowded weekend to see if these changes have improved the situation. Personally I don't have a problem with them charging for Wi-Fi. When you consider their top rate is less than $25 a day, even $4 a day for Wi-Fi, this park's cost is low for a resort with all these facilities. As an aside, where a previous reviewer (06/09) came up with a daily rate of almost $40, I have no idea. To repeat my prior comments, this is a very good park except when other customers are, to put it mildly, really inconsiderate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$17
We really enjoyed this park: was our second time to stay here and will stay again if in this area. Liked everything about this park. One of the best parks we've stayed in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$17
This was the 2nd time this year we were at this park and it is great. It is by far the best casino park we have seen and one of the best parks period we have ever stayed in and we are full time. Has paved streets, concrete pads and plenty of room. You can walk to the casino in less than 5 minutes or ride a shuttle that comes through every few minutes to the casino. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$11
Passport America 50% rate makes this a good deal. Fair-sized pull-through sites, very limited shade. Shuttles run 24 hours throughout the park and take you from your site to the casino/hotel. Large clubhouse with pool, laundry, and restrooms is pretty far from the RV sites, need to take the shuttle. Lots to do at the casino/hotel: restaurants, spa, movies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
We stayed at the Paragon RV Park 18-24 June 2009. Long, spacious, concrete pull throughs with wide roads and access lanes. Close to casino with 24 hr shuttles. Clean pool and facilities. Wifi is excellent but payable through "The Wireless Web" company with a number of repeater antennas in the park. Good Sam 10% discount accepted. Lost electrical power one afternoon for about 5 minutes and appeared to be at least our "section" and the one over (based on talking to folks near us who came outside to investigate). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
Excellent facility w large paved pull thru sites. Shuttle to casino runs very frequently. Food in casino steak house good, also in buffet. Will stay again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
Like many campgrounds, this one seems to have forgotten what made it successful in the first place--a clean facility with good value. They have gone up to $38-40 per night, and have now added a fee for wi-fi, a ridiculous $4.00 per day for ridiculously slow wi-fi. It's no bargain anymore and, as I sit here at look out at the hundreds of vacant spaces, I must wonder where their head is. Don't come here. It is an overpriced, aging park, that no longer is reasonably priced for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$2
Rate reflects comps and PPA used during 2 stays totaling 10 days in May. I have a number of previous reviews on this park - see my 10/08 and 5/07 reviews, for example). Among other days, we stayed here Memorial Day weekend. Once again, the weekenders were out of control with only minimal attempts by management to stop disruptive and sometimes dangerous behavior. (You may ask why I keep returning - well, when I'm 900 miles from home on a holiday weekend, I want to stay someplace with nice facilities.) Once again, great park and good facilities to be avoided on weekends - especially holidays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$11
Professional park layout. WiFi $3/day but good quality. Lots of local "weekenders" with no clue about RVing. Loose pets, owners dont care (dont pick up) and complaints to the office are a waist of time. Only the manager cares a bit, the other staff dont care at all. Pool not heated. Still worth the price (Passport America/weekend) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$1
This is the nicest casino RV park we have seen. Plenty of room between the sites with garbage cans between each 2 sites. Cement picnic table at each site. You can walk to the casino in 5 minutes or ride one of the many frequent shuttles that pass through the park. City police patrol the park frequently. Lots of chalets and cabins also. McDonalds and Burger King within walking distance and WalMart Supercenter less than a mile away. $17 a night Monday-Thursday, $22 on weekends. We stayed 6 nights and ended up being comped for all 6 nights. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$17
Staff seemed indifferent. Need a shake up. Sites OK. Small laundry room and a long walk from most sites. Perks are few. Buffet was one of the worst I have had at a casino. Would never pay for it again. Sites good. OK for an over night. WiFi $3.00 a day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$15
This is a first class park, the best we've seen anywhere. The sites are perfect. They are level concrete, with grass and a small tree for each site and lots of room between sites. All the roads are wide concrete. The casino will send a vehicle immediately to take you to and from the casino, restaurants, and 3 movie theaters with just a phone call. The large buffet restaurant is outstanding. The clubhouse is superb and has a pool. They are a Good Sam park and the rates are low. This is a luxurious park, that we most highly recommend. We both said "wow" when we pulled in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$22
We had a great time camping as a group. We ate the Seafood buffet at the casino Friday night and visited the hotel atrium to watch the alligator feeding on Saturday. There is a full service in the atrium with current movies playing. Buy tickets early for night time shows they sell out fast. The shuttle to the casino picks you up at your camp site. Wal-Mart is less than a half mile away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$5
Rate reflects comps and PassPort America for 17 days over two stays during October. I am a longtime and frequent visitor to this park and agree with most of the positive comments by previous reviewers. While it does have some minor flaws and/or shortcomings (some sites flood, pay WIFI, limited lodge hours during the week, etc.), my major problem is with management's tendency to let people (who flaunt the rules) stay and/or keep coming back. Coushatta (over in Kinder, LA) has the same problem. They make little effort to control those who do not know how to behave for fear of losing customers. For me, it is a big negative for an otherwise very good RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
By far this is the nicest resort/campground I have visited. My kids had a ton of fun with all the activities, shuttle service to the movies, casino, buffet. Lots of security and the site was very well groomed. Very clean and exciting! It was the 4th of July holiday weekend so the lot was completely full-not a single empty slot. Make reservation early on holidays. There are also cabins available for rent so if you wanted to have family over but not in your space, that would be perfect. I will visit here every chance that presents itself. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$17
We really enjoyed this our first casino RV Resort experience. Clean and all paved with good hook up. Close to both the casino and golf course with 24/7 shuttle and security. Friendly management that went the extra mile. Casino amenities are not available to guests but with a little "please may I" we got the use of an absolutely awesome fitness facility for our entire 3 week stay. Centrally located so many of Louisiana's best is with in easy driving distance. No congestion, quiet and little if any traffic. My wife had to make use of the local hospital for some minor skin surgery. It's a small but good facility that took care of her problem with a very pleasant surgeon that became our local tour expert as well. Shopping is close with a Wal-Mart a mile away. Great Cajun meat market across the street from the casino and a fabulous restaurant Red River Grill in town. Casino food was ok but they have three movie theaters running first run features, if you are over 55 admission is only $5.00 each with basically the entire theater to yourself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$12
Stayed overnight. Easy in and out. Site was comped due to our gambling. WiFi was $3.00 a day. $15 per week. Will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$14
Stayed here when it was not still summer but yet not winter. We were still able to spend time in the pool. Loved the pool area. It was a great place to relax and have a wonderful weekend. The guys played golf and said what a great time was had. Will be going back again. The laundry was a nice facility and bath house was clean and a pretty good size. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$12
This is a beautiful park. Very clean and sites are spacious and have concrete table and benches. Restrooms were clean.Security made frequent rounds and the shuttle bus went 24/7. The casino is nice and the food was good.The wifi worked well. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$12
Spaces are pull through, wide, concrete and level. The sites are Surrounded by grass, so it has a very open and spacious look about it. Large patio area with concrete picnic table. We stayed Sun thru Friday and did not experience anything in the way of rowdy crowds in the cabins. I can, however, see how that would present a problem as the cabins and chalets surround the RV slips. Trash is collected at each site and park is well-maintained. Pool is large and kept clean. There is a charge (3.00 daily) for the wi fi but it was fast and worked. Shuttle to casino runs 24 hrs and picks up drops off at your site. Super Wal-Mart is about 1 mile south of resort on LA-1 for supplies. We had a terrific pizza buffet at a restaurant behind LJ's casino about 3 miles south of Paragon also on LA-1. That place also serves Mexican in addition to the pizza. Lots of locals there which normally means great food! We would not hesitate to stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
Very nice park. Friendly staff. WiFi worked very well. The casino shuttle made rounds frequently, so there were no long waits. Received comps for part of my stay. I enjoyed myself very much. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$7
I reviewed this park last October and everything mentioned there (except for the construction problems which appear to be over for now) still apply. As noted previously, large crowds can cause problems. We were there Memorial Day weekend and many of these weekend guests were loud, ill mannered, and worse. It is bad enough when sites have 3-4 vehicles on them, other campers walk through your site, you can't even relax in the pool without some 15 year old diving (which is not allowed) over you, and there seems to be a "battle of the bands" (radios, CD players,etc.) amongst 3-4 sites within 100 feet of yours. One shift supervisor told me that he has attempted to control these problems in the past but upper management would not let him enforce the rules and kick the offenders out. They are regulars/locals who bring in a lot of business. Money talks! The "coup de grace" was a stabbing at the pool area just after dark on Saturday night. Great during the week, but avoid holidays and summer weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$6
This park is very, very nice but, like all parks, has it's pros and cons. The pros: wide, cement pads and patios, fairly level sites, lighted roadways, beautifully manicured sites, and a dirt cheap rate (with Passport America, it's $6.50). The cons: the folks who rent the many cabins (non-RV'ers) tend to be a bit "rowdier" that the RV'ers and are sometimes noisy at night. Aside from that, this is an EXCELLENT park. All in all, it's not a bad place; provided that you remember where you are and who you're dealing with. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$6
Clean park with 24 hours security and shuttle to casino. About 30% full during week but fills up fast on Fridays. Many families brought children but there are no activities other than a volley ball field. Many people stay from all over the country as they pass through. Spoke to some people who are local who come every weekend because of price. Cost is $13.00 per night. We paid $6.50 with Passport America. Recognizes all discount clubs. Buffet at night is $14.00 and lunch is $12.00. Needs a lower price on lunch. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$7
This is a Passport America park and the price can't be beat. The sites are roomy with lots of grass. Our end site was excellent for walking our dogs with a big grassy area next to it. Very nice clean park. You can stay here 5 days at the Passport rate. This is probably the best-paying casino I ever went to (still lost). I walked to the casino but you probably would be better off driving or taking the shuttle which comes around frequently. The wifi is not free so we just used our cell phone (great coverage) to get online. Definitely would recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$7
I have been coming every May and October for over 10 years for about 10 days per visit. I have been through all of their construction phases (1st hotel, parking garage, 2nd hotel) and seen some facilities/services go down hill. The construction was still going on last October and covered everything (including the pool) with dust and dirt during our stay. While I agree that the price is fantastic, I found it offensive when, a couple, years ago they raised the rates over a buck to finance the casino parking garage - a facility I can't imagine a RV customer using.) While I agree, in general, with some of the superlatives of previous reviewers, somethings used to be better: there is now a 5 days a month Passport America limit, regular gambler used to get used to get free nights each month, lodge used to be open 24/7, some pads are aging and tilting, and, more and more often, some utilities hook-ups are not working properly. We paid about $15 for a week of Wi-Fi that worked well, but the daily charge of $3 is a bit steep. Finally, the addition of 50 or so cabins and chalets in the park makes this a sometimes crowded and rowdy park on weekends and during the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$15
A fabulous big rig RV resort adjacent to a large (and getting larger) casino complex. Huge pull throughs (80+ feet), trees, tables, and within walking distance to the pool, office, and casino (although the free shuttle runs 24/7). If the 30 miles from the interstate (I-49) were not so long, and if they had a better dog run (we used the area by the playground) we would give it a 10. The $15 rate is with Good Sam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$13
The park was extremely clean and quiet. My only problem is that to access the wireless internet there is a charge. Seems to me that if a park, especially a casino, can offer the service, they can do it at no charge to the people staying there. Other than that, we had a good time there. The shuttles ran on a regular basis to bring you back and forth to the casino and the grounds were extremely clean. Very good place to ride bicycles too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$16
Staff was excellent. All sites are pull-throughs. No trees. Bath house, swimming pool, game room for the kids. Shuttle bus comes and picks you up to bring you to the casino. We had a wonderful time. I would diffently camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$6
This is truly a champagne RV Park with beer prices. I cannot believe this beautifully landscaped park, with paved roads and huge paved sites and patios, with all the amenities, costs only $6 per night for Passport members and only $11 per night for Good Sam members. This park is comparable to an Outdoor Resorts of America property, but is so inexpendive. It is obviously subsidized by the huge Paragon casino next door. We will return again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2005
$14
Nice park. Sites where we were were not level. Hard to dump uphill since **** flows down hill. Also, wifi did not work in our section. These are not big things since the rate with GS discount was $11. Not much to do in Marksville, but Alexandria is only about 30 miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$13
Excellent park; all concrete roads & pads, level sites with patio and picnic tables. Easy to get into and out of. Shuttle buses continually roam area to take you to casino. Very comfortable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2005
$6
This is a wonderful campground even without the casino. The wi-fi is not the best. Sometimes it just will not work but someone from the staff will come out and refresh the signal and then it will work for a few days. Other than that, it is top notch and Passport park on top of that. The Casino is excellent too. Hard to believe way out in the sticks but the slots most always were good to us. And then . .. . the Oyster Bar restaurant has the best fried oysters and other good food. The dinner is very good too. The buffet is all right but I've seen better. I also go to the oyster bar. There are a few other restaurants also. The fine dinning one is over-priced and only good to use comps at. I had lobster but they put a cheese sauce on it. I am from Maine and that is just not done. We ended up staying over a month because I got sick. The wonderful lady in charge of the office let us stay for the passport rate due to the sickness. I'm sure while I was in the hospital that my other half made up for it in the casino. We have stayed there a few times and will go out of our way to stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2005
$13
Very nice park. All sites and roads are cement, sites are level. Sites are on a 45 deg. to road and roads have wide turns. Nice pool and playground equipment. Everything is very clean. 30/50 amps power on all sites. Half price with "passport" for five days per each month. Super Wal-Mart very close for supplies. Staff was very nice and helped with all our needs. WiFi worked very well, two systems in park to cover the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2004
$13
With Passport America, you can stay at this park for up to five nights/month @ $6.95/night. Big, paved sites. Shuttle bus to the casino. Laudromat. One of the best casino RV parks we have seen. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$11
Although they have stopped the "cheap" stays subsidized by the casino, it is still a bargain for what you get: A beautiful campground, paved sites, paved streets, nice landscaping, and a host of other amenities. First class all the way and worth a drive out of your way to stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$11
This is a real sleeper. All sites paved and level, huge clubhouse with big screen TV, modem hookup and a large pool. Immaculate facilities and to top it all, if you go into the casino and register for a no obligation casino tracking card, it's $6.45 a night! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com