220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Powder Horn Family Camping Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (207) 934-4733
CGID1301

Powder Horn Family Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
530
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$49



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   9   9   8   7   10   4   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$49
What a great campground! Spring Rates for Memorial Day. Can't beat the price for such a great campground. We stayed on site 13Y and is near the seasonal sites. Very low traffic part of the campground. The bathhouse was always clean and the showers had great pressure. We were able to get a good wifi signal at our site and the pedestal had it all. Although we did not use the pool, there were people in the heated pool and the hot tubs. We enjoy this area especially being walking distance to Old Orchard Beach. We will return to this campground in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$65
Awesome RV park. We have been going there for years. Family oriented, professional, courteous staff. Lots of activities for kids and adults. Three pools and a hot tubs one for the kids and another for adults. They leave you alone so you can enjoy your camping experience. Minutes to the Beach and trolley service available if you do not feel like driving to the beach. A short walk into town if you are up for it. Highly recommend this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$68
Clean CG. Very nice pools and activities were very up to par, lots for the younger set. Would have given a 10 but Wi-Fi was slow at times, the site we had was next to Cascade road and traffic noise was a bit loud. We had site 55T. Cable was very good and sites in our area were easy in and out and good size. Water pressure was good. A lot of seasonal sites but very well kept as was the whole are. Store was well equipped and served light lunches and well as VERY good ice cream. People are very friendly (staff) lots going on all day. The trolley is regular every 30 minutes, depending on the traffic: $1.00 each way. Well worth it as parking at the beach is $20 on weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$70
Great place to stay and would have given a ten except for the Wi-Fi service. Slow and had to keep logging onto the service with a password. This was not handy when trying to do business on the net. Other than that the place was clean, the workers very friendly and courteous. The pools were huge and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
My family has gone to this campground for three years now. We go every July 4th and at least one other time in the summer. This year we brought two other families. As always we had a wonderful time. The bathrooms are clean (except when RUDE people do things they would never do in there own bathrooms). The pools are wonderful and they are opening a new pool in the Pine Grove area, which is our favorite. My kids love the kids' club and riding their bikes to the store. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. It is a very family friendly location, and we always meet the nicest people. Old Orchard Beach is right down the road, and they have the most wonderful fireworks every Thursday night. The only thing I would change is a few more kids activities. Maybe a craft barn where they can make a craft for a fee or tie die tee shirts. We love Powderhorn, and anyone who says differently is crazy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$59
This is very much a family oriented RV park with some tent sites. It is a crowded campground in summer but quiets down at night. Lots of activities and people all over the place. Not a place for people seeking privacy. Great for kids. Lots of pools, mini golf, basketball, shuffleboard, rec center, two playgrounds for toddlers and older children, etc. It is expensive but a very fun atmosphere. Approximately half of the campground is frequented by French Canadians. Our neighbor let their sewer drain next to the site on the grass, though only gray water, but still.. If this is what you're looking for, you'll love it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$65
We make our reservations every year for the 4th of July Week. We camp with 6 other families and stay in the same sites. We love the option of going to the pool or walking down to the beach. There is trolley service for $1/way. Beach and downtown area less than 1 mile. Lots to do in campground, love the 50/50 raffles, horseshoe tournaments and relaxing environment. We are allowed to have our fires later at night as long as we aren't too loud. We are always sorry to leave at the end of the week. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
This place was large with a lot of activities. Easy access to sights, easy to find and spacious. It was extremely buggy, even with spraying Off, using bamboo torches and the candles we were still bitten up pretty good. They have three pools, which is fine if you just want to sit in the water, they don't like the kids playing or jumping or much of anything. After my kids were spoken to by the owner about 6 times for being kids we left and went to the beach. I take my kids camping to have fun, not be a statue. We will not be returning here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
We stayed on site 72 which had a very slow flowing stream and made for a very buggy week. The campground was very quiet and appeared to be at about 30% capacity. The kids enjoyed the pool and playground areas. We would have liked to see more planned activities for the children but that may have been due to the time of year we visited. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$48
Very nice an clean campground. Called ahead to get a site and was told I could not reserve by phone for only one night. Huh? Stayed two nights and looked around Old Orchard Beach. Wife got her nails done. Not much there besides an amusement park and a big pier. Since we are not interested in that sort of thing, it wasn't much to us. Campground had MANY seasonals. Their lots were very well kept so it was not unsightly. Again could not get satellite to work even though campground said I would. Easy access off I-95. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$50
We camped at Powderhorn for 3 years beginning in 2002. The first two years were okay. In 2003 we became seasonal. In 2004 new seasonal's came into the section we were staying. The noise level was unbearable as the kids were screaming, having tantrums and leaving toys and clutter all over the road, in addition to kicking rubber playground balls 20 ft into the air striking people, sailing by gas grills and slamming into our vehicles. Playground play was not directed to the playgrounds. There was swearing going on as well as one man chasing a car down the road yelling vulgarities at him. We complained to the office several times about the noise and problems going on in the area to no avail. Every time we issued a complaint the people were told who complained and the situation escalated more each time. The last time we were assured the situation would be dealt with and we paid our deposit toward the next season. We returned 2 weeks later for our last long stay of the season and found it had not changed We removed our camper and told the office we would not return and requested our $500.00 deposit back. They refused. They told us the deposit was non-refundable, it didn't matter we informed them prior to the end of the current season and removed our camper. It seems they will refund regular camper's deposits up to 7 days before reservation dates but not a seasonal deposit 7 months prior to the season start. In the past the owners have increased the rates $200 annually for seasonal's each year along with the nightly rates. The overall cost for a seasonal site there now is $2400-$3200 plus sales tax ($200-300) AND property tax on your camper each year. The Meadows Tent Area is now seasonal for Park Models only. They have not expanded any amenities such as the pool, jacuzzi, etc. They are overcrowded and overused. The jacuzzi had major problems most of the season this year and water temperature was luke warm. They recently purchased Hid'n Pines Campground and the owner's son left the place in charge with some girl who was rude and not very helpful in resolving issues. Your property ends up damaged (in which the campground conveniently will not be responsible for) and they do nothing. The patrols are non-existent and the rules are routinely broken. The only rules enforced are the ones that Powderhorn might miss out on $$$$. We will not recommend this campground to anyone, and our family and friends who were frequently camping with us will not return. This place is definitely not worth the rates they charge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$45
We have camped at Powderhorn some ten years. Our family spends a couple of weeks camping scheduled around the fourth of July each year. This season was our last with Powderhorn. In my opinion the owners have exploited this park and the people camping in it beyond fairness. Over the years the owner has added or improved a number of sites without upgrading the amenities. The store and the office space have expanded but the pool, laundry, parking, roads, restrooms and playgrounds have remained the same size. The result is to many people trying to use to little space. The overcrowding also strains the staff. It has been my experience that the customer is always wrong at Powderhorn. Rather than settle small issues, the crew seems to take pleasure in asking campers to leave the campground even for the most minor reasons. The fellow managing this Campground is much too young and immature for the job. Owners son I am told. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$40
Nice campground with many seasonals. Good laundry room. The pull thru that we were assigned to was on a hill (level site though) with a large field in front of it. Easy site to use but not a $40+ site. A real irritation was that they advertise central modem h/u but instead have an email machine which takes bills or credit card. Of course you can't download emails to your laptop for later reading nor upload email composed on your laptop. Asked about the advertised h/u - they said, maybe it's ready for use. Showed it to me - to be in a locked box - no phone line even installed, not even a hole for a line to come in. Since the ad was in the 2001 Directory (and perhaps in earlier editions) which was available in late 2000 I expressed the thought that perhaps 18 months or more without even drilling an access hole was not quite living up to their billing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com