221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Tumble In RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (432) 242-1962
CGID12512

Tumble In RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
19
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   9   6   8   4   6   10   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$24
This park is self-service; no owner or management is on site or available and there is no contact information for them. Wifi is good near the buildings. The sites are fairly level gravel with full hookups. The grassy areas are full of goat head stickers, making walking with sandals on or with a pet uncomfortable and possibly dangerous. Small trees were planted near each site but most have died of neglect. There is no shade. The train tracks run behind the park, and trains run at various times during the night. Although there are no whistles, the engine and track noise could disturb a light sleeper with the windows closed. Bring earplugs just in case. There is a common room with a washer and dryer for use on the honor system with a suggested donation of $3. There are a refrigerator, sink and stove for camper use. The toilet/shower building has two toilet stalls and one separate shower/dressing area. The park is kind of cute and quirky with a neon sign and buildings geared toward the Marfa minimalist ambiance. However, minimalist design isn't the same as minimalist upkeep. We stayed for four nights. The washer and dryer were filthy the entire time. The sink, stove and refrigerator were too. The concrete floor in the women's bathroom wasn't swept while we were there, and looked like it had been a long time since the sink and toilet bowls were cleaned. The same poop stain that was in the toilet on the day we arrived was still there the day we left along with the wads of hair on the floor. Unfortunately, this is the best of the options for camping in Marfa, so positive changes are not likely from the absentee owners. Next time we'll eschew the convenience of being close to Marfa and opt for a better park in Alpine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$29
A truly unique campground. If you like fluff and fancy, keep going. If you like character, this is for you. Price quoted is for a freight train long pull-through. Check in is honor system in a classic trailer. I didn't use the toilets or shower but they were clean and neat. The community area is graveled with benches and decorative wall (desert decorations). There is a building with kitchen (stove, fridge, sinks, tables) and a swap area. We were there a week and saw the manager twice. It seems like he lives on the property. He is the chef on the Food Shark, a gourmet food truck in Marfa. Water was good and clear, electricity steady and Wi-Fi strong. I would chose this over any glitz and glamor park I have seen. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$24
$24 per night was for a full hookup back-in site. Dirt/gravel sites are mostly level and there is adequate room for deploying slides and awnings. There is a common area that has a wood burning stove, a refrigerator, BBQ grill, picnic table, sink, washer/dryer, CDs and player,as well as a covered outside shelter that has a campfire ring. Management was there taking care of their small planted trees. As stated in previous reviews, check-in is done by the honor system or reservations can be made online if you’re paying by credit card. There are railroad tracks running alongside the campground but, thankfully, they blow their whistles about a half-mile either side of the campground and pass slowly by. The artsy town of Marfa proper is less a mile from the campground. If you like walking/biking there are many miles of trails/roadway in and near the park. We used the Tumblewide Wi-Fi (password at check-in trailer) for Internet access. AT&T reception was OK and Verizon reception was stronger. No OTA TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$29
As the April review stated, this is not your typical RV park. Marfa is not your average town either. This is a newer park, but do not expect above and beyond amenities. It is competitive compared to other local parks and does have decent and clean restrooms and a laundry facility. We loved the "Tumble in RV" sign and the overall "Aged" appearance of the park. Strictly self serve, but in keeping with the laid back Marfa lifestyle. We did not get good Wi-Fi reception from our space, but from the laundry building, it is better. Our AT&T reception was good. There is a train track very close, but we found it more charming than annoying given the outpost feeling of Marfa. It does not have any amenities for children and has too many thistle style weeds to enjoy much outdoor activity. We stayed here three nights and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
Tumble In is not your typical boring commercial RV park. The "office" is a refurbed Scotty (I think) and check in is unusual--you leave your CC number or cash as there is no attendant. The pull throughs are huge and easy to access. The landscaping is new so no worries about dialing in your satellite. WiFi the best we have ever had on the road. Great water pressure as well. Bathrooms were spotless and new. Yes, there are trains. But with the AC running, we barely noticed. Marfa is a fun little town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2013
$29
The park was empty except for our friends and us. The self check-in is not a comfortable way to go with no envelopes available to put cash in. The other option was to write all our credit card information on the check in form and drop that in a box. We felt very uncomfortable with that idea too. The park is gravel and has no shade. It was noisy due to the trains. OK for an overnight stay only. Our basic needs were met but that was the extent of it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
We enjoyed our stay at this groovy, work-in-progress place, but can't rate it very high on any kind of objective scale. We were the only souls in the place, never met the owners, but we did admire the cute/retro trailer office and the really cool architecture of the bathhouse, which was clean. We weren't keen on the price for such a bare-bones place next to the railroad tracks, though. Not sure if it'll improve with the heavily watered but odd landscaping. I know you can't escape goatheads in this area, but it seemed like that's what they were growing. All that said, we might stay again, though, as this seemed much better than another place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
We stopped back by the Tumble In because we had such fun in Marfa last time and wanted to see how the owners had fixed it up since our last time through, and we were really excited! They have incredible bathrooms and showers now and really strong free WIFI and they've been planting trees and grass. They even restored / fixed up their little self-check in trailer -- an adorable old "canned ham." One of the reasons we had so much fun last time was because the young couple who owned it were so nice, and they were just as nice and helpful this time. We've never seen as RV park with the style this place is going for. It's just cool for the whole family. It's only a year old, but the Tumble In is really going to be special. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$24
New, bare, no showers or restrooms, Wi-Fi working but weak. Good views of the open country around Marfa. We had the place to ourselves. It is between a highway (lightly traveled at night) and a railroad track so there will be some noise. Honor system check-in. Owner did respond to emails when I inquired about space available. It's a good place for a Marfa stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
This place is new -- no facilities, landscaping just getting going, internet not up yet (as of June 2011) -- so it's not going to thrill any one who needs all the perks. But if you want an incredible view (thirty miles, maybe?), peace and quite, space between sites, a mile long view of the trains coming around the bend, be a 1/4 mile from Marfa with a great view of town, on the way to Alpine, on the way to Big Bend National park, near the Marfa Lights ... need I go on? The place is cool. There a great old vintage neon sign,too. We'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com