214620 User submitted reviews online!!
New Orleans East Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (985) 643-3850
CGID1253

New Orleans East Campground

Camp Information
Sites
139
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   3   9   8   6   3   7   3   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$40
Friendly staff. Sites are only big rig friendly if no one is parked behind you; turns are tight. We did manage to get into our pull-through site, but were parked next to a light pole, so getting out was a little more difficult. Sites are gravel and interior roads had some ruts. Would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Very well maintained - we enjoyed our stay. We stayed for several weeks and it was quiet and well maintained. The restrooms were spotless! Not much shade but there are a few sites with a tree. Convenient location to the interstate. The only reason I gave it a 9 and not a 10 is that the Wi-Fi seemed a bit slow. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$31
Folks that gave this park high ratings must be friends of the owners. Agree with the previous reviewer that you should be current on shots before staying here. I can't believe KOA ever had anything to do with this place. Full sun sites, poor WiFi, pool in disrepair and murky water, pump was not working as far as I could tell. The dump station sewer was 5-6 feet directly in front of the laundry room door. Laundry looked like it was in someone's mildewy basement. Absolutely the worst campground we have stayed at; it inspired us to shorten our vacation and leave early. Management not available at the office to check in when we arrived at 5:30. They left a note saying they would be back after 10 the next morning, which meant we had to cancel our New Orleans tour plans. Stay away from this place and keep driving! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
Great help from park staff. Gravel site with good length for 38' and parking. High speed traffic from "permanent" section, however. Muddy holes on site when raining. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
Good basic older (was) KOA! Still somewhat recovering from hurricane Katrina. Owners are presently absent because of health issues, but the manager was knowledgeable and very helpful. About 40 minutes from French Quarter, but good access to I-10 to I-12 for travel east or west. We would -- probably will --stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$41
I enjoyed staying at this park. We stayed here for a little over a week while we visited the New Orleans area. It was easy to get to and convenient to New Orleans. The manager was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. At one time, this was a KOA campground and still looks like one. It was very clean. They were very pet friendly. We did not use the pool as it was a little early in the year, but it looked very inviting.I enjoyed our stay here and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2013
$35
The owner is not friendly and doesn't care about the RV park. When the grass was cut, the grass clippings were left on the grass and were tracked in our coach. The sites have water puddles when it rains and so do the roads. Internet is not good and the rate is awful. I won't stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$40
A basic RV park, formerly a KOA. Not pretty but okay and only a mile off the I-10. Reasonably good internet speed and a new washroom. Make sure they don't give you a spot in the "back 40", where the permanents are located, as it is a little rough there. Had a problem with the breaker on our electrical panel at our spot when we checked in, but they fixed it promptly. No cable TV, but 20+ channels over the antenna. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2012
$33
We stayed here to visit downtown, but the shuttle was not running - call before you go if you want this. New ownership. We did rent a car from ECar who came to the campground and picked us up. We took the rental downtown to the French Quarter for the day. Be Careful, walk where the tourists are, not alone. Washrooms were very musty and damp. Site was long enough for our pull through requirement of 56 ft without unhooking. Easy in and out. Gravel site. Grounds are very worn and tired. Being 30 miles from downtown and still suffering from Katrina. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$32
As an over night guest you get squat. My wife didn't like Pine Crest but it is much better. This place is run by a couple of women who would rather be somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$39
We called on our way into the area and had no problem getting a reservation. The employees were extremely friendly and accommodating, as well as happy to tell us where to go (and not go) in New Orleans. It's a great choice for those looking to spend some time in New Orleans but who don't want to stay right in the city due to noise, high rates, cramped parks, and etc. It's close enough to the city to be convenient (only about a 20 minute drive to the French Quarter) yet far enough out to be quiet and relaxing, plus we felt very safe here. The bathrooms were extremely clean, and showers were clean as well. We didn't use any other facilities, wi-fi, etc. because we had no need, so can't comment on them. We had an easy pull-through site, and an employee personally directed us to it in a golf cart. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2011
$39
The Wi-Fi was extremely slow. The interior roads seemed tight, and the side to side sites are tight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$39
We stayed here two nights in our fifth wheel. We enjoyed this park. It is clean and quiet. We also took full advantage of the shuttle to the French Quarter in New Orleans. The only complaint I have of this park was there were dump trucks continually driving on the driveways; and they do not obey the speed limit! We travel with our dog, and I was very concerned while walking him because the trucks would speed right by us. I would stay here again but hope the management addresses these trucks! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2010
$25
This park has a lot of people that live here full time and they have a lot of junk sitting outside their trailers. They have a dog run but the locals seem to think its a giant litter box for their dogs, no one cleans up after their dogs. The locals speed through the park and we were in fear of our coach being hit everyday. People stayed pretty much to themselves and seemed very off standing. They have a shuttle to the French Quarter but could never find anyone around to take it. We left this park and found one closer to the French Quarter. We would not stay here again or recommend it to anyone else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
The entry road is narrow with a large deep ditch on ether side of the road. The park sign is very small. There was a larger sigh but the sun had washed out the printing. Interior roads were very narrow. Electric and water hookups were OK. The place is a tired old park that used to be a KOA park. The price was way too high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
Very rough road (LA 433) from the I-10 to the park. Very narrow entrance with a deep drop off if you cut short. Roads are VERY narrow with some sharp turns. Level gravel sites with good hook-ups. The whole place could use some up grading as it looks very run down. Fresh gravel needed, repaving with wider streets, water and take care of what little grass there is. Pest control needs to be done to control the ants and spiders. Dogs allowed to be chained outside without adequate shade, water or food. We stayed four nights so received the 4th night free bring the overall cost down to $29 a night. Stayed here as part of a club rally to have easy access to New Orleans. Site was quiet and everything worked. Scenic it's not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$24
We stayed here 9 days/nights. Loved the free shuttle van that took us to the French Quarter. This campground use to be a KOA but isn't any longer. Still using the name New Orleans East. The Wi-Fi was excellent!!! We were farther away from the road so it was really quiet. The interior roads are paved and skinny, the sites are very narrow with gravel. We got in and out okay with our HDT and 35 ft trailer, but did see some sites would be really tight getting in and out of. The wife didn't like the taste of the water, I thought it was just fine. Lots of security lights. Lots of little gnats. There is an area in the back of the campground for seasonals and permanent residents. The road there is gravel and so are the sites. Everyone was very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
I stayed 4 nights, the campground was running a special on the rates. I got the fourth night free. That was a nice surprise. The campground had a shuttle to French Quarter, New Orleans. It was free. We had the greatest time there. My kids learned how to play chess with their MEGA chess pieces. The pool and pee wee golf course kept them very busy. If we every come through this area again, we will stay here! Ohhh, the campground has the cutest little store and with the nicest people running the facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$45
This campground was very overpriced for what it had to offer. We are sympathetic to the fact that the hurricane came a year ago, but a year is plenty of time for the grass to be cut, litter to be picked up around the sites and gravel to be poured on the roadway inside the park. This park would not accept the KOA discount card, due to the fact that the hurricane had done damage there, but again, a year is enough time for this reason as well. Nice enough staff; pool now in use. Mostly used by construction workers for weeks at a time now. We were not shown to our site and it was a confusing layout... one trailer is pointed in one direction and the next in the other... we will not stay here in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$36
Some sites are narrow. I could open my slide but not my awning. The staff members are extremely nice and very helpful. Small pool and small goofy golf course. The campground was well kept and very quiet and is close to New Orleans and the surrounding attractions. I think we were only about 15-20 mins from Six Flags. My kids and I will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$29
Lot of improvements have been made to this park. The office and equipment around are all new. The roads inside park need more blacktop. Some sites need more gravel due to low and solf ground in park. Sites are very close together. Staff was very nice. Some road noise off I-10. A lot of good work has went into this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$27
Nice, safe park for the connection to New Orleans and the French Quarter. Sites were a bit narrow for our choosing as we like to sit outside and enjoy the scenery. Would probably try another place in the area the next time we go through. Fall, 2003 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$20
This was the nicest campground we stayed in during our 11 state, 3800 mile trip. The entire staff and owners were always attentive to our needs and helpful in everyway. The management even arranged for trips to and from attractions. The area was always clean and comfortable. This place was wonderful and above all SAFE. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$27
This is a newly renovated campground with a pleasant family type atmosphere. The campground was very clean and the staff was very friendly and knowledgeable in helping us enjoy our time in New Orleans. My kids never got bored having the mini golf course, pool and plenty of playground space. I was very pleased with our stay here. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com