214562 User submitted reviews online!!
Sturgis RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (605) 720-1501
CGID12636

Sturgis RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
167
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   9   10   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
The only drawback to this place is that it's basically a large gravel parking lot. The sites are large and pull-through with full hook-ups. Wi-Fi was very good. The restrooms and showers were spotless. The washer and dryer arrangement was different though. We've never seen a laundry actually in the restroom before. It's a great location for all the area attractions. This is the place we would stay if we were in the area again, except during the motorcycle rally. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Well laid-out park. It is all gravel, sites are level, bathrooms large and clean. Host was very pleasant. Good site for touring Sturgis, Deadwood, and surrounding area. I would camp here again as long as it was not during the Bike Rally week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$15
One week for just $100 + tax ($25 nightly). (Rally week prices are very high, one way to keep overzealous partyers away I guess) Large, level, full hookup, pull thrus. Friendly managers/campground hosts. Grounds are dirt, packed rock (one section has grass, but that area was closed to campers at this time. Drawbacks to campground are no shade and no pool to keep cool in hot summer sun. Pluses are proximity to so many destinations (Mount Rushmore, Deadwood, Rapid City, Black Hills, Devils Tower, etc). Restrooms and showers are very clean. Oddity is laundry in bathrooms, some units in mens and some in womens - so much for asking the spouse to transfer from washer to dryer... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$16
This park is all gravel but pretty level. The hookups were in the proper place and worked fine. The price of $16 per day is for a 1 week stay. Facilities were clean and park was very comfortable and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$16
This is a pleasant park to stay in while visiting the nearby sights. The thing that really bothered us was that you have to walk or drive around and select your own site. The office will not assign you one. Then you go back to the office and tell them what you have selected. Not knowing anything about the park, we picked the wrong site. We were too near the office. Next time we'll get farther away. The worker in the office was very friendly. Due to its proximity to town we will probably stay here again. The weekly rate is actually very reasonable. It appears there is security here during the rally but not the rest of the year. As previously stated, everything is gravel but no trouble leveling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$15
The price reflects the Passport America rate. This place is a treat ; the managers are VERY friendly. In fact, it says, "The friendliest RV park in South Dakota" on their receipt, and I would have to say that is right on! The showers/bathrooms/laundry facilities are very nice, super clean, and designed to be able to handle a lot of people (obvious that they planned for that for the motorcycle rally). Sites are level; all good gravel sites and roads. We will DEFINITELY return here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
This park is the closet park to downtown Sturgis. It is walking distance for the few blocks to main street, the largest town grocery store, restaurants, etc. During the August motorcycle rally, this would be the premier place to stay to be right in the middle of everything going on in downtown Sturgis. The price paid in this review reflects the $108 (including tax) rate for a one week, 7 day stay. As with ALL RV parks in the area, the prices jump during the annual rally. The parking sites are level gravel, have plenty of length, and have three different locations for sewer hook-up. There is no grass available for walking your dog but there is a grassy field across the street within a few hundred feet. The RV park is quiet and well maintained. The bathrooms are large and spotless with separate toilet rooms that have locking doors for privacy. The showers are large and have a separate dressing area in the front. Plenty of hot water. Both the men and women's bathrooms have laundry equipment. The office has a small amount of RV supplies for sale. The RV park is on the side of a hill that overlooks Sturgis. There are upper and lower areas for RV's to park. The park Wi-Fi was fantastic. Probably the fastest that we have used anywhere. When we stayed the park was only about 10% full so the Wi-Fi may not be as fast as it may be when the park has more visitors. Our crank-up antenna was able to receive the ABC, CBS, NBC, PBS stations from Rapid City, SD. There is so much to do in the Black Hills that this park provided us with a great base to go on daily trips to Rushmore, Custer State park, Deadwood, Devil's Towers etc. We will definitely stay here again and are already making plans for a return visit in the future. The park is seasonal and will be closing at the end of September for the Winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$13
We paid the PA rate. Good value. Basically a gravel parking with a lot with trees that need to mature. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$15
FORMELY MTN. JACKSON RV PARK!!! GREAT LOCATION IN THE BLACK HILLS!!! Mangers are super helpful. We stayed here in a 38' motorhome and the price reflects Weekly Rate of $100+ tax. Sites were level. We stayed here two weeks and saw a lot of the Black Hills, Devils Tower and the Badlands. The electricity was good, AT&T cell service was good, Verizon air card was good, campground furnished Wi-Fi was good, the restrooms were clean and there were laundry facilities in both men and ladies restroom area, closest Wal-Mart was about 18 miles, local grocery store 1 block from park entrance. Will definitely be returning. It is a great spot for visiting the area attraction as well as attending the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally held each year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com