223488 User submitted reviews online!!
My Brother's Place Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (207) 532-6739
CGID1290

My Brother's Place Campground

Camp Information
Sites
84
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   9   8   8   9   6   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$34
Nice grounds, but the all-grass sites (without gravel at site) had just been cut, so our camper got tons of grass clippings inside. Very clean restrooms with soft water, but low pressure in shower. Strong wi-fi. Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$37
They do not do money exchanges! The other poster was incorrect. The only thing I can find wrong with this park is the WiFi is not the best. This will probably be corrected by next season with new dsl service. Therefore; 9 out of 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
This campground is very spacious and neat with beautiful grounds. They were constantly mowing. We had a 100-ft. pull-through that was almost level. The numerous groomed trails were great for walking our dog. A nice plus was having our currency exchanged right at the campground office, with a better rate than at a bank. Wi-Fi was fairly good. The only negative I could see was, though we didn't use them, the laundry and bathrooms could use an upgrade, especially the floors. Would definitely stay here again if up this far in northern Maine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
The is a small really nice campground. All grass sites. Not real level, but workable. Good power, water and campground staff. Used the laundry which was small (2 each), but was clean and reasonable costs. Was our first stop back in the states to buy fuel, groceries and rest for a couple days. Wi-Fi not great, but most campgrounds aren't good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
This is a very pretty big rig park with lots of grass and some shade trees. The paved road going into the park is narrow but very smooth. The campsites have a gravel pad that is covered by grass and hard to see, so do your best to stay on it. If it has been raining the ground here is very soft and trying to cut a corner getting in or out of your site with a big rig can put you in the mud and possibly stuck. The 50 amp full hookup pull-through sites are very long but not quite level, so a little positioning may be required. If you need a southerly view for your satellite ask when checking in as some sites have large trees near them. Bathrooms are old but clean. Sprint has no coverage in the area. The park provides Wi-Fi for a reasonable fee and it worked well. The owners are friendly and keep the park looking great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
"My Brother's Place" makes promises, and it keeps them, this is true. It's neat, and clean, and manicured, a bit dated, nothing new. Lots of trees and grass, trails around the ponds. Emphasis is on "The Rules", no carpets on the lawns. Register here, go this way, pick up after your pet. Much the same as most campgrounds, so we obey, except. Those who run this business, show a certain attitude. It's rather hard to pin down, I wouldn't call it rude. It's more a bit of cynicism, like they've done this far to long. They're watching and waiting, just in case you do something wrong. I say "O Brother Where Art Thou", it's time to re-appear. Make your guests feel welcome when they spend their dollars here. Overall this park feels good, despite what the owners lack, I've given them an "8" out of 10, just bring the brother back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
We stayed here on our way to New Brunswick and found it very convenient. Park was very clean and quiet. Manager was very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
We camped here for one night. It has large level grassed sites. The management was friendly and helped me get situated. There were not a lot of amenities at the park; this is not a destination park. If you are traveling through Houlton and need a place to stay this is a great choice but there is not a lot to do at the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
This campground is perfect in every respect except one - the managers. Beautiful setting, spacious campground with all grass sites, can accommodate virtually any size rig pulling any size tow vehicle. We had friends in the area drive in to see us. First time, the narrow driveway up near the office was blocked by a person checking in, so our friends drove in the "wrong way" on the exit road and boy did they hear about that. Another couple of friends dropped by and they plain forgot to check in as guests. Boy did we hear about that also. This business is for the convenience of the customer, not the other way around but these managers need to work on that and lighten up a little. Nevertheless, I would stay here again rules and managers notwithstanding. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
The road is a little tight when first coming into the office, then opens up past the office. Has long pull through grassy sites, no problem getting level. Wi-Fi is a joke for a dollar a day. Go to the local McDonalds for FREE Wi-Fi. It's close to the boarder, so a good spot if you are going to Nova Scotia or PEI. Too many rules for our liking and they nickel and dime you to death. Has very poor water pressure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Tight roads entering the park, but they opened up after the office. We had problems getting level. We had to use those plastic blocks and they promptly sank into the ground. Wi-Fi was fair, we used our Air cards instead. We probably won't return, although depending on the timing of our expected border crossing, we might, but only as a last resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Very nice place! Wide grass covered sites. Lots of trees and set back off the highway enough to be nice and quiet. Very good Wi-Fi, and if you use just an antenna for TV, you will only get three channels. Roads are paved and a bit narrow but still easy enough to get around. Was escorted to our site and helped getting lined up correctly. The owner was knowledgeable of the area and was very friendly. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
The campground is roomy and has abundant greenery. the RV sites are all pull-through and the owner assisted us in positioning. The highway that the camp fronts is fairly busy, but there is a decent greenbelt that cuts if off from view completely and cuts down on the noise significantly. There are several streams and ponds throughout the property, and some short walking trails. Our children had a great time exploring and riding their bikes around the park. There is a coin-op laundry room, the showers are free, and there are some indoor games for the children which are free as well. Some of the sites are slightly out of level, but even with our low-slung travel trailer, we had no problems. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
This is an okay campground..not a whole lot in the way of entertainment. Boats looked a bit shabby...lots of red ants..good for a stopover before crossing border into Canada. Some sites need more leveling than others. Quiet, close to hwy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
This campground was beautiful but needs a lot of updating, especially in the restrooms/showers and laundry room. Laundry room only had one working machine, so if there had been many people, it would have been difficult for folks to do laundry. The staff were very nice and very helpful. One recommendation for sure from us; have dinner at the COURTYARD CAFE and enjoy Joyce's homemade cooking! This was the highlight of our trip to Houlton, ME. We would camp here again if we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
This is a good place to stop just before/after crossing the border. It's very neat and clean, but nothing else remarkable. There is a $1 charge for Wi-Fi which works well, and the showers are of the "pay forward" variety. There is quite a bit of traffic noise despite the fact that the park is set back quite a distance from the road. Used our Good Sam discount here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
Owners leads you to your site and makes sure there are no problems. Great place to stay, nice grassy, level sites. No cable TV but my satellite worked great. Campground shows a lot of owner's attention to detail. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Honors Good Sam discount. Nice grassy, spacious sites, well maintained. Wi-Fi at our site (48) for $1/night, was a good connection. Baths had showers but cost .25 cent (on a timer). This was amusing to us as we have never seen a pay shower before. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
Traveling in a 45’ rig and towing in Northern Maine means lots of compromises. But at this park we had it all: wide pull-throughs, 50 amps, water and sewer (that you could reach), reasonably level pads, LOTS of grass and no bare dirt, and for the first time in our swing through Maine, we could use our satellite TV system. After our previous park, this was heaven. Our only nits were that the access to the park was a bit tight and the site wasn’t quite level. We were, however, so happy with the lovely, grassy and well maintained park that we stayed an extra day just to sit here and enjoy it. We did not inspect any of the bath/shower/laundry facilities so I cannot comment on them. The manager was very friendly and helpful; leading us to our site and making sure all was well afterwards. He also noticed the tight spots I faced getting to the site (#11) and later told me that he would be trimming back a few limbs as a result. This has been a family owned and operated park for something like 40 years, now in the next generation, that I recommend and will return to if we come by again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
We only stayed 1 night. The park is big and has large, grassy sites. Some are shaded and mostly pull through. Some recreation equipment is on site and a few ponds, also a walking trail. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
Very pretty cg. Like a very nice park it was well maintained with mown trails everywhere. Easy to get into but not level sites. Tight cornering to check-in/get into cg. A rather strange layout in the front part. Washers/dryers only have cold water (and no signs indicating that), are ancient-looking, and don't always work. Rate is with Good Sam discount. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Price is Good Same discount. Wonderful lush rolling lawns with border evergreen pine trees between sites. Huge pull throughs, and nice to have the cool green grass to run your toes through, thus no need for a mat. Flip flopped, shared hookup sites on pull throughs, so hopefully you like your neighbors as your "patio" section will be facing each other. Very close to busy US 1 thus highway noise is always here, even though a real effort was made on layout with pine trees between the park and the road. Was not a real issue to sleep, as it toned down later. Bathhouse is a bit dated, and only 2 washers and 2 dryers for the whole park, though dated they were some of the most inexpensive we have noted. Showers were my usual pet peeve, as I refuse to feed quarters into a machine. Like a motel that would charge for towels. This fact needs to be advertised in their brochure, or stated at check in, as many do not travel with rolls of quarters. Even if free, the shower area was not very nice at all. Nothing really to entice in this area for tourism, but still very relaxing for a stop over. We would visit again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
This was a one night stopover place for us on our way to Canada. The site was easily accessed, grassy, and plenty large. Wi-fi was available at an additional fee of $1 per computer. A second computer was another $1 although we were not charged for the second laptop this time. Campground is on Route 1 but was quiet. We'd stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
We used a tent site as we traveled in a VW Camper van and didn't need any hookups this trip, just access to some water, which was available. We found this campground to be very quiet, clean, neat and well maintained. The host was very gracious and accommodating to our requests. We certainly would recommend this campground to anyone who might ask. We plan to return next July 2010 for perhaps a longer stay. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
Nice wide level site. Utilities nicely placed for hook-up. Clean nicely manicured grounds with some trees and a nice small lake. Would definitely stay here again. Convenient to I-95 and restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We have stayed here three years in a row. This year they had a lot of rain and some sites were very wet. The owners are terrific folks and will make you happy. We will stay here many more times when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
Neat, well cared for campground, but when we got here we found out that 50 amp service was not available because the 50 amp sites were too mushy. A little money spent to put in a few more 50 amp sites and to put compacted gravel into the sites would greatly improve it. Still a good value for the money. We will stay here again on our way back through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
Nice surprise, paved roads, very clean & quiet. Sites were very big and lots of grass, you can even use your carpets if you remove them at night and if you are gone during the day. The WIFI was very strong. The showers were clean AND and the water was HOT, lots of water pressure. We were on our way to Canada to visit friends, will stay longer on our return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
Stayed here mid week on a over-night stop. Owners were very nasty when asked for anything. ie: directions, local stores, etc. Playground for the kids was run down to the point that they couldn't even play. Sites where nice and large. Had a good laundry but could not provide change unless you bought something in the store. Not worth the money unless you are traveling without kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Nice spot...We camped here during a week of rain, so things were wet, everywhere in the Eastern USA..The staff was friendly and the Wi-Fi worked great. You are close to town..Its a good overnight campground.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
Very nice campground with almost all pull-thru sites. WiFi was $2.00 extra but worked great. We stayed there overnight on our way to and from PEI. We found the owners very pleasant and eager to please. This campground is 2 miles from the US - Canada border so it's very convenient too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
We have stayed in this park one month last year and one month in 2007. Great, level grassy sites, quiet and close to small town. Owners are very helpful and available. We had 30 amps site, could use more 50 amps, but a small thing in a great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
Very nice campground, clean well run great stop on way to Canada. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
Great owners, very friendly, nice and quiet campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$28
Large level shady sites. Tables and fire rings for each site. All sites are grass. Great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$24
This campground is a little jewel, a peaceful oasis of flowers, wooded walking paths, shade trees, large grassy sites, and paved roads. It is meticulously groomed, guests are invited to stroll the grounds and enjoy the parklike setting. Benches and extra picnic tables are placed here and there along the perimeter paths and there is a tranquil pond and paddle boats. Easy access from Route 1 and just across the border from Canada. No pool but a nice playground for the kids and paved interior roads for bike riding. No problem with parking large truck and 5th wheel with slides. Friendly owners. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2004
$25
A beautiful over night campground. Lots of space and lots of well maintained grass. A very nice check-in experience, which means we will always stay here when the need occurs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$23
This is a GS park. The park is well maintained and clean. Most of the sites are pull-thrus on grass. Sites are well spaced. There are many trees throughout the park although the sites themselves are not shaded. There are numerous well maintained walking trails through fields and woods with several small ponds. One of the few improvements that could be made would be to widen the park roads and do some tree trimming along the roads. The showers/restrooms are clean and the laundry facilities are adequate. The park is within a few miles of I-95 and the Canadian border. There is no major shopping. The nearest shopping mall in is Presque Isle about 45 miles away. We would return here and would recommend this park for a short stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com