215256 User submitted reviews online!!
Sunset Point RV Trailer Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (207) 733-2272
CGID1295

Sunset Point RV Trailer Park

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   9   6   10   5   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
This is a small RV park with minimal but satisfactory services. The restrooms and showers are older and small, but very clean. Wifi worked but was slow. Rain while we were there puddled on tithe ground and it was difficult to avoid walking through the puddles. At least half the sites are on the saltwater bay, though without direct access. Beautiful views. Very convenient to visit Campobello. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
This campground is surrounded on two sides by water and is one of the most idyllic settings we have ever been in. Contrary to what was stated in the previous review there is 50A service here, at least in the "center" section. We had a pull-through site and had beautiful views through the windshield and right side windows (we had site 12 at the end which doesn't have anyone on the right side). The sites aren't spacious, but they aren't any worse than at plenty of other commercial campgrounds. The WiFi is great, when it works! Verizon service is weak and is roaming; we're reluctant to use it because of the roaming issue. The sites are grass and ours was almost perfectly level. The people in the office are very friendly. If this park had sewers we might stay all summer! One thing to note is that no credit cards are accepted, just cash or checks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Sunset Point is a small RV park situated on Johnson Bay (a portion of the Bay of Fundy). The sites are narrow and grassy, but fairly level. To enjoy the view, we parked the MH nose in. This required running the water and electric cables under the MH so be sure to have extensions. They say they have 50 amp but apparently they don't. The Wi-Fi was erratic even with our extenders. Satellite worked fine. Our Verizon phones wanted to access Canadian signals (and the associated very expensive charges) so we turned them off. The park is convenient to many attractions including several access points to Canada. We extended our stay several times and would definitely return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Had a "cable TV" site ($5 extra) which was directly on Johnson's Bay so we faced our RV nose first to the west and had a great view of the bay every day. The other reviews state that you cannot put a slide out, but that was not the case at our site although I can see where it would be a problem if you are in one of the inland sites. We initially booked 2 nights, but stayed 4 because we liked it so much. Staff extremely friendly and helpful as were the other guests. WI-FI worked great, as did the cable TV. We actually did not want to leave but scheduling did not permit a longer stay. Laundromat, showers and rest rooms very clean and well kept. While Maine campgrounds seem to nickel and dime you to death with extra charges, this one did not and it was a welcome change. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
We camped here for four nights. The owners and many of the other campers were extremely friendly. Bathrooms, showers and laundry are very clean. The campsites are right on the water with great views, if only you could see them past the other campers' rigs. The sites are very close together, not big enough for an RV with slides. We had to pull in our awning so as not to hit the slide of the motorhome next to us. No sewer hookups, but a honeywagon service is available. Internet was good, no cable at all sites. We would never stay here for more than a couple of days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
This is a wonderful little park, especially if you are in a tent or tent trailer. The tent sites are the primo ones, right on the water. Restrooms are immaculate, and the showers are private little stalls, also super clean. Nice owners. Good restaurants within a few miles that do take out.....we got lobster dinners to go and ate them at our site overlooking the bay. We were there over the 4th of July holiday, and there were fireworks for three nights, clearly seen from the campground. There is a pond in the middle of the campground, and the frogs were huge and quite vocal, but our dog (as well as kids who were there and other dogs) enjoyed chasing them. A very nice place. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Location is the attraction, of Sunset Point I'm sure, if not for Campobello, I'd be puzzled by the lure. If it's internet your after, free internet you got, but cable TV, will cost you extra, in very limited spots. Tenters have the prime locale, all along the shore, while RVers have a parking lot, and really little more. The first night we arrived, I had visions of a fire, to my chagrin, my "fire ring", was next to my neighbor's tire. They squeeze as many in a row, there’re girdles far less tight, and it's only a utility pole, that demarcates your site. If a "staging ground" is all you need, to plan your daily drive, it will suffice, but as for me, it only rates a "five". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Wi-Fi had a strong signal. Our site overlooking the Bay allowed us to observe the large tide changes and take in the beautiful sunsets. Very close to Campobello Island and West Quoddy Light. Very level grassy sites. This was one of the best campground experiences we have ever had. The location was great, the host was great, and our fellow campers were great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
This is a small and very tidy campground in a great location with superb views of Fundy tides. It is convenient to both Campobello Island and the West Quoddy Head lighthouse. We were in pull through site 11 and it was very difficult to access with our 36 foot Cameo. The site was extremely narrow. We were less than 3 feet from our neighbors. Most of the other sites were also very narrow. The manager was very informative and helpful. We also encountered some problems with the operation of the laundry room dryers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Greeted by friendly staff and very helpful with our lighthouse adventure. This was our 3rd campsite over 2 weeks and was unbelievable. The view was incredible!! No sewer hook up but an easy to use dump station is on site. This was a beautiful campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Nice talkative hosts, neat clean grassed sites in two rows with one facing the bay, and the other a pond bordered with rushes. The views should be lovely except we had a fogged in morning; our bad luck. The bathhouse is small but is very nice with tile and varnished golden walls and loads of clothes hooks. Park is off the highway a mile from the Roosevelt international bridge to Canada's Campobello island. Camp is cash or check only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
We planned to stay here 4 nights and extended to 7 with our last night free. Host was very knowledgable of area attractions and helped us plan our stay and sightseeing. The staff were all knowledgable, long-term RV'ers. We pulled into our site, nose first and had a wonderful view of the bay out our windshield. Park furnished propane burner an big pot for us to cook our lobsters, free of charge. "Honey Wagon" fee was $10: good deal. The best campground in our month long trip through Maine. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
The best thing about this park is the staff, workampers who are happy to be here and take good care of the facilities and campers. The primo sites are tent sites, the next best sites are taken by staff. The pull thru sites aren't on the water, and the cable sites from 21 up the row face a basin, not exactly the ocean. Pretty ugly at low tides, although you can watch the local clam diggers. If you're the least bit claustrophobic opt for the pull-thru sites. Otherwise, you have windshield views for motor homes or rear views for trailers. Views from your side windows will be close-ups of the next RV's walls or doors. Sites are that tight. Forget about extending your awnings. ALERT: Cell phones and air cards will incur significant roaming charges from domestic carriers and Canadian. You'll have to travel the 25 or so miles back to Machias to get out of roaming. The park has WiFi but it can be spotty. Restaurants outnumber other businesses in Lubec, and if your tastes aren't extremely discriminating you can find good meals. Uncle Kippy's is within walking distance from the park and has really good haddock. If you like lobster, you can find it fresh everywhere. The rain and fog have been frequent, and have made touring and hiking less than enjoyable. During sunny days, be sure to see as much as you can because the next day could be drippy. A must see/do is the trip to the E. Quoddy Head Lighthouse off Campobello Island at low tide. Requires climbing up and down steep narrow steps, and climbing over rocks and seaweed, but walking across the ocean floor in the Bay of Fundy is awesome. The border crossing to New Brunswick is quick and easy with passport or picture I.D. We've enjoyed being here and would stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Sunset Point RV park was small, but very quaint. It sets on a point with views of the water all around. We were back right up and had a nice bay view. We saw seals right outside our RV the first night here. Close to a nice little town for plenty of good food. (Try Franks Dockside Restaurant: not much to look at on the outside, but the inside is very nice and has great food! Also right across the road from Monica's Chocolate Shop: a must eat!) I wish we had time to stay longer. Nice clean bathrooms as well. They only accept Cash or Check, but it's worth the trouble. You'll enjoy it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
The office staff were helpful. The view, especially at sunset, was beautiful. We were right on the bay. Very nice grassy area around site- no need to put out a rug or mat. Campground is very small, but plenty of space between sites. No frills but the cleanliness and view make up for it. If it had sewer hook-ups, it would have been perfect. Only 7 minutes from Quoddy Head SP, and 1/2 hour ride to the puffin boat trip in Cutler. If I ever went back to that area, I'd absolutely stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
This park is just about as good as it gets. Views out the front window are breathtaking at sunset. It is close enough to several things to do. Be sure not to miss East Quoddy Head Lighthouse (go at low tide) and the West Quoddy Head Lighthouse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This was one of our all-time favorites on our five month trip (and 50+ campgrounds) throughout much of the U.S. If I owned or managed a campground this would be my ideal. First, our site and all of them were right on the ocean bay with an unbelievable close-up view. Great ambiance, very clean and grassy, nice touches, bathroom and laundry facilities very well maintained, small charming - not that big parking lot feel some have. Very well run, near the small town of Lubec. Staff were extremely helpful and always friendly - in fact they helped us get various documents delivered to us across the states. I also sensed that the other campers there were very happy to be there. Wished we'd been able to stay longer, so relaxing. Don't confuse this with another campground about 30 miles away with a similar name. This one is just a mile or so to Lubec town center and not in the official Maine guide (I asked them about that and apparently one has to pay to be included. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Our second stay. Friendly staff. Lovely water views and sunsets. Grassy sites. Well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This was a pleasant place. It was small. The sites were tight, but we were only here for the night. The views were really nice. We would stay here again even for a few days. It was restful, calm, relaxing, peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
GREAT small park. Yes, sites spaced close, so holidays and prime season could find you close to neighbor. BUT, great views, small boat canoe/kayak launch. If you go to the lighthouse, you get bragging rights to "been farther east than you have." Also easy access to Canada and FDR summer home - must see. Be sure you go to Sunset Point in Lubec. There is another RV park with same name not too far away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This is a very nice little campground. All sites are on the bay, and all sites are grass. The only downside is that the sites are a bit close together...so close that the hook up podium is right next to the next site's picnic table. The host does alternate sites when possible, but when the place is full, expect to be really close to your neighbor. The wi-fi was weak, but adequate. The restrooms were very clean, and the staff very helpful and friendly. We would definitely camp there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
This is a wonderful park with wonderful owners. The sunsets were beautiful. We bought lobster off the pier and the owners loaned us the pot and high pressure burner to cook them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
The view and setting here was a 10. The park is nearly surrounded by water with great views and many open areas to watch the harbor & the sunset. The bathrooms & showers were clean & modern. The office staff were friendly & helpful. Many of the sites are suitable for big rigs. There were some very large & private tent sites. We were able to get a fair WIFI signal but it may have come from outside of the park. My only complaint is that the pull through sites are very narrow, so narrow that there was no room to put out our awning. This was offset by the fact that there is open area in the front so even with a narrow site there is still a great view to the front. We enjoyed our time here and would come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
This is a great little RV park located right on the ocean in Lubec, the easternmost point in the U.S. The site was very beautiful and well maintained. The owner was on-site most of the time and was very friendly and accommodating. The bathrooms were very clean and the showers worked well. If we are ever in this area again, we will definitely look to stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
A very small campground in the early stages of renovation. A beautiful location on the water. Some new sites have 50 amp, cable, and Wi-Fi. Entrance is paved, interior road is gravel, site is grass, and level. Staff is more than helpful. A good base to see local lighthouses and to get to Campobello, New Brunswick. Also, don't miss Monica's Chocolates across the street. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
A good location to visit the lighthouses and Campobello. The sites are right on the water, had great view of tides. The utility hookups are new; cable TV works great. The sites are mostly level; no trees or bushes to get in the way. The bathhouse is clean but cold because the exhaust fan pulls cold air into the shower. The WiFi is virtually nonexistent: we went into town to the library. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
This is one of our favorite spots we have found to date. Each site has a spectacular view of water. The facilities are spotless. The owners go out of their way to make your stay the best possible. There is no Internet and cell phones are limited, but we loved it here and definitely would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
This campground is simple and on the water. The staff is extremely friendly. We were here when it wasn't too crowded, but if the campground was full, the sites would be too close together. The Canadian border to Campobello Island is extremely close, so be sure to go there: it's a must! We would come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
This is a small park, totally open, on Quiddy Bay with all water sites. The biggest pro is the free showers which is very rare in Maine. They were clean, too. The only dislike was the fact that it wasn't crowded, but the owner put all the units close to each other. The park is close to things. The bridge to New Brunswick and Campobello is 5 minutes away. I ate at Uncle Kippy's which had good seafood and was reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
It was a very small simple campground, but it was a beautiful setting. We had a site on a peninsula surrounded by beautiful waterscape views in every direction. The staff was friendly and helpful. You could get to surrounding Canada islands in minutes. A good location , and no complaints. Very nice little RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
We camped here off season and had the place to ourselves. Felt very secure as office and owners house overlooks the grounds. Nice Water views. Very nice man at desk who was very friendly and helpful. Not sure I would like it during the busy time, but it made an excellent spot to stay while we went and toured Campobello and the lighthouse. I would camp here again. Nearby restaurant: Ate at Uncle Kippy's and had to get my own menu and then wait another 10 minutes for the waitress -- dinner was served a good half hour later. It wasn't that crowded. Some diners came in 10 minutes after we ordered and they got served the same time. Not recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$31
This campground has really great scenic views of Johnson Bay. Every site has overlook views of the Bay and sunsets are fabulous. The campground is close to the West Quoddy Head lighthouse and Mullholland Point lighthouse. A short drive across the International Bridge onto Campobello Island, New Brunswick, Canada will take you to the only International Park in existence where FDR's summer cottage is located. Also, the East Quoddy lighthouse is located on the tip of the Island. If you like to whale watch, this is the place. We saw 2 Finback whales in the first 10 minutes we were there observing. The RV Park is well maintained and clean. The specacular views more than compensate for the lack of sewers. The campground does have a dump station and there is a "honey bucket" service available 3 days/week for a $10/pump out of your RV. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
Sites between trout pond w 6' working Quoddy lighthouse, and bay (large ocean tides), satellite friendly. Only 1 mile to Lubec with good restaurants & library w internet access (free computers as well as wifi), and bridge to Campobello. Less than 5 miles to easternmost US point of land & lighthouse. Very friendly,helpful staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$31
This campground is a real gem! Every site has a view of the bay. It is not an activity centered campground, which was perfect for us. Showers were very clean. Each site has a fire ring, grill and picnic table. All sites are grass and our's was level. Cable hook-ups are available on some sites, but reception is terrible. The satellite dish worked magnificently. Lubec is a very small town with a couple of restaurants, grocery store, gas station, etc. We drove over the international bridge to Compobello Island to visit the Roosevelt summer cottage. We have a 42' motorhome and had no problem at the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
Lubec is as far East on Maine's coast as one can get. It's a great little community, with lots of exploring in the area. Campobello Island is just across the FDR Bridge, with ferry service available to Deer Island and then to Eastport, ME, or mainland New Brunswick. However, the ferries to Deer Island & Eastport are small, and not well suited for an RV over about 25 feet. Both Lubec & Campobello have some great little restaurants, and East & West Quoddy Lighthouses to visit. Sunset Point c/g has wonderful views of the bay from any of its sites, and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. No 50amp sites, and no sewer sites, although a honey wagon service is available for $10. The sites are very close together. If you and your neighbor have slides, you will have very little patio room available. The nightly rate reflects a weekly rate. Be careful with cell phones, as you can pick-up the Canadian cell tower on Campobello. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$22
Great views on Sunset Bay. Beautiful sunsets. Small, clean, well maintained campground. Friendly staff and campers. Good place to stay while visiting FDR's summer cottage on Campobello Island and Quoddy Lighthouse. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com