206626 User submitted reviews online!!
Shore Hills Campground and RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 57 user reviews. Phone: (207) 633-4782
CGID1280

Shore Hills Campground and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$52



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   9   9   3   8   10   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$52
We make Shore Hills Campground our "home when we are in Maine. It is easy drive from up and down the coast of Maine. Shore Hills has every type of RV camp site you need. From pull throughs to shady sites. We had a back in site that had gravel for parking the MH and grass for the dogs. They are very dog friendly which we enjoy. The owners are extremely nice as are the work kampers and make you feel welcome. Cable TV is excellent and great cell service. We continue to return here because it offers everything we are looking for in a campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$70
Nice long pull through's with hard surface. Good utilities. Sure that it would be a good place to spend a few days but we just used it as an overnight stop when visiting a friend in the area. Would return again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$46
OK campground. The best thing is the shuttle that goes to Boothbay Harbor just 3-1/2 miles away. It's a direct run and doesn't stop anywhere else, which is nice! Takes no more than 10 minutes. Office staff was nice and pleasant. We had a back in site in the wooded area with full hookup. It was quiet at night which is VERY important to us. I was just expecting a little nicer campground by all the write ups. There wasn't anything wrong with the place, just a regular campground. Yes, I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
This is a fantastic campground in the heart of Maine. The sites were big and level with your choice of either shaded/wooded, on the water, or up near the road. Wi-fi was excellent. We were in the very end of the campground far from the office & road and had a perfect signal all weekend. They offer a shuttle into Boothbay Harbor for $2.00 which beats trying to park down town. All facilities were well kept and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$52
The only unpaved road in the park is the big rig loop, which makes no sense. It is extremely dusty and dirty in the big rig section. The worst we have seen all season. Also, in my 25+ years of camping, they have the rudest staff I have met. Many other guests agreed. The back in sites on one side are decent, but the ones along the other side are very sloped. The pull through sites in the middle of the loop are very close to each other. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
Very pleasant experience. Has both shaded and open grassy sites for big rigs. Water, sewer, electric ,and cable worked well. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Well maintained. Biking was a challenge in the area as roads are older, narrow, and it is a busy resort area. But it was classic coastal Maine. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
We travel a lot of places across the USA and every once in awhile we are happy to find a campground that far passed our expectations. Shore Hills was a gem. Clean, nice paved roads, nice big private sites nice and level. They have a ocean fed lake at the back end of the campground that is so beautiful and natural. Just to sit and watch the day go by and the sunset was so nice every night. It's very clean and if your going to Boothbay Harbor, they even provide a campground shuttle they own and operate which was nice as well. They have a part of park for big rigs, as well. If we lived closer this would be a place we would visit often. Its that nice a park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$48
We stayed here for 2 weeks while in Maine. We were in the "Deer Run" part of the park. This part of the campground does not have any trees. The sites are gravel for parking the RV with grass. The sites in the middle seem to be smaller than the ones on the 2 sides. We had a site on the right hand side with plenty of room for the MH and plenty of grass for our 2 small dogs. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. They have a shuttle to Boothbay Harbor, however we never used it. We have found this campground to be an easy drive to all areas of the coast of Maine. It is also very close to grocery stores (which a lot of campgrounds in Maine are not), drug stores, vets, a lot of great restaurants, lighthouses, scenic trips, antiques, and small "fishing" villages. Because of this, the friendly staff (including the owner, who is wonderful!) and the sites, we will continue to make this our "home" spot when in Maine! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$50
Although quite a distance from I-295, after which one travels through Brunswick and Bath, Maine, this park is worth the time. The park takes no credit cards, bring cash. Our rate reflects Good Sam discount. Discount also applies to AAA members. We are in the open big rig section, where the road and sites are graveled and nearly level, with a small deck and picnic table alongside most. Large combo rigs (motor home and trailer) can easily be accommodated. The pull through sites are narrow but long; however, the outdoor decks are staggered, creating a more open feel since you are not parked directly alongside your neighbors. Back in sites around the perimeter are easy to navigate and have more room between them. Sites for smaller RVs, in another area of the park, are shaded and private. Each site has its own trash can, picked up daily. A small pond a few steps away is filled with ducks. Everyone, including the staff, seems friendly and helpful. The park is just a few minutes from Boothbay Harbor with its large assortment of interesting shops and restaurants. Lots to do even on rainy days. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$52
Very nice campground! Large enough sites for big rigs. We backed in but they do have pull-thrus. There is no privacy between sites but it wasn't crowded so that was ok. Dog park was great for our two goldens. Very nice people and very close to Boothbay harbor. It was easy acess to surrounding towns and sights. We will defintiely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$52
This is an attractive campground with very shaded areas and an open field for campers who want satellite TV reception. Most sites are level, but we unfortunately were put on a very unlevel site. The campground was full, so we had to take it. My husband had to make a trip to the local lumber yard to get enough wooden blocks to place under our tires to level the coach. We would stay here again, but would try to arrive early in the day so as to avoid the one or two unlevel sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$48
This park is very well-maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed here 4 days in a 27' RV with a full hookup in site #23. This park has a very nice layout. There are many wooded sites and some with river views. The big rigs get sites in the open with picnic tables on nice decks. They have easy access to their sites. There is a pond with a fountain in their area as well. Each site has its own garbage can that gets emptied daily. There is a nice rec hall where we saw a live band on Saturday night. Most sites are very level with gravel pads and nice fire pits. Each of the wooded sites is very private. The Wi-Fi was fast and we had cable TV at our site. There are sites for two families. One big negative is that they don't take charge cards. No where on their website or in any of their ads or reviews is that mentioned. It would have been nice to know that when we made the reservation. No one told us until we checked in. There are two laundries and bathroom buildings--one upper and one lower. This campground is very convenient to Boothbay Harbor and other sights. All in all, we would definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Very decent campground. Management is friendly checking in and paying. Rather abrupt otherwise. Wooded sites were very attractive with terraced stone walls. Several group sites too. Adjacent to Wiscasset, Maine. Decent place. Unfriendly operators. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$48
Very nice campground. Large sites with lots of trees. Internet was fast, which was great. Very clean laundry room. I would definitely recommend this campground to everybody. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
This was one of my favorite parks during a two month trip. Rate reflects a Good Sam discount. Friendly welcome, professional staff, things kept clean, woodsy sites, pretty water and marsh scenery at the foot of the hill. The campground operates a shuttle bus 3X a day into the scenic village of Boothbay Harbor for $2 which we took advantage of (parking in town is pricey and hard to find.) Mainiac Lobster nearby will deliver cooked lobster to your campsite. Laundry was $1.50 per load, wash or dry. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
This is a great campground with easy access to Boothbay Harbor. There are different size sites and you may not get everything you want in a site, depending on what size rig you have. If you have a big rig you won't be able to get a wooded water-view site. We had a great site, #149, which has a huge gravel pad and a grassy area near the dog walk. That sounds like a negative, but most people walked their dogs around the campground rather than using the dog walk. Everyone was very friendly. If you stay here, eat at Bet's Fish Fry on the way to Boothbay. She sells nothing but fried haddock which is caught fresh each day. A $16 single portion with fries is enough for 3 adults. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
Perhaps we hit the wrong time, just before summer season hit, but we are disappointed in this park and how we fared. We called ahead to see if they had room for us, and were told yes they had room for 36' motorhome. Upon check-in, we were not given a choice of sites, but were assigned a back-in which was barely doable. It is pleasant and level, but has the least of amenities. No cable, sewer, and shower which requires quarters after paying $50 per night. The park is only big rig friendly in the upper 50 sites. Older part of the park is difficult to negotiate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
Great Campground! Family owned, but very professionally kept and maintained. Super long pull throughs and very easily accessed back in sites. Facilities were immaculate and hookups all in good repair. There is a trash can at each site with daily pickup. It is easy in and out from Highway 1. Only down side is they don't take credit cards. I had to reserve with a mailed check. Really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend and stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
As many times as we have been to Maine we had never stayed at Shore Hills. However, last year we did go through it and decided we would try it this year. I am so glad we did. This campground really does have a site for anyone's taste. We wanted a pull through, but they have many back ins, shaded, and private sites, plus some with water views.The grounds are kept very clean. The women at the desk when we checked in didn't seem to have a grasp on the reservation system, which is pencil and ledger, not computer, however the owner was also behind the counter and was extremely friendly and helpful. We didn't know if we wanted to stay the entire time at Shore Hills or go to another campground half way through our trip. This was causing the 1st women problems. The owner stepped in and gave us a pull through, which is what we wanted plus told us if we wanted to extend our stay, it would be no problem and we would not have to move. We ended staying at Shore Hills our entire stay for many reasons. 1) staff always friendly. 2) very pet friendly. 3) great place for day trips south or north from Boothbay. 4)met some people that stay the season and enjoyed their company plus some fulltimers beside us that we enjoyed. 5) most important the owners are exceptional, very hands on, friendly, and wanting to please. We go to Maine very year for 3 weeks in the September time frame, and we now have found a "home." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
Its larger than you think. We shared a double site with friends, was like having our own campground. We were well shaded, was cool would have liked more sun. Very level sites. Quiet, nice to walk. Close to downtown and they have a shuttle to take and bring you back. Cute little store on the cg. Enjoyed it very much We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
We moved here from a very disappointing campground at Camden Hills. Coming here was the best move we made on this trip. What a nice place and wonderful people at the front office. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
This is a nice clean campground with with just about any type of site your looking for. It had nice large wooded sites, water front sites on a tidal area and open sunny sites for large motorhomes. Rest rooms and showers where older but very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Beware that all "full 50 amp hookups with internet" are actually in a field next to busy highway 27. All other sites are further down the slope in the woods and are really very nice if you don't mind a mix of 30 amp, some sewer, some cable..but a very limited few on actual waterfront. We chose an E/W site on direct waterfront near the canoe launch, which was very convenient, but the site was very small and that whole wing is really more for tents, small trailers, and pop ups. Had to be very creative to wiggle/riggle our 32 foot motorhome in site #65, but once we did we felt we were in heaven! Bathhouse very dated with those annoying "pay showers" but at a quarter for 5 minutes, it did the job. Laundry clean, but the dryers are on their last leg. Best lobster rolls with a great view was at the Fishermans Wharf Inn in Boothbay Harbor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
VERY continent location for touring Acadia and mainland attractions. Our site had wooden deck with table a reasonable amount of room. Plenty of room to navigate paved roads in park. Card access security gate after hours. Most notable difference was TWO water faucets at each site-nice touch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$43
This is a beautiful commercial campground that reminds us more of a state park. There are wonderful areas to walk and enjoy the park. The park is very close to Boothbay Harbor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
A very nice park in close proximity to Boothbay Harbor attractions. There is really only one other RV park nearby and the sites there are small and steep. Shore Hills sites were spacious, we stayed in the Deer Run area. Some of the sites even have wooden decks. Outstanding dog friendly hiking trails abound in this area. Overall it was one of our favorite sites during a 30 day trip, would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Nice cg with a good location, close to Boothbay Harbor. They have a big rig section that bares a slight resemblance to a gravel, hillside parking lot, but it's not too bad, especially if you're on the outskirts and not in the middle. The middle sites have built-in decks, which some people like, we don't. They just made getting around our slide-outs awkward. You can walk down to the water (mostly a tenting area) which was very beautiful (but buggy, of course!). They have a shuttle into town (3x/day), but we didn't end up using it. For the best lobster, go to the Lobster Dock: but don't be in a hurry. They are popular, and dishes are cooked as they are ordered. (Gee, what a concept!) If you happen to need a vet, I can highly recommend the Boothbay Animal Hospital (nice facility and reasonably priced), and has probably the best vet I have ever met/dealt with! (Having been interested in becoming one and having lots of pets over the years, I've met quite a few). Traffic is nuts in southern Maine, and we will probably avoid that whole area in the future, but this is a nice cg in a nice town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Nice place, a lot of sites are terraced from wooded hillside. Tidal water/bay adjacent to lower sites. Restrooms a little rustic. Seemed well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Nice campground in nice location. People were very friendly and great open areas for pets. You must try the lobster rolls just down the street at a great price (3 for 20 bucks)! Entertainment was available all three nights we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$44
Very nice park with well kept grounds. Although they close earlier than our expected arrival, we called ahead and they said someone would be here when we arrived. They only take CASH, no credit cards. It is very convenient to the surrounding areas. There is a river in the CG and a very pretty pond. Saw a moose walk through one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$43
Paved entrance, with gravel roads and site, which is level. Upgraded work in progress, with positive results in evidence. Office staff very helpful; free daily paper. Satellite reception excellent; extensive cable TV selections; WiFi good. Well-maintained and clean. They even have trash receptacles at the front of each site! Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$44
Wonderful park in a beautiful setting. Very easy to maneuver for big rigs. Loved the wooden decks at several of the sites. Trash cans at site and paper delivered to your site everyday is a very nice touch. Personnel was very friendly and helpful. Would be a great place for a small rally. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$41
We really liked this park. We camped in the field area near the pond and were able to good cell phone reception and great Wi-Fi. I'm not sure we would have gotten clear satellite in the lovely wooded area but it worked beautifully where we were. The complimentary newspaper delivered to the site was a nice touch. From the desk staff to those who filled the propane tanks, everyone was friendly and helpful. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
This campground is as charming as it gets with woods and waterfront sites. The staff was friendly. Don't forget to walk out to their private fishing area. We stayed an extra day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$41
This campground offers both sunny sites and shady sites. It was well kept up and the people were very friendly. It has both pull thru and back in sites for larger rigs. There are some sites that back up to a river although the river was almost nonexistent while we were there and there were some odors. The site we stayed in was away from the river and we had no smell. We stayed in the sunny large rig section. The shady sites were nice without being too cozy. They have plenty to offer. A paper every morning was an enjoyable touch. It is just a few miles to Boothbay. We would enjoy staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
There really is nothing wrong with this park, but it wasn't one of our favorites. The park definitely caters to the big rigs. There were very few showers for this size park and they were older and cost money, although they were clean. The laundry was sufficient but a little expensive. A free newspaper is delivered to each site each weekday which is nice. The staff was ok. It was a good location from which to explore the surrounding areas. We would probably stay here again just because there is not much else in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
I agree with previous reviews. This campground offers something for everyone; shaded woods or large open pull throughs. Some nice touches-each site has a trash can, daily newspaper delivered every morning, and hookups in good working order. The shuttle is $1, sure beats the $15 parking fee in town. Great service for the campers, way to go Shore Hills. To nit-pick a bit, it'll cost you to shower. It seems to me with the rate they charge, a shower should be included. There is no pool, but there is beach access-watch the tides. There is a playground for the kids, and a dog play area. Not sure about wi-fi (don't think it was offered)-we used our Verizon aircard, good signal. We stayed one week, GS discount. We would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
Loved this campground! There's tons to do in Boothbay and the campground runs shuttles into town 4 times a day for your convenience. There's many shaded sites and then some out in the open if you need satellite clearance. The staff is all very friendly and accommodating...we'll definitely return next time we're in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$46
We frequent this campground every year in late June and early July. The owners continue to make upgrades to the facilities every year. They are currently installing 16' porches on the 50 amp big-rig sites up the hill. Wireless internet is available at the office and up in the big rig area. A video review of the park is available on Youtube and captures only the big rig area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
We had a wonderful experience at this campground. We were late to arrive due to heavy traffic in Massachusetts, but we called ahead and the office left our site information out for us. We had an open pull thru site since we were camping with friends who had a very large Class A. The site was not very private, but it was very clean and large with plenty of space between campers. We had friends that stayed in a back in wooded site and they also had plenty of room on their site. The campground was a short ride into Boothbay Harbor, which is a great place to visit. There were plenty of markets along the way to pick up groceries. We did not make it into the camp store, so I'm not sure how the amenities were, but we did receive a morning paper left on our steps and I thought that was a real nice touch. The staff was very friendly. I would return to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$37
Excellent campground for exploring the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
Excellent well-shaded large private sites for motor homes. Nice shore-front sites for tents, pop ups, and RV's on Pine Point (W & E only). Secluded sites for tents and pop ups (W only & E-W only) in wooded section. Staff was friendly and helpful. There is a shuttle several times daily to Boothbay Harbor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
My lot was large, shaded, private, nice view of the tidal pond and level. The whole CG shows owner's attempt to make it top notch and keep it that way. Not mentioned in other reviews is the fact that they run a scheduled shuttle to the harbor for $1.00. Lots of activities available. Store is well stocked. Owners are friendly. Can't really come up with a negative. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$36
Concur with he other posters...very nice CG. Lots of shaded sites for smaller units but 30' plus shade is limited. There are quite a few "big rig" sites in a field but very comfortable. Only drawback for us was just one shower in the bath house. Timing your shower is all important or you may wait half hour or more. Check to make sure your site has full hookups especially if you are on the river or in the wooded sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$42
Very comfortable park with sites that can satisfy a variety of preferences. Some very wooded, shady sites for tents and smaller RV's, some that will accommodate groups, and a large relatively open area with large level back-in and pull-through, FHU sites that are comfortable for big rigs. Most of the pull through sites are quite long, about 100 feet, and a few have wooden decks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
Good choice for visiting the Boothbay Harbor Region. The rate reflects a Good Sam Discount of 10%. I liked that the rate was the same for a family of four. It gets expensive when you have to start paying an extra $10/day per child. We were in the wooded section where the sites were very large. The WiFi didn't work at our site but it did work intermittently at the one site closer to the office than ours (#20). The sites are gravel and the roads are paved. The sites overlooking the Cross River have great views but have only water and electric service. The daily newspaper delivered to the site and daily garbage service picked up from your own garbage can were nice perks. Nice walk to Lundy Island and the Fishing Rocks. My son the fisherman didn't catch anything at the campground but did catch 20+ mackerel fishing from a dock in Boothbay Harbor. Bring a Kayak if you have one since it is one of the nicest ways to enjoy the local bays and harbors. We will go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
This place is one of the nicest places we have stayed all year. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We hadn’t realized that the CG didn’t accept credit cards and we were short on cash when we arrived but they allowed us to “come on in” and pay them “whenever we got the chance before we left”. The sites were level, gravel sites and they were very well maintained. There were trash barrels at each site that were emptied daily. The bathrooms were not new however they were very clean and well lit. We had a beautiful “waterfront” view site with tidal views. It was somewhat cold when we went so we didn’t take advantage of what appears to be a perfect spot for canoeing. One minor negative thought-As odd as it sounds we found that the picnic table seemed exceptionally narrow. My mother in law came to visit and she had difficulty sitting at the table because the seat (and the distance between the seat and table were very narrow) The rate was $40 per night plus a 10 percent AAA discount. I love the free daily newspaper. We cannot wait to go back next year We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2007
$38
Owner has a lot to learn about how to deal with the public. Her customer skills are poor to say the least. Have stayed here previously to this owners purchase, and the park is going down hill fast. Upkeep,and maintenance of park facilities is poor. An example is the provided patio platforms on some of the sites are unlevel, and have more waves in the surface boards than the ocean. Poorly placed hookups, unlevel sites leave a lot to be desired, along with all the other short comings for the price paid. We will not return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$36
Rate was $40/night less a 10% AAA discount. We stayed all the way down the hill, right by the tidal basin, in spot 82. The the campground is maintained extremely well. Everything was very clean. Each site has a barrel for trash which is picked up daily. The sites by the tidal basin don't have sewer connections and only have 30 amps. The view is beautiful and there is a nice hiking trail close to this site, that goes around an island just offshore. Larger sites are up the hill on a flat treeless area and full hookups but no view. We will be staying there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
The RV park is quite and overall well maintained. However, when we arrived we were told our site was serviced and ready. We were somewhat dismayed to find cigarette butts littering the ground and cigarette butts and wrappers inside the fire ring. These had to be picked up off the ground and out of the fire ring by us after we occupied the site. The campground is divided into 2 distinct areas. The top area by the lake is an open grassy area featuring 50 amp full hookups. It has both pull throughs and back ins with graded gravel roads and is used primarily for big rigs. The lower sites are down the hill towards the ocean tidal coves and features both full hookups and water/electric sites for smaller Travel Trailers, 5th Wheels and Motorhomes. The lower sites are used more for water oriented camping activities such as kayaking, canoeing and salt water fishing. A wifi system is available although not advertized, but can only be accessed close to the check in office. The $30/night rate was obtained by paying a monthly fee of $930 divided by 31 days. The normal fee for 30 amp service is $38/night. The park staff were friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Well kept, tidy park. We have a dually/36' high-profile fifth wheel. Our pull-through site was open, large and easily accessed. Other areas were deep in woods, shady and less accessible. Staff very helpful. Old restrooms but in spotless condition. Shuttle bus from park to Bar Harbor cheap and easy. Free WiFi at trailer despite being told it was available only near office area. Good cable TV. Trash collected at site - nice touch. Free daily newspaper - even nicer touch. Would use again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
The park was well marked and easy to find coming from both directions, well marked parking areas for new arrivals to check in. Nice wooded, un-paved sites with easy utility hookups. Over 34' RV sites are out in a field with pull thru sites available. Campground was quiet with access to a tidal area for canoeing at all but low tide. A nice Rec Hall was on site, but without a pool, this is not a great kid campground. There was a bit of a drive to get to area attractions. NO CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$34
We have stayed here several times and always enjoyed it. The campground is generally quiet. Most of the roads are paved. Many of the sites are located under the trees, but the pull through site are in open space. The campground has a moto, "No rig is too big." and they mean it. I once spoke with the owner of an RV and trailer combination that is a total of 80 feet long. He was parked in one of the pull through sites and there was still a little room left. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$34
Nice and quiet campground. The people running this place were extremely nice and accommodating. Several sites are near the tidal pool, not really ocean front but nonetheless nice. Dump station has two lanes. Only a few miles from Boothbay Harbor, CG has shuttle service to the harbor where there are quaint shops, fishing trips and harbor cruises. Already made reservations to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$34
I loved this campground. It was quiet and clean. We had a "waterfront" site with tidal views. We also were able to get Wi-Fi at our site...it is not available at the park but somehow we were able to connect. We would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$28
Stayed here for the Columbus Day weekend in 04. A clean, well run and excellently maintained family CG. The pull throughs and big rig spots are at the higher end of the CG. There are numerous tenting sites and sites for smaller rigs running down the hill to the bay. We stayed right on the bay. Absolutely beautiful views of a salt water marsh. Great spot for canoeing. Most interior roads paved. Clean bathrooms. CG staff all exceptionaly friendly and helpful. We had a party of two 5th wheels and we'll definitely be back here in 05. Does not accept credit cards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2002
$30
This was a nice campground, much better than a lot of parks in the Northeast. Roads were paved/gravel. Sites were gravel and level. There were two different areas of the park, one wooded and one open. We stayed in the open area in a large pull thru. The wooded area would probably be a challenge for a big rig, but the open area was no problem. Electricity was good. This was a good place to stay and we would return. Dont miss the lobster rolls at Reds Eats in Wiscasset. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com