218180 User submitted reviews online!!
Lafayette KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 71 user reviews. Phone: (337) 235-2739
CGID1251

Lafayette KOA

Camp Information
Sites
185
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   6   6   8   7   7   9   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
Nice place, well maintained it had two pools. It had internet but it cost $3 extra and it didn't work half the time but when it did it was extremely slow. The staff was very helpful and recommended great restaurants which our family enjoyed. If your looking for some good authentic boudin balls go to Billy's right by the camp entrance. Overall a good place would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$42
We didn't intend to stay here but our truck transmission went out and we were towed here while our truck was getting repaired. They were so gracious and sympathetic to our predicament. They were almost booked full for the Easter weekend but were able to accommodate us with a full hookup site. They were even willing to move our trailer into our site if the tow truck couldn't maneuver inside the park. This is a very clean park and all the utilities and WIFI worked well and they have nice shower/restroom facilities. We were not able to get a cable TV site but we received several stations on the antenna. After the weekend they moved us into a cable site. Since we were delayed getting home for a few days we needed to wash some clothes and they have a nice laundry. While highway & train noise was there it didn't bother us. There are many activities to do; a fishing lake, peddle boats, 2 pools, mini golf, rec. room, and playground and go next door for some great boudin. It is clearly a destination park for many from far and near. $42.50 and they gave us 2 free nights since we stayed the week. A great place to stay but very busy so reservations are recommended. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$42
Pros: Helpful friendly staff Long level concrete pads Plenty of shade at the sites. Good location for visiting Lafayette and Acadian sites Cons: Road noise - we have stayed in any number of right off the highway campgrounds. By far this was the noisiest. Relentless traffic noise. OK for stopover but if you want to stay for a few days try to get a site further away from the road. Sites other than concrete pads were all gravel, not a piece of green in sight. Pet walk is on the side of the busy entrance road and has little grass. You have to be constantly on the watch for traffic, and your puppy needs to like to pee on dirt or gravel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$45
Nice older campground right off highway with level sites. We got a pull through that was nice. It's a very convenient stop over. They also allow you to wash your rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$36
This KOA is handy off I-10. A new roundabout corner was being constructed near the entrance so was congested, but will be better in the near future. Sites were adequate for a motorhome and tow car but a little tight for turning. Some sites border on a nice lake. Several restaurants were within a 1/2 mile walk or less away. Office managers were helpful with area information on vehicle service and restaurants. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$45
Not a bad stop over for the night although a bit pricey. Check in was quick, staff very friendly. We got a long pull through which was fairly level asphalt, good spacing between sites, utilities worked good. Lots of shaded spots, lots of noise from the interstate as well, 18 wheelers exiting the freeway using their jake brake was pretty bad. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
This was one of the better KOA campgrounds that we've stayed at. Our pull-through site had plenty of room, and we had no problem getting in and out of it. The construction on the road leading into the park made finding the park very confusing. The main reason I gave a low score is because the road noise from I-10 is unbearable. It didn't let up all night. We would look for another park if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
Better than average. Very nice park, easy access from I-10. Look for the KOA signs at the traffic circle. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$53
This park is great for small coaches. We stayed in a pull through spot that had an oak tree that leaned over the spot to the point that it touches your camper on the driver side. Almost impossible to pull in. Several of the pull through sites were this way. It's an old park, very clean, very friendly staff. In and out is a little difficult due to construction, but for the most part its nice. Won't stay again due to the fact that the sites are just too small We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$49
Although the highway noise was a little above normal the park was nicely laid out. There were rental kayaks and canoes available to play in the small lake in the center of the campground. There were two different size cabins to choose from and the sites were adequate for most RVs. The staff is extremely helpful and attentive. The amenities are favorable which includes a nice size pool, playground and other fun activities. The Wi-Fi was very weak and unusable. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2013
$49
I am rating this campground so poorly because I was only 6-7 sites from their wi-fi and the signal was so weak that I could not connect. I am tired of campgrounds claiming to have wi-fi when it is only accessible from their office. Other than that we were placed in a narrow site overlooking a very noisy expressway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$49
The only downside to this park is the road noise. The campground property is next to the Interstate and an exit ramp. Trucks exiting use their air brakes, adding even more noise. Everything else about the park is great, We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$39
Stayed one night while traveling on I-10. Staff is most helpful and professional. We arrived late, and they had everything ready for us. Hook ups were each. Area was clean. Park section where we stayed was reasonably full. Noise from I-10, narrow sites, and construction near entrance road were on detractors. We have stayed here before, and each time we left thinking it was a good decision. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$46
Should be illegal to construct RV park this close to interstate, also on top of off-ramp where 18-wheelers exit: much too noisy. Very little sleep. Even during day when outside, could not hear companion speaking without shouting. Park staff friendly, park itself clean. Lots to do for children: perfect for family. Stayed 5 days, but this park is not for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$43
Good place for an overnight. It's literally right off of I-10, so highway noise is somewhat of a issue. However, the park was very shady, clean, well kept. All utilities worked well. I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$48
Very nice park with good cable and Wi-Fi - - - except cable costs $3 per nite which is a gouge!! Trees wouldn't allow satellite use. Staff was cordial, but a bit robotic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$42
Was greeted by the owner with a big slice of pizza in his hand. He showed me the rate schedule and I agree with a previous post that they nickel and dime you to death. For a 30amp site back from the road with cable TV would have been right at $50. Then I noticed at the bottom of the price menu that anybody who visits you at your site has to pay $5 per person "access fee." WHAT? I've never heard of that. I didn't stay and won't ever go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$40
This is a really nice place with a wonderful lake. There are many amenities. It is right off of the interstate and has a little traffic noise. It does not have a community feel to it and was a little expensive for us as long term. Baths and laundry really clean. Great site for Mardi Gras, the Scott parade runs just past the entrance to the park!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$42
I stayed here for 1 night in a pull through site. Campground elevation is 39 feet. Maneuvering my 40 footer towing a dinghy was no problem. Roads are asphalt, site was concrete and patio was asphalt. Site spacing is fairly close. My site number 1A was 30A with water and sewer. WI-FI is included in daily rate. Cable is not available. I was able to receive AT&T Wireless G3/4 Internet & Cellular service. I received Dish Network 110/119 Satellite TV from dish on roof of motorhome. Campground is pet friendly. Walmart and Kroger are 7 miles away. I am unable to comment on other amenities due to not using them. They have the largest and cleanest laundromat I have ever seen at a campground. The major negative is the proximity to Interstate 10. I have stayed here 4 times and always request site 1A even though it is only 30A. Nice place but a little pricey. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2012
$49
Interior roads are awful. Lots of road noise. They put the overnighters right next to the interstate after they pay the premium fee to stay here, then you're nickled and dimed for cable. If you're needing somewhere for just overnight, there are some quieter places that are much more reasonable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$45
This park has many trees and a pretty lake. It is easy access to the Interstate. It has a lot of traffic noise. We found it to be a bit pricey, with the added charge for cable TV and the 12 percent tax added on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2011
$43
Price reflects KOA discount. This wooded campground is right next to the highway with means a lot of noise. With our windows and door open to catch the breeze, my husband and I had trouble hearing each other talk. With the windows and door closed, the noise was manageable. I didn’t care for the manager at all. She acted unhappy that we didn’t purchase the cable for $3. Then when I asked for the code for the wi-fi, the manager told me that I wouldn’t be able to connect to the internet. My request for a small discount was denied because, according to the manager, technically, I could still connect to their wi-fi. Their wi-fi just couldn’t connect to the internet. She repeated this about three times, louder each time. This is also the only KOA I’ve ever stayed at that didn’t escort us to our site. The sites were level and long enough for our 35” motor home and toad. The dog walk was a rock-filled area parallel to the main road. I found one of the park rules very strange. It stated, “KOA armbands required at all times”. No one mentioned armbands when we checked in. Since we were only staying overnight, we just ignored it. We didn’t see anyone else wearing armbands either. This is one of the few campgrounds that we would not stay at again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$43
We thought it was over priced for a KOA, even with our discount. 30 and 50amp both at $43 then add $3 if you want cable TV. If you want shade you might like this campground because it's almost all covered in old oak trees, but we use a roof mounted dish and need a clear shot of the southern sky. Not to mention the people who were not held accountable for driving rather fast through the park. There was a nice area for little kids to play but the pool wasn't open so we assume it wasn't heated. The spaces were long but not real very wide and we had a pole at the front right edge of our site making pulling out difficult but workable since no one was occupying the spaces in front of us. Not sure why we were not put in one of the front row sites, since we were only staying one night and we were a 40ft MH pulling a full size pickup, when others that came in after us were: but that's a minor thing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$40
A great place to stay! Located next to everything, plenty for the kids to do!! Very clean, quiet and peaceful!!! We had a great time and will definitely return!! The little store was nice too! We all loved it!!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$24
Positives: Clean, close to highway. Negatives: Being close to the highway means noise, and there was a lot of that. If you want a site set further back from the highway, they don't have cable or the wi-fi won't reach. Plus, the sites back from the road were cramped and tighter. Big negative: When leaving, we got our LP tanks topped off. The attendant had the hose hooked up and the bleed open before I was even out of the RV with my dog, and before I had turned off the appliances. Not safe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$43
Can't believe we really did this. This is the last time we stay in a KOA (keep on adding). Price reflects their Value Card discount which is ridiculous. They are overpriced and undervalued. Our neighbor's water faucet is right outside our door. Our sewer hookup is at the very back of the site. The water and electric are 15 feet closer to the front of the site. Thank goodness we have satellite for TV as their cable rate is $3 a day. Yeah, they have things for kids to do but you pay for everything and we just want to stay for 2 days and catch up on Crawfish. Like I said, no more KOA's for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$43
It is overpriced and and overrated but convenient to interstate. Most of the concrete pads are severely cracked and broken. The road noise is loud. There are lots of big trees some of which may be in the way for big rigs. There are weeds growing on the sites and general upkeep is poor. It is great for families and with the lake and activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Nice shaded park with a small lake. I stayed only one night so I cannot comment too much. The pull through site I was assigned to had the hook-ups all the way to the rear. Probably no problem for a trailer, however I was towing a car with a motorhome. The park loaned me an extension for the TV cable. The sewer hose also needed an extension which I chose not to bother with. No speed bumps, however the entry/exit road is very narrow and two rigs going in and out might be tricky. The rate included my KOA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
We have stayed here before, by the lake and enjoyed it. The WiFi was very weak this time, and we had to pay $3.00/day for Cable TV. It's not a bad park. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
This park is rated too high in the books. When the grounds were new, maybe. The narrow, broken concrete sites are in need of repairs. The trees are tall now and satellite signals are only good on certain sites. Weeds are growing on the sites, up keep is poor. The kid activities, store and WI-FI are very nice. At $40+, you are paying for kids and their activities, not the sites. Highway traffic is very loud all night long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$41
This is a nice but not outstanding campground. There are plenty trees and a small lake. The pads are concrete with gravel between. The park and sites are a bit tight but manageable. There is a good Cajun seafood restaurant named Fezzo's within walking distance (behind McDonald's and Harley store adjacent I-10. The night we were here there was a Cajun music jam at the tourist information center near the park entrance. The rate is with the KOA card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
This is a KOA - It has that KOA feel to it. Not sure I like that feel. Have stayed in some great KOA's like Junction, TX and Choctaw, OK, but this one misses on a few points. The sites are really close together. The freeway noise from I-10 is incredible and the trains in the middle of the night were ridiculous. Has a lake with fish, but not easy to fish from the banks due to the concrete slabs and steep sides. Lots of other good stuff, but too much bad stuff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
A very good campground. Mostly shaded; gravel and cement. Well maintained and clean. Very good laundry. Good location if doing the area tourist stuff. Pool, mini-golf, lake, boat rentals, etc. Easy access to I-10. Some road noise from I-10 and the off ramp. Not bad if closed up with the A/C on. But, on a nice cool spring or fall day - with the windows open, if would be annoying. Good overnight stop or weekend get away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
The park is older but well kept. The staff is well informed, extremely helpful and make you feel welcome. There is a well stocked store with food items, RV supplies and souvenirs. Be sure to ask about the self guided tour Cd's which highlight local attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
We were lucky to get an end-site furthest away from I-10 and it was still very noisy. Needs some upkeep on low-lying trees along the streets to sites. Satellite was iffy as a result of these low branches. Office staff was friendly enough, got here after closing, so no map left to show us where our site was, just the number. That was not fun after driving all day. Stayed 3 days and visited local sites. Would stay again due to proximity to the interstate and fast "get-away". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$50
It was OK, clean but narrow roads and tight backing sites. Road noise from Interstate 10 was very loud - bring earn plugs if you are a light sleeper. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$43
This KOA park is very nice, had reservations and registration was quick and pleasant, we called while on the road (Baton Rouge) to see how late office was open and told 7 pm, so no problem coming in at 6 pm. Layout is interesting with large trees, paved interior roads, we had concrete site close to showers, and except for freeway road noise if parked on the perimeter in front, this is a good place to overnight or for a couple of nights. The rate we had included cable TV ($3/night) plus KOA member discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
We made our reservation on the internet. We were told no pull thrus were available on the date we requested. However, when we arrived, towing a car the staff asked if we wanted a pull thru and found us a site. The campground was very nice, lots of trees and pleasant staff. Would stay here again if the opportunity presented itself. Rates are higher if you want cable, Wi-Fi, etc. Different rates for various sites. I would not make the reservation on line, I would call. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$47
Park is very nice, but sites were extremely close together and the overall result is the park seems crowded. The cost of an overnight stay is rather high, even with a KOA discount. Do not think we would stay at this park again. The high cost is just too prohibitive We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
This park is fine for an overnight stop, but it isn't one which would attract me for more than that. We actually drove out of our way to make this stop and were disappointed. The sites were very close together, and the area in which we have to walk our dog is along a fence line with very little grass. It seems more like a family campground for people in the immediate area to us. I've never seen so many children in a campground before this. I think the price is quite high considering looks of this campground. It has free Wifi and a lot of channels on the cable, but if you have satellite, you'd never be able to use your satellite because of the trees. I wouldn't come back again if we travel this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
This is a very good campground. We stay here every time we are traveling Interstate 10 while going to and from Texas and Florida. The office staff are very helpful and friendly. There is also a wonderful restaurant close by that has excellent Cajun Cuisine. The only reason this is getting an eight rating instead of a ten is because it is right next to the Interstate and can be a little noisy at times. Otherwise would recommend this campground to all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$50
This KOA park is very good with level concrete sites, but they are packed close together. They have nice large trees throughout the park and at every site. The laundry facility is excellent. TV and wifi worked great. The park is very close to the interstate and noise could be a real problem if not camping in a motorhome with the windows closed. The park is close to several excellent restaurants and there is a superb visitor's center just outside the park with a cajun lady attending who is worth a trip to Lafayette just to visit with. This is a nice park that we'd definitely stay at again. The price of $50 is really high, but they make every 4th night free which works out to $35 per night which is pretty typical these days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$40
Great amenities. Some featured amenities such as the pool were not open. Noisy being close to the highway. Mardi Gras went right by the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
Nice shady sites. Pretty lake with paddle boats. We only stayed here overnight. You are right on the interstate so you do have noise but it is a great easy stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$48
We were on site 155 which is right at the interstate. The noise level was so high that at 3:30 a.m. I was wide awake! The CG itself is nice but not a place to go to rest too much noise; even during the day all you hear is the interstate. I rated this CG a year ago and HAD to stay here again for my husband's job. I would suggest getting a site in the back as far back as you can go. They are overpriced. Seems my rating is same as others, too close spots, too noisy, too pricey. Although nice, I'm thinking someone needs to open another CG in Lafayette! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$38
Nice campground, although gravel between the sites was not ideal. Playground and pools were excellent. Mini-golf and paddle boats meant there was lots for kids to do Shade good. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
I read the review right before mine and I think we stayed at a different campground. This is about the best KOA I have ever seen and a great place overall. There are many facilities available on site that are all well maintained and the lake is pretty. Yes, the sites are a bit small but I had no problem and did not see anyone else that experienced problems because of the size of the sites. The sites I saw were concrete pads that were very level making it easy to set up. The people were nice and the on site store was well stocked. Bathrooms and showers were convenient and clean. The campground is very convenient for a stopover as it is right off I-10. We were on our way from Florida to Texas and would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$46
We were very disappointed with this park. The staff was friendly, but the park was not designed for todays RVs. The sites are too close together and face opposite directions. When there is a trailer beside yours both units can't put their slides out. The utilities are spaced 20' apart making some hookups very difficult. We also were invaded by ants! There was a group camped two spaces over that had a late night (2AM) party. Sorry, but this was a one and done! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$41
Very nice family campground, sites are small but the people made it worth the trouble. We will be back soon. Thanks We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
This is a fairly large park with sites grouped around a small lake. Many sites are occupied by long-term residents. There is plenty for kids to do with two pools, boat rentals, game room, etc. Mature trees shade almost every space. Concrete pads with gravel between. Some sites have the sewer awkwardly placed at the end of the driveway and may require an extra-long hose. Right on I-10, so epect some highway noise. A great place for families, but seems a bit expensive for the overnighter who doesnt use the rec facilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$41
A clean and well run park. We stayed here one night on our way to Florida from Texas. The sites are close together and the roads narrow, but I did not have that much trouble getting into and out of my site. The bathrooms looked very clean, but I did not use them much since they were quite a way from our site. There was a lot of road noise from I-10. This park is well-suited for overnight stays along I-10, but you might want something quieter for longer stays in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$40
Friendly staff and clean park except for some long-term campers whose sites look junky. Low rating is for very narrow streets and difficult parking, even with pull-thru. Most difficult parking I have ever experienced because of narrow streets, parked trucks and cars crowding into streets, sites too close together, trees where you need turning space, and large overhead tree limbs that are too low. You have to maneuver through all of these at the same time when parking. A motor home had to move slowly to make sure he cleared his mirrors between my RV and the one across the street. If highway noise bothers you, request a site more distant from I-10. Nice feature: trash is picked up at your site every morning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$42
This is our first time at this KOA, but we will be back. We were in Site #117 right on the lake and it was full hookups, and Wi-Fi. We did have to pay $3.00/night for TV cable but did not mind because there were many channels to chose from. The Staff was very friendly and very professional. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2008
$40
The poor rating is based on the cost, the noise and the small sites. The $40 was after my 15% KOA Gold discount and did not include the cable which was an additional $3 per night. The roads are old and very narrow. Getting in and out with a dingy attached can be done, but the isn't much room to spare. The noise from I-10 is VERY loud. The restrooms were old, adaquate and clean, but very far from most sites. We had to move a table to our site. The sewer hookup was at the very back of the site. The only way you could hook up the sewer was to unhook the car and park at the very back of the site and then I would have had to use my extension. One 10' hose would not reach. Water pressure is high, over 60PSI, so use a regulator. Voltage is high, 130VAC on both legs. This place is worth no more the $20. Next time thru I'm just staying at Wal-Mart. I try to use campgrounds when I can because they deserve to make a living, but places like this drive one to Wal-Marts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$39
This is a nice, well kept campground with lots of trees. The roads are a little narrow, but not so much as to pose a problem. The sites are long enough, but very narrow and close together. We reserved a 50 amp site, but when we arrived I found out that there is no Wi-Fi coverage in the 50 amp area, so we changed to a 30 amp site. Considering the high prices here, I was disappointed. I would not stay here again unless there was nothing else available in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$45
This is a very nice, clean park. The reason for the rating is: sites are very close, lots of noise from interstate, very very expensive. Although the staff was friendly, the place is clean, I would have to think twice before going back. My total bill for 2 nights was $95.91! I find that way too much to be parked almost on top of your neighbor and not being able to sleep because of the noise level. There is a lot to do for kids, 2 pools, game room, basketball court, swing set, paddle boats, putt-putt golf -- BUT all come with a cost! Everything is extra except the swing set and basketball and pool. We had to pay $3.00 a day for cable for TV and check out is at Noon and you still have to pay $3.00 even though you must be out by noon. Obviously the owners need to make money but they are taking the joy out of camping when you have to bust a $100.00 bill for 2 nights. That seemed to be the talk of the CG, every complained about the cost vs. what you get. Not sure if we will return. We did hear that a new CG was opening in nearby Henderson, LA around 11/1... we will ck it out and will make our next trip there.. maybe now that this KOA will have competition, they will reduce their rates and fees for everything. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Lot's of shade at most sites. Campground starting to look a little shabby with travel trailers and 5ers. parked up front for sale. Lot's of activity and park was very busy. Located next to I10 and gets a little noisy at night with all the 18 wheeler traffic. Cabins are available for rent and easy exit and entrance back on to I10. We stayed 1 night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$34
Park was clean and had plenty of stuff for the kids. Drives are narrow but manageable if the park would enforce parking rules. It was very difficult to get down the narrow drives with other vehicles using half the drive as their parking spot. And with it being 11 p.m., you could not get out and ask people to move. We checked in over the phone while driving. After taking our deposit we asked a few question about the camp, available spots and to confirm we where getting our KOA discount. Instead of being helpful and answering the questions, the response was, do you want me to refund your deposit. This is very unacceptable in my book. Nothing gets my goat more than a business that acts as if they do not need your business. And to top it off, when we did make it to our spot it was taken. Luckily, there was another spot down the way. We overcame the loud highway noise by using a loud box fan. I would not stay here again because of the service desk attitude. This fan also drowned out the loud music that was still playing in one of the gathering areas next to the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$37
Staff is very friendly and campground is clean. However I will not use the KOA again. The campsites are very close to each other and the roads are very narrow making the pull throughs very tight. Had problems with the amps on their electric hook up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$36
This is a very nice KOA. We had a lovely site on the lake. The park is very clean including the restrooms. The sites are little to close together, but they are all level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2006
$1
I had stayed here in the past so decided to take advantage of their KOA Hot Deal Free Friday last May. Unfortunately, so did everyone else. Fortunately, we got there fairly early and were able to use the pool before the crowds came in. By evening the park was crowded and their was a constant flow of new arrivals. The "free" offer seemed to entice people to bring lots of extra guests. Many sites appeared to have 7-8 people on them (vs.the normal 2-5). This was one full 185 site park. We were really glad to be leaving Saturday morning. The park has nice faciities but I would avoid it on summer and holiday weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2006
$42
The reason I'm giving this park a low rating is based primarily on price and noise. We called in advance and made reservations for 1 week, but asked at that time if we could stay longer. They said yes. Upon checking in, they charged us a wopping $300.00 plus tax for one week. We ask if we could go to a monthly rate and stay for one month. We were told no, yet we were put in the monthly area for that one week. The lady we spoke to was quite nasty about it. The park was basically empty, except for the long-term area. It was very difficult to get our 40' rig into their very narrow, short-turning-radius sites, and our quad slides were very, very close to hitting our neighbors slides. We even had to move our vehicles to let others out of their sites, although others reciprocated when we left by having to do same. And the noise from I-10 was some of the worst we have ever heard. No way would I pay 40.00+ dollars a night to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2006
$??
Loved this park. It was clean and spacious. We stayed for 3 months due to work and it was very nice. Friendly and helpful staff. Close to Lafayette, 45 minutes from Coushatta and 1 hour from Lake Charles. Would stay again in a heart beat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$30
This is one of the better KOAs. Very attractive with lots of trees and a pretty lake. Lots for kids to do. There are nice play areas, paddle boats, a game room and 2 pools. Office is well-stocked with RV supplies and basic groceries. What I liked best is they are very tourist oriented. They have three self-drive tapes available for no charge, which cover most of the places to see in the surrounding area. These were made especially for the campground, so the driving tours all start at the KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2004
$31
Daily Charge for cable. Sites narrow (25 ft). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2003
$39
Very clean. Close to I-10 but noise not obtrusive. The staff were curt and seemed as if they really did not want to be bothered checking me in (a teen age girl). The other campers were very friendly and helpful. By my self I had to navigate between a large oak and an F-350 parked where in was not supposed to be with the owner no where in site. The folks at the site across helped to safely direct me into the site. The sites are close together as they are in most private profit generated parks. The cost was ridiculas for what you got. They have a lot of planned social activities I am not interested in. They target full timers and families with small kids. Hopefully I will never again need to camp in Lafayette so I don't have to go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$29
Excellent, clean, well maintained park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$43
Very clean park. Fishing in the lake is ok. Mini Golf course needed attention, carpets worn and torn. They have a game room. Interstate noise is bad. Also train horn late at night. A little on the expensive side. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$30
Super nice campground. Very shady. Miniture golf, playground, recreation area w/video games, paddle boats, fishing and swimming pools keep little ones (and big ones) busy. Very friendly staff. Reservations recommended. Some of the sites are pretty narrow. This campground is very close to home for us. We have visited it more than once and we will continue to go in the future. The only thing that keeps this campground from being a "10" is that it's a little pricy and there is some road noise since it is close to I-10. Still really enjoyable!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$40
An excellent choice to stay while traveling thru Louisiana on Hwy. 10 or down Hwy. 49 at Lafayette. Super-clean everything. The only drawback was some highway noise with only a line of trees between the camp and highway. Otherwise, it would be a 10. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$24
The only problem with this site is road noise from I-10. Some parts of park (in rear) have less noise. If it were not for this problem park would be a 10 rating. Cajun staff is the best, always working to make things right. As a rule we will not use a KOA if we can find anything else. This place is great. We use it a lot. Need reservations or you may not get in. People from Lafayette fill this place up on weekends. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com