214868 User submitted reviews online!!
Megunticook Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (207) 594-2428
CGID1310

Megunticook Campground

Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   4   9   10   7   4   9   1   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
We were a little concerned with some of the negative reviews, but overall, pleasantly surprised. We have a nice pull through site, and there are very few people here now, so we can walk across the road and see the pretty stream. Further down toward the ocean that same stream cascades over rocks and small waterfalls with ferns everywhere. The view of the harbor is breathtaking, and the area by the water has chairs, benches, and picnic tables. Lots of plantings throughout the area. People were very helpful, and the sites have some foliage between them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$49
This is the first time I've been deceived by this review site. I chose Megunticook based on the 9 & 10 ratings it had here in the last couple of years. Wow. Was that disappointing. The rather high rate per night is based on the "by the Sea" part of the name. Other than that there is nothing at this campground to justify nearly $50.00/night. There is no w-ifi. The campground was all but empty, yet we were put on site 1 which is nearly on Route 1, so we had traffic noise all night. The site was nothing close to level nor were any of the sites. I walked to the water. It is a small deck with a pleasant view and several run down chairs and picnic tables that looked like they would collapse if you sat in them. We were preoccupied with a problem at home or I would have gone elsewhere or at least changed sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
This is a nice little campground and the staff was very helpful. They recommended a barbershop and even called to make sure of the hours. Recommended a great restaurant, Cappy's Chowder House, that was just a couple of blocks away since we would be there anyway. A central location for lighthouses. Again we did the day trip thing. My only wish would be having access to the water view near the cabins for all campers, not just the cabin renters. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$39
We had a good visit to this campground. The woman working in the building walked us to our site and was very helpful. It had a small pool that we didn't get to use and a nice sized playground that the kids liked a bunch. The sites were all wooded and we had adequate separation from our neighbors. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Pretty park with good location convenient to Rockport, Rockland, Camden and Lincolnville Beach. The big rigs are put in an upper area that is right off the highway, so there is always highway noise. The facilities are nice, and staff were very helpful. Their cable TV is complicated by the fact that Time-Warner has gone all digital, so each camper must connect a cable box to their TV setup. This is not straightforward and required a 1 1/2 day wait for a cable technician who said that almost none of the motorhomes are able to get good reception with the cable boxes inside their motorhomes. We were able to connect by using an old DirecTV cable in our rig. This is not the campground's fault directly, but seems that they need a more permanent solution to a problem that will be ongoing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
Been here several times over a 10 year span. Park could be a gem but it's not. No maintenance being done, front desk staffed by poor quality help, only Wi-Fi hotspot is the office, no hose available at dump station, no guide to site, etc. RV'ers seem to be seen as an inconvenience to deal with. Morgan Resorts runs the place and it speaks very poorly for them as a company. Quite sure this is our last visit here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
We liked the state park feel of the campground and the overlook to view the ocean. We would go back to this campground because we like clean and quiet. Our site was a pull through and I had to fill in two holes make by the previous camper that apparently got stuck. I encountered 3 dogs during our stay that were not leashed, one disrupting our site knocking over chairs and tray table spilling drinks and snacks. He came charging in at our two dogs that were leashed. I complained at the office so I hope they enforce their pet policy in the future. We did not notice any activities but we were here to just enjoy the view, pool and tour the area. We stayed 4 days. The view is priceless! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$51
We booked this site over 3 months in advance but when we arrived for the 4th of July weekend, the grass looked as though it hadn't been cut in weeks. We were assigned a site that should never have been assigned for a 40' motorhome. If the site across from us had been rented, we would never have been able to get in or out. The view from our motorhome was of a broken down fence, a trash can, and a 6 foot pile of debris. I complained to the office and the manager never did come to our site to address the problems. Morgan RV Resorts gave us no sympathy either and refused to make any adjustments. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
Overall I would say our experience at this campground was good and we plan to go back this summer. Our site was large, and the bathhouses were clean, or as clean as you can expect. My kids enjoyed the playground and pool, and I enjoyed the beautiful wooded scenery, especially the beautiful viewing deck. What I love most about this park is the area! Camden and Rockport are quaint towns with lots to do for the family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$50
Just a warning to not give them your phone number. It's been two years since I have been there and they refuse to stop calling me with their automated ads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$54
The site we were on was so small I had to park my truck perpendicular to the trailer and my trailer is only 22 feet long. The restrooms were out of order most of the weekend and my wife was burned by the showers. The staff couldn't care less. Stay away from this overpriced disaster area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$44
This is a basic, small campground. The website was nice and reservations were easy. The website advertised all sorts of kids activities that would take place Memorial Day weekend. Upon my arrival, I was notified that the website was wrong and that the caretakers (the campground is owned by Morgan RV resorts and hires couples to work the summer) were several weeks behind. In fact, the campground received it's first mowing the first night we were there. The bathrooms were clean, that's important. The camp store is overpriced, but that's Maine in summer. The camp sites were small, like postage stamp size. I have a good sized pop-up and there was enough room for the camper, a picnic table and that's it. If the campsite next to me had not been empty, I would not have had a place to park my truck. Overall we had a good time, but I will probably not come back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
I have mixed feelings about this park. The reservation person and I didn't get along, I ended up letting my wife talk to him. (If it were my call, I would have not continued from here.) Anyway, we reserved a full hookup site for 4 adults. They charged $5 per night additional for each adult after the first 2. We ended up having to cancel the reservation due to Gustav. Our in-laws were to visit us here but were stuck at home in LA taking care of their home. I called the office to cancel and was told they only offer future credit, no refunds. We ended up coming in a few weeks later. The office help was very nice, actually ended up getting that 10 bucks a night refunded due to our in-laws not staying with us. The site was ok, but a pet peeve of mine is a lack of gravel. We tracked in a lot of dirt. No WI-FI at site, just near the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$50
Camp sites are very small and tight. Roads are narrow and difficult to pass through without hitting trees. Sights are not level and required extra work to level our trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
This campground has a great setting with plenty of wooded sites and a great ocean overlook in the back of the park. We read from previous postings about the traffic noise from Route 1, so we camped in a rear site far from the road. We could still hear the traffic quite clearly. Besides larger motorhomes having potential trouble navigating through the wooded sites, the road noise was the only negative aspect in our book. The campground is in a great location on the coast and we would definitely stay here again. The positives outweigh the road noise. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$42
We loved this campground. It had a relaxing enviroment and was well maintained. The staff was vary helpful and had a lot of information about the surrounding area. We are going back this year and bringing friends with their camper. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2005
$39
The comments in the preceding reviews are accurate as far as the cleanliness of the facilities are concerned and the employees were very pleasant and helpful. However, I found the site layout cramped with very small and uneven sites. The photos on their web-site paint a very relaxing and tranquil atmosphere, however, the constant road noise from Route 1 was extremely annoying. I would have left for another campground, but a refund of fees was not an option. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2005
$39
All of the positive comments above regarding staff and cleanliness of facilities are accurate, i.e. very good. However, I found this CG to be congested with very small cramped, unlevel sites. The biggest negative for me was the constant road noise from Route 1. If the fees had been refundable I would have left for another CG. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$42
I agree with most of the previous reviews for this park. But I cannot rate it higher than a 7. The people are nice, the ocean frontage is nice, the location is good, but the sites could be better. Many are not level, and those darn trees. If you have a large rig many sites will be tough on your slides and awnings. The irony is that with a minimum amount of effort the tree problem could be eliminated without compromising the ambiance of the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$39
The friendliest of staff, very accommondating. As mentioned the trees make manuevering a bit touchy with a bigger rig. This is my only complaint to an otherwise fantastic experience. The views, the Lobster bake, staff, all first rate! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$39
Very friendly and helpful staff. Lobster bake was very good. Newspapers delivered every morning. Restrooms were clean and orderly. The park was quiet even though the road traffic was very busy. Only drawback was the campground roads were tight for larger rigs. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$33
I agree with most of the former comments such as the nice employees, the beautiful ocean view from the viewing area and the lobster bakes. We loved the lobster bake even though it was raining. They have recently installed free Wi-Fi with a fast internet connection which is accessible in the office area. The only complaint is the one cited by others with regard to the trees. I have a 28' trailer which I couldn't back into the first site assigned due to trees being in the way. When I did get into another site, I couldn't open the awning all the way due to some small trees which could easily be cut down. If the owners would cut down all the trees in the way, there would still be plenty of shade and it would probably be better for the trees that are left. I will definitely stay here again, but I will request certain sites. I suggest that anyone staying here for the first time, walk to the assigned site and determine if it is acceptable before driving to it. The rate of $33 was "off season before June 15" and a weekly rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2005
$35
Ok but sites to small and would be afraid of trees if using lower road to the right, we stayed to left with the class A RV'S. Good for foliage trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$36
I can't think of anything bad about this campground, other then the 2 days of rain but that's Mother Nature. The staff was great, couldn't be better. The sites, the waterfront view, lobster bake on Sunday - I loved it! Would definitely come back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$34
Great campground. Clean and well run. Office staff could not hve been any nicer. Some trees have been trimmed and was fairly easy to get to our site. Would definitely go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$27
Wonderfully clean campground. Beautiful area and prices very reasonable. I echo all of the prior comments about friendly staff, etc. Spaces are very tight. Some judicious tree trimming is definitely in order. We will definitely be back in 2003 for the Lobstah Festival!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$30
You will never find nicer people working in a campground office! This campground was very nice. Sites are shaded, none are directly on the ocean because they have a beautiful area with benches overlooking the sea for all to enjoy. This was just a beautiful, peaceful campground to stay in. It's located just down the road from Rockport and Camden, and we were able to take a day trip to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park from here. Lake Megunticook is also nearby - great to paddle around on or for the kids to swim in. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$34
Nice CG on the rocky coast of Maine. A two minute walk to the water. Beautiful terrace overlooking the ocean. The lobster boats come within a few yards of the rocks to do their work. The views are incredible. Lighthouses, Sailboats, Islands etc. CG owners and hosts are very nice and accommodating. Price is very reasonable for this very busy Camden-Rockport area. They do lobster bakes every Saturday evening on their terrace. These are terrific. They do a wonderful job and you get to meet some great people. There is a nice heated pool, playground equipment, and open grassy space for children. Sites for tents, all but the largest RV's, and cabins. We will return. Roads and sites are gravel and drainage is poor. There is almost no grass in the sites. The CG is heavily wooded. If you're in a larger rig you must be on your toes in order to snake through the trees. Although sites are decent size, with the trees you must position your rig just so to take full advantage of slides and awnings. If this CG would cut a few trees and improve their roads and drainage they would truly be a Jewel of the Maine Coast. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com