219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Balsam Woods Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (207) 876-2731
CGID1266

Balsam Woods Campground

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$53



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   9   8   8   10   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$53
Nice park, a little more rustic than most of the ones we go to. A lot of seasonals but, they’re very friendly and sites are well kept. Long walk to the restrooms, they do have some port-a-potties in the park (not using them). Did a moose safari with Chris Young from Young’s Guide Service, highly recommend that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
This attractive park has good gravel interior roads and sites that are generous, level and well-graveled. Many of the sites feel quite private with trees and undergrowth screening the sides. The utilities are good including the Wi-Fi and cable. Trails, pool, game room and other activities are available. There is no AT&T phone or data service in the area. The park is popular with families, ATV riders and seasonal visitors but still offers a quiet woodsy atmosphere. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
This campground is great. A young couple own it and take pride in it. Very clean and well maintained. A lot of activities, nice store and pool. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Wonderful camp ground. Sites are large and well spaced out. Even though there was heavy rain for the first day we were here, the roads and sites did not get muddy. All hook ups worked flawlessly. This camp ground is only about 30 minutes from Moosehead Lake for some great fishing. We would not hesitate to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Rate includes taxes and was for a non sewer site, the pump out was $10. Sewer sites are available but were reserved. They plan to make more sites with sewer. The young couple who manage the CG are very friendly and accommodating. Wi-Fi did not extend to our site. Verizon signal was good. Sites very from fairly open in the front to nearly private towards the rear in trees and they are level. We will visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
The park is really nice and the owners are friendly. The only drawback is on the pull through was next to the basketball court and the bouncing of the basket backboard was ANNOYING. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
We loved this place so much that we booked it again for Memorial Day Weekend 2011. The young couple who own the campground work very hard to ensure that everyone is happy! Movie nights, ice cream socials, they do a great job. I would recommend this campground highly We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
This is a really nice, well kept campground. The sites vary in size, but most are quite large. The campground is wooded, but interior roads are good and navigation within the park is easy. The owners are very nice and helpful. I would rate it a 10 except for a few things. Electric is limited to 30 amps. There is no cable TV and digital reception is very limited. We could get Wi-Fi at our site but it was very slow. If cable TV and Wi-Fi are not important to you, then this is a nearly perfect place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
I would recommend this campground to anyone. It is clean, quiet, friendly and just awesome! The owners are young and very friendly. They go out of their way to make your stay pleasureable. It is a must stay-at campground. ATVer's: the trail starts right at the campground. Does not get any better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
We have come here every year for about 5 years and each and every time the place was clean, the owners great help, nothing to complain about. This year new owners and we had worried will it be the same. It was not the same, it was BETTER and I did not think that could happen but the new owners are doing a great job and have activities like Ice Cream social and Pancake Breakfast. The campgrounds are very clean, the pool is pristine. The new owners can not do enough for their campers, highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$29
Excellent campground. Very friendly staff who really know the area. Very clean showers and laundry facility. The pool was very clean. Small campground but large, beautiful sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$29
Have just found that Balsam Woods has been sold and the new owners are in their first year...2008. Seem to be very accommodating over the phone but will use another Cg this year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
We normally do not give a "10" to any campground as we have not seen "any" that warrant the perfect or near perfect 10 rating. That is until now. This is an excellent operated park. The park facilities and grounds are clean, well maintained, landscaped, and the sites are grade "A". The interior roadways and site pads are level packed gravel. A large clean swimming pool, game room, and lounge is available. Electrical power is only 30 amp, but is a true 30 amp. No problems with hookup systems. The park is operated by a husband and wife team that are friendly, and most accommodating to one's needs. Store/office area is welcoming, and store was stocked for your needs. Other campgrounds should observe the operation, and model their own operation by those of Balsam Woods. Previous reviewers have rated the park at a "10", and it truly is a "10". We will definitely return to the Moosehead Lake Area, as there is much to see and do. We highly recommend the area and this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
We loved it! Husband and wife owners were very pleasant and always happy! We had a wooded site located in the back of the campground. The campground is located near the entrance of thousands of miles of the maintained ATV trail system. All ATV's were located in an upper lot so that the campers could not hear or see them and did not even know they were in ATV heaven. I would absolutely stay there again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$34
Not the biggest campground but truly the friendliest. From the call to reserve your campsite to the time you leave, you are treated more the just a customer. The owners truly want to make sure your stay with them is a good one. We needed to borrow a tool to fix our vehicle and the owners not only let us use it, but delivered it to our campsite. Sites are spaced out and wide. Could be a little deeper but that is the only thing wrong with our stay. Pool was heated and cleaned every morning. Store was nicely stocked with just the necessities any camper needed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
This is definitely one of the nicest campgrounds in the State of Maine. We have been to others and there is no comparison. The grounds are well maintained as are the buildings. The bathrooms are kept clean. The camp store is well stocked and the owners are always helpful to their campers.The swimming pool is immaculate and heated. There are three cabins to rent at $50 plus tax and these sleep four persons. They are equipped with refrigerator, hot plate, table, fans and heat. You bring pots, pans, silverware, bedding and towels. Site prices vary. Tent sites are lowest and water, sewer, and electric are a little higher. Cash or checks only. They do not accept credit cards or ATM cards. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$36
I was there last year and put in the review as Abbott Village by mistake. This campground in in Abbott Village, Maine. I returned this August with RVing Women Organization Northeast Chapter for the annual "Moosefest". The owners are great, the campground is spotless, there is a pool for the kids to swim in or the adults for that matter. There is a covered area for meetings and get togethers. The only complaint I had was no cable and I wished I had booked a sewer site but the dump station is near by and a long clean up hose is provided. The drive from the Boston area is about 4+ hours and well worth it. Actually an easy drive really. The owners love their jobs and it shows!!!! We plan on going back yearly and if it were nearer, we would go back often. Give it a try, you will not be sorry. You are about 20 min drive from Moosehead lake which is beautiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2004
$32
Went up there last year and we are going back this August. Great location although it is far from Boston in that it is about 4 and some hours away. It is well worth the time. Near Moosehead Lake and it is beautiful up there. The owners turn themselves insideout for their campers, whatever they can do to make for a great vacation they will do! Recommend highly. See you all in August. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Have been here 3 times now all in late September or early October. Away from it all. Quiet. New owners last year are making improvements, adding full hook ups, pavement near office, and opening more sites. Beautiful setting. Piper Pond has had Loons each year we have been here. Can hear them from most back sites (farthest from the restrooms/office). Moose are in the area and occassionally in the campground. Back sites are wooded on 3 sides and gravel. They are wide and long enough for most units. Ours was a 28' TT with slide out and awning of course. Room so you do not have to worry about the fire sparks hit the awning. Lot of room on most of the back sites. Only drawback is the back sites do not have full hook ups and are far from the only restroom building. Restrooms are clean but only have one shower (each) in mens and womens restrooms. Fall color is always nice when we come here. I recommend it highly. It's a long way from our home in NJ, but we stay here for a few days while camping in ME for our 1-2 week vacation. Close to Greenville and Moosehead lake where there is a ton of things to do. We were one of only 3 campers here the time we were here. Super QUIET. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com