221618 User submitted reviews online!!
Wild Duck Campground & RV Park (Adult Only) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 69 user reviews. Phone: (207) 883-4432
CGID1313

Wild Duck Campground & RV Park (Adult Only)

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   9   9   8   8   5   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$31
We really like this campground and this is our second visit. There are a couple of negatives. The sites are close together our slide was very close to the next camper's slide. Roadways a tad narrow so stay alert while maneuvering this campground. It is near many interesting sights and the owners are very nice. Restrooms/laundry are spotless. Nice and quiet here with adults-only rules. Nice duck pond and food provided for you to feed ducks that live there. Sites were level and covered with groomed fine sand. Great in dry weather not so much when it rained. If we return to the area I would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$31
Off season rates applied. A lot of seasonals. Backs up to a salt water marsh. Gorgeous setting. Had site 24 and it was awesome. We had wished we'd spent our whole 12 days here! Very good location to everything in that area. Loved the Kennebunkport area which is an easy 30 min drive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$59
Very nice 'adult' campground. Our back-in site easy accommodated our 40' motorhome with room for vehicle in front. Good cable service. Nice laundry with 2 washers and 4 dryers. Very well kept and clean. Sites are raked, level, and wide enough for privacy. Pull through and back in sites available, as well as tenting. Quiet campground right out on the marshes. Very serene and peaceful. Probably not great for children, no pool or playground. There wasn't a lot of area to walk a dog or I would have given it a 10. Wish more were like this. We would definitely return again, if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$44
We stayed here for 6 Days and found it to be very tranquil. This is a small Adult only RV park. Kept very clean. No Pool or Playgrounds therefore nice and quiet. I wish we could find more RV parks like this. Our site #30A was a long back-in with full hook-ups. There was plenty of room for our 36 Ft.RV plus our Car. Sufficient room on side for a picnic table and chairs with a nice view of the marshes. Near many attractions: Portland "Old Port", Freeport, Cape Elizabeth, etc. For those of you that like tranquility, this is the place to go. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
Very nice campground. Lots of shade and manicured grass. All roads are paved with the campsites themselves crushed stone. The sites on the inside of the circle are indeed a little tight. The pull thru sites are long with the intent to come in from the opposite direction as your close neighbor and pull forward. In so doing have space and some privacy. The sites around the perimeter are back-in and mostly very adequate. Tent sites as well as seasonal sites are somewhat separated from the transients. Good laundry. Good WiFi at our site. Very nice park. Would recommend and use again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$39
This (adults only, no kids) park had a nice feel to it and we would stay here again. Friendly welcome, attractive pond with wild ducks. Our small site was on the peninsula looking out toward a nice view of the marsh (we drive a van RV, so easily fit.) Shower stall was a bit small. This park is a good location for visiting Portland and the various lighthouses at Cape Elizabeth. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Sites were tight. We were in a pull through site which had side by side hook ups and there could not have been 6 foot between us and the motorhome beside us. We asked for a large site so evidently they think if is long it is large. There was probably 12 ft on the other side and our front door was facing the other campers front door. You can not check in before 1 pm or after 7 pm. On the up side it was very clean, quiet and there were lots of TV channels. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
This is our first "Adults Only" campground and it is very nice though I don't think kids would mar it - not that I'm pushing a change. Definitely, an upper level of clientele who were quiet and courteous. A little crowded but this is a very nice campground with good facilities, pleasant staff and a picturesque view of the salt marsh. If there is anything to complain about it's the charge for Wi-Fi which should be included in their basic price. Our site was level fore and aft and port and starboard. Washer/Dryer room was clean and very nice. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$42
This was our second visit to Wild Duck and the only reason I rate it 9 and not 10 is that some of the premium back-in spaces are a bit difficult to get into with a 32 ft. 5th wheel. Other than that, the place is great. It is well-maintained, quiet, mainly because kids aren't permitted. It is bordered by a very scenic marsh, and not too far from grocery shopping, restaurants, Cabela's and other facilties. The gravel sites are reasonably level, and raked after every departure.If you use a Magellen/Good Sam GPS, be forwarned, the directions to Wild Duck linked to the Good Sam POIs are very wrong. If you manually enter the address it will get you right there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
It is a lovely small park in a very lovely place-Scarborough marsh. The "adult" part of the park is because they don't have any kid facilities-playgrounds etc, not that they hate kids. Has all the stuff, cable, strong wifi, good showers, not to mention ducks. Their sign says a "fine adult rv park." I asked the friendly manager if I was required to be fine to stay here. Tee hee. She said not fine was fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
Gravel/Sand sites mostly level; very little adjustment needed. Some sites are very hard to get into; if you can get a pull through get one. The park is very well maintain and beautiful. The area is on a salt water marsh and as the tide goes out the marsh smell comes in. Fortunately for us the winds were not coming our way and we only smelled the marsh on entering the park. Great park we would come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
Very nice park. It's an adult 21+ park. No one (including visitors) under 21 is allowed to enter park. The lots are somewhat close, but you do have enough room for slides and awnings and even some grass. The parking surface is sand/small gravel which gets raked after each use. The road through the campground is blacktop. The bathrooms/laundry is in the middle of the circle of campers. It is well maintained campground with flowers. The campground is surrounded by a salt-water marsh. Definitely a quiet campground since there are no young people around. The owners made up a nice map that shows all the attractions/restaurants around the local area. They also provide the names/phone numbers of local services that RV'ers may need. Well centered in the middle of everything. Definitely would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
Our second time here, and once again did not disappoint. I am stingy with giving out a perfect 10 rating, but will once again have to give one up for this wonderful park. Super clean and well equipped bathhouse and laundry. Nice wide, level, roomy site on the marsh. Nice for having a fire at night looking out over the natural setting. Fast and reliable internet, and cheap at one dollar a day. Very welcoming, friendly, and helpful staff. Thanks to Chris and family for making this a relaxing park to enjoy. Only thing that made it difficult, and was not park's fault, were the obnoxious campers trying to check in early that clogged the small driveway and road coming in. Clearly stated in rules that check in is after 1:00, but these people were trying to get in as we were leaving at 10:00 (an hour before check out). Made it very difficult to pull out and connect the toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
With no minors allowed in this park, it was quite peaceful. The miserable old timer in the office couldn't figure out that the 10% Good Sam discount should be $4.50 and not $4.00. He just said that his Good Sam discount was $4.00, and that was about it. Add to this an extra $1.00 for internet, and it makes you wonder if senility and greed were a prerequisite for working here. The sites were fairly level, but I had to leave my 26 foot 5th wheel completely jack-knifed so my pickup didn't block the road. Fellow campers were nice, and the washrooms were good. The campground is on a swamp/marsh, so you'll need "lots" of bug juice if you plan on being outside. The sites are very tight, so just hope you'll have good neighbors. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
This CG is perfect. 10+ all the way. Clean sites ,clean restrooms, well written sign's. Owner is on site and work's right a side the staff. Peace & quiet doesn't get any better than the Wild duck CG. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
Adult only, quiet, shaded, reasonable rates, well maintained and cared for. Raked every site between campers. Tidal marsh is great kayak trip near high tide. Small boat ramp to marsh at office with rentals. Close to many attractions and beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$41
You'd be hard pressed to find a cleaner, better organized RV Park than this one. Everything is spic and span, manicured, planted and tended. A very attractive place, set next to a very scenic marshland, though the actual park is very woodsy. No chance for satellite, but cable is excellent. The place is obviously well managed, with a lot of eye toward detail. Only complaints are a little tightness in the sites, and some difficulty in maneuvering our rig (38') around some of the curves. Overall, a very pleasant stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
This is a delightful campground in a woodsy setting overlooking the marshes. This is the first "adult" campground that we have stayed in and it is quite delightful. Very quiet and peaceful. The park is very well maintained and the staff could not be friendlier. It is located close to town so you have all the needed conveniences nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$39
I concur with the positive reviews of this site. The only reason I didn't rate it a 10 is because the spotlessly clean restrooms are a bit compact for the number of RVs in the park at peak season and because the park charges $1. per day per computer for WiFi, which worked reasonably well. This adults only park is very quiet, very clean and well maintained. It is close to Portland, Freeport (LL Bean) and other area attractions. We would definitely come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
This park is immaculate. Never saw such organization both in signing in and staying here. VERY upscale. Not kid friendly as it's an adult only park. Fabulous location. Very quiet. Not much mingling encouraged. No pavilion but has a pretty lake and wildlife. Small store but very clean. Kayak rentals. Spectacular location to area activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
The roads were a bit tight for turns. The sites were nice with trees. There was a $4 per person charge for visitors, adult, and children. I did not find a good spot for dog walking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$41
Absolutely loved Wild Duck Campground! We stayed 6 nights and didn't want to leave. The owners and staff were very friendly and accommodating. Well maintained and clean campground. Great atmosphere, quiet and serene. Sites are attractive, level and shaded. Marsh beside the campground is easily accessible and fun to canoe around the stream/river. I'm partial to the sites that back up to the marsh. Enjoyed watching the many chipmunks, squirrels, ducks and other bird species in and around the campground. Wi-Fi worked well as a bonus. Highly recommend this campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
The grounds are immaculate, staff are friendly and helpful, and the quiet surroundings are just wonderful. This park would get a 10 if they would only improve their Wi-Fi service, which was painfully slow when it was not completely down (which happened frequently). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
The previous posters were correct about this campground being quiet and wooded. But for a "10" rating I require more amenities. The sites are dirt and very close together. There is no grass and the trees are actually thick. Very little sun, and satellite is not possible. Water pressure was very poor. So poor that when I was showering in the morning my neighbor must have turned on the water because my pressure slowed to a trickle. The wife had to turn on our water pump so I could finish the shower. It's a nice campground, just not a "10" on my scale. The staff is very friendly however, and I would stay here again if I were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
This is one of the prettiest and most peaceful RV campgrounds we've stayed in. It has all the amenities, can accommodate tear-drops to large rigs and is situated amidst woods, a duck pond and expansive marshlands, yet it is just a mile from US Route 1. The other RVers and staff were as friendly as any we've met anywhere. We will definitely return here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
This is a great campground if you are adults looking for a great campsite!! You have to be above 21 to stay here. The staff was excellent: someone took us to our site and helped us back in and we thought it was a great campground. The bathrooms were older but spotless; there were fire rings at each site; the setting was the best. We had a family emergency and had to leave early and they were very understanding and a refund was given right then. We were really impressed with this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
Excellent stay at this campground. It is a small, adult's only campground surrounded by wetlands. Quiet and conveniently located, we had a great experience. Big rigs may have a bit of a challenge getting into the cg, but it's do-able. The sites on the center/left as you come in are a bit tight. We stayed in site #25 with our 31'MH. It was nice and level. Site 28 would also be a good choice. We would easily stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
Incredible! That's the only thing that come to mind. This adult only camping is perfect if you want a quiet place to relax. It's close to Portland, Old Orchard and even Freeport for some shopping (only 30 minutes). The owners are helpful and respectful. We asked for a pull thru but they where all reserved. Instead, we had a classic site but the owner assured us it was easy to access (and it was). Overall, we will come back next year (and for a longer stay). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
This park is an oasis, you camp among lovely tall pine trees that have been thinned out just perfectly, leaving a nice shady canopy with some light coming in. Nice roomy sites with full hookups are located with a great view of a salt marsh. Laundry is available and convenient garbage receptacles were located every few sites. As a "adult" campground" it allows one to escape the crowds and noise of the beach resorts, making this a great place to relax. Dog friendly! Owners are extremely helpful and go out of their way to make this place a beautiful campground to visit. I strongly suggest you stay here if in the area, you won't be let down. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Very clean, small park. Lots of shade so we couldn't get satellite but they had cable. They take pride in their park. Would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
This park felt like home, after so many that felt like just stops along the road. Nice roomy site, with full hookups under big pine trees with a great view over the salt marsh. Laundry at reasonable prices $1.50 a load, and convenient garbage receptacles located every few sites. Bathrooms and showers were very clean, and included towels and soap, unlike many that do not even supply that basic need. Being an "adult" campground" during the craziness at the beach to our east at this high tourist time, this was an extremely welcome oasis during the height of tourist season. How nice not to have wild parties and unruly children running amuck through the park! If you want a real relaxing vacation, this is the place to come. Owners go out of their way to make this place a beautiful park to visit. We are looking forward to coming back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$29
We found this facility to be clean and well maintained with a staff that was friendly and helpful. As noted in previous reviews, some sites were a bit narrow but the campground's central and scenic location more than makes up for it. We intend to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$39
This is an adult campground that is very quiet and very clean. There are seasonals but are again very neat. The owners are probably in their late 30's and are extremely helpful. We had the largest of the pull thru sites, which was still more narrow than we like. Our rate reflects a fall rate, otherwise it would have been $45. Although we did not use the bathrooms or the laundry facilities, we did check them out and all areas were very clean. We definitely enjoyed our stay here and would return. I would have rated this campground a 10 if the pull thru sites were larger. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
We really enjoyed our stay at this adults only campground. They do a very good job of keeping everything clean and maintained. The grounds were very nice. We would highly recommend this campground to anyone looking for peace and quite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$44
This is a wonderful campground for adults. Sites are meticulously maintained, quiet and and everything is exceptionally clean. Great jumping off spot to see Maine. Within an hour you can be at salt water, white sand beaches, historical seaports, light houses, fresh water lakes and streams, and mountains. Excellent restaurant dining and shopping within 10 minutes of the campground. I would recommend this place to anyone that wants to leave kids behind for a rest. We have stayed here the entire season for 3 years and love it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
Very nice park; a great change from the "family" campgrounds to have adults only. We had a premium site which backs in to the marsh off the main loop, some of the interior sites off the loop were a little close. Well run cg, easy access. Laundry is good. Plenty of shade and very, very quiet. Shopping, dining and the beach are all nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We have stayed here several days in 2008 and 2009. The owner is a great person. The campground is very clean. Some sites are close, and the roads can be tight but we were in 40 ft MH and just unhooked before going in. There is lots to do in the area. It's very quiet and peaceful. We will go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$48
We camped here on two separate times during a month long trip. It is an adults only campground. Waterfront is wrong! There is a small lake, where the ducks live, and a marsh, where they rent kayaks. You have to go it at high tide, then be back before low tide as the waterway is virtually dry at low tide. Big rig access is very limited. We were in a standard site one night and it was long enough. However, the roads are tight and people park in the street. The second time we visited, we had a pull-through site. There were 45 ft rigs here, but it took a lot of skillful driving to get in without scraping the trees. Our friends drove through and decided it was too tight for their 42 footer...and passed. Wi-Fi is cheap and works good. Overall park condition is good: showers and bath facilities looked a little small for the size of the campground. Go to Ken's Place to eat if you're here, or Bayley's which is nearby and easier to get in and out of. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$46
Lots to like at Wild Duck, especially if you are looking for peace and quiet in a natural setting. I had a pull thru site that was one of the larger ones, lots of space between sites. There are some that are much tighter. There are trash cans placed in several locations, emptied regularly. Showers are clean, but the stalls are pretty small. There is lots to do in the area, or just relax at Wild Duck and listen to the quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
This is by far our favorite campground to date. Because it is an adult park, it is very quiet and serene. The adjacent meadow is beautiful. The bathrooms are spotless. The laundry is efficient and reasonable. The sites were level and plenty roomy although some of the huge rigs were tight. We had excellent cable and Internet at our site. The owners go out of their way to make your stay perfect. We loved it here and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$48
This was our first time at Wild Duck Campground. It was quiet and relaxing. The bathrooms were spotless. We had a pull-thru premium site. We love our grand kids, but this being an adult only campground was a pleasure. The only improvement that they could make would be more stone or gravel at the sites. We actually stayed here twice in the month on the way to and from Canada. Close to the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$48
We spent 5 nights here and liked the park. As an adults only park, it is quiet! No fighting teenagers; no 4-year-olds clattering around on big wheels. No bikes zipping through your site. The peacefulness is the best part of this place. The marsh is lovely and full of birds. Many of the sites front the marsh, with good views. There are also sitting benches placed throughout the park at good viewing areas for people who might have a non-view site. The cable was excellent and the WiFi worked well. There is only one restroom w/2 showers, which is a little "thin" for the number of sites they have. But, overall, this is a good (but $$$$) place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$51
Our first time at Wild Duck Campground was wonderful. It was extremely quiet and relaxing. The laundry room and bathrooms were spotless. We had a back in premium site that had plenty of room along with a beautiful view of the salt water marsh. We are looking forward to visting again in September. The only improvement that they could make would be more stone or gravel at the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
We camped here for 8 nights over the Memorial Day weekend and really enjoyed it. The campground is very clean, an adult park with very little noise, convenient to anything you might need, friendly and conscientious staff and owner. The cable offered 70 channels and Wi-Fi was available, but we didn't need it because we had a Verizion air card that worked well. The bathrooms, shower and laundry room were all very clean. Our rates varied due to the holiday weekend, but were $26 a night (spring rate) with exception of the 3 holiday nights when it was $40 a night. We would definably stay here again if we were in the area. The only reason our rating is not a 10 is the sites are a little too close for our liking, but certainly not as close as some we have seen. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$31
Nobody under 21 is allowed here, even guests (no, its not a clothing optional camp). There are lots of rules and the results show - clean, quiet, pretty, and well done facility. I have a small Travel Trailer but sites looked tight for a really big rig. No late check-in. Easy access from Rt 1 and I-95. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$29
What a nice relaxing get away, after having spent way too long at Bayley's just down the road! A great set of seasonal campers, who enjoyed conversations by the fire. Clean, hot, showers with good water pressure. A nice give a book take a book section! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$42
We stayed at this campground for three nights after receiving a recommendation from someone in Maine who had previously owned a auto repair shop nearby and worked on RV’s in several campgrounds in this area. He said it was a five star campground and he was correct. As mentioned, it is a Fine Adult Campground (over 55) and no children allowed. There is no swimming pool but some great views of the marshland at the entrance. It is also gated and does not allow night entries. We talked several times with the co-owner, Chris, but did not get to meet his wife. They are the best hosts I have met in the past 5 years camping. They run a top notch campground. When a RV pulled out, we saw a maintenance person hand rake the site, and he said it would be raked again before the next one pulled in. The wireless internet worked flawlessly. We would not hesitate to stop here again. I don’t usually give a 10 rating because there is usually room for improvement but not here. I wish more campgrounds took the pride of this one. We would not hesitate to come back here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$43
We stayed at this campground 15 days. We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was very friendly and helpful--the place was run like a nice hotel; for example, when my wife had problems with a washer, they refunded her money with absolutely no hassle at all and sent someone to look at it right away. The Wi-Fi was $1 per day per computer. The connection was spotty (the connectivity kept going away. When I talked to the manager he willingly refunded my fee and stated that Time Warner Cable was having intermittent outages of their signal). The manager was sincere about it bothering him since he promises Wi-Fi ,and there was nothing he could do to improve it because it was not in his system. The campground's system always had a strong signal--it was just the connectivity issue from the provider. I did not think I would ever give a campground with sites so close together and dirt spaces a 9, but this one was run so well, I feel it deserves it (the attitude of management always make a huge impact on your stay). Maybe it was because the ducks were so much fun to watch! They also had a lot of the Maine State Bird there--the mosquito--so come prepared! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$50
My husband and I enjoyed this campground for the peace and quiet. It was a pleasure to go to an adult only campground for a change, no screaming teenagers racing around on golf carts! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We liked the security gate at the entrance. Many campgrounds have easy access to anyone. We rented a kayak at the campground and went out into the tidal area which the campground is located beside. When arriving at the campground you drive through a residential area making you believe you are in the wrong spot, but just keep going Wild Duck is at the dead end. A clean park with seasonal campers located on opposite side but all were well manicured. It is located close to town and a short drive to Old Orchard Beach. We enjoyed this campground that we will be back.. Happy Camping! C J We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$39
A well-run park in a great location! The adult-only policy makes for a very quiet, enjoyable stay. The marsh views are striking and the bird life is always entertaining. We have a 40-foot fifth wheel pulled by a class 8 truck, and were able to fit the truck, trailer and car onto our site, although it was a tight fit. The staff was friendly and competent. We are here for a month, and wish we could stay longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
This was our first time at this adult only campground and we really loved it. It's a small, well maintained campground surrounded by the river marsh area. The staff was very friendly, took us to our site and made sure that we were fine with our location. We travel in a 40'- four slide motor coach with an 18' trailer, and we had no problem getting into our site. The site was level and the park was very well maintained. It was quiet and beautiful. The only reason why I didn't give it a rating of a 10 is because you have to pay $1.00 a day for Wifi. An added plus to this campground is it's proximity to Portland as well as Old Orchard Beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
Nicely located, but tight, tight, tight for a 45' motorcoach like ours. Could be great in the summer with lots of tall trees for shade; but also buggy with the marsh right next door. We'd stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$34
Great location on the marsh. Beautiful sunrise and sunsets. About 8-10 spots on marsh. Some seasonals, but in back part of park. This is a very quiet adult park. Do not expect activities or to bring the kids. A nice change of pace. All areas kept clean and orderly. They even rake the sites. Roads paved, sites are dirt and gravel. Lots of trees. Excellent cable. No way your dish will work here. When we are back in area, will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$66
A very nice adult campground. Quiet, shady, plenty of room in the sites. Easy access in and out. Too many mosquitoes - it's located on a swamp/marsh. It would get higher marks, but it's way too expensive, even in the off season. $10/per person per night extra for more than 2 adults is just plain silly. Otherwise, the other reviews pretty much say it all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Very nice wooded campground. The rest rooms were exceptionally clean. The staff was very helpful. The weekend we stayed the campground was full but very quiet. The cable had lots of channels. The sites are a little closer than I like. Fortunately, I had good neighbors. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$47
Stayed a month, very quiet, restful, peaceful, friendly owners. Would highly recommend! Close to beaches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$39
Absolutely wonderful, adult campground! Blazing WiFi! Did I say quiet? Everyone was respectful of neighbors, extremely friendly. The few seasonals are required to keep the property as well as the campground management. Birds crowded our feeder. Near almost anything you would want. Wild Mallard ducks abound. You are even notified daily if you have mail. The owner is passionate about keeping the area spotless and well groomed. Propane delivered to your sight every Saturday a.m. We stayed a month and have reserved for next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$39
The Adult only aspect of this park sounded fine to us, but I was taken aback a bit when I read the rules and regs once we arrived. No one under 21 may enter the park, period! And only four people are allowed at a site, ever! I guess that does cut down on the "partying" which is obviously a big concern for these folks, but it did put a damper on the reason we were in town -- to see relatives with a fairly large family including a ten year old. No family barbeque at the RV Park, that was for sure. Good wifi, good cable, attractive setting but I agree with other reviewers; the pull-throughs are very narrow and the lack of any activities around are a drawback. We might stay here again because the price is a bit better than the ones with all the bells and whistles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
What Can we say. Excellent COG, this is an adult only campground. So if you want peace and quiet this is the place to go. The bathrooms were immaculate the sites were level and very clean. this COG will become a regular stop for us, we are going back for a second stay this summer and we will book also for next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$46
Great RV Park. Very quite. We loved the fact that it is an adult only park. The manager is very friendly and accommodating. We stayed 1 month to lower the nightly rate to $33.50. The monthly rate was a little pricey, $1006 including tax. However, it saved us $13.50/day over the nightly rate of $46. We would stay here again. The campground was shadey, but at the same time was light and airy. The wifi was an additional $1.00/day and had a strong signal throughout the park. The clincher was the security gate that closed at 8 PM. It opened automatically from the campground side and had a combination number to open it if you arrived back to camp after 8 PM. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$47
Loved this place.. had premium site,clean nice and quiet will be back again. I would like to stay all summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$36
Fantastic park. We were in a premium site on the marsh. Lots of bird watching. Very quiet and peaceful. The only reason this park gets a 9 is because, although it is an adults only park, there are no adult activities. Would have been nice to have some sort of activity -- movies, contra dance -- something to do over the Memorial Holiday. Also, although the pull-throughs are big rig sites, they are the tightest in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$36
We really enjoyed this campground. The most pleasant owners one could ask for. Quiet, well run facility. Let me emphasize the "QUIET". I love kids but it was SO nice to not have any of the little ones there. Without a doubt, we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$39
We spent 2 days at the Wild Duck and had a beautiful back-in site with a nice view of the marsh. Very convenient to Portland. Very quiet and well maintained. Owners very friendly. WIFI wasn't enabled for a while and signal was somewhat weak, but it worked fine. Roads are well maintained, sites fairly level with some pull-thru's and some back-in's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$28
We spend a weekend at the Wild Duck campground and we loved it! Away from the hustle and bustle. Looking out over the marsh we had one of those, hard to describe, moments! Owners were very friendly. We will visit again and hopefully be able to stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$30
We found a GEM in the woods! This "Adults Only" campground, (no children), may not be for everyone but if you're looking for tranquial, relaxing surroundings this is it. The campground is well maintained with pride. Reception was sincere and professional. Campground is "security gated" and is situated on a peaceful tidal estuary. 20/30/50amp W/E/S/C service and is "Big Rig" friendly. Bathrooms and laundry facilities were immaculate all weekend long, day and night. Plenty of activities in the area. No pool but ocean beaches nearby. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2004
$32
This is a relatively small campground that is owned, operated and maintained by a very friendly couple who were RV'ers for many years. It's quite clear that they take a lot of pride in the place. We wanted a pull-through, but they told us the back-ins were nicer and they went so far as to guide us in backing our 55 feet of truck and RV into our back-in site. Even though we don't normally travel with our children, we don't avoid places that welcome children. Wild Duck is an adult campground, however, and the difference is quite noticable. It was very, very quiet here. Probably too quiet for many? The site is on a marsh and they rent canoes, but it was too dry for canoes when we were there and it looked more like a swamp than a marsh. During a heavy rain one day while we were there, the water running by the front door of our RV was like a small, rapid-filled river. All things considered, this was a pleasant place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$30
So-so campground in a salt marsh. Was very buggy in August 2004. Quiet, adult only campground in a quiet location near Old Orchard Beach. Some sites are difficult to get into due to all the trees. Site are not particularly attractive or well kept. However, owners very pleasant and try hard. Would not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$26
This is a very nice,clean,small and quiet park. There are some permanent set-ups but all are well maintained. The roads are good and the sites are good size and level. There are a couple of pull-thrus kept for larger units and others for average size units. All are full hookup including CATV. There are limited groceries and RV supplies. They do rent canoes with which you can paddle through some natural wetlands but it is a tidal waterway so at times during the day it is dry. Good place to stop and relax for a few days We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com