223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Vinton RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (337) 589-2300
CGID1261

Vinton RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
141
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   6   5   2   6   5   5   2   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$25
Easy in and out from I-10. Open sites, some with concrete pads. Friendly staff and owners appear to live on-site. Reason for lower rating was a problem with high spikes in electric which caused our EMS system to shut off power to rig. We ended up leaving early and owners did provide refund for unused days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2013
$28
We like this park for overnight or a couple of days while traveling I-10. Concrete pads with plenty of room between sites. Big mature trees. Lots of grass. Close to some authentic, but low priced restaurants. Helpful staff. Clean laundry room with newer machines. Can get a little muddy in the rain. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
Convenient to I-10 and TX/LA border. We arrived after/during super big rain and park was just receding from being flooded - - drained quickly and pad we used was somewhat elevated so above the water. WiFi was excellent (which is rare) and lack of cable was very well covered by exceptional DTV reception from about 20 channels with super clear reception. Staff was helpful. Our rating may be tarnished by the many hours of driving in heavy rain to arrive. Roads within were puddled but it is Louisiana. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Park was nice but some sites are kind of scrunched together on some rows especially behind the office near the pool. Others are very well spaced. We asked for concrete pads because we had 2 trailers coming in and thought the patio would be concrete as well, but no, it was partially grassy and dirt. Naturally, it rained all weekend. Before checking in, I asked about other sites on the next row, especially sites 89-93 which had some limestone for the site but it looks like a concrete patio for those sites, which I would have preferred, but the owner said those were reserved. The 3 rows behind the office are pull throughs with full hookups. The love bugs were at their extreme on Labor Day weekend. Couldn't go to the pool with all the kids that look like they live here. Lots of sites looked like full-time settlers. Price was right though, $25.00 with Good Sam discount. Office hours are weird, 7:30 a.m. to 10 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. to ? I think owner lives on property as well. The back in sites look the best, 111 - 116 are all fully concrete. Don't know if the price is more for these. No shuttle to casino, but only 4 miles; close to I-10 and only about 20 minutes from Texas line. Town of Vinton has really nothing to offer; although a nice little St. Joseph Catholic Church not far from the park. Also, is pet friendly and children friendly considering the pool and playground. Has a couple of tiny cabins. Found it weird for a park that big to only have one dumpster. Owners very nice. No cable, but digital channels were very clear. We will probably come back here if I can get the sites I'd like. They do take reservations. Very shady. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2012
$23
Plenty of trees and grass (TV dish won't work). Sites spaced fairly close together. OK for overnight but no reason to stay. Restroom filthy; two of three toilets plugged and overflowing. Trash on floor with containers overflowing. Probable excuse was that this was Easter Good Friday night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Not a bad park for an overnight stop. Far enough off the highway so the noise doesn't bother you, but close enough so you don't get lost trying to get back to it. Quite, friendly people and staff. There is a pool but too cold to use. Would return again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
OK for an overnight. Level concrete pads for pull-throughs, easy in and out, maybe a little narrow. NO Verizon cell phone service. NO Verizon wireless available. NO cable TV but good broadcast TV and we didn't go there for the TV or cell phone anyway, just a quick overnight stop. A little pricey for what is offered. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2010
$33
This campground is on the north side of interstate at Exit 8. Access is very good. Roads are gravel. Some sites are cement. There are residences (homes) scattered throughout the campground. There are dogs roaming free. Cable TV was at the site but did not work (some was hung in the trees). This was okay for the night and convenient to I-10. Staff was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Rates: Woodalls said $24-$26, & last two reviewers said $20. I paid $33.98 w/taxes and was told that has been the rate for over one year! The conversation in the office focused on a long-term resident who should not drink so much so she could walk farther to throw things in the dumpster. I tossed beer bottle caps off my site back on to the site next door where the empty beer bottle laid. All 3 dogs I have seen in the hour that I have been here were off leash, two without owners. Nice grassy pet area, mature trees and a bit of grass. Desk person was helpful with business cards for local RV repairs. Narrow sites but our pull-through is concrete. Easy access off the freeway so appealing for an overnight, but very overpriced for what you get. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
Our experience was very different than the most recent post. The owner was very friendly, cordial and helpful. The pool was spotless and kids were enjoying it, but it had to be cold! The park is very well maintained and immaculate. There were long term residents but their sites were very neat and not trashy at all. There is a big field where the dogs could exercise away from other residents. There is an excellent Cajun restaurant a couple of blocks away. We thoroughly enjoy our stay here and will spend more time in the area using this park as a base camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
This ez-off ez-on is perfect for a quick overnight (but of couse, means lots of freeway noise). The town of Vinton is charming, if a little past it's heyday. The park owners are, however, not so charming. Another post indicates that they don't know how to run a park, and we agree. Gruff style, office open 5p-7p only, a pool last vacuumed just after Rita hit in 2005, unfinished projects everywhere, half the residents living like permanent refugees. But drop in, pick a site, and when the office opens ask for the "one night only off the books rate" and you've got a good, cheap spot with workable wifi and $1.25 laundry for the night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$23
The overnight and short term sites are very long concrete slabs with patio. The new owners just took over and were very pleasant. The utilities were excellent, (50 amp, sewer, water). They have free WiFi. The new owners just opened the store since the original was store was destroyed by hurricane Rita. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2007
$23
This park suffered damage from hurricane Rita in September of 2005. It is still very rough around the edges. The management is clueless as to running an RV park. They ran a very loud generator for several hours right at dinnertime. Most of the people here are permanent residents. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2005
$22
Park was fairly quiet even though it was close to I-10. We chose a grassy site instead of a concrete one. The only problem was when the rain was heavy, there was considerable flooding. But it dried up quickly. I use Verizon for my internet connection and this park seemed to be on the edge of the Verizon area. I was able to connect, but it was sporadic. We stayed for a month at $185 + electric. $40 (444kwh) of electricity was included in the monthly rental, overage was 0.09 cents per. The campground is close to the Creole Nature Trail and the Louisiana coast. Shopping in Vinton is limited, but closed enough to Walmart, etc in Sulphur, LA and Orange, TX. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2004
$22
Many permanent residents. We only stayed here one night and the cops seemed to visit too often, but thank goodness they were around. The area didn't seem safe. This is a dis enfranchised KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$32
Very poorly run. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com