220689 User submitted reviews online!!
El Morro RV Park and Cabins was rated 6 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (505) 783-4612
CGID13061

El Morro RV Park and Cabins

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   1   2   9   9   10   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2014
$27
On the good side the park was very quiet, close to El Morro, a minimart and gas station, and right off the highway. The porch of the restaurant was a relaxing place to sit and watch the sun go down. We had limited contact with the management, but the ones we talked to were friendly. However, the campground is very neglected, overgrown with weeds, unpaved, and the parking space was composed of fine dust. The cement block bathrooms were not very clean and there were many bottles of shampoo and so on in the stalls, possibly left by the residents that live there. Safety note! Don't be under the shower if someone flushes. Scalding hot! We had an above average breakfast in the restaurant. The baked goods mentioned by other commenters were not at their best being at least two days old when we purchased. (The restaurant was closed the day we arrived and we could see the items through a window and must assume they had been baked the day before.) It was a convenient place to spend the night, but not a place to spend any time at. Expensive for the condition. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2013
$1
We called in the morning to make sure they would have a site available to accomodate our 34 foot 5th wheel. We were told there were plenty of sites available, no reservation required. When we arrived at 3pm the last of the few sites that were large enough was just taken. We walked through the park and found it not maintained at all. Most sites are very small, looked like an assembly of potholes, and the hookups were spread all over the place, requiring hoses up to 100 feet to connect. Don't go there with a big rig! The owners don't care about the RV park; their priority is the cafe. Luckily we had spotted another place to stay just a few miles up the highway. We can not recommend this park and will not consider to stay here if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
Just a place to stay if nothing else is available. Very unkempt park. No cell service, wireless broadband, cable TV or broadcast TV. I needed 30ft of sewer hose. Some sites require more. Lots of dust and dirt and quite a few permanent residents. Thought that maybe Lil' Abner and Daisy Mae would show up. 46 miles off of I-40. I went down based on previous reviews. They were way off base in my opinion. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
We spent 2 peaceful nights at the El Morro RV Park. Cannot speak to how a big rig would do as we were only in a pop up, but there were a few large RV's there. Some day time traffic noise as a gravel pit was right up the road, but that was not the case at night. Plenty of shade, a tidy restroom with a shower was readily accessible and open all night. This is a small town, so having "The Ancient Way Cafe" right on the property was really convenient. The food was very good. Fresh scones in the morning with a cup of coffee, a huge breakfast burrito, and some interesting choices for lunch and dinner. They are closed on Wednesday. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a convenient place to camp in order to visit El Morro National Monument, with lots of country to hike and bird watch. The Ice Caves tour was not worth the $11 entry fee they charge, and I warn families who might shell out for everybody over the age of 12, to send one person to check it out. Five dollars would be a fairer price. Can't say enough about this little gem of a campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
This was a really good campground. It is what I think of when camping. Lots of nature, places to walk around and a great fire pit. We had friends from Germany with us. We stayed in the RV and they stayed in a cabin. The cabin was great. We grilled on the porch of the cabin and had a great time. We had all the usual hookups and the spot was level. Fire and Ice is also very close and worth going to. If you want a park that gives you everything you have at home this probably not the place for you. But if you want a clean, friendly nice place that gets you off the beaten path this is one of the best campgrounds I have been to in a while. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
I was really happy with this campground. It's small and cozy and has a cafe, store, and art cooperative all right there. The Ancient Ways Cafe has delicious food, including organic and vegetarian options and yummy gourmet coffee and homemade cakes. The Inscription Rock Trading and Coffee Co is a great store with really neat and unique items, many made by New Mexican Indian tribes like the Utes and the Zuni Pueblos. The owners of this store were wonderful! The art cooperative is right across the street, and I heard good things about it, but it was closed when I was there. Both the store and the art cooperative have a winter schedule which is less than 5 days a week, so you may want to call in advance if you’re planning to be there in the winter to make sure they’ll be open. The El Morro National Monument is right down the road--about a 15-minute walk. All the people who worked at the campground were very friendly and helpful. The sites were dirt (no concrete or gravel) and mine wasn't completely level, but I had some levelers, and it wasn't too bad. There wasn't consistent wireless availability--the person in the cafe gave me the password to get online, but it only worked as long as he was online. There was a small restroom with one or two toilets and showers, but I didn't use it. No laundry facilities for campers. This is an awesome park if you want something quaint, warm, cozy, unique and within walking distance of what you want to see. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
This is an older park that could use some TLC. If you want hookups, this is the only place we found within 40 miles or more. The close by El Moro National Monument has a campground with no hookups. The sites are spread out in what appears to be a rather random pattern. The roads are a mix of gravel and dirt. Our site was a very long back in at about a 90 degree angle to the next site which made it seem very large as there was no other RV visible out our door or window. Some sites are close to the road, but NM-53 does not seem to get much traffic at night. The Wi-Fi system has three repeaters and we got a strong signal, but the speed was very slow. Verizon internet service on our modem was slow and unstable and our cellphones often said searching for service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com