223231 User submitted reviews online!!
Freeport / Durham KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (207) 688-4288
CGID1281

Freeport / Durham KOA

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   7   8   8   7   4   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
This campground is awesome! The campground is in great shape, the staff were very friendly, and its a really big place. Lots to do for kids and a big open area is there for all kinds of activities. A great spot for big rigs as there are a lot of pull-through sites for easy access. We will definitely be back next year as this is one of the "new great campgrounds" we discovered this year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$46
We booked a full hookup site and my son booked a tent site. Pulling in to the campground and looking across the field, the campground looked real nice. The check in was easy and getting to our site and into it was a breeze. We were in the woods but just on the edge, which was nice. There were plenty of activities and we enjoyed watching the little train go by. We took some nice walks with the dog and the campground was nice, people friendly and sites were good. Some sites could use the grass to be cut but the playing area in the field was in great shape. Close to LL Bean and the outlets. We could hear the karaoke from our site and became a joke as to how bad the next one would be. LOL. If in the area, we would return as we enjoyed our time here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
The park itself is average. They try hard to entertain the kids. The staff is very good. We had no trouble with the WiFi. But as other reviews have stated the road there off the interstate is about eight miles and most of it is not good. But if you take it around 30 to 35 mph and watch the road it is OK. Our car GPS took us another way which was just as bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$46
We stayed here for 2 nights to explore the Freeport area. The road leading into this campground (and the one you will drive on to get into Freeport) is one of the worst we have driven on! Be prepared to bounce around A LOT. Look for an alternative when you leave! The campground itself is pretty much in the middle of nowhere, but it is fairly convenient to Freeport (perhaps a 15 minute drive.) The staff is very friendly. We had a large pull-through spot next to the large rec yard. The spot had 2 sewer hookups but the person who directed us seemed to have forgotten this. So we were unable to hook up our sewer during our stay and had to dump on the way out. There was no cable and we really never could connect to the Wi-Fi. There was a nice, large dog run area. Didn't use the bathrooms much, but they were a long hike from where our spot was located. It looked like they were building a brand new bathroom facility near the dog run area. There was a nice, small, well stocked store. Most repeat visitors try to get a shaded site (not the ones in the middle out in the open), but we weren't there long enough for it to matter. There were ant hills EVERYWHERE so beware! I did laundry one night and didn't realize they locked the doors at 9 PM so I had to wait until the morning to put my clothes in the dryer. There is a small arcade for the kids but most of the games were broken. The clubhouse on top was cute but nothing was going on during the days we were there. This campground was also close to Bailey Island (where we ate at Cooks Lobster House), which is a beautiful drive. We would stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
Rate is with KOA discount. We stayed for four nights while visiting relatives in the area. The KOA is about 10 miles from Interstate 295. The secondary roads that lead to the KOA are in bad shape so expect a rough ride. In dry conditions the campground can be quite dusty from the road inside the park. Out site (A-11) was about 80' long so no problem parking the motorhome and towed car. Visitors to your site have to pay an entrance fee. We have stayed here before and enjoyed the weekend blueberry pancake breakfast. But it wasn't available this year - we were told it was because of state regulations. Hopefully that will get worked out because in the past the breakfast was excellent. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$39
Nice showers and great hot water, clean, Toilet not too big of area. Camp site wide open for satellite. Staff very friendly, but this camp site in the country with not much around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
This park has a large field for recreation in the center, and the campsites are all around it giving the park a nice open feeling. The big rig 50amp full hookups--there are only 16--are all together on one side of the park, and they are very easy to get in and out of. Length and width are good and the hard packed gravel is level. Only small trees are in this area so getting a view for your satellite is no problem. If you do want shade, the other side of the park was bordered by mostly water/electric 30amp in tall trees that would accommodate large rigs. Bathrooms, showers, laundry and pool were all clean and well cared for. The park grounds were also very clean, no trash or dog poo. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The park is a good way off the interstate, but the lack of road noise and the great night skies make up for the drive into town for supplies. The 50 amp power was not steady and was rejected by our onboard surge protector so we used the 30 amp instead. The only downsides to this park were the very poor Sprint phone and 3G reception, and we were unable to connect to the park's Wi-Fi. As of our stay at the end of July they have repaired the road ruts and trimmed the branches. There were no uneven surfaces at the entrance when we arrived. We drove our 40ft Class A (12ft 5 inches tall) down the entrance road without hitting any branches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Rate reflects a "Hot Deal" that was running for our stay. We stayed at this park a few years ago and loved it, so we were looking forward to returning. It's a little further out than other parks in the Freeport area, but the staff is great and the park is generally laid back and relaxing. We ran into a couple of issues this time which cause the lower rating. Electric was OK during the week (117 V) but voltage dropped to marginal levels (112 V on one leg, 110 V on the other of 50 amp service) on weekends when it was more crowded. Water pressure was much lower than last time we visited; we ended up running off our tank/pump for showers. WiFi throughput was poor so we gave up and used our Verizon data. Unlike the experience of the person who stayed in May, we found the entrance road to be in sore need of repair. It was quite rutted when we arrived and there were many low hanging branches for our 11'4" motorhome to dodge. We were there for a long enough stay (and nice enough weather) that someone could have done a little grading, but things were even worse when we left. On exiting from Big Skye Lane (dirt) onto the main road, the height difference due to the ruts caused our front end to bottom out on the pavement and we suffered a little over $1000 in damage to our entry step and door. We contacted the KOA to make them aware we'd had damage and the need to repair the entry road (not asking for compensation or anything like that) and we weren't even afforded the courtesy of an acknowledgement, never mind an apology. We will stay elsewhere next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
This park is about 9 miles from downtown Freeport and LL Bean. Call for directions. The road to the park is fairly well maintained. The access road, interior roads, and pads are dirt. There is Wi-Fi, but it is very weak, and you have to go to the office and get a pass code if you use more than 2 hours (so it may not be free for more than 2 hours). There are very limited number of pull-through and 50 amp sites. There is a mix of shaded and open sites (the pull-throughs are in the open). Sites are big. There are lots of places to walk your dog - but no fenced off leash area (but the owners promises that he is putting one in next year). Due to the trees, satellite access is limited and there is no cable, but antenna pulls in the Portland stations. Staff is friendly and helpful. Lots of kids activities. There is a good playground for the kids. All in all its a pretty good park. If it had cable, better Wi-Fi, and a dog park it would be a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$43
Well off the beaten path. Very quiet and clean. Grass sites, but they are level and hard packed. Friendly seasonal folks were helpful with area information. We enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$43
Grass or dirt pads, shaded or not available. Hiking paths, good place for dogs. People somewhat difficult to work with. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$49
Excellent KOA, well off the beaten path and very quiet. Large sites with lots of room in every direction, satellite friendly and good Wi-Fi. The laundry and other facilities were clean and in perfect working order. The store is well-stocked and the staff is friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay here as we explored the area and we would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$52
This is our 2nd stay at this campground. This year we rented one of their Kabins adjacent to our electric and water trailer site for our son and his family. This is a very friendly and well done campground convenient to Freeport, ME with all its shopping etc. The campground if very receptive to and attractive for children. Our young granddaughters loved it. Having said that, the weather was very hot and the moderate sized swimming pool was full to bursting! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
Rate listed is with KOA membership discount. Traveling through, we found this KOA to be 14 minutes from I-95. Upon arrival, we were glad to have arrived before darkness, as the half mile lane is through a deep woods. Farm setting with wooded and open sites. Our pull through was sufficiently long. I had difficulty with the Wi-Fi and the office had closed by 8PM. Laundry room/library area was the cleanest I've ever seen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
A great, family friendly campground. We camped here for Memorial Day Weekend. This campground would have received a 10 had the pool been operational as denoted on the website (in fairness to them, the liner they ordered for this season was the wrong size and they could not make their Memorial Day Weekend opening as planned). The staff was friendly and engaged, and despite cool temperatures and cloudy skies the first two days, they managed to make the experience fun for all with Ice Cream Socials, Tie-Die T-shirt design for the kids, a water slide and other activities for adults. Despite having an absolutely full campground, restrooms were clean and well kept, noise levels were monitored during quiet hours and traffic was kept slow. Lots of kids on bikes, a great playground, and the ever popular Moose Trolley gave a real family feel to this place. Located within 5 miles of LL Bean and the Freeport Outlets, the location is prime. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$37
Very nice friendly campground with spotless restrooms and lots of hot water. Scenic area close to Freeport. A little tricky to find since "they" (county? state?) won't let camp hosts put up typical yellow KOA signs along the rural route there, so look for little blue and white signs (typical for everything in Maine) to Bradbury Mtn State Park and KOA is past that. Otherwise, it's easy to get lost, especially after dark. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
Very nice KOA. Friendly staff. Good store if you care about those things. Quiet and convenient to Freeport/Auburn/Bath. Flat spaces in open or woods. Gated in season, which I like. Price reflects a KOA discount for many stays at KOA. Would stay here again. Note: Good cell service plus good Wi-Fi from park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
The campground itself was not all that bad. It was about an average KOA. But the location and entrance roads to the campground were pretty bad. Very rough and dusty and would have been a mess if it had rained. Sites were nice wide sites and all hook up were ok. But little gravel on the sites. Again, thankfully it did not rain. There are not of a lot of choices near downtown Freeport. I think LL Bean would do well have their own RV Park near town. I was told there was a small campground near downtown and it recently went out of business. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
We asked to be parked in open field sites due to our length, and I'm glad I did as we could hear the acorns dropping on the camper in the wooded sites. The staff was friendly and stopped by to chat with us several times. We were here to attend the Lighthouse fishable (National Lighthouse Day), and they laid out a good route to visit three local sites which took all day. I loved the folk-art signs. (Especially the one on the way out, “Antenna down – stairs up”) and the "Marty" the moose mobile. We'll be back next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
Nice park, level pull through sites and garbage pick up at your site each day, a bonus. There was no negatives about this place other than the distance to Freeport. It is a good ten miles away and there is road construction going on and the signage is not great. We could have missed it. If there was better signage, that would really help. You are driving for so long and on several different roads that you wonder if you are lost. But nice place and it was quiet. Big sites. Pull through sites have no shade. But there were back in sites available that did have shade. Didn't use washrooms so no comment there. It is a well kept place so likely they would have been just fine too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
The campground was well run and easy to set up once you travelled in from the main highways. They should add GPS coordinates to ads as you can not load given address. We enjoyed the people on our one day overnight stay. Close to Freeport shopping and good food. Would stay again. Like most KOA facilities. No bad surprises. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$41
This park is large and in a quiet location. There are lots of activities for families with kids. Everything is clean and nice. We were given a spot in the open which is like a parking lot, although the space is big and level. We had to run the AC because we were in full sun and park rules state you must pay an additional fee if you run the AC. We had very limited Internet and no cable. The park itself was ok, but I would look at another if we returned to this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
This was our second time to camp here. Both times we have used it as an overnight, and will continue to do so as the need arises. The sites were wide enough and level enough for a big rig, and the utilities worked well. The office staff was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
Very unhappy with this campground, I chose this campground because they had a waterslide for my 2 kids. They never set it up the 3 days we were there, and we even offered to help. Don't expect to be able to use the wifi. It didn't work either the whole time we there. The bathrooms were not that clean either. I will not go back again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$38
Nice park. Price reflects KOA discount. Close to L.L. Bean and Freeport. We stayed here 3 nights. We had a pull-thru site behind the office in the open field. Level site on gravel with grass between sites. Plenty of room. No trees in the big-rig area so no problem maneuvering. Free wi-fi but signal quality varied. Great hook-ups well situated. Very friendly staff. Nice pancake breakfasts on Saturday and Sunday. Pool was closed for the season. Very quiet with owner on premises. Six miles of state roads leading to the campground are rough, so be prepared for a slow drive. Worth the effort. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Nice park. We stayed here for just one night. Clean park and friendly helpful staff. We would definitely stay here again - but the roads into the KOA were not good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$37
While further from downtown/shopping in Freeport, this is by far the best campground in the area. Whether you like a wooded site or a wide open pull-through, any rig could be accommodated. During the week it's a very peaceful campground. Weekends get pretty busy with all kinds of activities for families and kids. They are very well organized and very well thought out. Camp hosts were super friendly and had great recommendations for local eateries, etc. Wireless did slow down significantly on weekends and KOA corporate/website sends you the shorter but less big-rig friendly route. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
We hit the campground at a good time, the place was empty before the labor day rush. We picked a shaded site and enjoyed the quietest stays ever. Washrooms were excellent, staff was efficient and friendly. Sites were spacious. 13 min by car from freeport center. They've re-paved most of the sections leading up to the campground. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
This is a very pleasant campground located 6 miles from L. L. Bean's original store. The state roads leading to the campground from the interstate are not in good repair so care must be taken when driving. The campground itself has gravel roads which are in good repair. Originally I had a site in the woods which I didn't care for so the staff accommodated me by finding an open pull-through site with full hook-up. The site was clean and level. It was very quiet but quite cold for July. The friendly staff made me feel right at home. We enjoyed a very pleasant stay with wonderful neighbors. I would definitely stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$32
Nice place. New owners are working very hard to upgrade everything. Still some work to do on electric and sewers for all sites. Most sites a shaded and beautiful. Owners couldn't be nicer and more helpful. Spent a week there in July 2003. Inland about 10 miles from Freeport on the top of a small hill. All sites are level and easy in and out. New Pull thrus are in the open. It will be a few years before newly planted trees are big enough We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com