218863 User submitted reviews online!!
Hemlock Grove Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (207) 985-0398
CGID1270

Hemlock Grove Campground

Camp Information
Sites
73
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$56



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   9   8   9   10   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$56
This campground is well laid out with wide main driveway. There is a significant number of seasonal units, but they are tastefully decorated and well kept. Sites for the most part are quite level. Staff was quite helpful and check in was easy. Convenient to Kennibunk and Kennibunkport. Wi-Fi was strong and fast. Would definitely return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
We used to stay a few towns south of here, but when the price of an RV site reached $80, we knew it was time to move on. This was our first time staying at Hemlock grove and we will be back! Most sites are fairly wooded. If you want a more open site, ask for #'s 44-47. Parking is on gravel/dirt. Cable TV had lots of channels and we had good cell phone service (Sprint). Sites are not perfectly level, but nothing too extreme. One criticism I had was the location of the fire ring at our site and in our row. Our fire pit was so close to our unit that we had to roll in our awning and fold back our mat in order to have a fire. Lobster place across the street for live lobsters, or steamed if you place your order early in that day. Owners were friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
This was our first camping trip into Maine. The folks at Hemlock Grove were very nice & helpful. The owners are always there and are pleasant. The bathrooms were always exceptionally clean, as we're the showers. As far as the sites go, they are a little too close together. This is a newer campground and I understand the desire to get as many sites in as possible. Our site was a bit tight (we knew this coming into the weekend). Power & water was great. Not even a flicker when the place was full. They have a small playground for the kids. It is small but nice. The road noise (close to Rte 1) was a bit loud at times, especially when a bike would go by. We really would have liked a pool to cool off in. All in all we enjoyed our stay. We will likely stay again but in a different site further from the road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$50
Nice campground in a good location with a friendly staff. We stayed there with two other campers and they were able to put us all together in a triangle arrangement. The facilities were clean and the sites are level. Access roads were sufficiently wide for a 40' RV. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$58
We decided to head up to Maine so my husband could eat lobster! The staff at Hemlock Grove were very nice and Buttons the English Bulldog was a great greeter to all campers. Our site was not shaded and hard to get into because it was on a steep incline but it worked out. I went to the laundry and the dryers tore little holes in my clothes. The clothes had to wait until the next stop for the next trip to the laundry. The restrooms and showers were clean. The buildings were all very nice. This is a simple campground. We ended up spending one night and leaving our RV and going to Bar Harbor and spending several days. We came back and all was well. We spent one more night. The office had no problems extending our stay and were very accommodating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$48
If you are looking for a campground that offers serenity but is still near to the ocean and great shopping, this is it! The campground is wooded and the sites are plenty big. You won't feel like you are in packed in like sardines. The staff was more than helpful with anything we needed including recommending where the good restaurants, shopping and beaches could be found. They have nice fire pits for recreational or cooking fires. The laundry room was very clean with decent machines. They also have site-side garbage pick up daily. We will definitely return to this campground the next time we head out to Maine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Great location! Adjacent to Kennebunkport & Kennebunk, Maine. Easy access for big rigs. Wide shaded sites with a nice space between sites. Excellent camp store and very friendly, helpful management and staff. Nice layout for walking. The best experience over a 2 month trip. Absolutely will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$48
Very quiet park. All roads are dirt/ gravel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A nice feature for tenters is a dedicated wash sink outside the laundry and bathrooms for washing dishes. Sites are deep for trailers and motorhomes but somewhat narrow. The fire pits are close to the edge of most awnings. I cooked over the fire and did not have any trouble getting the grill hot enough. I never felt like the awning was in danger. The camp is located far enough away from the shops and beaches that traffic was never a problem. Very close to Kennebunkport and about 20 minutes from Old Orchard Beach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$48
The owners are very detailed. They keep things under control. They are very friendly and helpful. Nice shaded large sites. You have to meet Stanley and Buttons. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
This beautiful campground is centrally located to many local attractions. The owners were very helpful and friendly. The camp sites are spacious and well cared for. The shower areas were clean and well maintained. We had a wonderful stay and would stay here again. We recommend camping in this campground to anyone looking for a great camping experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$57
Very nice place to camp, our family enjoyed it. Close to lots to do, beaches, shops, etc. Only drawback is no pool. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$42
This was our second visit to this campground. It is still very nice, clean, with friendly owners. They have expanded and now have some seasonals and they are nicely spaced and well kept. The teenage daughter puppy-sits and also babysits. When we realized we forgot our grill at home we were offered the owners' grill to borrow. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
Good overnight campground. Clean and well maintained. The camp site was not quite level and we had to place a 2x8 board under the right wheels to level the RV. The overnight rate was somewhat pricey as the only amenities available were cable TV and WiFi; however, the rate for full hookups included unlimited use of air conditioners and electric heaters. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$48
Stayed here for 5 nights,very nice and clean cg,friendly staff,pick your trash at your site,close to Kennebunkport and other attractions.Stayed in site #45,was not to level.Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
Well maintained park under tall trees; a few sites satellite accessible, but rate includes cable TV and high speed Wifi, which was excellent at our site. The park has been adding sites (up to 73 now) there are some park homes & seasonals, but all were well cared for, flowers & no trash. Rec room almost ready to open, looked good w kitchen, large community room, and 1 room full of video/pinball games. Shower room clean & modern, but pay showers. Nice little store, seemed well stocked for early in the season. Surprisingly quiet considering easy in-out location on Rt 1. Friendly helpful staff & well stocked info rack. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
Pretty average park with big sites. Not much for kids to do. Small playground and arcade and teeny tiny laundry facility. We ended up driving to a laundermat about 10 miles from the campsite. All in all not a bad place. Everyone was pretty friendly no loud or obnoxious campers good for a home base while checking out area attractions. Restrooms could use some updating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
This is a fairly new campground set in the woods. The sites are a good size - gravel and sand, and the trees provide good privacy. Our site was not particularly level. We were there midweek and it was very quiet. Some noise from the road, but not too bad. There is not a lot for kids except for the playground which was quiet nice. WIFI will be available once the rec hall is finished (was being built while we were there) - could only get 13 channels on the cable. Owners were friendly. Small store, not a lot in stock. Seasonal sites were very nice. Washrooms clean, but no air conditioning - pretty hot in there as it was over 100F while we were there! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$36
Great campground!! The family enjoyed our stay July 4th week. Quite a few seasonals in the campground. The only suggestion we have is make sure you have mosquito repellent.. lots o skeeters. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$33
Pretty, wooded, quiet and very convenient to Kennebunkport, most sites are large and surrounded by trees, giving a sense of seclusion. Work is underway on several upgrades, including new sites and a rec hall. Owners are friendly and full of information on sights to see, restaurants to visit, beach parking, etc. Though their strict policy is max 2 dogs, they allowed us to stay with our three because we specifically asked about pet restrictions when making our reservation and weren't told of the limit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$26
Very quiet camp with few activities. Rec. hall is still being built. Dirt roads are in good shape with no hanging branches. Entire camp is spotless and members of the staff can be found all day. Sites are good size with plenty of space between rigs. If you are looking for resort type campground this is not for you. Close to beaches and tourist areas without all the noise. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$28
A small gem of a campground. Just off Route 1 in Arundel. Close to beaches of Kennebunk, Wells and Old Orchard without the traffic. Family operated and the owners live next door. Neat as a pin. Stayed here in a 5th wheel and we'll be back next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com