221698 User submitted reviews online!!
Dead Horse Ranch State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 89 user reviews. Phone: (928) 634-5283
CGID125

Dead Horse Ranch State Park

Camp Information
Sites
131
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   10   7   9   8   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
This probably one of our favorite parks of all time. The views were awesome. The birds were awesome and the hosts were attentive. A storm set in one day when we were out and they rushed over to close our small awnings. Walking in the park was a treat with all the wildlife. We would definitely return and would love to in the spring during bird migration. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
This is a beautiful park, though a little crowded when full. Some of the campgrounds have more shade than others. We stayed five nights during the Verde Valley Birding Festival. The campground was very quiet at night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Great state park - just needs sewer & wifi and it would be a 10. This park is near the town of Cottonwood and has a great Safeway and Walmart for stocking up. The park is 15-20 minutes from Sedona and near plenty of hiking and fun things to do. The bathrooms are kept immaculate and since there is no sewer the facilities are well used. The ground are clean and the park well managed. We would return. The sites are fairly spacious with a table and fire ring. They have adequate parking for just about any size rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
This is an outstanding beautiful place to park your RV. Great access to lots of nearby cities and attractions. Only thing a big rig needs to consider here is that some sites have un trimmed big trees that can and will affect a large RV's porch awning. Make sure you do not have a large tree that blocks your porch awning, The park does need to watch out for this and keep trees trimmed back somewhat.. Otherwise, this park is awesome. Would absolutely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
This park was good. We had a great place to launch out from and see nearby Jerome, Montezuma's Castle and Sedona. The sites were a little closer than we like but not too bad. It was quiet most of the time, but it was a good change for us to hear the families and kids enjoying camping out instead of the 55+ campgrounds we are normally used to. Some site were a little (I mean little, not severe) uneven so we blocked under our front tire and had no issues. I loved the fact that we had a campfire. We will be back and see more of the area and take more hikes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
An excellent state park, electric and water but no sewer. No problem, we were there for only 3 nights and they have a 2 lane dump station you can enter from either direction. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Sedona is 17 miles away but the hills surrounding the park are almost as wonderful. A hidden gem is the Blazing M Ranch just outside the park which offers a dinner and cowboy music show that's just awesome...and affordable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
This was our first time at this state park. It is a nice park with asphalt sites, with good space between RV's. Nice mountain views, and don't miss the chance to walk outside at night and check out the city lights in the distance. Water and power worked good, with a dump station available. Lots of other activities available like hiking trails, mountain bike trails, and even horse back riding. Nice park, I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$31
. This was our first experience with the Arizona State Parks system, and we were impressed. Situated a little out of the pleasant little town of Cottonwood, across the Verde River, DHRSP has asphalt roads, lots of hiking trails, good birding, some fishable ponds, and even horses and a wrangler available. The staff was uniformly great. We had a nearly level, gravel, water/electric site in “Quail” loop. The entire park area, although filled to capacity, was clean, well-maintained, and very quiet. Though the campground was full, the restrooms were never crowded or malfunctioning. We are finding that each State Park has its small eccentricities; our restroom at DHRSP had no soap dispensers, and no place in the shower stall to put a bar of soap. There is no official dog walk; guests are asked to pick up after their dogs, and seemed to be quite good about it. The only real downside we found was lack of WiFi. There is a public Starbucks/Safeway WiFi in town. Our experience at DHRSP convinced us to stay in Arizona State Parks whenever possible, and we definitely will stay again at DHRSP. We stayed four nights in an Aliner popupand paid $31 per night ($30 per night plus a $5 reservation fee). Our "8" rating on the various AZ State Parks is for the stuff we find most important, which does not include clubhouses, tv, WiFi, or sewer hookups. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
The Best State Park where I've stayed! Great staff and friendly park hosts. Excellent facilities, clean and spacious sites. On line reservations allowed by site. Spotless restrooms and showers. Only drawback was many vacant yet reserved sites--a flaw in AZ Parks reservation system makes moving to another vacant site impossible. They need to implement a 'no-show' policy to avoid lost revenue and accommodate more RVers. Park hosts have sewer; otherwise sites have water and elecT only. Great hiking trails, lagoon fishing and wildlife. In the town of Cottonwood. Checkout the Verde Valley Railroad while you're staying at this park. This park is a gem and we'd definitely stay again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
Beautiful park located on a hillside overlooking the town of Cottonwood at 3,300ft elevation. They also have cabins (8), and a separate area for tents. Fishing, horseback riding, hiking trails, river access, planned seasonal activities. Very quiet yet a short drive into town where there are several markets, Walmart, etc. Showers immaculate, sites huge, park hosts very nice. Max stay 14 days. We have an incredible view from our coach (site #47). Would recommend checking it out if your in the area! Would have given it a "10" if it had sewer h/u at individual sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
This state park has a variety of sites to meet everyone's needs. Sites in the lower loop (Quail) has some trees, but sites are pretty open with little understory for privacy. Our site #28 was a large pull thru which provided room for a 31' trailer, our trucks, and 2 motorcycles. Bathrooms were kept clean and tidy. The park's location is great for touring Cottonwood, Sedona, and Jerome. There is plenty to do in the area! We walked from the campground along the Verde River to historic downtown. We are planning to return for a longer stay in the future. Reservations are recommended for the weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
This is a lovely state park with shaded sites for RV's in only Quail Loop. There are two other loops with electrical and water hookups but out in the open. However the views from those sites are beautiful. The park boasts of hiking trails some of which follow a creek and also the Verde River. The town of Cottonwood, especially the historic section, is charming and offers a couple of hours of wandering and sightseeing. The nearby town of Jerome is historically rich with tales of mining lore. We will definitely return to this area to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Tuesday, May 21 – Dead Horse Ranch State Park, Cottonwood, AZ. Dead Horse Ranch State Park is located in Cottonwood, AZ. on 423 acres. The area has mild temperatures, so it is ideal for camping, biking, horseback riding, mountain biking and hiking along the Verde River, boating and fishing. This is a popular camping area for the “snowbirds” during the winter. The park has five loops for camping and three of them have electric and water. Bathhouses were clean and there were showers. The Quail loop has more vegetation and the higher you go there is less shade but the views of Cottonwood, Jerome and the Coconino National Forest from the top loops are stunning. The cost is $25 and reservations should be made for the winter season. There were only about twenty five campers the one night stopover we were there. There are a number of hiking trails throughout the park. Ranch history - The Ireys family came from Minnesota looking to buy a ranch in 1940’s. At this ranch they discovered a large dead horse lying by the road. After searching for a number of weeks the father asked his kids what ranch did they want to buy and they said “the one with the dead horse”. In 1973 the AZ State Parks system acquired the ranch with the condition that the name did not change. The park is a close drive to Jerome, Prescott Valley, Cottonwood and Sedona. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
Price does not reflect reservation fee, which I believe was $5. Rangers offered suggestions regarding restaurants and things to do in the area. Park is big rig friendly. While we enjoyed our stay at this park, first appearances were that it was a bit unkempt, because of lots of tall grasses. Water and electric are at the sites, and a dump station is available near the entrance/exit of the park. Restrooms and showers were clean and heated. As with most state parks, sites are nicely spaced. Lots of trails nearby for hiking or walking dogs, and lots of geocaches in the area. We used Sprint service most of the time, but would switch to Verizon when Sprint slowed. We'll return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
Stayed here many times. Clean, well run, great volunteers. Good size sites, some a little less than level. Nightly rate may be off just a bit. Great views from the higher elevation sites. Good lake fishing and river--regular trout stocking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
Sites: Nicely spaced. Red Hawk loop seems a little larger spaces. Site #56 is a pull through by itself. HOOK UPS: Water & Electric only. Dump station at entrance Bathrooms: OK. Showers seemed aging. Laundry: None Pets: Pet friendly. Lots of places to walk the dogs. Nice city dog park 2 miles from campground. Wifi: None Verizon internet: Worked well Sprint internet: OK Verizon phone: Very Good AT&T phone: Very good Book exchange: No Activities: Lots of hiking from sites, geocaches, small mountain bike park. Ranger programs on weekends. Mail delivery: no. Area/Town/Sights: Cottonwood is becoming well known as the cheaper, more down to earth Sedona. Plenty of restaurants to choose from. Some Indian ruins. Lots of wine tasting shops. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
This is a really nice state park ... and very active! We found out that spring and fall are their busy seasons due to the beautiful weather. It was cool at night and comfortable during the day. The roads and sites are all paved. Our site, 46 in the Red Tail Hawk Loop, was mostly level. Lots of space between the sites which we like. Hookups were easily accessible. We were worried about noise as we were backed up to the road but it was very quiet. Lots of places to hike and bike and several fishing lakes. Cottonwood is close by and has plenty of shopping options. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
This is a nice state park. Sites and roads are blacktop. Sites are level side to side but not fully back to front on all sites. This is a very popular park and reservations well in advance are almost a must if you want to spend more that a day or two. Restrooms and showers were very clean. Rangers and camp hosts were very friendly and helpful. We were there 6 days and would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
We loved this park. We were in Cooper's Hawk Loop space 87 for four days, which is on a plateau with beautiful views of the Cottonwood valley and the hillside town of Jerome. We found the staff very friendly and the park clean. Our site was level with 50 amp service and water. Wish it had sewer but there is a 2 stall dump station. There are no shade trees in Cooper's Hawk, but this time of year it didn't matter. The lower Quail Loop has plenty of trees but no views. We hiked the park and found how large it is. With the three lagoons and running river this park is very special to us. We will be coming back to Dead Horse - it's that good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
This is a great campground with nice volunteers. The sites are good size, and most seem close to level. I would give this a 10 if there were sewer hookups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$25
Great park in a great location. We were here over Christmas, and the park was not crowded. We stayed 4 nights. Sites were good sized, and we were fortunate enough to have a couple of trees, which helped with the dogs. They were asphalt pads, some grass and sand. The restrooms were clean, and plenty of water pressure in the showers. Dump station was one of the nicest I've used and well landscaped to disguise it since it's next to the main gatehouse. The park is close to the city dog park which was convenient to let the dogs run off-leash. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$26
We generally liked this park and our stay here over Thanksgiving. Park was full due to the holiday. The major downside for us was lack of sewer (dump station only) but water and 50 amp service was fine. This is a state park so no TV/internet services, but our Verizon service and Directv worked fine. Park has 3 lagoons that are stocked with trout every other week, so fishing was great. Dog owners be aware of numerous foxtails. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
Site #110 is a nice level spot, right across from restrooms and showers. There are several easy hiking trails that were pet friendly. Beautiful view of lights of Cottonwood and the town of Jerome on the mountainside. Only a few minutes from Tuzigoot National Monument. Three lagoons for fishing or picnicking. Park is clean and well maintained. Only reason it's not a 10 is no sewer hookup on site, but dump station easy and convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
We have stayed here twice and enjoyed both trips. When it is 35 degrees in Flagstaff it is only 45 minutes away to 65 degree days. Nice sites and close to town. Lots of hiking and mountain biking trails with good views. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Dead Horse State Park – 7/10-7/13 $25/night. Roads and pads were paved – sites are long, fairly level, and wide with picnic tables and fire ring (fires prohibited for drought reasons). Areas between sites are dirt with brush, bushes, and small trees. Bathhouse is old but clean with plenty of hot water. There are trails next to the sites and small hills to climb for better views of Cottonwood and Jerome. We wanted to visit Sedona on the way down 89A, but there was nowhere to park a motorhome over 25’ WITHOUT a tow. We found bus parking, and it was for only 5 - 40’ buses & no room for a tow vehicle. The only place marked for RV parking was near a hotel and room for only two 25’ RVs, so we only drove through the town. Cottonwood is much larger and fuel prices more close to the average – NOT the tourist gouge prices-up to 60 cents higher in some areas. Dead Horse is a large park, and we were one of 4 campers here. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
A beautiful and well kept state park with spacious sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
The pull through sites were long and some shade. The dump station is on the left side and difficult to get in with a long RV because of the curbs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Spacious sites, clean facilities. No sewer at campsite, but convenient dump station at campground exit. This was our base of operations for seeing the Sedona and Flagstaff areas. The park has a number of walking trails and a lagoon area alongside the river. We stayed in the Red Tail Hawk loop, which is less treed than the Quail loop, but was also less busy and provided a bit of a view. No problems for maneuvering our 39' fifth wheel. Cottonwood is minutes away with all the services you might need, but the campground was very quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Beautiful location just outside Cottonwood and centrally located for touring and attractions. Good hiking and mountain biking trails within the park. Easy to get to. Sites are fairly close but manageable. Nice clean restrooms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
A great value! Very clean with spread out sites. We stayed on one of the upper loops which had great views of Cottonwood. The lower loop is wooded and would probably be a better choice in the summer. Great mountain biking and hiking. If you ride the Raptor/Thumper/Lime Kiln Loop it is better to ride it clockwise. The fishing was lousy, but that is probably just my luck and not a reflection on the park. The host went out of their way for us. Very family friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
One of the best state parks we've stayed in. The upper loops offer fantastic views of Cottonwood, Jerome and the mountains beyond. Sites are very large and well-spaced. Many trails to explore and nearby, as well as the winding Verde River. Cottonwood and Jerome are nearby gems, not to mention the red rocks of Sedona. Staff was always available and eager to assist. Would give this a 10 if there were sewer hookups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
This is one of our favorite Arizona state parks. It is close to town but still far enough way to feel like real camping. We really love all the great trails for hiking through out the property. We were in site 82 in the Red Tail Hawk loop. It had a huge shade tree and great city views at night. Remember to watch closely for snakes as this is still the desert. We had a rattlesnake on our site under our picnic table. The ranger quickly removed the unwelcome friend. This is our second stay in the last 5 years and we would visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
This is a very nice state park, very close to Cottonwood, AZ. Loops and sites are paved. There are electric and water hookups. There is a dump station near the park entrance. We stayed in site 17 in the Quail loop. This is the lower loop where you have more mature trees around your site. The upper loops (Red-Tail Hawk and Cooper’s Hawk) are on a hill where you get good views of the nearby towns, including Cottonwood and Jerome. The park has plenty of trails, access to the Verde River, and lagoons. They now have an equestrian concessionaire, where you can go for a wrangler-guided trail ride. We made reservations, which is something new they’re doing. We arrived after the ranger station closed. We drove right to our site. It wasn’t until the last evening when someone came by to verify our confirmation papers. There were no issues with this. We stayed here two years earlier, and we plan on going back in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
We camp hosted here in October in the lower treed campground and wanted to return and camp in one of the hill side loops because of the dynamite views of the valley. The views were wonderful, but the wind was relentless for the 6 days we were there. Still a great park and we look to return in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
Nice park in a good location close to the Verde river. Good location to visit Sedona or Jerome. When we arrived they were converting to the new online reservation system and we were able to get the last spot available. Overall a good place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
Location, location location. This park has 3 campgrounds, the lower is more crowded. The Redtail loop and other one has much better views. We did not have good weather but were able to see Flagstaff, Sedona, Jerome and Prescott prior to the snow fall. As kayakers, the lagoons are too small and the river top rocky. Would possibly use this park again for its location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
Arizona state parks have just begun accepting reservations. Staff were having problems with the computer system which slowed down the check in process, but they will get used to it in time. Some computer glitches weren't the fault of the staff. Soon, Rv'ers will be able to go on line and reserve their own sites. Park is nice, with nice views, big sites with plenty of room between spaces. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
Nice quiet park with pretty views of mountains. Also has nice fishing lagoons and river access. Town of Cottonwood is great-- lots of shopping and dining options, but much more laid back than Sedona. Great off-leash dog park nearby. Sites are Elec/Water only, but RV Dump station is available. Good over-the-air TV service and excellent cell. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
Great location and value. One of the best parks I've visited throughout Arizona. This state park now accepts reservations online. Park includes fishing, many hiking trails, great customer service, clean environment and many local attractions. Blazing M Ranch (western dinner show) is within walking distance; Jerome's mining town is nearby, along with Wild Animal Park (safari ride - feed the animals) and Camp Verde's train ride. This State Park is also located close to Prescott and Sedona. See website for more local attractions and details. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Very nice park. Good roads and large paved sites. Quail loop has some shady sites and other loops are more desert like. Great valley views from upper loops. Bathrooms are kept immaculate. Very friendly, helpful staff. Would be a 10 if there was sewer. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Park Rangers and volunteers great! Park has little shade but trees growing nicely. Most pull through sites are long, paved and level. Nice picnic tables and fire rings and cement patios. Good views from just about every site, rest rooms clean and spaces very wide. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This is a great campground. It's well-maintained, the sites are large and reasonably level, the views are wonderful, and it has lots of things to do. The only downside (and it's not the park's fault) is that on weekends it fills up quickly (no reservations, it's strictly first-come-first-served) and can have lots of tent-camping families with kids, dogs, and campfires. If that's what you want and expect, it's great; if you're older and prefer a quieter spot, maybe this isn't for you. There are several RV loops, the lower (Quail) loop has more trees, but the upper loops have great views and probably fill up more slowly. Although there is one loop that's for tent-camping only, all sites are available for tents. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Great park: has hiking trails, fishing lagoons, horseback riding, birds and rabbits. Convenient to city park with dog "bark park," as well as stores and restaurants. A good base to explore Sedona, Oak Creek Canyon, Jerome and Prescott. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Very nice campground, well-maintained and very quiet. There might be a few shaded spots but most are not shaded. It is one of only 9 Arizona State parks that are currently planned to stay open after state budgetary cutbacks. Excellent Verizon air card reception. A number of trails (hiking, biking and horseback) are accessible directly from the State Park leading into Coconino National Forest. Guided horse back rides are available. Easy short drives to Jerome and Sedona make this a good spot to stay while exploring the area. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
No cable TV, but the antenna picked up several local stations, very clear. No Wi-Fi, but my own hot spot from Verizon worked great. The park is clean, friendly and spacious. This is the nicest state park I have ever stayed in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$19
Fantastic views of Tuzigoot, Jerome, Cottonwood and the surrounding areas. There are three areas for motorhomes and we chose the highest for the views and warmth from the sun. This is a great location for seeing the sites of the Verde Valley and beyond. The staff was welcoming and everything was clean and neat. The sites were well spaced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$19
We love this park but, it can get crowded on Friday nights through Sunday. Great views from the upper loops. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Nice volunteers and hosts. Lots of trails to walk. Very pet friendly. Great location to see other sites in the area such as Tuzigoot, Montezuma Castle, and Montezuma Well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$12
This is one of the nicest campgrounds I have been in. You can opt out of the electric; otherwise add $7 a day to the fee. If you pay for camping, you are not charged the day use fee: just the camping fee. The only problem was that the showers were very cold. Apparently some pricey device needed to regulate the temperature was broken and the park budget has no funds to replace it. The ranger suggested I use one of the other bathrooms. I stayed in the Cooper's Hawk loop. Showers in the nearby Red-Tail Hawk loop were just fine. Everything is paved. Pull throughs were long. Sites are well spaced and reasonably level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$19
Very nice. Big sites, lots of hiking trails. Dump station by entrance. Will go out of our way to stay here again. For a great meal, go to the Tavern Grill in Old Cottonwood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$19
We enjoyed our stay at this state park. The sites were large, easy to park in. Great views, easy access to many attractions--Sedona, Jerome, Verde Canyon Railroad. Quiet. Good Verizon broadband coverage. Our only complaint concerned the restrooms. The first couple of days they weren't very clean. Also, one day the showers were cold. Some shower heads barely sprayed any water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$19
We heard great things about this state park and we were not disappointed. Excellent location for day trips to Sedona, Jerome, Tuzigoot National Monument and Montezuma NM and well. For those traveling with dogs there is a leash free dog park just outside of Dead Horse adjacent to the baseball diamonds. The town of Cottonwood has all the amenities one would need. It's a short 15 miles from I-17 at Camp Verde: give it a try. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$19
This is certainly one of the finest state parks we have ever stayed at. We had no trouble getting our 38' motorhome into our back-in space. There is a 40' rig parked right next to us. 45' rigs could be tight though. The 50 AMP electricity is spot on and water pressure is good. The water does taste pretty bad even after being filtered twice. What a view we have here! We are close to all of the stores in Cottonwood and to Sedona, Jerome and the beautiful Oak Creek Canyon. There is fishing, hiking, geocaching, horse back riding and many other activities in the area. We definitely will stay here again and again!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$19
This is one of the nicest state parks we've visited, hands down. It is very well maintained, with a nice layout. We stayed in the Quail loop, site 8, with a great view of the Tuzigoot Ruins, Mingus Mtn, and Jerome. There are many hiking trails in the park, as well as fishing and horseback riding. The park is conveniently located near many local attractions, as well as Sedona and Oak Creek Canyon. If you stay here, be sure to stop at the Main Street Bistro at 202 Main Street, about a quarter mile to the left as you exit the park. We had a wonderful Pork Medallian and Shrimp Scampi dinner there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$19
One of the nicest state parks we have been in. Large sites, well spaced and free of any trash. Bathrooms were spotless everyday we were there. Great hiking and biking trails. Outstanding hosts who love their jobs and it shows. Would have rated a 10 if there was sewer hookups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$19
Deadhorse is a convenient park for exploringthis interesting area of Arizona. As with other AZ State parks, however, there are no reservations and campsites are on a first come and first served basis. Because of its popularity, this means a visit to Deadhorse can be an exercise in frustration so it's wise to call the Ranger station ahead and get a feel for availability of spaces. During our visit the campground was occupied by many motorcycle "chopper" folks in town for a big rally, and true to form they drove through the campgrounds late at night (and all through the night) reving engines and generally making a lot of noise - no sign of any park personnel to keep order. But this is the exception and most visitors will enjoy the cleanliness ans spaciousness of the facilities, the bird life and hiking trails and the access to many visitor destinations nearby. But avoid the biker rallies if you happen to enjoy sleep. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
We live in Tempe, Arizona, and often travel to Cottonwood for overnights and antiquing. Even before we had our RV, we loved visiting Dead Horse Ranch State Park and vowed that should we be fortunate to one day own an RV, we would camp here first. Well, we kept our promise and two days after buying our RV, off we went to Cottonwood and we weren't disappointed. The park is in the high desert near Sedona and our spot afforded us an incredible night time view of the lights of Cottonwood in front of us, and off to our right, a grand view of Jerome. Our site was a paved and very level pull-through with ample space between us and our lone neighbor to our right. There are numerous hiking trails, including an easy walk to a bluff that overlooks the Tuzigoot Indian ruins off in the distance. It's also an easy walk or bike ride down to the two small, but lovely, fishing lakes. There are also camping sites near these small lakes along the Verde River that runs through the park, but they are almost always full and not nearly as nice as the upper camp grounds where we stayed. Although we didn't use them, the showers and bathrooms were close and very clean. All-in-all, a fabulous first RV camping trip. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$19
Terrific state park mainly because of the way it is run. A large number of volunteer/hosts keep it operating smoothly. The upper loop has some views but has no trees and could be subject to wind. The lower loop has more developed trees but the sites are a little closer together. The outside row of the lower loop has nice sites such as 19, 20, 21, 22 and 23. Good hiking and fishing is in walking distance. Beautiful Sedona is only about 20 minutes away. We are here now and will stay a total of 7 nights. Arizona State Parks has another gem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$19
This is a nice campground close to the town of Cottonwood. The sites were a little better than average in size in Quail loop and average in the other electric loops. They have two stocked lagoons, which were nice. The very best feature of the campground is the series of hiking/bicycle and horse trails that are accessible directly from the campsites. There are trails running along the Verde river, which are very scenic. There are no sewer hookups, but there is a dump station. There is no cable or Wi-Fi, which for a site so close to town seems like an upgrade that would be reasonable for them to pursue. The camp hosts were reasonably active and friendly. The main complaint we had was that they allow tents and car camping to occur within the electric/water campsites - so trailers and motorhomes are in sites alongside tents, which is awkward and creates a noisier and more rowdy atmosphere. It doesn't make sense that they allow this because they charge $12 per night if you don't need electric, but allow you to occupy an electric site that another camper with a trailer or motorhome might need. They have a camping loop for tents only and another loop with no electric, which is where they should confine the tent/car campers. Another small issue is that they make you go pick out your sight and drive back to the office to pay and record your site number, rather than pay at the office and have the camp hosts record the numbers or collect payment and assign the sites from the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$19
I found this campground through this site, and it lived up the the reviews. This is one of the best run campgrounds I have ever stayed in. Staff and hosts were friendly and helpful. The sites were big. Everything was well maintained. This is a very large park, and we stayed six nights, and mostly stayed put - hiking all the trails. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$22
A beautiful desert campsite with lots of foliage that feels like it's in the middle of nowhere (there's a small town with a Walmart etc. a couple of miles away). On arrival, the camp warden gave us a map and told us to drive around and select our own site. We chose a concreted site on high ground with a grand view of a mountain range 5 miles to the west. There's lots of room between adjacent campsites which are randomly scattered around rather than arranged in serried ranks like most RV parks. The day temperatures were close to 80F but the nights were chilly. Firewood was on sale by the showers/toilets (which were excellent) on the honor system at $5 a pop, so in the evenings we loaded the campsite's brazier, lit a fire, wrapped up and drank beer (me) and wine(wife) and listened to classical music. This was about 6 weeks into a 9-week trip. We had visited small towns and played hard at being tourists. It was lovely to do nothing for a few days and this was an excellent place in which to do nothing. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$19
Nice park, but do not stay here if you have a pet. You are not allowed to leave your pet in your RV at anytime. This means you will not be able to do any site seeing, go to the store, or even go take a shower unless you take your pet with you. Of course pets are not allowed in the shower room so you will be in violation of the rules if you take a shower. Another problem I found is I have a 37' fifth wheel, the RV fit in the spot, the truck did not. I had to park away from my site as no parking is allowed off of the paved site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
Very nice State Park campground. Red Tail Hawk loop and the Cooper's Hawk Loop are on the hill side and overlook the city of Cottonwood. This campground is next to the Blazin M Ranch which has a great dinner show. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$19
Excellent state park. We had a large site in the upper loop. Although there are fewer trees there, the afternoon/evening breeze is better than down below. And the view is outstanding: especially the night lights of Jerome across the wide valley. They have some good walking trails here, especially the equestrian one which offers more shade. The restrooms were spotless, as was the campground in general. The drive to Sedona is easy; and, quite frankly, Dead Horse offers more sanity and peace/quiet than what you'll find in the traffic jams there. We will stay here again. Don't miss the mining town of Jerome, which (in its entirety) is on the National Historic Register. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$24
The park and campsite was very nice. The upper loop offered a view of Cottonwood as well as Jerome in the distance. Park hosts were helpful and friendly. The drive to Sedona is short and interesting. I would enjoy visiting there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$19
This was our first experience at Dead Horse State Park, but we'll be back! The arid, desert campsites are spacious and clean, and the AZ views can't be beat! At night we were serenaded by coyotes and could view the mountainside lights of Jerome in the distance. Sunrise lit the mountains beautifully, and there are nicely marked walking trails. Next time we'll bring our mountain bikes. Bathrooms were spotless (although bring your own soap)! Staff and campers are friendly. Dead Horse is a good location for visiting Page Springs wineries. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$19
This was a fantastic place to camp. The ranger and camp host were informative and friendly. The park has three fishing "lakes" with lots of shore space. The lower loops of campsites do have shade trees and are close to the river. However, we stayed in the new, upper loops. There were no trees large enough to provide shade but it was still great. This park is close to many National Monuments and other state parks of interest. Also, you are just a few miles away from Jerome. A cool town on the side of the hill. By the way, if you camp in the upper loop, you will be able to look down at the lights of Cottonwood and up at the lights of Jerome at night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$24
This is a marvelous state park. We stayed over the Christmas and New Year holidays for 10 nights. We stayed in one of the northside campground, in spot # 84. There were not very many sites occupied. Every site is spacious and could accommodate a big rig. You would not feel crowded even if every site was occupied. The other campground, which had more trees, has some sites that would not be able to handle a big rig. There were great trails right out our door, and very nice views. Bring your bikes! We liked the feeling of being out in the boonies yet you could walk or bike (about 1 mile) to town for many amenities. The views are wonderful as well as other areas in the park. It is a great birding area with the Verde River flowing through the park. The hosts were very friendly. This is a perfect, quiet location to see many AZ sites. I would not like to stay in Sedona as it was very crowded with tourists. There are 2-3 terrific and clean grocery stores in Cottonwood as well as some great restaurants. The showers and bathrooms were very clean. We don't usually use the campground showers but because we were there for a longer period of time and there was no sewer connection, we used the showers. The dump station was very clean and user-friendly. The staff at the visitor were very friendly and helpful, too. This has become one of our favorite spots. One thing we did wish for is that AZ State Parks had a reservation service. Most state park campground are on a first-come, first-serve basis. That makes it kind of precarious if you travel long distances and you hope that there is a site available esp. during the busier camping seasons. I highly recommend this state park anytime! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$18
This was a great choice to explore the area - trails around this park. Sedona. Jerome. Park is easy to get in and out. (Do watch for some of the trees in the south campground as you pull around and be careful which pull through you choose) Sites Level. Friendly rangers. Fire rings. Sky full of stars. Would be a 10 if it had sewer, but that is just showing my laziness to unhook and go to the dump station during the visit. Will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$24
This park is a gem - large, spacious sites (in some of the loops) and an easy trail to one of the best birding places in Arizona. We stay here for a few days at a time only, since there are no sewer hookups. Some of the upper sites have big, sweeping views of the Verde Valley. Unfortunately for my health, the awesome Hog Wild restaurant, where you can get an awesome freshly smoked pork loin dinner the size of Rhode Island for $9, is located near the turnoff to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$19
I am so glad I decided to stay at Dead Horse Ranch. Main reason for my visit was to see Jerome, this park has an excellent location. What I really loved was waking up in the morning and taking one of the many hiking trails that surround the campsites. The sites themselves are spacious. Everyone I met who worked in the park was very friendly and informative. I look forward to my next visit here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$19
Desert state park with water and electricity, paved very large pull through site, with table and fire ring. Nice ambience, and a great area for sight seeing. We reuped 3 times and ended up staying 10 days. Rating would ahve been a 10 if there was sewer We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$19
We enjoy Dead Horse Ranch a lot and stay here when we visit Sedona. It is quiet and we love the roadrunners and other animals wandering around. Dog-friendly and quiet for an excellent night's sleep. If I had 1 complaint it is that the only trash bin is at the entrance to the Quail camp area where we stayed. On the other hand, it is a great walk with the dog to dump the garbage, or drop it off on your way out. Will stay again next time we visit Sedona. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$19
About as good as it gets for the mountain area state parks. Excellent base for area attractions. The price rates it as a ten. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
A terrific park with access to small lakes for fishing. The surrounding scenery is spectacular, especially at night when you can see the town of Jerome lit up in the hills. Will definitely plan to stay at this park again when in that part of Arizona, especially since Tuzigoot National Monument and the town of Cottonwood are nearby. Just a short drive to Jerome and Sedona. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$19
This is a great place to visit. We came for 1 night and stayed for 4 nights. The park has been recently upgraded. New restrooms and showers, 82 new sites, and all sites have been upgraded to 50amp electric. The park has 3 stocked fishing lagoons and a river that runs through. The area along the river, the Verde River Greenway, is great for birding. There are many places to visit near the park that make great day tips. If you are in the area it's a well worth a visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2007
$15
The campground was "high and dry" with great hiking trails. The view of Jerome was fabulous. HOWEVER, the camp hosts were unbending about visitors. They charged $5 every time my parents drove into the park to pick my husband and I up or dropped us off back at our campsite. We did not have a toad yet, so relied on them for transportation. When we told them that they were just dropping us off, the host actually followed us to our site and said that if my father got out of the car, he would be charged $5. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$29
Nice park with desert landscape. Pull though space, no grass. Some sparse bushes/trees for privacy. 2 ponds on campground with Verde River bordering campground. Fish cleaning station at the fishing area. If bringing a golf cart, it MUST be street-legal and registered with license plates. Despite a phone call and questioning this specifically (I was told as long as it was not loud, it would be okay) the staff threatened tickets and made us unhook the coach each time we went fishing. Walking distance was not reasonable for my late-mother (lung ca). Bathrooms were clean, showers were clean but cold. Had a good time despite the golf cart troubles. Only managed one rainbow on the fly (bait fishermen fared much better). Probably will not return. Note: do not let your brother have you take a "shortcut" through Jerome,AZ in a 36ft coach + 12ft. trailer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$18
We like this park and camp here often. Access is easy for a big rig and there is lots of space around the sites. Although near town, it has the feeling of being removed and isolated. Very quiet! We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$19
This is a great place. very quiet, with wonderful views from the upper loops. There is good hiking and wildlife viewing within the park including the Verde River and several ponds with birds and fishing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They allowed us and many others to put up Christmas lights which contributed to the wonderful experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$19
Hosts were very informative. There are 2 new loops up away from the river. The sites are spaced apart so as to provide some room. Restrooms are very nice but there was no walkway constructed yet to ours - could be a problem for mobility impaired. We had a wonderful view of the lights of Jerome at night. I really recommend this park especially off season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$19
This place gets the high 5 vote from my grandkids! They had a blast hiking all the trails and going frog hunting! We enjoyed the seclusion & large spaces. Very friendly and helpful Rangers. The facilities were clean & nearby our space making it very convenient to clean everybody up after a long hike! Other than being about 20 miles from Sedona, where my grandkids live, it's a very convenient campground for stores & restaurants, if the need arises. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$20
Very nice place and now even larger. They added a number of new sites, no shade up there, but still nice. Very friendly staff plus nice and clean. Room between sites and pretty views. Nice place to stay and venture out to other places. Recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$19
Exceeded my expectations. Nice people and amazing hiking trails through cottonwoods and along the river. Sites were generally well spaced. I would recommend this site for anyone with tents to big motor homes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$19
There are lots of hiking/cycling trails and great opportunity for wildlife sightings. We had a lovely view from the upper campground. This is just a nice all round park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2005
$19
Excellent state park! Lots of families here and very popular this time of year. No reservations, first come booking basis. During the spring they have performers and shows on Friday and Saturday nights, very nice. Very quiet park at night. Campground hosts keep a watchful eye on things. Close to the Verde Canyon Railroad and the town of Jerome. We are going back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2005
$19
This is a very nice campground. The older section has trees for shade. The upper section used to be overflow but now has been upgraded with hook-ups. Not all sites have fire rings but they are working on it. The Forest Service have several interesting guided tours as do some of the volunteers. Cottonwoods Old Town is trying to rebuild and making it a spot for tourists. It's worth while visiting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$19
Very nice views. 3 small fishing lakes. Many hiking trails. New north campground has electricty in the first loop. I believe the two other loops were still under construction. 2 dump stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$15
We enjoyed our stay with a couple cautions. There is no security after 5pm when the front office closes. Our bicycle was stolen in the middle of the night by a local. We did get it back. Front office offered little help. Locals consider it a place to cruise at night. The electricity is very faulty, constant interruptions and breakdowns when air conditioners were used. The dry camp area is actually more spacious with a gorgeous view of Cottonwood and it would have been better for us to use our generator than suffer the constant elec. interruptions. Lovely setting but needs some work. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
1999
$10
A nice, clean state park campground, with easy access to nearby Jerome, Cottonwood, and only about 15 miles to Sedona. Nice hiking in the immediate area. Large overflow parking area, which is typically used on your first night, as sites fill quickly. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com