221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Moorings Oceanfront RV Resort was rated 9 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (207) 338-6860
CGID1277

Moorings Oceanfront RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   10   9   8   9   10   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$50
We have been staying at the Moorings since 2003, missing only one year. For the past few years we have been seasonals. It is under new ownership in 2014 and the forecasts are favorable. We have been RVing for 50 years and motorhoming for 39, and this is our all time favorite spot. The location of the Moorings is its primary claim to fame. You can park (for a slight premium) right on the shore of Penobscot Bay in midcoast Maine. Most of the sites have only 30 amps and a bi-weekly "honey wagon" to handle the sewer, but that's a small price to pay for such a lovely park. There is a fine restaurant on-site. The park slopes toward the ocean offering everyone a wonderful view. The Belfast area offers a wide assortment of activities and excellent food. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$58
Wow, what a nice little gem of a park. Very small but the view is amazing! Very quiet, older crowd in mostly motor homes. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Minimal playground equipment for kids. Would have given a 10 but the Wi-Fi was practically worthless. So slow. Traveled 500+ (nervous) miles to get here but was worth it. First time staying here but will try to return. Had the lobster pizza (yup, lobster pizza!) at the restaurant at park property - fantastic! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$77
It’s a 10 if you can get one of the bottom water front sites. 8 or 9 if you have one up the hill but, even those have water views. Mostly an older crowd but, kids would enjoy the beach. The on-site restaurant (Papa J’s) is great, ate there 3 out of 5 nights. Would have been 4 but, they had a barbeque at the campground on the 4TH of July that had some really good eats. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$57
Enjoyed our stay at this campground. Very convenient to many areas. Grounds are well kept and ocean view from anywhere in campground is beautiful. Easy access to beach and water and nice restaurant on premises. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$79
Very nice park. A little tight, but enough room to get around. Private beach was awesome and a good restaurant within walking distance. Ocean view was priceless. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$73
Excellent view of the ocean. Beach at the front of campground and it's easily accessible. Showers were clean with lots of pressure and hot water. Wi-Fi service was excellent. Staff was friendly. Rules indicate no outside structures, remote or attached to the RV, but outside screen rooms and rain canopies were in use all over the campground and certainly helped due to the three days of rainy weather we had while camping here. I did NOT find the outside structures to be an unsightly issue, but a necessary one due to the poor weather conditions. Grounds were well groomed with ample room for large RVs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$63
Met by friendly office staff with great information. Site was level with a great view of the bay. Bath house was clean and stocked. Very convenient to many points. Only issue was sewer system was up hill which was a problem with our low camper. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$63
Very nice location. The campground is clean and well kept. Lots to see and do in Belfast. We had a site with a great view of the water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
The setting and the view is a 10. There is a great ocean view and easy access to the beach for swimming, beach walking and just relaxing and listening to the waves. The bathrooms and showers are clean and modern. There is only 1 shower which can result in a wait to use the shower. The office staff and work campers were friendly and helpful. The laundry room was adequate. The grounds were well kept. The access roads and parking pads were gravel and reasonably level. The speed bumps were excessive. The Wi-Fi and cable TV worked well. There are no sewer hookups but free pump out service is offered if you stay a week or more. Many sites are suitable for big rigs. The negatives are that 2 activities that were offered and advertised were canceled with short notice and no explanation. Only 1 shower for men and 1 for women for the entire campground. I thought it was rude that they decided to mow the campground on a Saturday afternoon on the busy Labor Day weekend when campers were visiting and relaxing and couldn't hear each other over the roar of the lawn mower. The prices are high considering the limited amenities and canceled activities. If you have a dog be sure it can read as there are signs posted that, "Dogs can't go here." The great view and ocean front setting made it a very pleasant stay but if the owner was more considerate it would have been even better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
In reference to the review recently of the Moorings RV Resort: I have to hugely disagree. We spent 10 days at the Resort (with, by the way a dog) and were treated very well by the owners and staff. I would, and have, recommended this park to a number of our friends. The only time we saw a problem with a dog was when one of the campers let their dogs run loose, do their business off their lot and not pick it up. When asked to do so they became very belligerent and extremely rude! We hope to spend more time at this RV park next year and anyone that wants a nice quiet park right on the Pennobscot Bay in Maine should definitely put this park on their place to stay list! Additionally there is a first class restaurant right in the park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
This small ocean side park has some seasonal campers but generally caters to transient trade. The seasonals are very friendly and go out of their way to assist new arrivals in any way they can. There is a huge beach, if the tide is out. Otherwise, well that's just mother nature. Sites are nicely mowed grass with sand and gravel pads. There is a good restaurant (also owned by the campground owners) at the entrance to the resort. There is only one shower in each restroom. There are no sewer connections, but if you stay for at least a week you are pumped out by the honey wagon twice during that period. Otherwise there is a dump station behind the office. There are some 50 amp sites, but most are 30 amp. Probably the least desirable part of the campground is its pet policy. As was mentioned in a previous review, there is one small dog walk area behind the office. At registration campers with dogs are informed that dogs must make it to the dog walk area to relieve themselves. They should be walked down the gravel road and not be allowed to do their business in another campers site or anywhere else that isn't the dog walk area. Oh well, sometimes we made it and sometimes we didn't. I'm sure there is a good reason for this extreme policy, but we felt it was excessive. All in all, this is a great place to stay, and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Very nice park. Very friendly staff and owner. Comfortable. Good size spaces. Open feeling. Could walk to the water. No beach to speak of, though. We really enjoyed out stay there and would go back in a heartbeat!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$48
Very small site, could not fit vehicle that towed our RV. Not pet friendly! Area to walk a dog was too far away from the sites. Owner/Manager was not friendly unless you had a seasonal site. The only thing that was great was the view, which had nothing to do with the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$42
We stopped for one night and stayed for three.One of the best views you will ever find. Make sure you try restaurant for a great night out. It is only a hour to Bar Harbor or a half hour to Camden. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$58
We wanted to love this park. And when we drove in and saw the spectacular views, we fully expected to love this park. But we encountered a few too many negatives for me to give this park a great rating. We reserved an oceanfront site which costs an additional $10 per night over their already expensive rate. When we checked in, we found out our site was a back in which would have been fabulous for a trailer or 5th wheel with a large rear window, but for us in a motorhome it meant we had no real view of the water from inside the coach. The site was not very level, but we managed with our jacks. I had gotten the impression from their website that all sites had 50 & 30 amp available: Wrong! There are only about five 50 amp sites in the entire park and these are the pull-through sites at the top of the hill, farthest away from the water. The rest of the park is 30 amp. So I was pretty disappointed to find we were paying almost $60 a night for a site with no ocean view from inside the motorhome and only 30 amp service. I tried to express my disappointment to the owner and tried suggesting that perhaps these were issues which should be mentioned to the customer when a reservation is being made. He was much more interested in telling me why I was wrong to have expected anything different, than in listening to what I had to say. There is no sewer at any of the sites but that I did know before we got there and they offer a free pumping service 2x a week to anyone staying one week or more. I don't know what the cost is for shorter stays. The dump station seemed easily accessible in it's location behind the office. Even with that rough start, we did find positive things about the park. While sitting outside our motorhome we had a fabulous view of the ocean and the private beach was only a short walk away. The grounds of the park are nicely landscaped and well kept. The staff/work campers were very friendly and helpful. They have free Wi-Fi and the signal was good. The cable TV had a good selection of channels. Our cell signal (with AT&T) was fine. Most sites looked like they would easily accommodate our 41' motorhome, but a few would present leveling challenges particularly for larger rigs. The roads are well groomed dirt/gravel as are the parking pads, but most sites had nice grass areas next to the parking pad. Just when we were starting to feel better about the place, we started having problems with our electricity. The power kept dropping to a too-low amperage/voltage and our surge guard was repeatedly cutting us off. This is actually the first park we've ever stayed at in two years of full time RVing where we've had that much of a problem. Even when we had nothing running in our coach: no AC, with water heater and fridge on LP, our power would drop and cause the surge guard to kick in. This was very annoying since temperatures were well into the 80s and even low 90s ! When we brought this to the attention of management, attempts were made to resolve the problem, but all “fixes” were unsuccessful. So, as gorgeous as the setting is, I just can't bring myself to rate this park any higher than a 6. If we hadn't had the electric problems, I would have gone for a 7 and would have been willing to return. But the power issues were sort-of the last straw. We probably won't ever go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$44
Rate based on a 3 week stay this time: we camped here in 2002, 2004, and now. It is our favorite in Maine! If you are looking for activity, tourist attractions, etc., this is not for you, plus kids will not find too very much to do I suppose, but we visit because it is just perfect for an older, retired couple like us. Have had visitors during this visit and our previous one and they thoroughly enjoyed it also. Lots of popular Maine sites are available within a short drive: Camden, Bar Harbor, Winter Harbor, Booth Bay, Bangor, etc. and several lighthouses (one our favorite things!) can be accessed by road. Of course many of the Maine lighthouses can only be viewed by boat or air, but enough by land to keep you occupied while touring from Moorings. Young's Lobster Pound is about a mile away, so run down, pick out your choice, have it boiled and come back to camp site for a feast! Think we did this about 9-10 times during this three week visit! Yes, Maine campgrounds are pricey with Moorings not being an exception, but consider that they have a very short period each year that the camp is available for rental and it is justified for what you get! Views from this camp are the best on the coast and add the friendly owners and staff and it can't be beat! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$62
The ocean front sites are unbelievable. We got one where we were less than 100 ft from high tide. Truly one of the most beautiful views we have had. A lot of full timers and part timers were there. Very friendly folks: they have a bring-your-own-food cocktail party on Fridays. Staff is very friendly. Only drawback is that the owner will not allow a hosed-connection at the dump station so you can flush your waste tank. Asked about that and was told a no-no. Be prepared to eat all your evening meals there as the view is so great. Good tables and fire rings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$48
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. The view is spectacular. The park is small and peaceful. The sites are roomy and level and everything is well maintained. The showers are great. The laundry is small; only two machines. Staff was nice. We definitely would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
We would have rated this park a '10' if not for the lack of sewer hookups. However, they do provide a mobile sewer service, so you don't actually have to move. If you are staying a week or more, this service is provided free twice during the week. They also provide a community dump. The Staff was very courteous and helpful. The view was beautiful even though we were parked in a pull through at the top of the hill. There are several good seafood restaurants in the vicinity. It is a nice place, with nice people, and a great lobster place close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$58
We stayed at this campground last week, July 2009, and we loved it. We were right on the ocean, site 21, and if we were not heading home we would have stayed longer. It was a clean beautiful site and you could go right down to the beach and swim or just sit and enjoy. I would definitely recommend this place and would love to return someday. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$48
This park has a wonderful location, but you need to be careful about the spots you pick. We could have gotten our motorhome INTO the spot they chose for us but could not have gotten it out without a great deal of difficulty. Some of the sites with views are VERY close together at different angles, but others are not. The camper helpers were very friendly, the owners just so-so. The biggest drawback is that they have no sewer, so you must either unhook, drive to the dump station or have their service come twice a week to your site. If you stay a week, this service is free. With a large motorhome, I would either pick the 50 amp sites nearer to the office, or one of the back-ins on the right side of the park. Then there are no surprises. It was an okay park, but not one we would rush back to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$64
What a view!!! We were in site #31-pull in overlooking the water. We spent the week watching sailboats, lobsterman, and admiring the full moon over the bay. This is a small, well run campground. The sites are not uniform in size, a bit of an odd layout, but each site has a water view. 30 amp and water only, no sewer. (Not sure if 50 amp is available at other sites.) Weekly customers get free pump outs on Mon/Th, daily guests can use the dump or pay for honey wagon service. The bath house is clean, but only 1 shower, but no charge. Laundry was small, 2 machines, but OK. Remember, it's a small cg-45 sites. There is a playground for the kids, and beach access, but no pool. Free WiFi, but we used our Verizon air card, we had good cell/Internet service. Cable selection was good. The owners and work campers make every effort to keep the grounds manicured (lots of rain this season). They are real nice folks, making our stay memorable. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
Great owners and a great park. They own a first class restaurant in front of the park and we had great food (Lobster). Got us in at last moment when the highly touted by themselves RV park, Searsport Ocean Campground did not appeal to us in a Class A motorhome with the unkempt premises. We got to know the owners of the campground. Very well groomed. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$65
We booked one of the campground's eight premium oceanfront sites seven months in advance, and the view turned out to be all it was cracked up to be...despite the fact that it rained every day of our 5-night stay. We enjoyed a seafood dinner at the restaurant at the entrance (which seems to be owned by the same family that owns the campground), and had fun exploring the nearby towns of Belfast, Camden and Castine. We would camp here again, but we would camp closer to Acadia National Park to properly explore that area (the drive to the park is about 90 minutes each way from this campground). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$44
Location, location, location! This campground really has it. Each site has an ocean view. We were delighted with our site and the campground. There is a good seafood restaurant just by the entrance to the campground. Also the campground has direct access to the beach. Wi-Fi available through a secure network. We will definitely try to return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
Great campground with oceanview. Good location to visit Acadia National Park. From our site on top of the hill we had a beautiful view of the ocean. The sites closer to the ocean seemed a little closer together than ours. Owner very nice and helpful. The dog walk area was right across from our site. This will be our destination on our next visit to Maine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$42
Very nice park. Will return next year. Park very clean and well kept and staff very friendly and helpful. Pebble beach access from campground and restaurant available at entrance to park. Great place to just sit and look at the sea or as a base for sightseeing as plenty of great fishing towns for days out and lobster lunches. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$48
We stayed on one of their eight premium oceanfront sites, and in terms of spectacular views, it was the best site we have ever had...and we have had some nice ones. Great view, ocean breeze and buoy bell ringing through the night. Sites not designated as premium oceanfront will have views...however slight...but all are close to the ocean and benefit from the great breezes. Although the sites are fairly close, they are not as packed in as many private campgrounds [we usually prefer the space of state parks]. The park is clean and well kept, and most definitely adult oriented. Restrooms are spotless. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and while there is no sewer on site, they pump you out on Monday and Thursday. WiFi is available at the office only, and although there is no cable this year, they will be installing cable for the next camping season. There is virtually no TV over the air in that area. Kayak right from the beach, and swim if you like in the cold water! This is now one of our annual stops...don't miss it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$46
An excellent campground for adults, but definitely not an "RV resort." Should be avoided by families with children because there is little for kids to do. There is no privacy between sites, but the openness means there are ocean views from many spots in this small 5 acre park, not just from the waterfront sites. The view of Penobscot Bay is beautiful and broad from this campground. Owners are very nice and helpful, and run an on-site restaurant called Papa J's which is a little funky but quite good. We very much like Belfast for all the services available right in town, except there is no Wal-Mart. Belfast is not over run by visitors as is most of the Maine coast. We enjoy walking through the small brick building downtown and the adjacent historic district. You will get some road noise from US route 1 which the campground is on. The sites closer to the water get less road noise, and virtually none when the wind blows off the water from the south. The 30 amp electric voltage is so-so. On hot days you may not be able to run your air conditioner, which of course is just when you want it. The owners have done a better job this year of putting gravel on the roads and sites, and the place was well trimmed with lots of flowers. The owners obviously care about the place and want you to come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
Beautiful views from some sites not all as ads leads you to believe. Poor 30amp power in some sits. Pump out was a plus. Laundry room only has 2 washers & dryers. Made a reservation for 1 month in March for Jul/Aug and relied on them for site. Would definitely choose another next time. Unfortunately site next to us was a transient site and close to us on our bdrm side. Would suggest they group seasonals and monthly or longer sites in same area. Owners & staff great and Papa J's Restaurant was a pleasant surprise...excellent! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$40
This was a wonderful park!!! Staff very friendly and helpful. They offered free coffee in a.m. and a newspaper on Sunday. The roads are in great shape and sites are wide enough. The best part was the mobile dump, which makes life so much easier and the view of the harbor!!! Very quiet campground with no pools. More suitable for adults looking for rest and relaxation. Will definitely return!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2004
$44
Beautiful campground with ocean views. Not much for young children to do. Very relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Very helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$34
We stayed here for a week in our 42 foot motorhome. If you stay a week; they have mobile sewer service for no extra charge. We stayed up on the hill with a nice view of the bay. Sites closer to water are more crowded. Playground for kids; no pool. Very nice owners with schedule activities for adult fun--Happy Hour on Fridays, occasional potlucks, free donuts and coffee on Sunday morning. They put on a lobster dinner on Saturday nights for $24 per person weather permitting. Roads do need some work but owners are trying hard to make this a nice spot. Great location for exploring surrounding towns of Camden and Belfast. Not far to Acadia National Park. Periwinkle Bakery in Searsport is excellent! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$40
Almost every site in this small park has a wonderful view of the bay and ocean. The park is run by a very nice couple who try hard to please but, unfortunately, there is very limited 50-amp service and no sewer hookups. The roads are dirt (seems some stone was placed a long, long time ago, and it gets really messy when it rains. Many sites are unlevel, especially at the top of the hill. This could be one of the best parks in the country with some investment by the owners. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$40
Our favorite Maine campground because 1)oceanfront sites, 2)well cared for property with owners who are very pleasant and who try hard to please, 3)small and quiet in a mid-coast Maine location but out of the worst of the tourist mess. Please note that there is very little for kids to do here -- they can play on the rocky beach and in the tiny play area. However, this makes the campground very attractive to those who want a more peaceful, less active place. The ocean can be seen from most sites in the park. Nice view of norhtern Penobscot Bay with much boating activity in summer. Most waterfront sites are tightly packed together. Belfast is an old town undergoing a revival, with a real downtown with a few shops and restaurants, even a 3 screen movie theater. There is also a large supermarket nearby. 60-90 minutes to Acadia National Park to the north, 45 minutes to Camden to the south. We visited in 2003 and kept extending our stay. Will be returning in 2004 for a month! We camp in a 33' motorhome, which fits easily on most sites in this campground. Cable TV and sewer would make this place a 10, but otherwise we think its great. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$37
Very nice park. The restaurant that is on Rte 1 that is owned by the campground is lousy: at very best. However, the campground itself is quite good. The sites are good sized, all sites have an oceanview with some sites are right on the ocean. Young, new owners are very nice and quite accommodating. I would state that it would be mostly for adults with little to do for kids. Adults however, will love this place. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$39
This certainly one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed in Maine! The owners are new and do everything possible to accomdate their guests. The ocean views are spectacular from virtually all sites. Activities for children is limited to playground area. Mobile sewer service available. Will definitely return next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$38
Oceanfront and ocean view sites with private beach. Clean, quiet, and friendly. Weekly and longer stays include mobile sewer. The Belfast area is a good central base for the Maine coast. Does have playground but not much else for kids. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com